Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1, directed to a computer-implemented method for determining refractive power for an intraocular lens:
Step 1: Claim 1 falls within the statutory category, the claim is directed to a process. Therefore, step 1 is met by the claim.
Step 2A, prong one: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim recites a judicial exception. The steps in claim 1 are directed to the use of mathematical calculations (a physical model for determining refractive power) and using a computer to receive training data to generate input data (training a machine learning system with measured clinical ophthalmological training data). These steps are all being performed by a computer therefore, the computer is merely used to perform an abstract idea and meets prong one.
Step 2A, prong two: evaluating whether the claim as a whole integrates the judicial exception into a practical application. The limitations are directed to receiving training data that are stored in a computer system. The computer is merely used as a tool for receiving data and providing an output, this does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: This part of eligibility analysis evaluates wherein the claim amounts to significantly more than the recited exception, wherein any additional element or combination of additional elements adds an inventive concept to the claim. The steps involve getting training data and desired results from a learning model which amounts to no more than instructions using a computer therefore, it does not provide additional elements other than instructions to implement an abstract idea. Therefore, it does not provide an inventive concept.
Claim 9, directed to a system for determining refractive power for an intraocular lens:
Step 1: Claim 9 falls within the statutory category, the claim is directed to a machine (having a system with memory for storing and measuring ophthalmological data of patient). Therefore, step 1 is met by the claim.
Step 2A, prong one: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim recites a judicial exception. The limitations are directed to a system for receiving data and providing mathematical calculations and storing a memory for measured data. Therefore, a computer is merely being used as a tool to perform an abstract idea and meets the prong one.
Step 2A, prong two: evaluating whether the claim as a whole integrates the judicial exception into a practical application. The limitations are directed to a system for receiving training data. The computer is merely used as a tool for receiving data and providing an output, this does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: This part of eligibility analysis evaluates wherein the claim amounts to significantly more than the recited exception, wherein any additional element or combination of additional elements adds an inventive concept to the claim. The system uses training data and associated results to determine refractive power, therefore it does not provide additional elements other than instructions to implement an abstract idea. Therefore, it does not provide an inventive concept.
Dependent claims 2-8 are also rejected for the same reasons set forth above and because they also fail to recite an additional element that constitutes a practical application or significantly more.
Claims 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to nonstatutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because:
Step 1: Claim 10, is ineligible subject matter and does not fall within the statutory category. The claim is directed to a computer program which is considered a product that is not tangible or physical, just a software. Therefore, step 1 is not met by the claim.
Dependent claims 11-17 are also rejected for the same reasons set forth above.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bor et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0015894.
Regarding Claim 10, Bor et al. discloses a computer program product 500 for determining refractive power for an intraocular lens to be inserted (paragraphs [0008], [0067], [0071]), wherein the computer program product comprises a computer-readable storage medium 510 comprising program instructions stored thereon (paragraphs [0008], [0062], [0067], [0071]), wherein the program instructions are executable by one or more computers or control units (paragraphs [0008], [0065] and [0071]) and cause said one or more computers or control units to carry out the method set forth in claim 1 (the computer program product is capable of carrying out the method steps of claim 1 of determining refractive power).
Regarding Claim 13, Bor et al. discloses wherein the measured ophthalmological data are OCT image data (paragraphs [0025], [0040]) or wherein the measured ophthalmological data are explicit values derived from OCT image data or wherein the measured ophthalmological data comprise both OCT image data and values derived from OCT image data (paragraphs [0040-0041] and as seen in Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 14, Bor et al. discloses wherein an expected position of the intraocular lens to be inserted is used as additional input data for the machine learning system (paragraphs [0007-0008], [0019], [0022], [0037], [0055], [0059]).
Regarding Claim 15, Bor et al. discloses wherein the learning model of the machine learning system, before the training with measured ophthalmological data, has already been trained by artificially generated training data based on laws of the physical model provided (abstract and paragraphs [0022-0024] and [0058]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bor et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0015894 in view of Ladas U.S. Publication 2019/0099262 A1.
Regarding Claim 16, Bor et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the physical model also comprises literature data for determining refractive power for an intraocular lens. Ladas teaches using a computer program (software or combination of computer systems, paragraphs [0030-0033]) to determine the intraocular lens power based on formula and lens selection parameter (abstract), the computer system 300 includes one or more processors 304 connected to a network 306 and using a physical model include a literature data to provide formulas that would determine the lens power (paragraph [0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bor’s computer system to further include literature data as taught by Ladas for the purpose of providing formulas that would determine the lens power.
Regarding Claim 17, Bor et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the intraocular lens to be inserted is a spherical, toric or multifocal intraocular lens to be inserted. Ladas teaches using a computer program (software or combination of computer systems, paragraphs [0030-0033]) to determine the intraocular lens power based on formula and lens selection parameter (abstract), the computer system 300 includes interfaces that having measurements and parameters to select toric intraocular lens (paragraph [0044]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bor’s computer system to further include interfaces that having measurements and parameters to select toric intraocular lens as taught by Ladas for the purpose of having different types of IOLS for different patient needs.
Conclusion
/SEEMA MATHEW/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774