DETAILED ACTION
The Examiner thanks the Applicant for the well-prepared amendment. The Examiner appreciates the Applicant’s effort to carefully analyze the Office action, and make appropriate arguments and amendments.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-8, and 31-41 responded on May 15, 2026 are pending, claims 1 and 5-8 are amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 8, filed May 15, 2026, with respect to drawings have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of drawings has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. (US 2020/0296599 A1, hereinafter "Sasaki") in view of Mengnan et al. (US 2023/0421214 A1, hereinafter "Mengnan") .
Regarding claim 4, Sasaki discloses a first device (Sasaki Fig. 2 10) for wireless communication, the first device comprising:
a memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
transmit one or more reference signals according to a respective orbital angular momentum mode of a plurality of orbital angular momentum modes via each transmitter circle of a plurality of transmitter circles (Sasaki, [0043] the transmitting station 10 transmits a known reference signal; The transmitting station 10 determines a multiplex number and a transmission mode by using the fed-back channel information; The receiving station 20 performs a separation process on OAM mode signals received in each UCA (i.e. a plurality of transmitter circles));
receive a plurality of channel gain measurements (Sasaki, [0015, 0088] The receiving station may further include a unit estimating channel information between the transmitting antenna and the receiving antenna by using a known reference signal transmitted from the transmitting station; receiving antennae adaptively select a modulation method or an encoding method according to a reception SNR for each mode by taking into consideration superimposed noise); and
transmit one or more messages to a second device using one or more transmitter circles according to a power loading scheme based at least in part on the plurality of channel gain measurements, wherein the power loading scheme is associated with one or more orbital angular momentum modes of the plurality of orbital angular momentum modes (Sasaki, table 3 [0088] from…Table 3, the transmitting and receiving antennae adaptively select a modulation method or an encoding method according to a reception SNR for each mode by taking into consideration superimposed noise).
Sasaki discloses channel gain measurement but does not explicitly disclose wherein each channel gain measurement of the plurality of channel gain measurements is associated with a respective orbital angular momentum mode-transmitter circle pairing based at least in part on the one or more reference signals.
Mengnan from the same field of endeavor discloses receive a plurality of channel gain measurements, wherein each channel gain measurement of the plurality of channel gain measurements is associated with a respective orbital angular momentum mode-transmitter circle pairing based at least in part on the one or more reference signals (Mengnan, [0110] where both the transmitting node 102 uses a central antenna element and the receiving node 104 uses a central antenna element, and the P-loop UCA transmission (P≥1) can be adopted, the compensation node may determine or obtain the compensation parameters for the receiving node based on received signal. In particular embodiments, the compensation node may determine a compensation parameter KT,p,m for an mth transmitting antenna according to the following mathematical formula).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified OAM communication disclosed by Sasaki and reference signal and parameters determination disclosed by Mengnan with a motivation to make this modification in order to improve the efficiency of existing dimensions (Mengnan, [0003]).
Regarding claim 31, Sasaki discloses transmitting an indication of an association between a set of reference signal resources for the one or more reference signals and a respective orbital angular momentum mode-transmitter circle pairing (Sasaki, [0141] a transmitting antenna and a receiving antenna, a reflector or a lens of a parabola antenna is provided. Herein, antennae are disposed such that a propagation axis passing through the center of each UCA matches a symmetric axis of a paraboloid of the parabola antenna, and thus a high received signal gain can be obtained).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3, 5-8, and 32-41 are allowed.
A search has been performed and no prior art has been found that solely, or in any reasonable combination, reads on the claims as recited. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 1, Sasaki (US 2020/0296599 A1) discloses a first device in Fig. 2 for wireless communication, the first device comprising:
a memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
transmit a reference signal using a center transmitter circle of a plurality of transmitter circles, the center transmitter circle being at a center of one or more of the plurality of transmitter circles in [0043];
receive, from a second device, an indication of one or more parameters associated with communications between the second device and the first device in [0043];
determine, based at least in part on the reference signal and the one or more parameters in [0043]; and
transmit a message to the second device using the transmitter circle according to the orbital angular momentum mode in [0058].
Mengnan (US 2023/0421214 A1) discloses determine, based at least in part on the reference signal a transmitter circle of the plurality of transmitter circles for an orbital angular momentum mode of a plurality of orbital angular momentum modes for communications with the second device in [0110].
Either singularly or in combination, fail to anticipate or render the limitation " determine, based at least in part on the reference signal and the one or more parameters, a transmitter circle of the plurality of transmitter circles for an orbital angular momentum mode of a plurality of orbital angular momentum modes for communications with the second device".
Regarding claim 5, Sasaki discloses a first device in Fig. 2 for wireless communication, the first device comprising:
a memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
transmit a first reference signal of a first polarization according to an orbital angular momentum mode of a plurality of orbital angular momentum modes using one or more transmitter circles of a plurality of transmitter circles in [0043];
transmit a second reference signal of a second polarization according to the orbital angular momentum mode of the plurality of orbital angular momentum modes using the one or more transmitter circles of the plurality of transmitter circles, the second polarization different from the first polarization in [0043, 19];
receive, from a second device, an indication of one or more parameters associated with communications between the second device and the first device in [0043];
determine, based at least in part on the reference signal and the one or more parameters in [0043]; and
transmit a message to the second device using the transmitter circle according to the orbital angular momentum mode in [0058].
Mengnan discloses determine, based at least in part on the reference signal, a transmitter circle of the plurality of transmitter circles for an orbital angular momentum mode of a plurality of orbital angular momentum modes for communications with the second device in [0110].
Either singularly or in combination, fail to anticipate or render the limitation " determine, based at least in part on the one or more parameters, the first reference signal, and the second reference signal, a transmitter circle of a plurality of the one or more transmitter circles for the orbital angular momentum mode of the plurality of orbital angular momentum modes for communications with the second device".
Regarding claim 8, Sasaki discloses a first device in Fig. 2 for wireless communication, the first device comprising:
a memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
transmit a reference signal using a center transmitter circle of a plurality of transmitter circles, the center transmitter circle being at a center of one or more of the plurality of transmitter circles in [0043];
receive, from a second device, an indication of one or more parameters associated with communications between the second device and the first device in [0043];
determine, based at least in part on the reference signal and the one or more parameters in [0043]; and
transmit a message to the second device using the transmitter circle according to the orbital angular momentum mode, wherein the transmitter circle comprises at least a center transmitter circle of the plurality of transmitter circles, and wherein the center transmitter circle is at a center of one or more of the plurality of transmitter circles in [0058].
Mengnan from the same field of endeavor discloses determine, based at least in part on the reference signal, the transmitter circle of the plurality of transmitter circles for an orbital angular momentum mode of a plurality of orbital angular momentum modes for communications with the second device in [0110].
Either singularly or in combination, fail to anticipate or render the limitation " determine, based at least in part on the reference signal and the one or more parameters, a transmitter circle of the plurality of transmitter circles for an orbital angular momentum mode of a plurality of orbital angular momentum modes for communications with the second device".
Conclusion
/LUNA WEISSBERGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2415