Drawings
The FIG 4 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(b) because they are incomplete. 37 CFR 1.83(b) reads as follows:
When the invention consists of an improvement on an old machine the drawing must when possible exhibit, in one or more views, the improved portion itself, disconnected from the old structure, and also in another view, so much only of the old structure as will suffice to show the connection of the invention therewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-28, 30, and 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Greco et al. “A Galvanically Isolated DC-DC Converter Based on Current-Reuse Hybrid-Coupled Oscillators”.
Regarding claim 15, Greco discloses an electrical converter (FIG 1 and FIG 2), comprising at least two oscillators (see FIG 2(c) upper and lower), each of the at least two oscillators being designed to have an oscillating current and an oscillating voltage;
one or more coupling elements (Cc1 and Cc2 and the connector at the middle of Lp1-4) arranged to couple at least one of
the oscillating currents of the at least two oscillators, and
the oscillating voltages of the at least two oscillators;
the at least two oscillators being connected in a series connection, adding their oscillating voltages, or in a parallel connection, adding their oscillating currents, or in a combination of series and parallel connections.
Regarding claim 16, Greco implies the electrical converter wherein the at least two oscillators are connected in a series connection, and wherein it either is the case that the converter is controlled to operate with a voltage across one of the at least two oscillators being an input DC voltage to the converter and a voltage across all of the at least two oscillators being a DC output of the converter; or it is the case that the converter is controlled to operate with a voltage across all of the at least two oscillators being an input DC voltage to the converter and a voltage across one of the at least two oscillators being a DC output of the converter (FIG 2(c) shows upper oscillator and lower oscillator coupled by capacitors and inductors which is capable of applying input DC voltage at the place recited).
Regarding claim 17, Greco implies the electrical converter with one of the at least two oscillators, from now on called top oscillator, having an associated top terminal and a bottom terminal, and another one of the at least two oscillators, from now on called bottom oscillator, having an associated top terminal and a bottom terminal, with the top terminal of the bottom oscillator being connected to the bottom terminal of the top oscillator, wherein it either is the case that the converter is controlled to up-convert an input DC voltage, by
the top terminal of the bottom oscillator being connected to a terminal for supplying to the converter an input DC voltage relative to the bottom terminal of the bottom oscillator, and
the top terminal of the top oscillator being connected to a DC output terminal for an output voltage relative to the bottom terminal of the bottom oscillator; or wherein it is the case that the converter is controlled to down-convert an input DC voltage, by
the top terminal of the top oscillator being connected to a terminal for supplying to the converter an input DC voltage relative to the bottom terminal of the bottom oscillator, and
the top terminal of the bottom oscillator being connected to a DC output terminal for an output voltage relative to the bottom terminal of the bottom oscillator (FIG 2(c) shows upper oscillator and lower oscillator coupled by capacitors and inductors which is capable of applying input DC voltage at the place recited, as consequence “up-convert and down-convert” creates).
Regarding claim 18, Greco discloses the electrical converter wherein the one or more coupling elements comprise inductive coupling elements (transformers, Kp), coupling oscillating currents of the at least two oscillators, in particular wherein one or more of the inductive coupling elements are transformers.
Regarding claim 19, Greco discloses the electrical converter wherein the one or more coupling elements comprise capacitive coupling elements (Cc1 and Cc2), coupling oscillating voltages of the at least two oscillators, in particular wherein one or more of the capacitive coupling elements are capacitors.
Regarding claim 20, Greco implies the electrical converter wherein the at least two oscillators are self-oscillating oscillators.
Regarding claim 21, Greco implies the electrical converter wherein at least one of the at least two oscillators is not a self-oscillating oscillator (synchronization issue due to Kp).
Regarding claim 22, Greco discloses the electrical converter wherein the self-oscillating oscillator or oscillators are LC oscillators.
Regarding claim 23, Greco disclose the electrical converter wherein the self-oscillating oscillator or oscillators are one of Class-D LC oscillators, Class-B LC oscillators, Class-C LC oscillators, Class-E LC oscillators, Class-F LC oscillators, Hartley LC oscillators (Current-Reuse Coupled Oscillators).
Regarding claim 24, Greco discloses the electrical converter wherein one or more of the at least two oscillators are configured to be switched on and off, enabling and disabling oscillation of the oscillator, respectively (it is intrinsic property of LC differential oscillators: left portion of upper oscillator or right portion of upper oscillator is on and off periodically enabling and disabling oscillation).
Regarding claim 25, Greco discloses the electrical converter being controlled to periodically enable and disable oscillation of one or more or all of the at least two oscillators in order to adapt operation of the converter to load changes (it is intrinsic property of LC differential oscillators: left portion of upper oscillator or right portion of upper oscillator is on and off periodically enabling and disabling oscillation).
Regarding claim 26, Greco disclose the electrical converter of wherein one or more of the at least two oscillators are configured to be switched on and off, enabling and disabling oscillation of the oscillator, respectively (it is intrinsic property of LC differential oscillators: left portion of upper oscillator or right portion of upper oscillator is on and off periodically enabling and disabling oscillation).
00 Regarding claim 27, Greco discloses the electrical converter being controlled to periodically enable and disable oscillation of one or more or all of the at least two oscillators in order to adapt operation of the converter to load changes (it is intrinsic property of LC differential oscillators: left portion of upper oscillator or right portion of upper oscillator is on and off periodically enabling and disabling oscillation).
Regarding claim 28, Greco discloses the electrical converter in which at least one, more than one, or all coupling elements are integrally manufactured with switches (transistors) of the at least two oscillators.
Regarding claim 30, Greco discloses the electrical converter configured for continuous operation transferring power at a maximum rate of least 1 mW, in particular at least 10 mW, in particular at least 1 W (Page 58, Rectifier, 300mW output power).
Regarding claim 32, Greco implies the electrical converter wherein the coupling elements are arranged to move charges moved away from parasitic gate capacitances (current-reuse structure).
Regarding claim 33, Greco discloses a method for operating an electrical converter, the electrical converter comprising at least two oscillators (upper and lower portions shown in FIG 2(c)), each of the at least two oscillators being designed to have an oscillating current and an oscillating voltage; one or more coupling elements arranged to couple at least one of the oscillating currents of the at least two oscillators, and the oscillating voltages of the at least two oscillators; the at least two oscillators being connected in a series connection, adding their oscillating voltages, or in a parallel connection, adding their oscillating currents, or in a combination of series and parallel connections, the method comprising the steps of periodically enabling and disabling oscillation of one or more or all of the at least two oscillators in order to adapt operation of the converter to load changes (it is intrinsic property of LC differential oscillators: left portion of upper oscillator or right portion of upper oscillator is on and off periodically enabling and disabling oscillation).
Regarding claim 34, Greco implies a method for operating an electrical converter (FIG 1-2), the electrical converter comprising at least two oscillators (FIG 2(c) upper and lower oscillators), each of the at least two oscillators being designed to have an oscillating current and an oscillating voltage; one or more coupling elements arranged to couple at least one of the oscillating currents of the at least two oscillators, and the oscillating voltages of the at least two oscillators; the at least two oscillators being connected in a series connection, adding their oscillating voltages, or in a parallel connection, adding their oscillating currents, or in a combination of series and parallel connections, with one of the at least two oscillators, from now on called top oscillator, having an associated top terminal and a bottom terminal, and another one of the at least two oscillators, from now on called bottom oscillator, having an associated top terminal and a bottom terminal, with the top terminal of the bottom oscillator being connected to the bottom terminal of the top oscillator, the method comprising either the step of operating the converter to up-convert an input DC voltage, by
the top terminal of the bottom oscillator being connected to a terminal supplying an input DC voltage relative to the bottom terminal of the bottom oscillator, and
the top terminal of the top oscillator being connected to a DC output terminal providing an output voltage relative to the bottom terminal of the bottom oscillator; or the method comprising the step of operating the converter to down-convert an input DC voltage, by
the top terminal of the top oscillator being connected to a terminal supplying an input DC voltage relative to the bottom terminal of the bottom oscillator, and
the top terminal of the bottom oscillator being connected to a DC output terminal providing an output voltage relative to the bottom terminal of the bottom oscillator (FIG 2(c) shows upper oscillator and lower oscillator coupled by capacitors and inductors which is capable of applying input DC voltage at the place recited, as consequence “up-convert and down-convert” creates).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greco.
Regarding claim 29, Greco discloses the electrical converter except configured for an oscillation frequency of the at least one oscillator to be at least 500 MHz, preferably at least 1 GHz. As known in the art, such values of frequency are workable ranges and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the LC components to use such values because such a modification would have been a mere substitution of art recognized equivalent components to make such values of interest.
Regarding claim 31, Greco discloses the electrical converter except manufactured in a fully integrated fashion and configured to operate at a power density of least 0.1 W/mm2, in particular at least 0.2 W/mm2, in particular at least 0.5 W/mm2, in particular at least 2.5 W/mm2. As known in the art, such values of power density are workable ranges and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the Chip A and Chip B to reach such values because such a modification would have been a mere substitution of art recognized equivalent chip to make such values of interest.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Taylor (US 2011/0057732) discloses a voltage controlled oscillator using a current-reuse to reduce power consumption showing two oscillator circuits coupled by capacitors.
Sanduleanu (US 8,198,945) discloses a quadrature oscillator showing two LC differential oscillators.
/JOSEPH CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849