Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PENG et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0306974 A1) in view of SHU et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2016/0309374)
1, PENG teaches a method comprising receiving, from a base station of an equivalent public land mobile network (EPLMN [par 0075, 0077, a network identity of a public land mobile network equivalent to the network identity of the home public land mobile network is searched for, wherein the network identity of the equivalent public land mobile network includes that of home public land mobile network, that of equivalent home public land mobile network, and that of equivalent public land mobile network; in response to being in an out-of-service state, the network identity of the equivalent public land mobile network is configured to be a network identity of an equivalent public land mobile network allowing to be camped on and network searching is performed. When the terminal receives a TAU rejection, of which reason value is 13, sent by the base station, indicating that roaming is not allowed in the current area, the public land mobile network selection process is started. At this time, the network identity of the equivalent public land mobile network is configured to be the network identity of the equivalent public land mobile network allowing to be camped on];
Peng fail to show a release message that include home public land mobile network (HPLMN) redirection information to instruct the UE to fall back to a HPLMN for voice service, releasing a connection with EPLMN based on the RRC release message; and initiating a connection with the HPLMN for voice services.
In an analogous art SHU show a release message that include home public land mobile network (HPLMN) redirection information to instruct the UE to fall back to a HPLMN for voice service [par 0190, radio resource control (RRC) connection release message, or another message used to help releasing a radio resource. If the 2G/3G base station is a BSS, the BSS sends an RR connection release message to the UE and includes redirection information or priority information in the RR connection release message, to instruct the UE to perform redirection and fall back to the LTE network after an RR connection is released],
releasing a connection with EPLMN based on the RRC release message [par 0185,0190, After receiving the first connection release message, the 2G/3G base station selects LTE frequency band information for the UE according to the CSFB indication, where the determined LTE frequency band information may be LTE frequency band information supported by the LTE PLMN1 in which the UE is registered, LTE frequency band information corresponding to the PLMN2, or LTE frequency band information supported by another PLMN. The first connection release message and the second connection release message mentioned in the specification of this application may be a radio resource (RR) connection release message, a radio resource control (RRC) connection release message, or another message used to help releasing a radio resource. If the 2G/3G base station is a BSS, the BSS sends an RR connection release message to the UE and includes redirection information or priority information in the RR connection release message, to instruct the UE to perform redirection and fall back to the LTE network after an RR connection is released].
and initiating a connection with the HPLMN for voice services[par 0191, 0192, After releasing the current RR/RRC connection, the UE reselects a cell or selects a cell according to the LTE frequency band information delivered by the 2G/3G base station, that is, selects a cell in an LTE frequency band corresponding to the LTE frequency band information, selects a suitable cell according to the PLMN1 ID, in the saved LAI, of the LTE network in which the UE is registered, and camps on the selected suitable cell. Optionally, if the UE already stores an EPLMN list, the UE may select a suitable cell according to the PLMN1 ID, in the saved LAI, of the LTE network in which the UE is registered and the EPLMN list].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Peng and SHU because the UE selects and camps on a suitable cell according to the PLMN of the LTE network in the LAI, so as to ensure that the UE returns to an LTE PLMN in which the UE is registered when CSFB is initiated, which not only reduces unnecessary inter-PLMN handover [Shu par 0196]
6, Peng discloses: wherein the base station is associated with an equivalent public land mobile network (EPLMN) of the HPLMN [par 0075, a network identity of a home public land mobile network is obtained; a network identity of a public land mobile network equivalent to the network identity of the home public land mobile network is searched for, wherein the network identity of the equivalent public land mobile network includes that of home public land mobile network, that of equivalent home public land mobile network, and that of equivalent public land mobile network; in response to being in an out-of-service state];
Peng fail to show generating for transmission to a user equipment (UE) a radio resource control (RRC) a release message that includes home public land mobile network (HPLMN) redirection information to instruct a user equipment (UE) to fall back to a HPLMN for voice services
In an analogous art SHU show generating for transmission to a user equipment (UE) a radio resource control (RRC) a release message that includes home public land mobile network (HPLMN) redirection information to instruct a user equipment (UE) to fall back to a HPLMN for voice services[par 0190, radio resource control (RRC) connection release message, or another message used to help releasing a radio resource. If the 2G/3G base station is a BSS, the BSS sends an RR connection release message to the UE and includes redirection information or priority information in the RR connection release message, to instruct the UE to perform redirection and fall back to the LTE network after an RR connection is released],
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Peng and SHU because the UE selects and camps on a suitable cell according to the PLMN of the LTE network in the LAI, so as to ensure that the UE returns to an LTE PLMN in which the UE is registered when CSFB is initiated, which not only reduces unnecessary inter-PLMN handover [Shu par 0196]
23, Peng and SHU show the method of claim 1, Peng fail to show wherein the HPLMN redirection information includes a frequency list for inter-operator fallback.
In an analogous art SHU show wherein the HPLMN redirection information includes a frequency list for inter-operator fallback [par 0004, 0127, the base station instructs the UE to obtain LTE frequency band (Frequency) information of the LTE network by reselecting, so that after redirected to a suitable cell supporting the LTE frequency band information, the UE randomly selects an available LTE public land mobile network (PLMN) in broadcast information of the suitable cell. Select a suitable cell in an LTE frequency band according to the identity of the LTE PLMN and the EPLMN list, and camp on the selected suitable cell].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Peng and SHU because the UE selects and camps on a suitable cell according to the PLMN of the LTE network in the LAI, so as to ensure that the UE returns to an LTE PLMN in which the UE is registered when CSFB is initiated, which not only reduces unnecessary inter-PLMN handover [Shu par 0196]
Claim(s) 2, 3, 4, 7-9, 14, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PENG et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0306974 A1) in view of SHU et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2016/0309374) in view of Pan (U.S. No. 2022/0182972 A1).
2, Peng and SHU discloses the method of claim 1, Peng and SHU fail to show wherein the HPLMN redirection information is in a redirected carrier information (RedirectedCarrierInfo) information element (IE) of the RRC release message.
In an analogous art Pan to show wherein the HPLMN redirection information is in a redirected carrier information (RedirectedCarrierInfo) information element (IE) of the RRC release message [par 0084, if the RRCRelease message includes redirectedCarrierInfo indicating redirection to eutra].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Peng, SHU and Pan because this would provide relay User Equipment (UE) to support UE-to-Network relay communication with a remote UE. [Pan par 0005]
3, Peng and SHU defines the method of claim 2, Peng and SHU fail to show wherein the RedirectedCarrierInfo IE includes an inter-operator indication to indicate that the UE is to fall back to the HPLMN for voice services.
In an analogous art Pan show wherein the RedirectedCarrierInfo IE includes an inter-operator indication to indicate that the UE is to fall back to the HPLMN for voice services [par 0088, 0089, if voiceFallbackIndication is included: 3> consider the RRC connection release was for EPS fallback for IMS voice].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Peng, SHU, and Pan because this would provide relay User Equipment (UE) to support UE-to-Network relay communication with a remote UE. [Pan par 0005]
4. Peng and SHU disclose the method of claim 1, Peng fail to show wherein HPLMN redirection information is in a redirected carrier information - evolved universal terrestrial radio access (RedirectedCarrierInfo-EUTRA) information element (IE) of the RRC release message.
In an analogous art Pan show wherein HPLMN redirection information is in a redirected carrier information - evolved universal terrestrial radio access (RedirectedCarrierInfo-EUTRA) information element (IE) of the RRC release message [par 0084, if the RRCRelease message includes redirectedCarrierInfo indicating redirection to eutra:]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Peng and Pan because this would provide relay User Equipment (UE) to support UE-to-Network relay communication with a remote UE. [Pan par 0005]
7. Peng and SHU demonstrate the method of claim 6, Peng and SHU fail to show wherein the RRC release message that includes the HPLMN redirection information in a redirected carrier information (RedirectedCarrierInfo) information element (IE).
In an analogous art Pan show wherein the RRC release message that includes the HPLMN redirection information in a redirected carrier information (RedirectedCarrierInfo) information element (IE)[par 0084, if the RRCRelease message includes redirectedCarrierInfo indicating redirection to eutra].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Peng, SHU, and Pan because this would provide relay User Equipment (UE) to support UE-to-Network relay communication with a remote UE. [Pan par 0005]
8. Peng, SHU and Pan illustrate the method of claim 7, Peng and SHU fail to show wherein generating the RRC release message that includes the HPLMN redirection information comprises: generating the RedirectedCarrierInfo IE that includes an inter-operator indication to indicate that the UE is to fall back to the HPLMN for voice services.
In an analogous art Pan show wherein generating the RRC release message that includes the HPLMN redirection information comprises: generating the RedirectedCarrierInfo IE that includes an inter-operator indication to indicate that the UE is to fall back to the HPLMN for voice services [par 0088, 0089, if voiceFallbackIndication is included: 3> consider the RRC connection release was for EPS fallback for IMS voice].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Peng, SHU, and Pan because this would provide relay User Equipment (UE) to support UE-to-Network relay communication with a remote UE. [Pan par 0005]
9. Peng and SHU create the method of claim 6, Peng and SHU fail to show wherein the RRC release message that includes the HPLMN redirection information in a redirected carrier information - evolved universal terrestrial radio access (RedirectedCarrierInfo-EUTRA) information element (IE).
In an analogous art Pan show wherein the RRC release message that includes the HPLMN redirection information in a redirected carrier information - evolved universal terrestrial radio access (RedirectedCarrierInfo-EUTRA) information element (IE)[par 0084, if the RRCRelease message includes redirectedCarrierInfo indicating redirection to eutra:]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Peng, SHU, and Pan because this would provide relay User Equipment (UE) to support UE-to-Network relay communication with a remote UE. [Pan par 0005]
14. Peng and SHU provide the method of claim 6, Peng and SHU fail to show wherein the RRC release message that includes the HPLMN redirection information is generated in a voice fallback indication information element (IE).
In an analogous art Pan show wherein the RRC release message that includes the HPLMN redirection information is generated in a voice fallback indication information element (IE)[par 0088, 0089, if voiceFallbackIndication is included: 3> consider the RRC connection release was for EPS fallback for IMS voice].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Peng, SHU, and Pan because this would provide relay User Equipment (UE) to support UE-to-Network relay communication with a remote UE. [Pan par 0005]
22, Peng and SHU create method of claim 1, Peng and SHU fail to show wherein the HPLMN redirection information is received in a voice fallback indication information element (IE) of the RRC release message.
In an analogous art Pan to show wherein the HPLMN redirection information is received in a voice fallback indication information element (IE) of the RRC release message [par 0088, 0089 if voiceFallbackIndication is included: 3> consider the RRC connection release was for EPS fallback for IMS voice (see TS 23.502 [43])];
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Peng, SHU, and Pan because this would provide relay User Equipment (UE) to support UE-to-Network relay communication with a remote UE. [Pan par 0005]
5. Claim(s) 5, 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PENG et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0306974 A1), SHU et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2016/0309374) in view of Pan (U.S. No. 2022/0182972 A1) in further view of JUNG et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0176674 A1).
5. Peng, SHU, Pan provide the method of claim 4, Peng, SHU, and Pan fail to show wherein the HPLMN redirection information comprises: omission of a frequency value from the RedirectedCarrierInfo-EUTRA IE; or inclusion of a frequency value associated with the HPLMN.
In an analogous art JUNG show wherein the HPLMN redirection information comprises: omission of a frequency value from the RedirectedCarrierInfo-EUTRA IE; or inclusion of a frequency value associated with the HPLMN [par 0156, According to whether the RRC connection release message received in operation 1e-10 includes redirectedCarrierInfo (an information element that may include value(s) indicating one or more frequencies or bands for a particular RAT)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Peng, Shu, Pan, and JUNG because this provides an apparatus and method for effectively providing services in a wireless communication system [JUNG par 0007].
10. Peng, SHU, and Pan describe the method of claim 9, Peng, SHU, and Pan fail to show wherein generating the RRC release message that includes the HPLMN redirection information comprises: omitting a frequency value from the RedirectedCarrierInfo-EUTRA IE.
In an analogous art JUNG show wherein generating the RRC release message that includes the HPLMN redirection information comprises: omitting a frequency value from the RedirectedCarrierInfo-EUTRA IE [par 0155, Meanwhile, when one or more pieces of frequency priority configuration information and a timer value that is applicable regardless of RAT are not included in the RRC connection release message transmitted in operation 1e-10],
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Peng, SHU, Pan, and JUNG because this provides an apparatus and method for effectively providing services in a wireless communication system [JUNG par 0007].
11. Peng, SHU, and Pan display the method of claim 9, Peng, SHU, and Pan fail to show wherein generating the RRC release message that includes the HPLMN redirection information comprises: generating the RedirectedCarrierInfo-EUTRA IE that include a frequency value associated with the HPLMN.
In an analogous art JUNG show wherein generating the RRC release message with the HPLMN redirection information comprises: generating the RedirectedCarrierInfo-EUTRA IE to include a frequency value associated with the HPLMN [par 0156, According to whether the RRC connection release message received in operation 1e-10 includes redirectedCarrierInfo (an information element that may include value(s) indicating one or more frequencies or bands for a particular RAT)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Peng, Pan, and JUNG because this provides an apparatus and method for effectively providing services in a wireless communication system [JUNG par 0007].
12, Peng, SHU, Pan, and JUNG reveal the method of claim 11, Peng, SHU, and Pan fail to show wherein generating the RRC release message with the HPLMN redirection information comprises: generating the RedirectedCarrierInfo-EUTRA IE that includes a plurality of frequency values associated with the HPLMN.
In an analogous art JUNG show wherein generating the RRC release message with the HPLMN redirection information comprises: generating the RedirectedCarrierInfo-EUTRA IE that includes a plurality of frequency values associated with the HPLMN[par 0156, According to whether the RRC connection release message received in operation 1e-10 includes redirectedCarrierInfo (an information element that may include value(s) indicating one or more frequencies or bands for a particular RAT)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Peng, SHU, Pan, and JUNG because this provides an apparatus and method for effectively providing services in a wireless communication system [JUNG par 0007].
13, Peng, SHU, Pan, and JUNG describe the method of claim 11, Peng, SHU, and JUNG fail to show wherein generating the RRC release message that includes the HPLMN redirection information further comprises: generating the RedirectedCarrierInfo IE that includes an inter-operator indication to indicate that the frequency value is associated with the HPLMN
In an analogous art Pan show wherein generating the RRC release message that includes the HPLMN redirection information further comprises: generating the RedirectedCarrierInfo IE that includes an inter-operator indication to indicate that the frequency value is associated with the HPLMN[par 0084, the RRCRelease message includes redirectedCarrierInfo indicating redirection to eutra]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Peng, SHU, JUNG, and Pan because this would provide relay User Equipment (UE) to support UE-to-Network relay communication with a remote UE. [Pan par 0005]
Claim(s) 15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PENG et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0306974 A1) in view of Pan (U.S. No. 2022/0182972 A1) in further view of JUNG et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0176674 A1).
15. Peng creates comprising: processing circuitry to;[par 0117, In an embodiment, a computer device is provided, including a memory and a processor; wherein the memory stores a computer program, and the processor is capable of executing the computer program to perform: obtaining a network identity of a home public land mobile network];
while roaming from the HPLMN, signal from a base station associated with an equivalent public land mobile network (EPLMN) [par 0075, 0077, when the terminal receives a TAU rejection, of which reason value is 13, sent by the base station, indicating that roaming is not allowed in the current area, the public land mobile network selection process is started. At this time, the network identity of the equivalent public land mobile network is configured to be the network identity of the equivalent public land mobile network allowing to be camped on];
and determine whether to camp on a cell provided by the base station or fall back to a cell of the HPLMN based on the indication [par 0074, the terminal first searches for the network identity of the public land mobile network that is the same as the network identity of the home public land mobile network. When the network identity of the same public land mobile network is searched, the terminal starts the process of camping on the network based on the same network identity. When the terminal cannot camp on the network based on the same network identity of the public land mobile network]
interface circuitry coupled to the processing circuitry, the interface circuitry to receive the dedicated or broadcast signal from the base station) [par 0119, the processor is capable of executing the computer program to further perform: after being offline, obtaining a network identity of a registered public land mobile network; performing network searching based on the network identity of the registered public land mobile network];
Peng fail to show a dedicated or broadcast signal from a base station, the dedicated or broadcast signal having an indication to: indicate whether the base station only supports voice over new radio (VoNR) as a voice service for the UE;
or indicate whether the base station supports inter-operator fallback to an evolved packet system for voice services;
In an analogous art Pan to show a dedicated or broadcast signal from a base station [par 0500, In rel-16, the on-demand SI procedure in RRC_Connected is supported. The dedicatedSIBRequest message is introduced to request SIB(s) required by the UE in RRC_Connected. Upon receiving the on-demand SIB request by the UE, the network responds with either an RRCReconfiguration message that includes the requested SIBs (if these are send via dedicated signalling) or broadcast],
the dedicated or broadcast signal having an indication to: indicate whether the base station only supports voice over new radio (VoNR) as a voice service for the UE;
or indicate whether the base station supports inter-operator fallback to an evolved packet system for voice services [par 0087-0089, Handling the case if the E-UTRA cell selected after the redirection does not support the core network type specified by the cnType, is up to UE implementation. 2> if voiceFallbackIndication is included: 3> consider the RRC connection release was for EPS fallback for IMS voice]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Peng and Pan because this would provide relay User Equipment (UE) to support UE-to-Network relay communication with a remote UE. [Pan par 0005]
17. Peng and Pan demonstrate the apparatus of claim 15, Peng fail to show wherein the dedicated or broadcast signal comprises a system information block 1 (SIB1) message
In an analogous art Pan show wherein the dedicated or broadcast signal 2 comprises a system information block 1 (SIB1) message [par 0500, In rel-16, the on-demand SI procedure in RRC_Connected is supported. The dedicatedSIBRequest message is introduced to request SIB(s) required by the UE in RRC_Connected. Upon receiving the on-demand SIB request by the UE, the network responds with either an RRCReconfiguration message that includes the requested SIBs (if these are send via dedicated signalling) or broadcast],
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Peng and Pan because this would provide relay User Equipment (UE) to support UE-to-Network relay communication with a remote UE. [Pan par 0005]
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PENG et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0306974 A1) in view of Pan (U.S. No. 2022/0182972 A1) in further view of YOON et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0159562 A1).
16. Peng and Pan teaches the apparatus of claim 15, Peng and Pan fail to show wherein the indication is to indicate the base station only supports VoNR as the voice service for the UE
In an analogous art YOON to show wherein the indication is to indicate the base station only supports VoNR as the voice service for the UE [par 0126, The communication processor 620 may receive system information broadcast by the node 513, and may determine, based on mapping data and identification information of a cellular communication network included in the system information, whether the cellular communication network supports the specific service (e.g., VoNR) using the first cellular communication]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Peng, Pan, and YOON because information indicating whether the specific service is supported, a frequency band to be found, thereby reducing a delay time caused by changing a registered node in order to perform the specific service in a state in which the same is registered with the node which does not support the specific service.
Peng disclose wherein whether to camp on the cell provided by the base station or fall back to the cell of the HPLMN is determined based further on a capability of the UE[par 0074, the terminal first searches for the network identity of the public land mobile network that is the same as the network identity of the home public land mobile network. When the network identity of the same public land mobile network is searched, the terminal starts the process of camping on the network based on the same network identity. When the terminal cannot camp on the network based on the same network identity of the public land mobile network]
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PENG et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0306974 A1), SHU et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2016/0309374) in view of Pan (U.S. No. 2022/0182972 A1) in further view of Jung et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2018/0249455 A1)
21, Peng, SHU, and Pan describes the method of claim 3, Peng, SHU, and Pan fail to show wherein the inter-operator indication includes a first value for a bit to indicate that associated frequency information is for a carrier frequency in the HPLMN or a second value for the bit to indicate that the associated frequency information is for a carrier frequency in the EPLMN.
In an analogous art Jung show wherein the inter-operator indication includes a first value for a bit to indicate that associated frequency information is for a carrier frequency in the HPLMN or a second value for the bit to indicate that the associated frequency information is for a carrier frequency in the EPLMN [par 0106, 0265, Equivalent HPLMN (EHPLMN): PLMN serving as an equivalent of an HPLMN. In other words, 1 bit flags corresponding to the individual frequencies of the list are implemented in the form of a bitmap. Each bit of the bitmap may indicate whether requesting a resource with respect to the corresponding frequency is expected].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Peng, SHU, Pan, and Jung because when the D2D configuration in the cell at the different frequency is changed, the serving cell is able to adapt to the change immediately [jung par 0009].
Response to Arguments
Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that Peng describes searching for a network identity of a public land mobile network equivalent to the network identity of the home public land mobile network to configure network identity of the equivalent public land mobile network to allowing to be camped on when roaming is not allowed in a current area. Therefore, Peng describes configuring a network identity of the equivalent public land mobile network rather than "receiving, from a base station of an equivalent public land mobile network (EPLMN), a radio resource control (RRC) release message that includes home public land mobile network (HPLMN) redirection information to instruct the UE to fall back to a HPLMN for voice services," as recited by claim 1 (emphasis added).
Although of different scope than claim 1, Applicant respectfully submits that claim 6 recites similar features to claim 1 such that claim 6 is allowable over the cited references for at least the same reasons as claim 1. Therefore, Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejection of claim 6 and allowance of the application.
The examiner respectfully disagrees applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly rejected claims.
Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that neither Peng nor Pan disclose "the dedicated or broadcast signal having an indication to: indicate whether the base station only supports voice over new radio (VoNR) as a voice service for a user equipment (UE); or indicate whether the base station supports inter-operator fallback to an evolved packet system for voice services" as recited by claim 15, and, therefore, claim 15, as presented herein, is allowable over the cited references.
As dependent claims 2-4, 7-9, 14, and 17 depend directly or indirectly from independent claims 1, 6, or 15, Applicant respectfully submits that claims 2-4, 7-9, 14, and 17 overcome the current grounds of rejection based on their dependency on independent claims 1, 6, and 15, respectively. Additionally, claims 2-4, 7-9, 14, and 17 recite further features that may differentiate from the cited art regardless of the dependency. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that claims 2-4, 7-9, 14, and 17 are allowable over the cited references.
The examiner respectfully disagrees in Pan shows indicate whether the base station supports inter-operator fallback to an evolved packet system for voice services in paragraphs 0004, 0087, 0088, Handling the case if the E-UTRA cell selected after the redirection does not support the core network type specified by the cnType, is up to UE implementation. 2> if voiceFallbackIndication is included:
Claims 21-23 were introduced in the preliminary amendment filed on July 26, 2023, although appear to be inadvertently not addressed by this office action. Applicant believes claims 21-23 to be pending in view of the previously filed preliminary amendment. Applicant amends claims 21-23 herein only to expedite prosecution and without prejudice to pursuing the claims as previously presented or in other forms in a continuation or other application.
The applicant submitted two sets of claims on the same date 7/26/23 the examiner examined the claims that were not amended. Therefore the non-final rejection.
Conclusion
/JASON A HARLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2468