DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-32 are currently pending
Claim 33 is currently withdrawn from consideration
Claims 1-32 are currently rejected
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 07/27/2023, 08/31/2023, and 02/06/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered. An initialed copy of the Form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I claims 1-32 in the reply filed on 02/06/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 states “comprising” and instead should include a colon to further recite “comprising:” for further clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 states “at least two of the filters are” and instead should state “at least two of the membrane filter, the pre-filter, and the post-filter are” for further clarity. FURTHERMORE, line 2 states “the two filters overlap” and instead should state “the at least two of the membrane filter, the pre-filter, and the post-filter overlap” for further clarity. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 2 states “the mem-brane filter” and instead should state “the membrane filter” for further clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 3 states “the unit” and instead should state “the water purification unit” for further clarity. FURTHERMORE, lines 3-4 state “the first end and/or a second lid closing the second end,” and instead should state “the first opposing end and/or a second lid closing the second opposing end,” for further clarity. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 states “the lid(s) is/are inserted into the ends” and instead should state “the first lid and the second lid is/are inserted into the first and second opposing ends” for further clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 2 states “comprises” and instead should include a colon to further recite “comprises:”. FURTHERMORE, line 3 states “at the first end and a second lid at the second end,” and instead should state “at the first opposing end and a second lid at the second opposing end,” for further clarity. ADDITIONALLY, line 4 states “the first lid at the second lid” and instead should state “the first lid and the second lid” for further clarity. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 3 states “the first end…the second end” and instead should state “the first opposing end…the second opposing end” for further clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 1-2 state “one or both of the lids, all the filters can” and instead should state “one or both of the first lid and the second lid, all the membrane filter, the pre-filter, and the post-filter can” for further clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 2 states “the lid(s)” and instead should state “the first lid and the second lid” for further clarity. FURTHERMORE, line 3 states “of said modules abuts” and instead should state “of said pre-filter module and said post-filter module abuts” for further clarity. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 states “of the modules” and instead should state “of the pre-filter module and the post-filter module” for further clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 states “with the lids” and instead should state “with the first lid and the second lid” for further clarity. FURTHERMORE, line 2 states “abuts and against” and instead should remove ‘and’ to further recite “abuts against” for further clarity. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 states “comprises” and instead should include a colon to further recite “comprises:” for further clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 2 states “the unit.” and instead should state “the water purification unit.” for further clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 states “wherein” and instead should include a colon to further recite “wherein:” for further clarity. FURTHERMORE, lines 5-6 state “in a first assembly…in a second assembly” and instead should state “in the first assembly…in the second assembly” for further clarity. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 2 states “through the unit,” and instead should state “through the water purification unit,” for further clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 1 and 2 each state “the assemblies” and instead should each state “the at least three assemblies” for further clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 26 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 states “the assemblies” and instead should state “the at least three assemblies” for further clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 27 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 states “wherein each assembly has” and instead should state “wherein each assembly of the at least three assemblies has” for further clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 28 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 states “wherein each assembly has” and instead should state “wherein each assembly of the at least three assemblies has” for further clarity. FURTHERMORE, line 2 states “have the same shape.” and instead should state “have a same shape” to avoid any antecedent issues. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim 29 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 4 and 8 each state “comprises a filter” and instead should each state “comprises the filter” for further clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 30 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 2 states “the mem-brane” and instead should state “the membrane” for further clarity. FURTHERMORE, lines 3-4 state “may be solved in water,” and instead should state “may be dissolved in the water,” for further clarity. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim 31 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 2 states “comprises” and instead should include a colon to further recite “comprises:” for further clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 32 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 2 states “into post-filter,” and instead should state “into the post-filter,” for further clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-11, 14-19 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "wherein the housing extends along the filter axis and has first and second opposing ends,” on lines 1-2. It is unclear and confusing which has first and second opposing ends, the housing or the filter axis? Claims 11 and 14-18 are also rejected since these claims depend on claim 10.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "an end” on line 3. It is unclear and confusing which end of the housing Applicant is referring to? Claim 17 is also rejected since this claim depends on claim 16.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the first module” on line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "said housing” on line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 30 recites the limitation "the contaminants” on line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitchell et al. (U.S. 2010/0006508 A1) (hereinafter “Mitchell”) in view of SHARMA et al. (U.S. 2019/0193007 A1) (hereinafter “Sharma”).
Regarding Claim 1:
Mitchell teaches a water purification unit (see FIGS. 1 and 3) (see paragraphs 2, 4, 17-20, 31-32, 34 and 36) comprising:
a membrane filter arranged around a central duct extending along a filter axis (Examiner’s note: Examiner is broadly interpreting ‘a central duct extending along a filter axis’ to include an interior central region of the whole filter 1 device) (see FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see FIG. 2, an additional carbon filter 8) (see paragraphs 31-34 and 36),
a pre-filter arranged before the membrane filter (see FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6) (see paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36), and
a post-filter arranged after the membrane filter (see FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6) (see paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36), and
an outlet port (see FIGS. 1 and 3, no reference character provided, but an outlet port provided at an upper or lower end of filter 1) (see paragraphs 2, 4, 17-20, 31-32, 34 and 36).
Mitchell does not explicitly teach a tap interface, as recited in independent claim 1.
Sharma further teaches a water filtration system including a tap communication interface (see Sharma FIGS. 4 and 10, an attachment interface 132) (see Sharma paragraphs 4 and 25).
Mitchell and Sharma are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a water filtration system and method. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the water filtration system of Mitchell to include a tap/attachment interface of Sharma for optimization purposes and to effectively and efficiently monitor a flow of fluid and life of expectancy of the filters in the water filtration system (see Sharma paragraphs 4 and 25).
Regarding Claim 2:
The combination of Mitchell in view of Sharma teaches the water purification unit of claim 1 wherein Mitchell further teaches at least two of the filters are arranged at different locations along the filter axis such that, along the filter axis, the two filters overlap not at all or only partially, and that they both surround the filter axis (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36).
Regarding Claim 3:
The combination of Mitchell in view of Sharma teaches the water purification unit of claim 2 wherein Mitchell further teaches the pre-filter, the post-filter, and the membrane filter are arranged at different locations along the filter axis such that, along the filter axis, the pre-filter, the post-filter, and the membrane filter overlap not at all or only partially, and they all surround the filter axis (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36).
Regarding Claim 4:
The combination of Mitchell in view of Sharma teaches the water purification unit of claim 3 wherein Mitchell further teaches the pre-filter is geometrically arranged between the membrane filter and the post-filter (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36).
Regarding Claim 5:
The combination of Mitchell in view of Sharma teaches the water purification unit of claim 1 wherein Mitchell further teaches said central duct extends from the membrane filter to the post-filter,
and wherein the central duct extends into the post-filter (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36).
Regarding Claim 6:
The combination of Mitchell in view of Sharma teaches the water purification unit of claim 5 wherein Mitchell further teaches the pre-filter is arranged around the central duct (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36).
Regarding Claim 7:
The combination of Mitchell in view of Sharma teaches the water purification unit of claim 5 wherein Mitchell further teaches the post-filter is geometrically arranged between the tap interface and the membrane filter, and in particular between the tap interface and the pre-filter (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36).
Sharma further teaches a water filtration system including a tap communication interface (see Sharma FIGS. 4 and 10, an attachment interface 132) (see Sharma paragraphs 4 and 25).
Mitchell and Sharma are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a water filtration system and method. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the water filtration system of Mitchell to include a tap/attachment interface of Sharma for optimization purposes and to effectively and efficiently monitor a flow of fluid and life of expectancy of the filters in the water filtration system (see Sharma paragraphs 4 and 25).
Regarding Claim 8:
The combination of Mitchell in view of Sharma teaches the water purification unit of claim 1 wherein Mitchell further teaches a housing, wherein the membrane filter, the pre-filter, and the post-filter are arranged in the housing (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36).
Regarding Claim 9:
The combination of Mitchell in view of Sharma teaches the water purification unit of claim 8 wherein Mitchell further teaches the housing is cylindrical and concentric to the filter axis (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36).
Regarding Claim 10:
The combination of Mitchell in view of Sharma teaches the water purification unit of claim 8 wherein Mitchell further teaches the housing extends along the filter axis and has first and second opposing ends (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36),
wherein the unit further comprises a first lid closing the first end and/or a second lid closing the second end (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36),
wherein the first and/or the second lids is/are removably mounted to the housing (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36).
Regarding Claim 11:
The combination of Mitchell in view of Sharma teaches the water purification unit of claim 10, wherein Mitchell further teaches the lid(s) is/are inserted into the ends of the housing (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36).
Regarding Claim 12:
The combination of Mitchell in view of Sharma teaches the water purification unit of claim 8 wherein Mitchell further teaches the housing extends along the filter axis and has first and second opposing ends (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36), and wherein the housing comprises
a first lid at the first end and a second lid at the second end,
wherein the first lid at the second lid are directly connected to each other (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36).
Regarding Claim 13:
The combination of Mitchell in view of Sharma teaches the water purification unit of claim 12 wherein Mitchell further teaches the first lid and the second lid meet at a location and wherein a ratio D1:D2 is between 0.25 and 4.0, with D1 being a distance between the first end and the location and D2 being a distance between the second end and the location (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36).
Regarding Claim 14:
The combination of Mitchell in view of Sharma teaches the water purification unit of claim 10 wherein Mitchell further teaches, upon removing one or both of the lids, all the filters can be axially removed from the housing (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36).
Regarding Claim 15:
The combination of Mitchell in view of Sharma teaches the water purification unit of claim 10 wherein Sharma further teaches the tap interface and the outlet port are arranged in or on the first lid (see Sharma FIGS. 4 and 10, an attachment interface 132) (see Sharma paragraphs 4 and 25).
Mitchell and Sharma are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a water filtration system and method. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the water filtration system of Mitchell to include a tap/attachment interface of Sharma for optimization purposes and to effectively and efficiently monitor a flow of fluid and life of expectancy of the filters in the water filtration system (see Sharma paragraphs 4 and 25).
Regarding Claim 16:
The combination of Mitchell in view of Sharma teaches the water purification unit of claim 10 wherein Mitchell further teaches a pre-filter module comprising the pre-filter and a post-filter module comprising the post-filter, wherein, with the lid(s) closed, a first one of said modules abuts against the first lid and/or an end of the housing (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36).
Regarding Claim 17:
The combination of Mitchell in view of Sharma teaches the water purification unit of claim 16 wherein Mitchell further teaches a second one of the modules is located between the first module and the membrane filter (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36).
Regarding Claim 18:
The combination of Mitchell in view of Sharma teaches the water purification unit of claim 10 wherein Mitchell further teaches, with the lids closed, the central duct abuts and against the second lid (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36).
Regarding Claim 19:
The combination of Mitchell in view of Sharma teaches the water purification unit of claim 1 wherein Mitchell further teaches said housing comprises
an inner wall and an outer wall located at a distance from each other and
a cavity arranged between the inner wall and the outer wall,
and wherein the inner wall and the outer wall are stainless steel sheets (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36).
Regarding Claim 20:
The combination of Mitchell in view of Sharma teaches the water purification unit of claim 1 wherein Mitchell further teaches a valve selectively blocking a water passage through the unit (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36) (see Mitchell paragraph 35 further describing a flow restrictor (valve)).
Regarding Claim 21:
The combination of Mitchell in view of Sharma teaches the water purification unit of claim 20 wherein Mitchell further teaches the valve is arranged in a flow path between the tap interface and the pre-filter (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36) (see Mitchell paragraph 35 further describing a flow restrictor (valve)).
Regarding Claim 22:
The combination of Mitchell in view of Sharma teaches the water purification unit of claim 20 wherein Mitchell further teaches the pre-filter and the post-filter are axially located between the membrane filter and the valve (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36) (see Mitchell paragraph 35 further describing a flow restrictor (valve)).
Regarding Claim 23:
The combination of Mitchell in view of Sharma teaches the water purification unit of claim 1 (Examiner’s note: this claim limitation is in an alternative form and therefore only one has to occur) wherein Mitchell further teaches
- the membrane filter and the post-filter are arranged in a first assembly at different locations along the filter axis and the pre-filter is arranged in a second assembly laterally off-set from the filter axis (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36) (see Mitchell paragraph 35 further describing a flow restrictor (valve)) or
- the membrane filter and the pre-filter are arranged in a first assembly at different locations along the filter axis and the post-filter is arranged in a second assembly laterally off-set from the filter axis (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36) (see Mitchell paragraph 35 further describing a flow restrictor (valve)).
Regarding Claim 24:
The combination of Mitchell in view of Sharma teaches the water purification unit of claim 23 wherein Mitchell further teaches a valve selectively blocking a water passage through the unit, wherein the valve is arranged in the second assembly (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36) (see Mitchell paragraph 35 further describing a flow restrictor (valve)).
Regarding Claim 25:
The combination of Mitchell in view of Sharma teaches the water purification unit of claim 1 Mitchell further teaches having at least three assemblies, wherein the pre-filter, the membrane filter, and the post filter are arranged in different ones of the assemblies, and wherein the assemblies are arranged on a polygon, in particular a regular polygon (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36) (see Mitchell paragraph 35 further describing a flow restrictor (valve)).
Regarding Claim 26:
The combination of Mitchell in view of Sharma teaches the water purification unit of claim 25 wherein Mitchell further teaches the assemblies have elongate directions, with the elongate directions being parallel to each other (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36) (see Mitchell paragraph 35 further describing a flow restrictor (valve)).
Regarding Claim 27:
The combination of Mitchell in view of Sharma teaches the water purification unit of claim 26 wherein Mitchell further teaches each assembly has a housing that is rotationally symmetric about its elongate direction (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36) (see Mitchell paragraph 35 further describing a flow restrictor (valve)).
Regarding Claim 28:
The combination of Mitchell in view of Sharma teaches the water purification unit of claim 25 wherein Mitchell further teaches each assembly has a housing, and wherein all housings have the same shape (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36) (see Mitchell paragraph 35 further describing a flow restrictor (valve)).
Regarding Claim 29:
The combination of Mitchell in view of Sharma teaches the water purification unit of claim 1
wherein Mitchell further teaches said pre-filter comprises a filter of the group of activated carbon filters, zeolite filters, UV filters, sediment filters, micro-filters, and ultra-filtration filters, and in particular wherein the pre-filter comprises a filter of the group of activated carbon filters, micro-filters, and ultra-filtration filters (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36) (see Mitchell paragraph 35 further describing a flow restrictor (valve)), and/or
wherein said post-filter comprises a filter of the group of activated carbon filters, zeolite filters, UV filters, a ceramic filter, a deionization filter, and a remineralization unit, and in particular wherein the post-filter comprises a filter of the group of activated carbon filters, zeolite filters, and ceramic filters (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36) (see Mitchell paragraph 35 further describing a flow restrictor (valve)).
Regarding Claim 30:
The combination of Mitchell in view of Sharma teaches the water purification unit of claim 1
wherein Mitchell further teaches the membrane filter has a partially permeable membrane, with the membrane permeable to water but withholding at least some of the contaminants that may be solved in water, and/or wherein the membrane filter comprises a reverse-osmosis filter and/or a nanofilter (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36) (see Mitchell paragraph 35 further describing a flow restrictor (valve)).
Regarding Claim 31:
The combination of Mitchell in view of Sharma teaches the water purification unit of claim 1 wherein Mitchell further teaches a housing (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36) (see Mitchell paragraph 35 further describing a flow restrictor (valve)),
wherein the tap interface comprises
a first part mounted to the housing and
a second part having a threading,
wherein said first and said second part form a water tight bayonet mount (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36) (see Mitchell paragraph 35 further describing a flow restrictor (valve)).
Sharma further teaches a water filtration system including a tap communication interface (see Sharma FIGS. 4 and 10, an attachment interface 132) (see Sharma paragraphs 4 and 25).
Mitchell and Sharma are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a water filtration system and method. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the water filtration system of Mitchell to include a tap/attachment interface of Sharma for optimization purposes and to effectively and efficiently monitor a flow of fluid and life of expectancy of the filters in the water filtration system (see Sharma paragraphs 4 and 25).
Regarding Claim 32:
The combination of Mitchell in view of Sharma teaches the water purification unit of claim 1 wherein Mitchell further teaches a first end of the central duct extends axially into post-filter, wherein, at the first end, the central duct is axially closed and comprises radial outlet openings (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a filter 1 including a housing 5 and a carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIGS. 1 and 3, a pre-filter disk 4 and/or a post-filter disk 4 can be positioned upstream and/or downstream of carbon filter 2) (see Mitchell FIG. 2, an additional sediment filter wrap 6 and/or an additional carbon filter 8) (see Mitchell paragraphs 17, 20, 31-34 and 36) (see Mitchell paragraph 35 further describing a flow restrictor (valve)).
Other References Considered
Sizelove et al. (U.S. 2003/0042201 A1) (hereinafter “Sizelove”) teaches a medical grade water production system.
Baird (U.S. 2006/0065601 A1) (hereinafter “Baird”) teaches a water purification system utilizing a carbon block pre-filter.
Macevicz et al. (U.S. 4,609,463) (hereinafter “Macevicz”) teaches a water purification device.
Donald T. Bray (U.S. 3,542,199) (hereinafter “Donald”) teaches a reverse osmosis water purification unit.
Bray (U.S. 4,713,175) (hereinafter “Bray”) teaches a water purifier comprising stages.
Conclusion
/AKASH K VARMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773