DETAILED ACTION
STATUS OF CLAIMS
This Final action is in reply to the application 18/263,012 filed on 02/26/2026.
Claim 1, 6, 8 , 19 are amended
Claim 4 is cancelled
Claims 1 – 3, 5 – 24 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Response to 112
Applicant has amended the limitations addressing the concerns.
Response to 103
The examiner does not find the applicants arguments persuasive. The examiner states that the shape of the frame is interpreted to be rectangular as shown in figure 21A, the examiner has provided additional clarity to the examiners interpretation. The outline of the shape as shown in the rejection of the independent claim shows a substantially rectangular shape and states that the applicants claims did not articulate specific details of the frame that would explicitly require frame that explicitly has only the structured elements of a rectangle. Additional arguments regarding the differences between the frame of Basset and the instant disclosure, including the monolithic frame or the nature of attachments for specific features are seen as being narrower than the limitations requires by the broader claim.
The examiner recommends the applicant positively recite the rectangular structure within the claim to articulate the specific elements of the frame construction in order to expedite the prosecution of the application.
[AltContent: textbox (Frame rectangular shape)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 9 – 12, 17 – 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1)(a2) as being unpatentable by US PG Pub 20170164548 – Bassett et al.
Regarding Claim 1BASSETT discloses:
(currently amended) An autonomous agricultural carrier vehicle(autonomous para. 0040 and figure. 21A), comprising:
at least a frame construction,( fig. 11a / b – 119 – frame structure) having mounting devices , which are configured to carry and guide at least one agricultural implement( figure . 10) at least two chassis constructions which are mounted on the frame construction,(chassis structure of fig 11a and 11b – para. 0060 – where in the chassis construction is interpreted to be the wheel 112 mounted on the frame 119)-
a drive apparatus having a drive train( figure 11a – 111 – drive train. And para. 0056) which is coupled to the at least two chassis constructions and is configured to specify a driving speed (chassis construction wheel 112 of fig 11a and 11b and para. 0060 – where in the chassis construction is interpreted to be the wheel 112 and driving speed determined by the 111 drive train and para. 0076 – where in gps can determine driving velocity) ; and
a control apparatus (fig. 18 – control map)and an environment sensor system ( sensors 181a – n, para. 0069) which is signal- connected and/or signal-connectable to the control apparatus, wherein the chassis constructions are mounted rotatably about at least 90 degrees in each case about vertically oriented axes. ( figure 11a / b and para. 0060 – where in the chassis construction is interpreted to be the wheel 112) chassis construction - wheel 112 , vertical axis that aligns with the primary pivot 116. fig. 21A - disclose of at least 4 Chassis constructions one in each corner, in this diagram the equivalent chassis construction would be e.g. wheel 213 other chassis construction – wheel 214, wheel 215, and wheel 216. Fig. 21A discloses the chassis construction oriented in vertical direction, where in the wheels are pointed vertically. Fig.21B shows the chassis construction oriented in a mid-rotation. E.g. chassis construction e.g. wheel 213. Fig. 20a and 20b and para. 0079 - discloses of the rotation of the chassis construction - e.g. wheel 213 up to 180 degrees, therefore the chassis construction – e.g. wheel 213 is capable of 90 degree rotations about the vertical axis where in primary pivot 116 rotates around.)
wherein the frame construction extends transversely to the working direction of travel and in the working direction of travel such that it forms a substantially rectangular, trapezoidal or triangular base shape. (See figure 21A – wherein the arrangement of the frame forms a rectangular shape)
[AltContent: textbox (Wherein the frame construction forms a substantially rectangular base shape)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect]
Regarding Claim 3
BASSETT discloses:
The carrier vehicle of claim 1 wherein the carrier vehicle has at least three chassis constructions and, preferably at least four chassis constructions, wherein the chassis constructions are arranged with respect to one another such that connecting lines from each vertically oriented axis to in each case two of the respective vertically oriented axes at the next vertically oriented axis form a substantially rectangular, trapezoidal or triangular base shape. ( see figure 21A – wherein the arrangement of vertical axis forms a rectangular shape)
Regarding Claim 7
BASSETT discloses:
The carrier vehicle of claim 1, wherein the frame construction comprises a main carrier construction and an articulation device and that at least two chassis constructions are mounted on the articulation device, wherein the articulation device is mounted pivotably on the main carrier construction by means of a pivot bearing oriented substantially in the working direction of travel.( figure 21A and B – Main carrier construction – shown in diagram below as the structure between each side of the chassis construction. Articulation device is primary pivot 116, mounted pivotably to main carrier construction. )
Regarding Claim 9
BASSETT discloses:
(currently amended) The carrier vehicle of claim 1, wherein the chassis constructions are mounted in a height-adjustable manner on the frame construction, in particular in such a manner that a height equalization in the case of uneven ground is performed by means of these. ( fig. 19A and B – where in the frame construction is height adjustable)
Regarding Claim 10
BASSETT discloses:
(currently amended) The carrier vehicle of claim 1, wherein at least one chassis construction is formed by a single wheel and/or a crawler tracking and/or two wheels or two crawler tracks, wherein the two wheels or two crawler tracks have a twin arrangement and/or tandem arrangement. ( figure 14 where in the chassis construction has two wheel, fig. 13 B - crawler track, fig. 21A - single wheel)
Regarding Claim 11
BASSETT discloses claim 1:
(currently amended) The carrier vehicle of claim 1, wherein the carrier vehicle comprises four chassis constructions and one frame construction, which wherein the frame construction has a main carrier construction and an articulation device, and wherein at least two chassis constructions are mounted on the articulation device and wherein at least two chassis constructions are mounted on the main carrier construction, at edge regions of the articulation device and the main carrier construction. (fig. 21 A and B – frame construction, figure 11a / b and para. 0060 – articulation device – primary pivot 116. Frame construction – frame 119, fig. 21A - disclose of at least 4 Chassis constructions - one in each corner, in this diagram - chassis construction would be e.g. wheel 213 other chassis construction – wheel 214, wheel 215, and wheel 216. figure 11a / b Shown are at least 2 chassis construction mounted on two primary pivot 116. Fig. 21 A / B - at least 2 chassis construction mounted on the main carrier construction. These are at the corners of the articulation device – primary pivot 116 and main carrier construction. )
Regarding Claim 12
BASSETT discloses claim 1:
12. The carrier vehicle of claim 1, comprising as claimed in any one of the preceding claims, characterized in that it has at least four chassis constructions which: are arranged in the working direction of travel relative to one another in such a manner that they form at least one wheelbase ( fig.11A – wheelbase, Fig. 21A one side provide wheelbase.) and/or are arranged in the working direction of travel relative to one another in such a manner that they form at least two wheelbases which differ from one another( fig. 21A – wheel base 1 and wheel base 2) and/or are arranged transversely to the working direction of travel at least largely oppositely in relation to one another such that they form at least one track width ( fig. 13B – track width) and/or are arranged transversely to the working direction of travel at least largely oppositely in relation to one another such that they have at least two track widths which preferably differ from one another. ( fig. 13B – track width one for each side , where in track width is interpreted such that two tracks widths vertically aligned would be considered one track width on a left side, and another track width on the right side of the vehicle would be considered the second track width )
Regarding Claim 17
BASSETT discloses claim 1:
17. The carrier vehicle of claim 1, wherein: at least one chassis construction, preferably at least two or all the chassis constructions, is actively steerable by means of a steering drive about the vertically oriented axis with respect to a working direction of travel and/or with respect to a direction of road travel , wherein the control apparatus is configured to provide actuating signals for the steering drive, wherein the control apparatus is signal-connected and/or signal-connectable to at least two position determination systems arranged spaced apart from one another preferably transversely to the working direction of travel and is configured to determine a difference between a current position of the carrier vehicle and/or an implement coupled to the carrier vehicle on agricultural land and a nominal position and provide actuating signals for the drive train and/or for the steering drive based on a difference. ( para. 0028, 0061– active steerable)
Regarding Claim 18
BASSETT discloses claim 1:
18. (currently amended) An autonomous agricultural machine combination, comprising the autonomous agricultural carrier vehicle of claim 1 coupled to an agricultural implement having with at least one agricultural working tool is coupled to the carrier vehicle , wherein the working tool is configured to perform an agricultural work process. ( para. 50 fig. 5a – implement)
Regarding Claim 19
BASSETT discloses claim 18:
19. The autonomous agricultural machine combination of
claim 18, wherein the implement has a maximum working width oriented transversely to the working direction of travel and wherein the implement is arranged with respect to the carrier vehicle in such a manner that it has a minimum protrusion region with respect to at least two sides of the frame construction and/or the in each case furthest outwardly lying vertically oriented axis transverse to the working direction of travel ,wherein the minimum protrusion region is at least 10% of the maximum working width . ( para. 50 fig. 5a – implement and fig. 20 A – based on wherein the working width is a particular percentage of the width. Where in the orientation wherein the working width as shown below, based upon the ratio over protrusion is to be at least 20% based upon the image with the chassis and the inside portion of the vehicle where the e.g. 6 implements are located within the inner part of the vehicle.)
Regarding Claim 20
BASSETT discloses claim 18:
20. (currently amended) The autonomous agricultural machine combination of
claim 18, wherein the autonomous agricultural machine combination has, in a working direction of travel , a maximum working width defined by the implement and oriented transversely to the working direction of travel and has, in a direction of road travel , a minimum transport width defined by the carrier vehicle and oriented transversely to the direction of road travel , wherein the maximum working width is greater than the minimum transport width at least, preferably twice as large, or at least three times as large, or at least four times as large as the minimum transport width. ( para. 0038 , 0039 traveling width and max permissible driving width and fig. 20B)
Regarding Claim 21
BASSETT discloses claim 18:
21. (currently amended) The autonomous agricultural machine combination of
claim 18, wherein the implement is arranged between at least two chassis constructions arranged consecutively in the working direction of travel preferably in such a manner that the chassis constructions are rotatable about by means of the vertically oriented axes at a pivot angle (a) of at least 180°. ( para. 0079 – where in the swiveling can be turned 180 degrees)
Regarding Claim 22
BASSETT discloses claim 18:
22. (currently amended) The autonomous agricultural machine combination of
claim 18, wherein the at least one agricultural work tool , is mounted with its entire height extent below the frame construction . ( Fig. 19A and 19B height extend below the frame construction 119)
Regarding Claim 23
BASSETT discloses:
23. (currently amended) The autonomous agricultural machine combination of
claim 18, wherein a work process to be performed by the machine combination comprises a agricultural material to be distributed and a storage container for storing and carrying the agricultural material to be distributed assigned to the carrier vehicle,( para. 0041 – hopper or tanks that can carry commodity modules) wherein the working tools assigned to the implement (para. 0041 – modules that clip on to frame sections) are preferably formed as a distribution apparatus and are configured to distribute the agricultural material to be distributed in the required manner on an agricultural area, and wherein the storage container is operatively connected to the distribution apparatus by means of connecting lines. ( para. 0041 – hopper or tanks that can carry commodity modules)
Regarding Claim 24
BASSETT discloses claim 18:
24. (currently amended) The autonomous agricultural machine combination of
claim 18, wherein at least one sensor of the environment sensor system is spatially and/or structurally assigned to the implement and is signal-connected and/or signal-connectable to the control apparatus, wherein the control device is configured to provide actuating signals for the drive train based on signals of the sensor assigned to the implement , of the environment sensor system (para. 0069 sensors, para. 0068 signals)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by US PG Pub 2017164548 – Bassett et al. hereinafter as BASSETT in view of US PG Pubs 20200221625 – Kalverkamp et al. hereinafter as KALVERKAMP
Regarding Claim 2
BASSETT discloses of disclose of claim 1
BASSETT disclose of an autonomous carrier vehicle with chassis constructions that can covert to narrow mode ( para. 0043 - wheels transform to more narrow configuration for the road), KALVERKAMP discloses:
The carrier vehicle as claimed in of claim 1,wherein the carrier vehicle can be moved in a working direction of travel or a direction of road travel as a function of a 90 rotation of the chassis constructions, and/or the working direction of travel and the direction of road travel are substantially orthogonal to one another and/or the frame construction has a longitudinal extent and the direction of road travel is substantially parallel to the longitudinal extent and the working direction of travel is substantially orthogonal to the longitudinal extent. ( para. 0022 – where in the car can go from working orientation to road orientation and para. 0013 – wherein the carrier is along the road orientation for travel)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for BASSETT’s autonomous carrier vehicle with chassis constructions that can transform to narrow width mode for KAVERKAMP that discloses of wherein the carrier vehicle can be moved in a working direction of travel or a direction of road travel as a function of a 90 rotation of the chassis constructions, and/or the working direction of travel and the direction of road travel are substantially orthogonal to one another and/or the frame construction has a longitudinal extent and the direction of road travel is substantially parallel to the longitudinal extent and the working direction of travel is substantially orthogonal to the longitudinal extent. Doing so merely constitutes the substitution of one known direction and orientation of the carrier vehicle for another to produce the predictable result of more effective method for transporting the vehicle down roads.(MPEP 2143, subsection I, B).
Regarding Claim 5
BASSETT discloses of Claim 1
BASSETT disclose of a frame construction that includes a main carrier construction( fig. 21A as shown below), an articulation device ( fig. 11 a – articulation device - primary pivot 116) and a frame construction (fig. 11 a / b - first side – looking at frame 119, second side – (not shown, opposite direction of figure 11a) second side, third side and forth side facing from within the vehicle looking towards the outer frame 119),
KALVERKAMP discloses:
(currently amended) The carrier vehicle of claim 1, wherein the frame construction comprises a main carrier construction and an articulation device and wherein the frame construction has at least four side parts which form a base shape which is substantially closed in the working direction of travel and transversely to the working direction of travel ( para. 0009 - wherein the frame construction shows at least 4 sides that is substantially closed based on broadest reasonable interpretation. Substantially closed interpreted such that in the working direction of travel that an E shaped frame construction is traveling down the direction then that would be closed based upon direction its heading)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for BASSETT’s autonomous carrier vehicle with a frame construction that includes a main carrier construction, an articulation device, and frame construction that has at least four side parts for KAVERKAMP that discloses of wherein the frame construction comprises a main carrier construction and an articulation device and wherein the frame construction has at least four side parts which form a base shape which is substantially closed in the working direction of travel and transversely to the working direction of travel. Doing so merely constitutes the substitution of one known frame construction design for another to produce the predictable result of a frame construction that would have a more effective structural rigidity.(MPEP 2143, subsection I, B).
Regarding Claim 13
BASSETT discloses of an autonomous carrier vehicle configured for travel on roads ( para. 0043 – wheels transform for narrow width mode), KALVERKAMP discloses:
(currently amended) The carrier vehicle of claim 1, wherein the carrier vehicle is configured to be moved autonomously in the direction of road travel and/or the working direction of travel and/or to be moved by remote control in the direction of road travel and/or working direction of travel . ( para. 0022 – wherein the car can go from working orientation to road orientation and para. 0013 – wherein the carrier is along the road orientation for travel)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for BASSETT’s autonomous carrier vehicle with chassis constructions that can transform to narrow width mode for KAVERKAMP that discloses of wherein the carrier vehicle is configured to be moved autonomously in the direction of road travel and/or the working direction of travel and/or to be moved by remote control in the direction of road travel and/or working direction of travel. Doing so merely constitutes the substitution of one known direction and orientation of the carrier vehicle for another to produce the predictable result of more effective method for transporting the vehicle down roads.(MPEP 2143, subsection I, B).
Claim(s) 14 – 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by US PG Pub 2017164548 – Bassett et al. hereinafter as BASSETT in view of WO2019193080 – Horsch et al. hereinafter as HORSCH
Regarding Claim 14
BASSETT discloses of autonomous carrier vehicle with sensors that provide information such as relative position, roll pitch paw etc. ( para. 0069 - ) , BASSETT doesn’t explicitly disclose of the sensors that are used to detect obstacles, HORSCH discloses:
14. (currently amended) The carrier vehicle of claim 1, wherein, the control apparatus is configured to provide actuating signals for the drive train based on signals provided by means of the environment sensor system, and wherein the environment sensor system is configured to detect obstacles and/or environment data and is arranged on the carrier vehicle in such a manner in order to detect a region upstream of the carrier vehicle in a working direction of travel and/or in order to detect a region upstream of the carrier vehicle in a direction of road travel . ( page 16, para. 6 – detecting obstacles)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for BASSETT’s autonomous carrier vehicle that has vehicle sensors such as detecting relative positioning, roll, pitch and yaw to include environmental sensors that are used to detect obstacles and in such a manner to detect a region upstream of the carrier vehicle in a working direction of travel as taught by HORSCH. This would allow BASSETT to improve the vehicle capabilities by adding sensors used to avoid hitting obstacles. (HORSCH – page 16 – where in environmental sensors are used to determine obstacles or elements surround the carrier vehicle )
Regarding Claim 15
BASSETT discloses of claim 1
BASSETT discloses of autonomous carrier vehicle with controls that has at least two chassis construction that is couple to the drive train, BASSETT doesn’t explicitly disclose of disclosing driving speeds, HORSCH discloses:
15. The carrier vehicle of claim 1, wherein the at least two chassis constructions coupled to the drive train based on actuating signals provided by means of the control apparatus, can be driven in a working direction of travel with the same driving speeds or with different driving speeds and/or can be driven in a direction of road travel with the same driving speeds or with different driving speeds or can be operated when idling. ( page 5 – driving speeds)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the inventio for BASSETT’s autonomous carrier vehicle to have environmental sensors, and for HORSCH that has chassis construction coupled to drive train driven in working direction of travel with same driving speeds or different driving speeds. Doing so merely constitutes the substitution of one known control systems for another to produce the predictable result of controlling the vehicle controls of the autonomous vehicle(MPEP 2143, subsection I, B).
Regarding Claim 16
BASSETT discloses of claim 1
BASSETT discloses of autonomous carrier vehicle with controls that has at least one chassis construction rotatable around the vertical oriented axis, BASSETT doesn’t explicitly disclose of steering drive with respect to a working direction of travel, HORSCH discloses:
16. (currently amended) The carrier vehicle of claim 1, wherein at least one chassis construction is, preferably all the chassis constructions, is/are mounted in a freely rotatable manner about the vertically oriented axis with respect to a working direction of travel and/or with respect to a direction of road travel and/or that the at least one chassis construction is, preferably all the chassis constructions, is/are actively steerable about the vertically oriented axis by means of a steering drive with respect to a working direction of travel and/or with respect to a direction of road travel , wherein the control apparatus is configured to provide actuating signals for the steering drive. ( page 14 – wheels are steerable with regards to frame structure, page 16 para. 4 signals)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the inventio for BASSETT’s autonomous carrier vehicle with controls that has at least one chassis construction rotatable around the vertical oriented axis for actively steerable about the vertically oriented axis by means of a steering drive with respect to a working direction of travel as taught by HORSCH. Doing so merely constitutes the substitution of one known control systems for another to produce the predictable result of controlling the vehicle controls of the autonomous vehicle(MPEP 2143, subsection I, B).
Claim(s) 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by US PG Pub 2017164548 – Bassett et al. hereinafter as BASSETT in further view of US PG Pub 20190235529 – BARRICK et al.
Regarding Claim 6 BASSETT discloses:
(currently amended) The carrier vehicle of claim 1, wherein the chassis constructions are mounted on edge regions of the frame construction in such a manner that: that the carrier vehicle forms in the working direction of travel a substantially U-shaped and/or V-shaped base shape- and/or that the carrier vehicle forms transversely to the working direction of travel a substantially U-shaped and/or V-shaped base shape. ( FIGURE 19 a WHERE IN THE VEHICLE IS A U SHAPE BASE PARA. 0043 - DIRECTION)
BASSETT disclose of a vehicle with a chassis construction mounted on frame construction wherein the vehicle form is substantially U shaped., BARRICK discloses:
the frame construction and/or the mounting devices attached to the frame construction have a height distance to a base surface which is at least 0.5 meters ( para. 0054 – predetermined height and height min and max thresholds)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the inventio for BASSETT’s U shaped based, and for BARRICK discloses frame construction and mounting devices to have a height distance to a base surface of .5 meter or 1 meter . Doing so merely constitutes the substitution of height values for another to produce the predictable result of predetermined heights to adjust the tool height for more effective ground engagement implement performance.(MPEP 2143, subsection I, B).
Regarding Claim 8
BASSETT / BARRICK discloses claim 7:
BASSETT discloses:
(currently amended) The carrier vehicle of claim 6, wherein the pivot range of the articulation device is limited and/or can be limited with respect to the main carrier construction by means of a limiting apparatus. ( para. 0060 – discloses where in the articulation device can rotate up to 90 degree, wherein pivoting 90 degree from outboard field position to retracted in board position provides a limit)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.H.T/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671