DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 7, the recitation “the wireless controller” at line 5 lacks clear antecedent basis.
As to claim 10, there are plural “commands” recited in independent claim 7; therefore, it is not clear as to which command the recitation “the command” at line 1 actually refers to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ruutu (US 2013/0109323).
As to claim 1, Ruutu discloses an electronic device 200 (see at least figure 2), comprising: a processor 290 to place the electronic device 200 in a transit mode (see at least paragraph [0150]), wherein when in the transit mode the processor 290 is placed in an inactive state (see at least paragraphs [0110], [0113])); a wireless module comprising: a wireless controller (see paragraph [0143]; in this instance, the claimed “a wireless controller” reads on circuitries to “wake up” “the relevant parts of the device at predefined times”) to, when in the transit mode, periodically activate a wireless transceiver 210, 270 of the electronic device 200 (see paragraph [0143]); and the wireless transceiver 210, 270 to, when in the transit mode: connect to a wireless network (see paragraphs [0050], [0122], [0143]); and transmit configuration information for the electronic device (see paragraph [0143]).
As to claim 2, Ruutu discloses that the configuration information comprises supply chain information. See paragraphs [0035], [0036], [0132], [0139], [0142].
As to claim 3, Ruutu discloses that the configuration information comprises operational information for the electronic device. See paragraphs [0034], [0121], [0143].
As to claim 4, Ruutu discloses that the wireless network is selected from the group consisting of: a wireless wide area network (WWAN); a BLUETOOTH (BT) network; and a wireless local area network (WLAN). See paragraphs [0122], [0136].
As to claim 5, Ruutu discloses that responsive to electronic device activation, the processor is to transition the electronic device from an administrator mode to a consumer mode. See paragraphs [0036], [0039], [0134], [0150].
As to claim 7, it is rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 above. Ruutu further discloses that the processor executes a command that is received by the wireless controller (see paragraphs [0143], [0151]), and that the wireless transceiver 210, 270 receives a command for the processor of the electronic device (in this instance, the claimed “a command “ reads on “wirelessly querying (or instructing)” at paragraph [0035]), and that the wireless controller to, when in the transit mode: periodically activate the wireless transceiver of the electronic device to connect to the wireless network (see paragraphs [0050], [0122], [0143]); and based on a received command, activate the processor and transmit the command (In this instance, the claimed “a received command“ reads on an end-user initiated software update command after purchasing the electronic device as disclosed at paragraph [0151]).
As to claim 8, Ruutu discloses that the command is an end-user initiated provisioning command. In this instance, the claimed “an end-user initiated provisioning command “ reads on an end-user initiated software update command after purchasing the electronic device, as disclosed at paragraph [0151].
As to claim 9, Ruutu discloses that upon electronic device activation, the processor is to execute the end-user initiated provisioning command. In this instance, the claimed “end-user initiated provisioning command “ reads on an end-user initiated software update command after purchasing the electronic device and turn it ON for the first time, as disclosed at paragraph [0151].
As to claim 10, Ruutu discloses that the command is an update to program code of the electronic device. See paragraph [0143].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruutu.
As to claim 6, Ruutu fails to disclose responsive to electronic device activation, the processor is to de-provision the wireless module until a user activation request is received. The examiner, however, takes Official Notice that such a teaching is known in the art, especially after the electronic device is purchased by the owner. Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ruutu as claimed, in order to yield predictable results such as providing security to the end user upon purchasing the electronic device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-15 are allowed.
As to independent claim 11, the prior art of record fail to anticipate, or render obvious, causing the processor to: map the electronic device to a supply chain account to record a transaction with the electronic device while in the transit mode; and deleting a mapping of the electronic device to the supply chain account.
As to dependent claims 12-15, they are allowed for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 11 as set forth above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tilly (US 12,045,846); Kim (US 2018/0173401) disclose wirelessly tracking electronic devices during shipment.
/NGUYEN T VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646