DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-13 are pending. Claim 1 is currently amended.
Claim Objections
In claim 1, consider use of --a dry cleaner floating lifter connected to the dry cleaner-- and --a wet cleaner four-link lifter-- and amending the dependent claims to recite --the dry cleaner floating lifter-- (four link lifter with respect to the wet cleaner is not recited in the dependent claims). This would help distinguish the “the floating lifter is a parallelogram four-link lifter configured to switch the dry cleaner between a lifting state and a lowering state under action of an external force” aspect in claim 2. Also consider amending claim 2 to recite -- the floating lifter is a parallelogram dry cleaner four-link lifter-- for further distinction between the two four link lifters recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farmer (US 20180199785 A1) in view of Yun (KR 20170090688 A) and Oshida (JP H05245086 A).
With respect to claim 1, Farmer discloses An automatic cleaning apparatus comprising: a mobile platform configured to move automatically on an operating surface (mobile platform as robot body 105, fig. 1, [0068], robot automatically [autonomously] moves as in [0047]); and a cleaning module disposed on the mobile platform (cleaning module including a dry cleaner 200, fig. 2; [0051]), and comprising: a dry cleaner configured to clean at least a part of the operating surface by dry cleaning (a dry cleaner 200, fig. 2, [0051-0052], having floor extractors 265, 270, fig. 2 to clean surfaces as in [0052-0054], Farmer also provides for vacuum in [0060]); and a floating lifter connected to the dry cleaner and configured to enable the dry cleaner to passively move vertically relative to the mobile platform (the linkage arrangement suspending housing 215 from a frame 205, fig. 7, as in [0055] including suspension linkage 1600, fig. 14, [0094], allows the dry cleaning brush to move passively, in response to undulations during travel, over the floor as described in [0055])
Farmer does not explicitly disclose a wet cleaner configured to clean at least a part of the operating surface by wet cleaning, and a four-link lifter disposed between the wet cleaner and the mobile platform to enable the wet cleaner to automatically lift and lower relative to the mobile platform, the four-link lifter is a parallelogram structure, comprising: a first connecting end for providing active power to switch the wet cleaner between a lifting state and a lowering state; and a second connecting end disposed opposite to the first connecting end and rotating with rotation of the first connecting end.
Yun, in the same field of endeavor, as related to cleaning, teaches of providing a wet cleaner configured to clean at least a part of the operating surface by wet cleaning (wet cleaner as mop plate 30, figs. 2-3, [0024], and provides wet cleaning as it can wipe [mop] a wet floor- see description of prior art in fig. 1 and the water supply in [0005] of Yun; Yun provides this together with a dry cleaner/vacuum as described in [0019], with relation to the intake duct 12 and brush 14 shown in fig. 2; also providing a mop plate connector 30, fig. 4 with an elevator guide 45 with a lifting sleeve 45a and lifting rail 45b to allow the mop plate to be lifted; [0035]). Yun describes that this arrangement enables the cleaner to handle multiple types of floors ([0007,0009-0010]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Farmer, with the wet cleaner taught by Yun, for the purpose of handling multiple types of floors.
Regarding a four-link lifter disposed between the wet cleaner and the mobile platform to enable the wet cleaner to automatically lift and lower relative to the mobile platform, Yun, as noted above, provides a lifting arrangement (Yun, also providing a mop plate connector 30, fig. 4 with an elevator guide 45 with a lifting sleeve 45a and lifting rail 45b to allow the mop plate to be lifted; [0035]). Oshida, in the same filed of endeavor, related to cleaning, teaches of a four-link lifter (four link lifter including links 42 and 43, fig. 7, symmetrically disposed, [0033]) disposed between the wet cleaner (disposed between an analogous wet cleaner pad 62, fig. 7; [0042-0045]) and the mobile platform (1, fig. 7; [0015]) to enable the wet cleaner to automatically lift and lower relative to the mobile platform (the wet cleaner can automatically lift and lower because of a spring bias using spring 48, fig. 7; [0039], to follow the floor) , the four-link lifter is a parallelogram structure ([0033] describes parallelogram link), comprising: a first connecting end for providing active power to switch the wet cleaner between a lifting state and a lowering state (first connecting end proximate to 49, [0034], there is a stopper 5 with a claw piece 5a, fig. 8 at that end [0040], where active power can be applied to release the claw to allow the wet cleaner to switch from a lifting state to a lowering state by operating the stopper/claw; claim does not require a motor or any specific source of active power and can be met by enabling the active power to be provided manually); and a second connecting end disposed opposite to the first connecting end and rotating with rotation of the first connecting end (a second end at the linkage proximate to 75, fig. 7, because it is a rotating bar, it rotates together as described in [0038,0040-0042]). Oshida describes this arrangement as improving a cleaning effect, while also enabling smooth movement while not cleaning ([0006]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Farmer, with four bar parallelogram linkage of Oshida for improved cleaning, while also enabling smooth movement while not cleaning.
With respect to claim 2, Farmer, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 1 above, and further teaches the floating lifter is a parallelogram four- link lifter configured to switch the dry cleaner between a lifting state and a lowering state under action of an external force (Farmer, 4 link structure with links 1305, 1405, as shown in fig. 14, [0092, 0094], there are 4 links 1610a-d, fig. 16, and [0092], provides that link 1305 can be link 1610a, in fig. 16; see [0108-0109]; the links allow for vertical translation in [0109]).
With respect to claim 3, Farmer, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 2 above, and further teaches wherein, the floating lifter comprises: a first fixed bracket fixedly connected to the mobile platform (Farmer, first fixed bracket 205, fig. 8, fixed to robot cleaner as shown in fig. 2 [205 is shown as a underlined reference character in fig. 2]; [0051,0055]), a second fixed bracket fixedly connected to the dry cleaner (Farmer, second fixed bracket 215, fig. 8, [0072], with the dry cleaner as brushes/floor extractors 265, 270, mounted therein in [0075]) and a connecting rod pair (Farmer, connecting rod pairs 1610a-1610b, figs. 16-18; [0108-0109]), having one end rotatably connected to the first fixed bracket through movable studs (Farmer, first end connected to first bracket at 820a, 820b, though studs, as in figs. 8, 18, [0118], studs as pin joints in [0108]), and another end rotatably connected to the second fixed bracket through movable studs (connected to second fixed bracket at 825a, 825b, figs. 8, 17, through slotted pin joints [movable studs] as in [0108]).
With respect to claim 4, Farmer, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 3 above, and further teaches wherein, the connecting rod pair comprises: a first connecting rod pair (Farmer, first rod pair 1601a, 1601b, fig. 16; [0108]), having one end rotatably connected to a first end of the first fixed bracket through movable studs (Farmer, previously explained in rejection of claim 3, above, and applies to all 4 linkages/rods, see [0108]), and a second end rotatably connected to a first end of the second fixed bracket through movable studs (Farmer, previously explained in rejection of claim 3, above, and applies to all 4 linkages/rods, see [0108]); and a second connecting rod pair disposed opposite to the first connecting rod pair (Farmer, second rod pair 1601c, 1601d, fig. 16; [0108]), and having one end rotatably connected to a second end of the first fixed bracket through movable studs (Farmer, previously explained in rejection of claim 3, above, and applies to all 4 linkages/rods, see [0108]), and a second end rotatably connected to a second end of the second fixed bracket -through movable studs (Farmer, previously explained in rejection of claim 3, above, and applies to all 4 linkages/rods, see [0108]).
With respect to claim 5, Farmer, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 4 above, and further teaches the first connecting rod pair comprises a first connecting rod and a second connecting rod arranged in parallel (Farmer, parallel rods 1601a, 1601b, figs. 16-17, [0108]), wherein one end of each of the first connecting rod and the second connecting rod is provided with a first shaft hole, and another end of each of the first connecting rod and the second connecting rod is provided with a second shaft hole (Farmer, the ends of the connecting rods have shaft holes as shown in fig. 16, see pin joints 1925, 1930, figs. 19a-19b, [0120]); and the movable studs rotatably fix the first connecting rod and the second connecting rod to the first end of the first fixed bracket through the first shaft holes, and the movable studs rotatably fix the first connecting rod and the second connecting rod to the first end of the second fixed bracket through the second shaft holes (pin joints inserted in carriers 820, 825, as described in [0120], and as described in the rejection of claim 3 above, the ends of the rods are connected to the brackets at 820a, 820b, 825a, 825b shown in fig. 8, figs. 13 and 14 show the rods rotating relative to 820a and 825a; [0092-0094]).
With respect to claim 6, Farmer, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 5 above, and further teaches wherein, the second connecting rod pair comprises a third connecting rod and a fourth connecting rod arranged in parallel (Farmer, parallel rods 1601c, 1601d, figs. 16-17, [0108]), wherein one end of each of the third connecting rod and the fourth connecting rod is provided with a third shaft hole, and another of each of the third connecting rod and the fourth connecting rod is provided with a fourth shaft hole (Farmer, the ends of the connecting rods have shaft holes as shown in fig. 16, see pin joints 1925, 1930, figs. 19a-19b, [0120]); and the movable studs rotatably fix the third connecting rod and the fourth connecting rod to the second end of the first fixed bracket through the third shaft holes, and the movable studs rotatably fix the third connecting rod and the fourth connecting rod to the second end of the second fixed bracket through the fourth shaft holes (pin joints inserted in carriers 820, 825, as described in [0120], and as described in the rejection of claim 3 above, the ends of the rods are connected to the brackets at 820a, 820b, 825a, 825b shown in fig. 8, figs. 13 and 14 show the rods rotating relative to 820a and 825a; [0092-0094]; his arrangement is symmetrical relative to axis 150, fig. 1 as in [0113]).
With respect to claim 7, Farmer, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 6 above, and further teaches the first fixed bracket comprises: a first fixed portion protruding from the first fixed bracket and extending laterally outward, for carrying the first connecting rod pair (Farmer, fixed portion 820a, though studs, as in figs. 8, 17-18, [0118], carries first rod pair through pin joint as [0108])
With respect to claim 8, Farmer, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 7 above, and further teaches the first fixed bracket comprises: characterized in that, the first fixed bracket further comprises: a second fixed portion disposed symmetrically with the first fixed portion for carrying the second connecting rod pair (Farmer, fixed portion 820b, though studs, as in figs. 8, 17-18, [0118], carries second rod pair through pin joint as [0108])
With respect to claim 9, Farmer, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 5 above, and further teaches the floating lifter further comprises: a flexible connector connected between the first fixed bracket and the second fixed bracket, wherein the second fixed bracket moves vertically relative to the first fixed bracket through the flexible connector in response that the operating surface is uneven (Farmer, flexible diaphragm, 410, fig 9, [0111], positioned between first bracket 205 and second bracket 215, figs. 13-14, the brackets move relatively as shown in the two positions of figs. 13-14).
With respect to claim 10, Farmer, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 4 above, and further teaches wherein, the first connecting rod pair or the second connecting rod pair is a hollowed-out structure (Farmer, hollowed out structure as the ends of the connecting rods have shaft holes as shown in fig. 16, see pin joints 1925, 1930, figs. 19a-19b, [0120]).
With respect to claim 11, Farmer, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 6 above, and further teaches the floating lifter further comprises: a flexible connector connected between the first fixed bracket and the second fixed bracket, wherein the second fixed bracket moves vertically relative to the first fixed bracket through the flexible connector in response that the operating surface is uneven (Farmer, flexible diaphragm, 410, fig 9, [0111], positioned between first bracket 205 and second bracket 215, figs. 13-14, the brackets move relatively as shown in the two positions of figs. 13-14).
With respect to claim 12, Farmer, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 7 above, and further teaches the floating lifter further comprises: a flexible connector connected between the first fixed bracket and the second fixed bracket, wherein the second fixed bracket moves vertically relative to the first fixed bracket through the flexible connector in response that the operating surface is uneven (Farmer, flexible diaphragm, 410, fig 9, [0111], positioned between first bracket 205 and second bracket 215, figs. 13-14, the brackets move relatively as shown in the two positions of figs. 13-14).
With respect to claim 13, Farmer, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 8 above, and further teaches the floating lifter further comprises: a flexible connector connected between the first fixed bracket and the second fixed bracket, wherein the second fixed bracket moves vertically relative to the first fixed bracket through the flexible connector in response that the operating surface is uneven (Farmer, flexible diaphragm, 410, fig 9, [0111], positioned between first bracket 205 and second bracket 215, figs. 13-14, the brackets move relatively as shown in the two positions of figs. 13-14).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the arguments directed towards Farmer, Yun and Wang (response pages 6-9), the applicant argued that Farmer does not disclose the claimed parallelogram 4 bar linkage for the wet mop. The examiner notes that Farmer is not relied upon for this aspect. As for Yun, the applicant notes that Yun uses a sliding sleeve and lifting rail to lift the mop. The examiner also notes that Yun is not relied upon for the parallelogram 4 bar linkage for the wet mop. As for Wang, the examiner notes that it is not relied upon in this rejection, and the arguments with respect to Wang are rendered moot.
The examiner respectfully submits that Oshida teaches the claimed 4 bar parallelogram linkage, as applied to a wet mop cleaner, and provides the beneficial effect of improving cleaning, while also allowing the mop to be lifted to not impede smooth movement while not in use.
Conclusion
/Steven Huang/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723