Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species A, encompassing claims 1-12, in the reply filed on April 20, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itoh et al. (US Patent no. 4,747,924) in view of Tarcy et al. (US Patent no. 5,037,608).
Regarding claim 1, Itoh discloses a method for electrowinning a neodymium compound (abstract), the method comprising:
providing a fluoride-based electrolyte through an opening (56; figure 2) defined in an electrolytic bath (44) including a cathode (40) and an anode (42; col. 3, lines 25-49; col. 11, lines 20-31);
providing a neodymium compound through the opening (56) defined in the electrolytic bath (44);
dissolving in a molten salt of the fluoride-based electrolyte (col. 2, lines 19-23 and col. 63 to col. 3, line 10); and
reducing neodymium at the cathode (col. 3, lines 25 to col. 4, line 22; col. 5, lines 28-32).
Itoh fails to teach wherein the neodymium compound is in the form of granules, each having at least one cavity defined therein, wherein the cavity is defined inside or on a surface of the granule, and an apparent density of the granules is lower than a density of the molten salt.
Tarcy discloses a method for making rare earth metal alloys comprising adding a pellet to a molten bath, said pellet consisting essentially of a mixture of light metal powder and rare earth metal-containing compound (abstract). The pellets have a relatively low density, between 1.8-2.8 g/cc, and low number of voids in order to enhance the overall reduction rate by creating different surface to volume ratios for rare earth metal compounds (description of figure 2; col. 5, lines 3-18; col. 6, lines 47-63; col. 7, lines 4-52). Table 1 shows average density of the molten bath, i.e. between 1.96 to 2.6 g/cc and thus, the density of the pellets may be selected to be lower than the density of the molten bath, as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to add a rare earth compound in the form of granules/pellets having an apparent density lower than the density of the molten salt in the method of Itoh because as taught by Tarcy, this enhances the overall reduction rate by creating different surface to volume ratios for rare earth metal compounds and one would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so.
Regarding claim 2, at least a portion of each of the cathode (40) and the anode (42) of Itoh is immersed in the molten salt (44; figure 2; col. 10, lines 25-56).
Regarding claim 3, Itoh further teaches wherein at least a portion of the anode is exposed to air (col. 12, lines 16-21; col. 13, lines 50-61). Tarcy teaches providing granules/pellets, the pellets would cover a surface of the molten salt and at least a portion of an exposed portion of the anode that would inherently block or reduce contact of the anode and the molten salt with gas col. 5, lines 3-18; col. 6, lines 47-63; col. 7, lines 4-52).
Regarding claim 4, the cathode of Itoh comprises iron, and the anode comprises graphite (abstract; col. 8, lines 38-46; col. 12, lines 3-5).
Regarding claim 5, the granules of Tarcy have a diameter of 9.5 mm to 28 mm (~0.375-1.125 inches – col. 9, lines 6-10; table 1).
Regarding claim 6, the granules of Tarcy have an apparent density of 1.8-4 g/cm3 to 6.0 g/cm3 and a cavity percentage of 15% or more (table 1).
Regarding claim 7, Itoh further teaches wherein the fluoride-based electrolyte comprises LiF and NdF3 (col. 6, lines 7-12).
Regarding claim 8, the fluoride-based electrolyte of Itoh comprises LiF and NdF3 (col. 6, lines 7-12). It has been held by courts that generally, differences in concentration not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05.II.A.
Regarding claim 9, the molten salt of Tarcy has a density of up to g/cm3 (col. 5, lines 5-8).
Regarding claim 10, Itoh discloses wherein the neodymium compound comprises at least neodymium oxide (col. 4, lines 5-10).
Regarding claim 11, Itoh discloses wherein the neodymium compound comprises at least neodymium oxide (col. 4, lines 5-10). It has been held by courts that generally, differences in concentration not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05.II.A.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itoh and Tarcy as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dudley et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2012/0156492).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Itoh discloses all the method steps discussed above, but fails to teach wherein the providing granules comprises: forming a granule precursor by adding a binder to neodymium compound powder or adding the binder to a mixture of neodymium compound powder and graphite powder; drying the granule precursor; and heat-treating and sintering the dried granule precursor by heating at a temperature of 800°C to 1,500°C.
Dudley teaches a feedstock for reduction in an electrolytic cell, the feedstock comprises a plurality of three-dimensional elements, i.e. granules or pellets, defining an internal cavity (abstract; paragraphs 7, 25, 91; figures 1-1b), the granules being formed by adding a binder to neodymium compound powder; drying; and heat-treating and sintering the dried granule precursor by heating at a temperature of approximately 1050°C (paragraphs 37; 76) in order to provide the elements with the required mechanical strength to act as a feedstock and to also control levels of porosity in the elements within pre-determined limits (paragraph 37).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to form the pellets of the modified Itoh by adding a binder, heat-treating and sintering, as taught by Dudley, in order to provide the elements with the required mechanical strength to act as a feedstock and to also control levels of porosity in the elements within pre-determined limits.
Conclusion
/ZULMARIAM MENDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794