DETAILED ACTION
2. Applicant's amendment and remarks filed on 08/10/2026 are acknowledged.
Claims 1-17 are pending.
3. Applicant's election with traverse of the invention of Group III in the reply filed on 08/10/2026 is acknowledged.
The traversal is based on Applicant’s assertion that the reference cited in the Restriction Requirement does not constitute prior art. Applicant’s argument is acknowledged.
All presently pending claims read on the elected invention.
4. Claim 8 is objected to because of an apparent typographical error in the recitation of “IG4,” where it appears that “IgG4” was intended. Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
6. Claims 1-2, 4-9 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
(i) Claim 1 is indefinite because, in the absence of a conjunction (such as “and” or “or”) in listing of SEQ ID NOS: 41-46, it is unclear whether all six sequences must be present together, or is the presence of any one of these sequences satisfies the claim limitation.
(ii) Claims 2, 4-9 and 11-17 are indefinite, because they encompass the indefinite limitations of the claim(s) on which they depend.
In view of the above, a person of ordinary skill in the art cannot unequivocally interpret the metes and bounds of the claims so as to understand how to avoid infringement. Applicant is reminded that any amendment must point to a basis in the specification so as not to add New Matter. See MPEP 714.02 and 2163.06.
8. Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yao et al. (US 20200002400 “Yao ‘400,” cited on IDS).
It is noted that according to Application Data Sheet filed on 07/26/2023, the present application is a 371 of PCT/US2022/013875 (01/26/2022), which is a CIP of USSN 17/352915 (06/21/2021). PCT/US2022/013875 claims benefit of provisional applications USSN 63/154040 (02/26/2021) and USSN 63/142216 (01/27/2021). Accordingly, the earliest priority date of the present application is 01/27/2021.
Yao ‘400 teaches a chimeric antigen receptor of SEQ ID NO: 5 (e.g. claim 5), which is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 5 (see SCORE), and as such possesses the same structural features and functional properties as recited in instant claims 1-14. Yao ‘400 further teaches T cells expressing the CAR and pharmaceutical composition comprising the T cells (e.g. claims 10-15), thereby anticipating instant claims 15-17.
9. Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yao et al. (US 20210290673 “Yao ‘673,” cited on IDS).
As noted in section 8 above, the earliest priority date of the present application is 01/27/2021. Yao ‘673, filed on 05/18/2020, names another inventor, and as such constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Yao ‘673 teaches chimeric receptor “CAR-T20.19” of SEQ ID NO: 39 (Tables 1 and 2), which is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 5 (see SCORE), and as such possesses the same structural features and functional properties as recited in instant claims 1-14. Yao ‘673 further teaches T cells expressing the CAR and pharmaceutical composition comprising the T cells (e.g. Example 11), thereby anticipating instant claims 15-17.
10. Claims 1-9 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Press et al. (US 20190106501, cited on IDS).
As noted in section 8 above, the earliest priority date of the present application is 01/27/2021.
The CDR sequences recited in claim 1 and the variable region sequences recited in claim 3 are identical to the corresponding sequences of anti-CD20 antibody ofatumumab (clone 2F2, also known as Arzerra™ and Kesimpta™) (see SCORE).
Press teaches anti-CD20 CARs comprising ofatumumab-based scFv (e.g. [0104]), which is within the scope of instant claims 1, 3 and 4. The CARs further comprise a signal peptide, an IgG4 hinge-CH2-CH3, a CD8 transmembrane domain, and an intracellular domain comprising CD3ζ, 4-1BB, CD28, or any combination thereof (e.g. [0102]-[0104], [0131]), thereby anticipating claims 5-9 and 11-14. Press further teaches CAR-expressing T cells and compositions comprising the cells (e.g. [0268]).
Claim 2 is included in the rejection, because it recites one of only two possible arrangements, and as such would be at once envisaged by a person of ordinary skill in the art.
12. Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of each of U.S. Patents No. 11066457, 11472858, 11618778, 11608369, 12583903, 12747279, 11207349, 11439665, 11633430, 12448432, 12311022, 12458667, 12751973, and 12753221.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are anticipated by the claims of each of the above-listed patents, which recite ofatumumab-based chimeric antigen receptors comprising at least the same CDRs and VRs as instantly recited.
13. Claims 1-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of each of the following copending applications:
USSN PG Pub. No.
17911502 20230104705
19188511 20250262243
19348065 20260076995
19356595 20260108557
19356548 20260108556
19773860
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are anticipated by the claims of each of the above-listed copending applications, which recite ofatumumab-based chimeric antigen receptors comprising at least the same CDRs and VRs as instantly recited.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
14. Conclusion: no claim is allowed.
/ILIA I OUSPENSKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644