DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 10454341 to Grundmann.
Re: claim 1. Grundmann shows in figure 2A a brake device comprising: a hard magnet 202; a soft magnet 204 configured to switch polarity between a first polarity and a second polarity when being subjected to a magnetic field and configured to maintain the polarity when the magnetic field is removed; an electric coil 210 located around the soft magnet; an electric control system or that which controls the application of electric pulses configured to apply a current pulse to the electric coil to generate the magnetic field for changing the polarity of the soft magnet, and a brake element comprising a magnetic target section 214, the brake element being arranged to move to a released position when the soft magnet adopts the first polarity, and arranged to move to a braking position due to a magnetic field generated by the hard magnet and the soft magnet in combination and acting on the magnetic target section when the soft magnet adopts the second polarity as disclosed in col. 5 lines 18-34, wherein in the braking position, the brake element 214 frictionally brakes an output member 206 or 208 with sufficient magnetic attractive force.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 6, 7, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grundmann in view of DE-10109141 (DE’141).
Re: claims 2 and 3. Grundmann shows in figure 2A the use of the brake element 214, but is silent with regard to it being forced towards the released position.
DE’141 teaches in figures in the paragraph beginning “In the illustration of Fig. 2 with a first embodiment of the device” the use of a brake element 17 being forced towards a released position by a releasing spring 20.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the brake element of Grundmann to have been forced towards the released position by a releasing spring, in view of the teachings of DE’141, in order to provide a means of avoiding inadvertent or unintentional braking or locking.
Re: claim 4. Grundmann is silent with regard to the device having a brake hinge wherein the brake element is rotatable about the brake hinge between the released position and the brake position.
DE’141 teaches in figures 1-3 the use of a brake device including a brake hinge 19 wherein the brake element 17, 18 is rotatable about the brake hinge between the released position and the brake position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the brake device of Grundmann to have included a brake hinge, in view of the teachings of DE’141, in order to provide a braking means with a self-energizing effect i.e. requiring less actuator force for the same braking torque.
Re: claims 6, 7, and 15. Grundmann is silent with regard to the brake device being in the environment of an arrangement for controlling movements of an access member relative to a frame.
DE’141 teaches in figures 1-3 the limitation of an arrangement for controlling movements of an access member 1 relative to a frame 3, the arrangement comprising a brake device shown in figure 2 according to claim 1 arranged to brake the access member 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the brake device of Grundmann to have been utilized in the environment of an arrangement for controlling movements of an access member relative to a frame, in view of the teachings of DE’141, in order to provide a means of preventing the access member from slamming shut due to gravity or vehicle tilt and potentially hurting a vehicle operator or passenger.
Re: claim 16. Grundmann, as modified, is silent with regard to the access member further comprising a closing spring.
DE’141 teaches in figures 1-3, the access member 1 further comprising a closing spring 13 arranged to force the access member towards a closed position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the access member of Grundmann, as modified, to have comprised a closing spring, in view of the teachings of DE’141, in order to provide a means of preventing the access member from staying unintentionally open.
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grundmann in view of DE-10109141 (DE’141) as applied above, and further in view of WO-2020259935 (WO’935).
Re: claims 8 and 9. Grundmann, as modified, is silent with regard to the arrangement further comprising an electromagnetic generator having a rotor arranged to be driven to generate electric energy by movement of the access member.
WO’935 teaches in the first claim the use of an electromagnetic generator 14 having a rotor 22 arranged to be driven to generate electric energy by movement of an object 12.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the arrangement of Grundmann, as modified, to have included an electromagnetic generator having a rotor arranged to be driven to generate electric energy by movement of the access member, in view of the teachings of WO’935, in order to provide a means of avoiding the use of an external means of electrical energy supply to help power the brake.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 11, 12, 14, 17, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/22/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that element 214 of Grundmann does not “frictionally brake” element 206. Examiner notes; however, that with sufficient magnetic force element 214 will be pulled to frictionally contact or brake element 206 because there is only a gap between elements 206 and 214 i.e. nothing to prevent contact between elements 206 and 214 due to sufficient magnetic attractive force. Accordingly, the rejections using Grundmann have been maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
mmb
June 9, 2026
/MELODY M BURCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616