Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 contains the trademark/trade name ISOFIX. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe anchor/attachment and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-19, 27, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Patterson et al. (US 2005/0280297).
Regarding claim 1, Patterson et al. disclose a safety warning system for a child safety seat having a top tether 14, an ISOFIX connector 24 and a buckle (figure 3B, para 0040), wherein the safety warning system for the child safety seat comprises: an alarm device 44 selectively giving an alarm according to an alarm signal that is received.
Regarding claim 2, Patterson et al. disclose a first detection device 42 configured to detect whether the top tether 14 is tensioned and send out a first detection signal when detecting that the top tether is tensioned; a second detection device 42 configured to detect whether the ISOFIX connector 24 is installed in place and send out a second detection signal when detecting that the ISOFIX connector is installed in place; a third detection device 42 configured to detect whether the buckle is buckled and send out a third detection signal when detecting that the buckle is buckled (para 0040); and a transfer control device 40 configured to receive the first detection signal, the second detection signal and the third detection signal, so that the alarm device sends out an alarm signal when at least one of the first detection signal, the second detection signal and the third detection signal is not received by the transfer control device (para 0040 discloses alarm activated when proper tension is not detected).
Regarding claim 3, Patterson et al. disclose the first detection device comprises a first detector 42 provided on a moving path of the top tether 14 (figure 5A) for detecting whether the top tether is tensioned.
Regarding claim 4, Patterson et al. disclose second detection device comprises a second detector 42 provided on the ISOFIX connector 24 for detecting whether the ISOFIX connector is installed in place.
Regarding claim 5, Patterson et al. disclose the third detection device 42 comprises a third detector provided on a buckling path of the buckle for detecting whether the buckle is buckled (para 0040).
Regarding claim 6, Patterson et al. disclose the transfer control device 40 is electrically connected with the first detection device, the second detection device and the third detection device by a wired or wireless mode, respectively.
Regarding claim 7, Patterson et al. disclose the alarm device 44 is electrically connected with the transfer control device 40.
Regarding claim 8, Patterson et al. disclose the transfer control device 40 and the alarm device 44 are electrically connected with each other by a wired or wireless mode.
Regarding claim 10, Patterson et al. disclose the transfer control device 40, the first detection device, the second detection device and the third detection device 42 are provided independently from one another.
Regarding claim 11, Patterson et al. disclose the transfer control device 40 is provided in the child safety seat or a vehicle.
Regarding claim 12, Patterson et al. disclose the first detection device comprises a first detector 42 configured to detect whether the top tether 14 is tensioned, and a first wireless module (para 0025 discloses wireless FR can be used to transmit signals to ECU) configured to wirelessly connect with the transfer control device and send the first detection signal to the transfer control device.
Regarding claim 13, Patterson et al. disclose the second detection device comprises a second detector 42 configured to detect whether the ISOFIX 24 connector is installed in place, and a second wireless module configured to wirelessly connect (para 0025) with the transfer control device and send the second detection signal to the transfer control device.
Regarding claim 14, Patterson et al. disclose the third detection device comprises a third detector 42 configured to detect whether the buckle is buckled (para 0040), and a third wireless module (para 0025) configured to wirelessly connect with the transfer control device and send the third detection signal to the transfer control device.
Regarding claim 15, Patterson et al. disclose the transfer control device 40 comprises a wireless communication module configured to wirelessly connect with the first wireless module, the second wireless module and the third wireless module (para 0025).
Regarding claim 16, Patterson et al. disclose the wireless communication module, the first wireless module, the second wireless module and the third wireless module are Bluetooth modules (para 0025 discloses RF transmission) or Wi-Fi modules.
Regarding claim 17, Patterson et al. disclose the first detection device 42 comprises a first detection circuit board (figures 5) and a first detector 49, 51 electrically connected to the first detection circuit board (Hall effect device are a circuitry, see figure 5C); the second detection device comprises a second detection circuit board and a second detector electrically connected to the second detection circuit board; the third detection device comprises a third detection circuit board and a third detector electrically connected to the third detection circuit board; and the first detection circuit board, the second detection circuit board and the third detection circuit board are respectively electrically connected to the transfer control device through wires (Patterson et al. disclose all 3 sensors have similar constructions).
Regarding claim 18, Patterson et al. disclose the transfer control device 40 is integrated with the first detection device, the second detection device and the third detection device 42; the first detection device comprises a first detector 49, 51 provided on the moving path of the top tether for detecting whether the top tether 14 is tensioned, and the first detector is electrically connected to the first detection device through wires (para 0025); the second detection device 42 comprises a second detector provided on the ISOFIX connector 24 for detecting whether the ISOFIX connector is installed in place, and the second detector is electrically connected to the second detection device through wires (para 0025); the third detection device comprises a third detector 42 provided on the buckling path of the buckle for detecting whether the buckle is buckled (para 0040), and the third detector is electrically connected to the third detection device through wires (para 0025).
Regarding claim 19, Patterson et al. disclose when the top tether 14 is tensioned, it acts on the first detector, so that the first detection device generates and sends out the first detection signal.
Regarding claim 27, Patterson et al. disclose each of the first detector, the second detector and the third detector 42 is any one of a mechanical switch, a contact sensor, a pressure sensor, an infrared sensor and a displacement sensor.
Regarding claim 28, Patterson et al. disclose a child safety seat adapted to be installed on a seat of a vehicle, wherein comprises the safety warning system for the child safety seat according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patterson et al. in view of Hasan et al. (WO 2021/090313 A1 see US 2022/0363168 for translation).
Regarding claim 9, Hasan et al. disclose the transfer control device is also communicatively connectable with a mobile terminal (para 0100) or a vehicle control system to send the alarm signal to the mobile terminal or the vehicle control system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Hasan et al. and use mobile device to communicate in the invention of Patterson et al. because it sends information quickly which can prevent any injuries.
Regarding claim 29, Hasan et al. disclose the child safety seat comprises: a base 10 having an anchoring portion connected to the seat of the vehicle; a seat portion arranged on the base; and a support leg 22 arranged at a front of the base and extending from the base towards a floor of the vehicle; wherein the alarm device comprises a plurality of switches 11-25, and selectively giving an alarm in response to turning-off and turning-on of the plurality of switches (figures 6, 7), wherein the support leg comprises a first tube 21 and a second tube 23 sleeved with each other, and when the first tube is locked to the second tube, a pressure (para 0089) is applied to an end of the second tube to turn on one of the plurality of switches.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Hasan et al. and use the alarm indication system in the invention of Patterson et al. for the purpose of providing additional safety.
Regarding claim 30, Hasan et al. disclose the plurality of switches are three switches (figures 6-7 shows different alarms on and off based on the switches), and the alarm device is configured to: give an alarm when any one of the three switches is turned on and the three switches are not all turned on; and give no alarm when all the three switches are turned on or turned off.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Hasan et al. and use the alarm indication system in the invention of Patterson et al. for the purpose of providing additional safety.
Regarding claim 31, Hasan et al. disclose the anchoring portion comprises two anchoring arms 16, a first switch 19 in the three switches is turned on in response to the support leg abutting against the floor of the vehicle, and the second switch 11 and the third switch 11 in the three switches are turned on in response to a corresponding one of the two anchoring arms being anchored to a position of the seat of the vehicle, respectively.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Hasan et al. and use the alarm indication system with anchors and legs in the invention of Patterson et al. for the purpose of providing additional safety.
Claim(s) 20-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patterson et al. in view of Guo et al. (WO 2021/098710 A1 see US 2022/0396184 for translation).
Regarding claim 20, Guo et al. disclose the first detection device further comprises a first trigger 620 (fig. 14), the first trigger is movably provided and connected to the top tether, and is driven to move during the tension process of the top tether to act on the first detector.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Guo et al. and place a trigger in the sensor of Patterson et al. because it is efficient and compact.
Regarding claim 21, Guo et al. disclose the first detection device further comprises an elastic member (figure 14 shows the springs) abutting against the first trigger, and when the top tether is not tensioned, an elastic force of the elastic member resets the first trigger to release the first detector.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Guo et al. and place a spring with the trigger in the sensor of Patterson et al. because it is efficient and compact.
Regarding claim 22, Guo et al. disclose wherein the first detection device further comprises a traction member 412, two ends of the traction member are respectively connected to the top tether and the first trigger, and the top tether pulls the first trigger to move via the traction member.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Guo et al. and place a traction member with the trigger in the sensor of Patterson et al. because it is efficient and compact.
Regarding claim 23, Guo et al. disclose the first detection device further comprises a slider (figure 14, 15 shows the trigger moving on the slider path) slidably provided and connected with the top tether and the traction member respectively, and when the top tether is tensioned by an external force, the slider is driven to slide, and pulls the first trigger to move via the traction member.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Guo et al. and place a slider member with the trigger in the sensor of Patterson et al. because it is efficient and compact.
Regarding claim 24, Patterson et al. as modified with Guo et al. fail to disclose the second detection device further comprises a second trigger movably provided and connected to the ISOFIX connector, and the second trigger is driven to move during installation of the ISOFIX connector to act on the second detection device, and when the ISOFIX connector is installed in place, the second detection device generates and sends out the second detection signal. However, Patterson et al. disclose single type of sensor used for tether and ISOFIX. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Guo et al. and place the trigger in the ISOFIX sensor as well in the invention of Patterson et al. because it is efficient and compact.
Claim(s) 25, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patterson et al. in view of Edwards (US 2021/0024032).
Regarding claim 25, Edwards discloses the third detector 185 is installed in a male buckle 110 or a female buckle 105 of the buckle, and when the male buckle is buckled with the female buckle, the male buckle or female buckle acts on the third detector, and the third detection device generates and sends out the third detection signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Edwards and use a male and female buckle in the invention of Patterson et al. because it is secure and inexpensive.
Regarding claim 26, Edwards discloses a through hole (see figure 6) is provided on one of the male buckle 110 and the female buckle, the third detector is disposed inside the male buckle or the female buckle and protrudes through the through hole on an insertion path between the male buckle and the female buckle, and the male buckle or female buckle acts on the third detector when the male buckle is buckled with the female buckle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Edwards and use a male and female buckle in the invention of Patterson et al. because it is secure and inexpensive.
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patterson et al. in view of Hasan et al. as applied to claim 31 above and further in view of Zhang (CN 114475374 B, see US 2023/0391233 for translation)
Regarding claim 32, Zhang discloses the support leg 30 comprises a display portion 44 having three light emitting devices 443, 441, 442, sequentially arranged along a transverse direction of the child safety seat, when the alarm device gives an alarm, an light emitting device (para 0042 of US PGPUB) in the middle in the three light emitting devices emits light in response to turning-on of the first switch, and light emitting devices on both sides in the three light emitting devices emit light in response to turning-on of the first switch and the second switch, respectively.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Zhang and place the display windows in the in the legs of Patterson et al. in order to prevent any injuries.
Claim(s) 33-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patterson et al. in view of Hasan et al. as applied to claim 29 above and further in view of Fang et al. (CN 119911178A, see US 2023/0391234 for translation).
Regarding claim 33, Fang et al. disclose a receiving member 200 is arranged in the first tube 20, the receiving member is slidably arranged between the first tube and the second tube 30, and an end of the receiving member is provided with a trigger portion 220 for turning-on one of the plurality of switches 100.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Fang et al. and use the trigger member with display in the invention of Patterson et al. as modified because it is simple, efficient and inexpensive.
Regarding claim 34, Fang et al. disclose the first tube 20 is slidably sleeved on the second tube 30, and an engaging member 310 is arranged in the second tube and is selectively locked to different positions of the receiving member.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Fang et al. and place an engaging member between the tubes in the invention of Patterson et al. because it simple, efficient and inexpensive.
Regarding claim 35, Fang et al. disclose the support leg further comprises a grounding portion 320 at an end of the second tube for contacting the floor of the vehicle, the grounding portion comprises pressing portions arranged 320 at both sides, and the pressing portions are linked with the engaging member 310, so that when the pressing portions are pressed, the engaging portion is disengaged and unlocked with the receiving member, and when the pressing portions are not pressed, the engaging portion is locked with the receiving member.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Fang et al. and place an engaging member with pressing member between the tubes in the invention of Patterson et al. because it simple, efficient and inexpensive.
Regarding claim 36, Fang et al. disclose the second tube further comprises a linkage 300, the pressing portions 320 and the engaging portion 310 are linked through the linkage, a first inclined surface (bottom inclined surface at 340) is formed on the pressing portion, and a second inclined surface (top inclined surface at 340) is formed on an end of the linkage, and movement of the pressing portions in a first direction enables the linkage to move in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction via cooperation of the first inclined surface and the second inclined surface.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Fang et al. and place an engaging member with pressing member between the tubes in the invention of Patterson et al. because it simple, efficient and inexpensive.
Regarding claim 37, Fang et al. disclose the engaging member 310 is rotatably fixed in the second tube via a pivot shaft 420, a chute 510 is formed on the other end of the linkage, the engaging member is coupled with the chute via an actuating shaft 410, the actuating shaft is movable in the chute, and movement of the linkage in the second direction enables the engaging member to rotate about the pivot shaft.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Fang et al. and use shafts with chutes between the tubes in the invention of Patterson et al. because it simple, efficient and inexpensive.
Regarding claim 38, Fang et al. disclose an elongated slot 340 extending in the second direction is formed on the linkage, a pin 550 fixed in the second tube passes through the elongated slot, and a reset member 540 is arranged between the linkage and the grounding portion to provide a thrust force.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Fang et al. and place a reset member at the bottom end between the tubes in the invention of Patterson et al. because it simple, efficient and inexpensive.
Regarding claim 39, Fang et al. disclose the receiving member 200 is provided with a plurality of segment holes 210 along a direction in which the first tube moves relative to the second tube, and the engaging member is locked to the receiving member by engaging with one of the plurality of segment holes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Fang et al. and place use the receiving member with holes between the tubes in the invention of Patterson et al. because it simple, efficient and inexpensive.
Conclusion
/SYED A ISLAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636