DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No 18/263,115 filed on 07/26/2023 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-30 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Markhovsky et al. (U.S 20200182959) in view of Ren (US 12156171, Nov. 26, 2024).
Regarding Claim 1, Markhovsky discloses a method of detecting an attack on reference signals used for positioning of a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication network, the method performed by a receiving device and comprising receiving, at the receiving device, at least a portion of a reference signal resource transmitted by a transmitting device (page 3, par (0025), line 1-10, WLAN Access Points (APs) feature multiple antennas at the transmitter and the receiver as well as signals structure that enable cutting edge localization, it is conceivable to use hybrid positioning for indoor environments, utilizing both Wi-Fi and LTE signals(wherein utilizing reference signal resource), the cutting-edge Wi-Fi target localization is performed by the WLAN, Wi-Fi and LTE hybrids will processing to combine the intermediate Wi-Fi and LTE results to finalize target position(reference signal used for positioning of a UE));
determining a measured signal characteristic from an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol of the at least a portion of the reference signal resource, a resource repetition of the at least a portion of the reference signal resource, or a combination thereof (page 44, par (0630), line 1-10, the UE receiver include a detector configured to detect number of OFDM symbols that carrying reference signals(detector determining signal characteristic from the OFDM symbols that carrying reference signals), PRS and CRS, this detector further configured to extract Resource Elements (REs) from the OFDM symbols on a per symbol basis(detector excreted resource element form the reference signal), and configured to collect and store Resource Elements (REs) from a number of OFDM symbols on a per symbol basis, i.e., produce for each symbol identification (ID) a downlink data structure that includes REs correlated with this symbol ID(measured signal characteristics form the OFDM symbol), the detector configured to collect downlink metadata, including each frame start and other relevant and auxiliary information, also see par(0260), processing gain can be achieved by using the repletion of the OFDM signal)).
Markhovsky discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except comparing the measured signal characteristic with a comparison signal characteristic, wherein the comparison signal characteristic comprises a calculated angle based on estimated locations of the transmitting device and receiving device, or a corresponding measured signal characteristic of one or more radio frequency (RF) signals transmitted by the transmitting device; and responsive to determining greater than a threshold difference between the measured signal characteristic and the comparison signal characteristic, sending information indicative of an attack on the reference signal resource to another device.
Ren is the same field of invention teaches comparing the measured signal characteristic with a comparison signal characteristic, wherein the comparison signal characteristic comprises a calculated angle based on estimated locations of the transmitting device and receiving device, or a corresponding measured signal characteristic of one or more radio frequency (RF) signals transmitted by the transmitting device(Column 3, line 10-20, LTE protocol includes the quality indication of the positioning measurement value, the LTE supports E-CID positioning technologies, also see Column 2, the E-CID (namely TA+AoA) is to calculate the position through the angle between the line from the terminal to the target base station(transmitting device and the receiving device) and the true north direction (namely AoA) as well as the Timing Advance (TA) of the terminal(wherein comparison signal characteristics of AoA and TA to calculate based on the position or location of the device), the E-CID positioning measurement values include AoA, TA, eNB receiving-transmitting time difference measurement, UE receiving-transmitting time difference measurement (Rx-Tx time difference));
and responsive to determining greater than a threshold difference between the measured signal characteristic and the comparison signal characteristic, sending information indicative of an attack on the reference signal resource to another device(Column 13, line 30-35, The UE compares the quality indication of the positioning measurement value with a pre-configured threshold value to obtain the decision result of the quality indication of the positioning measurement value, where the "positive" state indicates that the quality indication of the positioning measurement value satisfies the performance requirement, if the quality indication of the positioning measurement value is greater than the preset threshold value, the decision result(sending information indicative positive state to the another device) of the quality indication of the positioning measurement value is determined as the "positive" state, the UE reports the positioning measurement value and the decision result of the quality indication of the positioning measurement value).
Markhovsky and Ren are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on determining greater than a threshold difference between the measured signal characteristic and the comparison signal characteristic the teaching of Markhovsky to include the UE compares the quality indication of the positioning measurement value with a pre-configured threshold value to obtain the decision result of the quality indication of the positioning measurement value teaching of Ren because it is providing the positioning assistance data requested by the UE in the provide positioning assistance data message, which carries the configuration information of the cell-specific SSB resource.
Regarding Claim 2, Markhovsky discloses the one or more RF signals comprise one or more additional OFDM symbols of the reference signal resource (page 51, par (0722), line 1-5, OFDM symbols carrying reference signals or RE of references signals from OFDM symbols), one or more additional resource repetitions of the reference signal resource, or a combination thereof (page 19, par (0260), line 1-5, Using the repetitions of the signal).
Regarding Claim 3, Markhovsky discloses the one or more RF signals comprise a separately transmitted signal Quasi-Co-Located (QCLed) with the reference signal resource (page 42, par (0687), line 1-5, the UE is being switched between two or more neighboring cells even if UE is stationary or quasi-stationary).
Regarding Claim 4, Markhovsky discloses the separately transmitted signal comprises a Tracking Reference Signal (TRS), a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS), or a Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) (page 49, par (0689), line 1-5, LSU downlink signal processor, the LSU uplink signal processor receive the uplink reference signal(s), SRS and DMRS, data that was collected from one or more UEs and pre-processed by the eNodeB).
Regarding Claim 5, Markhovsky discloses the measured signal characteristic and the corresponding measured signal characteristic each comprise a peak location of a Channel Energy Response (CER), or a power delay profile of the CER, or a combination thereof (page 26, par (0362), line 1-10, The measured
signal is the CPICH, the propagation time of signals is correlated with a locally generated replica. The peak of correlation indicates the observed time of propagation of the measured signal. Time difference of arrival values between two base stations determines a hyperbola. At least three reference points are needed to define two hyperbolas. The location of the UE is in the intersection of these two hyperbolas (peak location)).
Regarding Claim 6, Markhovsky discloses the measured signal characteristic and the corresponding measured signal characteristic each comprise an Angle of Arrival (AoA), or an Angle of Departure (AoD), or a combination thereof (page 2, par (0014), line 1-10, uplink locate support the Angle of Arrival (AoA)/Direction of Arrival (DoA) method, where AoA/DoA is measured based on uplink transmissions from the UE and the known configuration of the eNodeB).
Regarding Claim 7, Markhovsky discloses the measured signal characteristic and the corresponding measured signal characteristic each comprise a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) (page 32, par (0445), line 1-5, the RSRP (Reference Signal Received Power) is the average of the power of all resource
elements which carry cell-specific reference signals over the entire bandwidth).
Regarding Claim 8, Markhovsky discloses the transmitting device comprises a TRP of the wireless communication network and the reference signal resource comprises a Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) resource (page 34, par (0508), line 1-5, PRS be used by the UE for the Downlink Observed Time Difference of Arrival (DL-OTDOA) positioning).
Regarding Claim 9, Markhovsky discloses the transmitting device comprises the UE and the reference signal resource comprises a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) resource (page 37, par (0554), line 1-3, SRS schedule per UE with a UE ID, the schedule including SRS Scheduling Request Config information and
SRS-UL-Config information).
Regarding Claim 10, Markhovsky discloses the receiving device comprises the UE or a Transmission and Reception Point (TRP) of the wireless communication network (page 35, par (0526), line 1-3, the node receiver including a device detector configured to detect and isolate device reference signals from the device signals).
Regarding Claim 11, Markhovsky discloses the information indicative of an attack on the reference signal resource comprises a resource ID, a symbol index, a time stamp, a frequency, an indication of the measured signal characteristic, a position of the UE, or a combination thereof(page 3, par (0025), line 1-10, WLAN Access Points (APs) feature multiple antennas at the transmitter and the receiver as well as signals structure that enable cutting edge localization, it is conceivable to use hybrid positioning for indoor environments, utilizing both Wi-Fi and LTE signals(wherein utilizing reference signal resource), the cutting-edge Wi-Fi target localization is performed by the WLAN, Wi-Fi and LTE hybrids will processing to combine the intermediate Wi-Fi and LTE results to finalize target position(reference signal used for positioning of a UE)).
Regarding Claim 12, Markhovsky discloses sending information indicative of an attack on the reference signal resource to another device comprises sending the information to a location server via an Uplink Control Information (UCI) message, a Media Access Control - Control Element (MAC-CE) message, an LTE Positioning Protocol (LPP) message, or a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message, or a combination thereof (page 26, par (0362), line 1-10, The measured signal is the CPICH, the propagation time of signals is correlated with a locally generated replica. The peak of correlation indicates the observed time of propagation of the measured signal. Time difference of arrival values between two base stations determines a hyperbola. At least three reference points are needed to define two hyperbolas. The location of the UE is in the intersection of these two hyperbolas).
Regarding Claim 13, Markhovsky discloses sending information indicative of an attack on the reference signal resource to another device comprises sending the information wirelessly to the UE, one or more additional UEs, or both(page 3, par (0025), line 1-10, WLAN Access Points (APs) feature multiple antennas at the transmitter and the receiver as well as signals structure that enable cutting edge localization, it is conceivable to use hybrid positioning for indoor environments, utilizing both Wi-Fi and LTE signals(wherein utilizing reference signal resource).
Regarding Claim 14, Markhovsky discloses a receiving device for detecting an attack on reference signals used for positioning of a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication network, the receiving device comprising a transceiver; a memory; and one or more processing units communicatively coupled with the transceiver and the memory, the one or more processing units configured to receive, via the transceiver, at least a portion of a reference signal resource transmitted by a transmitting device(page 3, par (0025), line 1-10, WLAN Access Points (APs) feature multiple antennas at the transmitter and the receiver as well as signals structure that enable cutting edge localization, it is conceivable to use hybrid positioning for indoor environments, utilizing both Wi-Fi and LTE signals(wherein utilizing reference signal resource), the cutting-edge Wi-Fi target localization is performed by the WLAN, Wi-Fi and LTE hybrids will processing to combine the intermediate Wi-Fi and LTE results to finalize target position(reference signal used for positioning of a UE));
determine a measured signal characteristic from an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol of the at least a portion of the reference signal resource, a resource repetition of the at least a portion of the reference signal resource, or a combination thereof(page 44, par (0630), line 1-10, the UE receiver include a detector configured to detect number of OFDM symbols that carrying reference signals(detector determining signal characteristic from the OFDM symbols that carrying reference signals), PRS and CRS, this detector further configured to extract Resource Elements (REs) from the OFDM symbols on a per symbol basis(detector excreted resource element form the reference signal), and configured to collect and store Resource Elements (REs) from a number of OFDM symbols on a per symbol basis, i.e., produce for each symbol identification (ID) a downlink data structure that includes REs correlated with this symbol ID(measured signal characteristics form the OFDM symbol), the detector configured to collect downlink metadata, including each frame start and other relevant and auxiliary information, also see par(0260), processing gain can be achieved by using the repletion of the OFDM signal)).
Markhovsky discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except comparing the measured signal characteristic with a comparison signal characteristic, wherein the comparison signal characteristic comprises a calculated angle based on estimated locations of the transmitting device and receiving device, or a corresponding measured signal characteristic of one or more radio frequency (RF) signals transmitted by the transmitting device; and responsive to determining greater than a threshold difference between the measured signal characteristic and the comparison signal characteristic, sending information indicative of an attack on the reference signal resource to another device.
Ren is the same field of invention teaches comparing the measured signal characteristic with a comparison signal characteristic, wherein the comparison signal characteristic comprises a calculated angle based on estimated locations of the transmitting device and receiving device, or a corresponding measured signal characteristic of one or more radio frequency (RF) signals transmitted by the transmitting device(Column 3, line 10-20, LTE protocol includes the quality indication of the positioning measurement value, the LTE supports E-CID positioning technologies, also see Column 2, the E-CID (namely TA+AoA) is to calculate the position through the angle between the line from the terminal to the target base station(transmitting device and the receiving device) and the true north direction (namely AoA) as well as the Timing Advance (TA) of the terminal(wherein comparison signal characteristics of AoA and TA to calculate based on the position or location of the device), the E-CID positioning measurement values include AoA, TA, eNB receiving-transmitting time difference measurement, UE receiving-transmitting time difference measurement (Rx-Tx time difference));
and responsive to determining greater than a threshold difference between the measured signal characteristic and the comparison signal characteristic, sending information indicative of an attack on the reference signal resource to another device(Column 13, line 30-35, The UE compares the quality indication of the positioning measurement value with a pre-configured threshold value to obtain the decision result of the quality indication of the positioning measurement value, where the "positive" state indicates that the quality indication of the positioning measurement value satisfies the performance requirement, if the quality indication of the positioning measurement value is greater than the preset threshold value, the decision result(sending information indicative positive state to the another device) of the quality indication of the positioning measurement value is determined as the "positive" state, the UE reports the positioning measurement value and the decision result of the quality indication of the positioning measurement value).
Markhovsky and Ren are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on determining greater than a threshold difference between the measured signal characteristic and the comparison signal characteristic the teaching of Markhovsky to include the UE compares the quality indication of the positioning measurement value with a pre-configured threshold value to obtain the decision result of the quality indication of the positioning measurement value teaching of Ren because it is providing the positioning assistance data requested by the UE in the provide positioning assistance data message, which carries the configuration information of the cell-specific SSB resource.
Regarding Claim 15, Markhovsky discloses the one or more processing units are configured to measure the one or more RF signals to obtain the corresponding measured signal characteristic (page 26, par (0362), line 1-10, The measured signal is the CPICH, the propagation time of signals is correlated with a locally generated replica. The peak of correlation indicates the observed time of propagation of the measured signal, wherein the one or more RF signals comprise one or more additional OFDM symbols of the reference signal resource(page 51, par (0722), line 1-5, OFDM symbols carrying reference signals or RE of references signals from OFDM symbols), one or more additional resource repetitions of the reference signal resource, or a combination thereof(page 19, par (0260), line 1-5, Using the repetitions of the signal).
Regarding Claim 16, Markhovsky discloses the one or more processing units are configured to measure the one or more RF signals to obtain the corresponding measured signal characteristic, wherein the one or more RF signals comprise a separately transmitted signal Quasi-Co-Located (QCLed) with the reference signal resource (page 42, par (0687), line 1-5, the UE is being switched between two or more neighboring cells even if UE is stationary or quasi-stationary).
Regarding Claim 17, Markhovsky discloses to measure the separately transmitted signal, the one or more processing units are configured to measure a Tracking Reference Signal (TRS), a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS), or a Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) (page 49, par (0689), line 1-5, LSU downlink signal processor, the LSU uplink signal processor receive the uplink reference signal(s), SRS and DMRS, data that was collected from one or more UEs and pre-processed by the eNodeB).
Regarding Claim 18, Markhovsky discloses the measured signal characteristic and the corresponding measured signal characteristic each comprise a peak location of a Channel Energy Response (CER), or a power delay profile of the CER, or a combination thereof (page 26, par (0362), line 1-10, The measured
signal is the CPICH, the propagation time of signals is correlated with a locally generated replica. The peak of correlation indicates the observed time of propagation of the measured signal. Time difference of arrival values between two base stations determines a hyperbola. At least three reference points are needed to define two hyperbolas. The location of the UE is in the intersection of these two hyperbolas (peak location)).
Regarding Claim 19, Markhovsky discloses the measured signal characteristic and the corresponding measured signal characteristic each comprise an Angle of Arrival (AoA), or an Angle of Departure (AoD), or a combination thereof (page 2, par (0014), line 1-10, uplink locate support the Angle of Arrival (AoA)/Direction of Arrival (DoA) method, where AoA/DoA is measured based on uplink transmissions from the UE and the known configuration of the eNodeB).
Regarding Claim 20, Markhovsky discloses the measured signal characteristic and the corresponding measured signal characteristic each comprise a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) (page 32, par (0445), line 1-5, the RSRP (Reference Signal Received Power) is the average of the power of all resource elements which carry cell-specific reference signals over the entire bandwidth).
Regarding Claim 21, Markhovsky discloses the transmitting device comprises a TRP of the wireless communication network and the reference signal resource comprises a Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) resource (page 34, par (0508), line 1-5, PRS be used by the UE for the Downlink Observed Time Difference of
Arrival (DL-OTDOA) positioning).
Regarding Claim 22, Markhovsky discloses the transmitting device comprises the UE and the reference signal resource comprises a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) resource (page 37, par (0554), line 1-3, SRS schedule per UE with a UE ID, the schedule including SRS Scheduling Request Config information and SRS-UL-Config information).
Regarding Claim 23, Markhovsky discloses the receiving device comprises the UE or a Transmission and Reception Point (TRP) of the wireless communication network (page 35, par (0526), line 1-3, the node receiver including a device detector configured to detect and isolate device reference signals from the device signals).
Regarding Claim 24, Markhovsky discloses the one or more processing units are configured to include, in the information indicative of an attack on the reference signal resource a resource ID, a symbol index, a time stamp, a frequency, an indication of the measured signal characteristic, a position of the UE, or a combination thereof (page 3, par (0025), line 1-10, WLAN Access Points (APs) feature multiple antennas at the transmitter and the receiver as well as signals structure that enable cutting edge localization, it is conceivable to use hybrid positioning for indoor environments, utilizing both Wi-Fi and LTE signals(wherein utilizing reference signal resource), the cutting-edge Wi-Fi target localization is performed by the WLAN, Wi-Fi and LTE hybrids will processing to combine the intermediate Wi-Fi and LTE results to finalize target position(reference signal used for positioning of a UE)).
Regarding Claim 25, Markhovsky discloses to send the information indicative of an attack on the reference signal resource to another device, the one or more processing units are configured to send the information to a location server via an Uplink Control Information (UCI) message, a Media Access Control - Control Element (MAC-CE) message, an LTE Positioning Protocol (LPP) message, or a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message, or a combination thereof(page 26, par (0362), line 1-10, The measured signal is the CPICH, the propagation time of signals is correlated with a locally generated replica. The peak of correlation indicates the observed time of propagation of the measured signal. Time difference of arrival values between two base stations determines a hyperbola. At least three reference points are needed to define two hyperbolas. The location of the UE is in the intersection of these two hyperbolas).
Regarding Claim 26, Markhovsky discloses to send the information indicative of an attack on the reference signal resource to another device, the one or more processing units are configured to send the information wirelessly to the UE, one or more additional UEs, or both(page 3, par (0025), line 1-10, WLAN Access Points (APs) feature multiple antennas at the transmitter and the receiver as well as signals structure that enable cutting edge localization, it is conceivable to use hybrid positioning for indoor environments, utilizing both Wi-Fi and LTE signals(wherein utilizing reference signal resource).
Regarding Claim 27, Markhovsky discloses a device for detecting an attack on reference signals used for positioning of a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication network, the device comprising means for receiving at least a portion of a reference signal resource transmitted by a transmitting device(page 3, par (0025), line 1-10, WLAN Access Points (APs) feature multiple antennas at the transmitter and the receiver as well as signals structure that enable cutting edge localization, it is conceivable to use hybrid positioning for indoor environments, utilizing both Wi-Fi and LTE signals(wherein utilizing reference signal resource), the cutting-edge Wi-Fi target localization is performed by the WLAN, Wi-Fi and LTE hybrids will processing to combine the intermediate Wi-Fi and LTE results to finalize target position(reference signal used for positioning of a UE)); means for determining a measured signal characteristic from an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol of the at least a portion of the reference signal resource, a resource repetition of the at least a portion of the reference signal resource, or a combination thereof(page 44, par (0630), line 1-10, the UE receiver include a detector configured to detect number of OFDM symbols that carrying reference signals(detector determining signal characteristic from the OFDM symbols that carrying reference signals), PRS and CRS, this detector further configured to extract Resource Elements (REs) from the OFDM symbols on a per symbol basis(detector excreted resource element form the reference signal), and configured to collect and store Resource Elements (REs) from a number of OFDM symbols on a per symbol basis, i.e., produce for each symbol identification (ID) a downlink data structure that includes REs correlated with this symbol ID(measured signal characteristics form the OFDM symbol), the detector configured to collect downlink metadata, including each frame start and other relevant and auxiliary information, also see par(0260), processing gain can be achieved by using the repletion of the OFDM signal))..
Markhovsky discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except means for comparing the measured signal characteristic with a comparison signal characteristic, wherein the comparison signal characteristic comprises a calculated angle based on estimated locations of the transmitting device and a receiving device, or a corresponding measured signal characteristic of one or more radio frequency (RF) signals transmitted by the transmitting device; and means for sending, responsive to determining greater than a threshold difference between the measured signal characteristic and the comparison signal characteristic, information indicative of an attack on the reference signal resource to another device.
Ren is the same field of invention teaches means for comparing the measured signal characteristic with a comparison signal characteristic, wherein the comparison signal characteristic comprises a calculated angle based on estimated locations of the transmitting device and a receiving device, or a corresponding measured signal characteristic of one or more radio frequency (RF) signals transmitted by the transmitting device(Column 3, line 10-20, LTE protocol includes the quality indication of the positioning measurement value, the LTE supports E-CID positioning technologies, also see Column 2, the E-CID (namely TA+AoA) is to calculate the position through the angle between the line from the terminal to the target base station(transmitting device and the receiving device) and the true north direction (namely AoA) as well as the Timing Advance (TA) of the terminal(wherein comparison signal characteristics of AoA and TA to calculate based on the position or location of the device), the E-CID positioning measurement values include AoA, TA, eNB receiving-transmitting time difference measurement, UE receiving-transmitting time difference measurement (Rx-Tx time difference)); and means for sending, responsive to determining greater than a threshold difference between the measured signal characteristic and the comparison signal characteristic, information indicative of an attack on the reference signal resource to another device(Column 13, line 30-35, The UE compares the quality indication of the positioning measurement value with a pre-configured threshold value to obtain the decision result of the quality indication of the positioning measurement value, where the "positive" state indicates that the quality indication of the positioning measurement value satisfies the performance requirement, if the quality indication of the positioning measurement value is greater than the preset threshold value, the decision result(sending information indicative positive state to the another device) of the quality indication of the positioning measurement value is determined as the "positive" state, the UE reports the positioning measurement value and the decision result of the quality indication of the positioning measurement value).
Markhovsky and Ren are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on determining greater than a threshold difference between the measured signal characteristic and the comparison signal characteristic the teaching of Markhovsky to include the UE compares the quality indication of the positioning measurement value with a pre-configured threshold value to obtain the decision result of the quality indication of the positioning measurement value teaching of Ren because it is providing the positioning assistance data requested by the UE in the provide positioning assistance data message, which carries the configuration information of the cell-specific SSB resource.
Regarding Claim 28, Markhovsky discloses the one or more RF signals comprise one or more additional OFDM symbols of the reference signal resource (page 51, par (0722), line 1-5, OFDM symbols carrying reference signals or RE of references signals from OFDM symbols), one or more additional resource repetitions of the reference signal resource, or a combination thereof (page 19, par (0260), line 1-5, Using the repetitions of the signal).
Regarding Claim 29, Markhovsky discloses the measured signal characteristic and the corresponding measured signal characteristic each comprise a peak location of a Channel Energy Response (CER), or a power delay profile of the CER, or a combination thereof(page 26, par (0362), line 1-10, The measured
signal is the CPICH, the propagation time of signals is correlated with a locally generated replica. The peak of correlation indicates the observed time of propagation of the measured signal. Time difference of arrival values between two base stations determines a hyperbola. At least three reference points are needed to define two hyperbolas. The location of the UE is in the intersection of
these two hyperbolas (peak location)).
Regarding Claim 30, Markhovsky discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions for detecting an attack on reference signals used for positioning of a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication network, the instructions comprising code for receiving, at a receiving device, at least a portion of a reference signal resource transmitted by a transmitting device(page 3, par (0025), line 1-10, WLAN Access Points (APs) feature multiple antennas at the transmitter and the receiver as well as signals structure that enable cutting edge localization, it is conceivable to use hybrid positioning for indoor environments, utilizing both Wi-Fi and LTE signals(wherein utilizing reference signal resource), the cutting-edge Wi-Fi target localization is performed by the WLAN, Wi-Fi and LTE hybrids will processing to combine the intermediate Wi-Fi and LTE results to finalize target position(reference signal used for positioning of a UE));
determining a measured signal characteristic from an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol of the at least a portion of the reference signal resource, a resource repetition of the at least a portion of the reference signal resource, or a combination thereof(page 44, par (0630), line 1-10, the UE receiver include a detector configured to detect number of OFDM symbols that carrying reference signals(detector determining signal characteristic from the OFDM symbols that carrying reference signals), PRS and CRS, this detector further configured to extract Resource Elements (REs) from the OFDM symbols on a per symbol basis(detector excreted resource element form the reference signal), and configured to collect and store Resource Elements (REs) from a number of OFDM symbols on a per symbol basis, i.e., produce for each symbol identification (ID) a downlink data structure that includes REs correlated with this symbol ID(measured signal characteristics form the OFDM symbol), the detector configured to collect downlink metadata, including each frame start and other relevant and auxiliary information, also see par(0260), processing gain can be achieved by using the repletion of the OFDM signal)).
Markhovsky discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except comparing the measured signal characteristic with a comparison signal characteristic, wherein the comparison signal characteristic comprises a calculated angle based on estimated locations of the transmitting device and receiving device, or a corresponding measured signal characteristic of one or more radio frequency (RF) signals transmitted by the transmitting device; and responsive to determining greater than a threshold difference between the measured signal characteristic and the comparison signal characteristic, sending information indicative of an attack on the reference signal resource to another device.
Ren is the same field of invention teaches comparing the measured signal characteristic with a comparison signal characteristic, wherein the comparison signal characteristic comprises a calculated angle based on estimated locations of the transmitting device and receiving device, or a corresponding measured signal characteristic of one or more radio frequency (RF) signals transmitted by the transmitting device(Column 3, line 10-20, LTE protocol includes the quality indication of the positioning measurement value, the LTE supports E-CID positioning technologies, also see Column 2, the E-CID (namely TA+AoA) is to calculate the position through the angle between the line from the terminal to the target base station(transmitting device and the receiving device) and the true north direction (namely AoA) as well as the Timing Advance (TA) of the terminal(wherein comparison signal characteristics of AoA and TA to calculate based on the position or location of the device), the E-CID positioning measurement values include AoA, TA, eNB receiving-transmitting time difference measurement, UE receiving-transmitting time difference measurement (Rx-Tx time difference));
and responsive to determining greater than a threshold difference between the measured signal characteristic and the comparison signal characteristic, sending information indicative of an attack on the reference signal resource to another device(Column 13, line 30-35, The UE compares the quality indication of the positioning measurement value with a pre-configured threshold value to obtain the decision result of the quality indication of the positioning measurement value, where the "positive" state indicates that the quality indication of the positioning measurement value satisfies the performance requirement, if the quality indication of the positioning measurement value is greater than the preset threshold value, the decision result(sending information indicative positive state to the another device) of the quality indication of the positioning measurement value is determined as the "positive" state, the UE reports the positioning measurement value and the decision result of the quality indication of the positioning measurement value).
Markhovsky and Ren are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on determining greater than a threshold difference between the measured signal characteristic and the comparison signal characteristic the teaching of Markhovsky to include the UE compares the quality indication of the positioning measurement value with a pre-configured threshold value to obtain the decision result of the quality indication of the positioning measurement value teaching of Ren because it is providing the positioning assistance data requested by the UE in the provide positioning assistance data message, which carries the configuration information of the cell-specific SSB resource.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are:
Penna et al. (US 20230176174, Jun. 8, 2023) teaches UE POSITIONING AIDED BY RECONFIGURABLE REFLECTING SURFACES SUCH AS INTELLIGENT REFLECTING SURFACES (IRS).
/IQBAL ZAIDI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464