DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Election/Restrictions
3. Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-3, 8, 17-20 in the reply filed on 11/13/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 8 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 8, 18-20 recite a MAP trigger frame but do not specify what the term “MAP” stands for.
Claims 8, 18-20 recite “a BA soliciting manner” without specifying the term “BA”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Oteri et al (US 20220030611, hereinafter referred to as Oteri).
Re claim 1, Oteri teaches a communication apparatus (AP1, Fig. 15), comprising:
(i) circuitry (processor, Par 0274), which in operation, generates a frame (first trigger frame, Fig. 15) comprising information (RU allocation, STA-specific information, common information) of a subsequent transmission (information regarding multi-AP data transmission of Data1, Data2, Fig. 15) (Fig. 15, Par 0160-0162, Par 0164-0169, Par 0173-0174, Par 0182-0183); and
(ii) a transmitter (radio frequency transceiver, Par 0274), which in operation, transmits the frame (first trigger frame, Fig. 15) to another communication apparatus (AP2, STA) (Fig. 15, Par 0160-0162, Par 0181-0183, Par 0186, Par 0208).
Claim 17 recites a method performing the functions recited in claim 1 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Re claim 2, Oteri teaches that the communication apparatus (AP1) and the another communication apparatus (AP2) are access points (APs) (Fig. 15, Par 0181-0183, Par 0186, Par 0190, Par 0197, Par 0199).
Re claim 3, Oteri teaches that the information indicates whether the subsequent transmission is asynchronous or synchronous (synchronized transmission) (Fig. 15, Par 0161, Par 0178-0183).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 8 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oteri as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Viger et al (US 20230217491, hereinafter referred to as Viger).
Re claims 8, 18, 19, 20, Oteri teaches that the frame is MAP trigger frame (first trigger frame) (Fig. 15, Par 0160-0162).
Oteri does not explicitly disclose that when a BA Soliciting Manner subfield in the MAP trigger frame is indicated as ‘triggered response scheduling (TRS) Control field or Trigger frame’, the transmitter may be configured to transmit a frame carrying a TRS Control subfield or a MAP BlockAck Scheduling (MBS) Control subfield to indicate parameters of BlockAck frame to an associated STA.
Viger teaches that when a BA Soliciting Manner subfield in the MAP trigger frame is indicated as ‘triggered response scheduling (TRS) Control field or Trigger frame (TRS field triggering a response), the transmitter may be configured to transmit a frame carrying a TRS Control subfield or a MAP BlockAck Scheduling (MBS) Control subfield to indicate parameters of BlockAck frame to an associated STA (DL frame including TRS subfield is sent to non-AP station) (Fig. 11, Par 0247-0250).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oteri by including the step that when a BA Soliciting Manner subfield in the MAP trigger frame is indicated as ‘triggered response scheduling (TRS) Control field or Trigger frame’, the transmitter may be configured to transmit a frame carrying a TRS Control subfield or a MAP BlockAck Scheduling (MBS) Control subfield to indicate parameters of BlockAck frame to an associated STA, as taught by Viger for the purpose of providing “efficient mechanisms to perform synchronized multi-AP operation”, as taught by Viger (Par 0015).
Conclusion
/HARUN CHOWDHURY/Examiner, Art Unit 2473