DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to U.S. Patent Application No. 18/263,180 filed on 27 July 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant' s Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS). The IDS(es) has/have been considered.
Priority
The application’s status as a 371 of PCT/CN2021/143934 is acknowledged.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the Species IV (FIG. 4) invention in the reply filed on 22 November 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 22 November 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1: Claim 1 states, in relevant part: “and the first light-emitting unit, the second light-emitting unit, and the third light-emitting unit emit lights of different colors respectively.” It is unclear whether the abovementioned phrase encompasses a configuration wherein (1) none of the light emitting units emits the same color light as another light emitting unit, or (2) two of the light emitting units may emit the same color (e.g., does a third light emitting unit emitting blue light emit light of a different color respectively when a second light emitting unit emits red light, even though a first light emitting unit may also emit blue light?). For purposes of examination, the cited language has been interpreted in accordance with (1).
Claims 3, 4, and 11-20, which depend from claim 1, are also rejected under § 112(b) for the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding claim 4: Claim 4 states, in relevant part: “wherein a doping concentration of the red photoluminescence particles in the light-converting layer ranges from 10% to 35%.” This phrase renders the scope of the claim unclear because it fails to describe what relationship is being claimed between the red photoluminescence particles and another value, as well as what layer provides the value for comparison. For the purposes of examination, the “concentration” described in claim 4 has been interpreted to encompass any ratio or concentration involving red photoluminescence particles.
Regarding claim 17: Claim 17 states, in relevant part: “wherein a material of the light-converting layer is selected from ZnO, ZnxMgyO, Znm1Alm2O, and Znn1Mgn2Lin3O, wherein x, y, m1, m2, n1, n2, and n3 are satisfied with: x+y=1, m1+m2=1, n1+n2+n3=1.” This phrase renders scope of the claim unclear because it is unclear whether (1) the cited relationship encompasses only those compounds specifically recited (i.e., ZnO, ZnMgO, ZnAlO, and ZnMgLiO), or (2) encompasses values of zero (i.e., x, y, m1, m2, n1, n2, n3 may equal 0), such that the claim also encompasses, e.g., MgO. (i.e., x=0, y=1). For purposes of examination, the cited language has been interpreted in accordance with (1).
Applicant may cancel the claims, amend the claims, or present a sufficient showing that the claims comply with the statutory requirements.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0125204 (filed April 28, 2020) (hereinafter “Kitazawa”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kitazawa discloses: A display panel (FIG. 35, [0042] “FIG. 35 is a schematic cross-sectional view of a display device according to a ninth embodiment of the present invention.”), comprising:
a first electrode layer (FIG. 35, any one of cathode electrodes 8R, 8G, or 8B or anode electrode 10R, 10G, 10B, [0105]);
a light-emitting structure disposed on the first electrode layer (FIG. 35, depicting wherein the display device 1502 includes a light emitting structure disposed on any one of cathode electrodes 8R, 8G, or 8B or anode electrode 10R, 10G, 10B),
wherein the light-emitting structure comprises a first light-emitting unit (FIG. 35, any one of the plurality of red light-emitting element layers 6R, green light-emitting element layers 6G, or blue light-emitting element layer 6B, [0237]),
a second light-emitting unit (FIG. 35, any one of the plurality of red light-emitting element layers 6R, green light-emitting element layers 6G, or blue light-emitting element layer 6B, [0237]), and
a third light-emitting unit (FIG. 35, any one of the plurality of red light-emitting element layers 6R, green light-emitting element layers 6G, or blue light-emitting element layer 6B, [0237]);
the first light-emitting unit, the second light-emitting unit, and the third light-emitting unit are independently selected from a red light-emitting unit, a green light-emitting unit, and a blue light-emitting unit, respectively (FIG. 35, red light-emitting element layers 6R, green light-emitting element layers 6G, or blue light-emitting element layer 6B); and
the first light-emitting unit, the second light-emitting unit, and the third light-emitting unit emit lights of different colors respectively (FIG. 35, the red light-emitting element layers 6R, green light-emitting element layers 6G, and blue light-emitting element layer 6B emit lights of different colors);
wherein the light-emitting structure is provided with a light-converting layer (FIG. 35, one of the red light-emitting element layers 6R),
the light-converting layer is disposed on a side of the green light-emitting unit and/or the blue light-emitting unit close to a light-emitting surface of the light-emitting structure (FIG. 35, depicting wherein the red light-emitting element layers 6R are disposed on a side of the green light-emitting element layers 6G and blue light-emitting element layer 6B close to a light emitting surface of the light emitting structure), and
the light-converting layer is doped with red photoluminescence particles (FIG. 35, [0048]: “The blue light-emitting layer 14, the green light-emitting layer 16, and the red light-emitting layer 18 include, for example, a quantum dot material as a light-emitting material.”); and
a second electrode layer (FIG. 35, the other of any one of cathode electrodes 8R, 8G, or 8B or anode electrode 10R, 10G, 10B) disposed on a side of the light-emitting structure away from the first electrode layer (FIG. 35 depicting wherein any one of cathode electrodes 8R, 8G, or 8B or anode electrode 10R, 10G, 10B are disposed on sides of the light emitting structure away from each other).
Regarding claim 2, Kitazawa further discloses wherein the red photoluminescence particles are configured to receive lights emitted by the green light-emitting unit and/or the blue light-emitting unit and to emit red light (FIG. 35, [0090]: “Similarly, the red light-emitting layer 18 absorbs light, such as the blue light and the green light, having a wavelength shorter than that of light emitted by itself, that is, the red light, converts the absorbed light, and emits the red light.”), and the light-emitting structure emits white lights (FIG. 35, [0214]: “Thus, the blue light from the blue light-emitting layer 14, the green light from the two green light-emitting layers 16, and the red light from the two red light-emitting layers 18 are emitted from a light-emitting element layer 6, and, as a result, the white light is emitted from the light-emitting element layer 6.”).
Regarding claim 11, Kitazawa further discloses wherein the light-converting layer is disposed between the first light-emitting unit and the second light-emitting unit, or between the second light-emitting unit and the third light-emitting unit (FIG. 35, [0248]: “Note that, in the present embodiment, an order in which the light-emitting element layers are layered may be any order as long as the order is symmetric in the first direction D1 and the second direction D2. For example, in the present embodiment, formation positions of the green light-emitting element layer 6G and the red light-emitting element layer 6R illustrated in FIG. 35 may be replaced with each other.”; [0249]: “However, the layering order of the light-emitting element layers according to the present embodiment is not limited thereto. For example, instead of disposing the blue light-emitting element layer 6B at the center, the green light-emitting element layer 6G or the red light-emitting element layer 6R may be disposed at the center, and the light-emitting element layers may be layered thereon.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitazawa in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0074770 (filed Aug. 5, 2020) (hereinafter “Choe”).
Regarding claim 4, Kitazawa does not specifically disclose wherein a doping concentration of the red photoluminescence particles in the light-converting layer ranges from 10% to 35%.
In the same field of endeavor, Choe discloses in [0138]: “For example, the concentration of the second quantum dots QD2 included in the first color conversion layer 320R may be a maximum of about 10 wt % . . . .” Choe further states in [0140]-[0141]: “In some embodiments, the first color conversion layer 320R may also include the second scattering particles SP2. The second scattering particles SP2 included in the first color conversion layer 320R additionally scatter partial incident light (e.g., a part of the incident light) Lib′ that is not absorbed by the second quantum dots QD2 in order to excite more second quantum dots QD2 and may increase the color conversion ratio of the first filter portion 300R. As described above, when the first quantum dots QD1 and the second quantum dots QD2 are excited by the blue incident light Lib and isotropically emit the first color light Lr (e.g., a red light) having a longer wavelength than that of the blue light and the first scattering particles SP1 and the second scattering particles SP2 scatter the blue incident light Lib to excite more first quantum dots QD1 and second quantum dots QD2, the color conversion ratio of the first filter portion 300R may be increased.” Choe further states in [0143]: “Therefore, the display apparatus 1 according to one or more embodiments includes the first filter portion 300R corresponding to the first pixel P1 (e.g., see FIG. 4), and the first filter portion 300R has a multi-layer structure, in which the concentration of the first scattering particles SP1 included in the first light scattering layer 330R is greater than that of the second scattering particles SP2 included in the first color conversion layer 320R and the concentration of the first quantum dots QD1 included in the first color conversion layer 320R is greater than that of the second quantum dots QD2 included in the first light scattering layer 330R. As such, the scattering mechanism of the incident light Lib and color conversion mechanism of the scattered incident light Lib′ are separated, and thus, the transmittance may be ensured and the color conversion ratio may be effectively improved.” Thus, noted in Choe, the concentration of quantum dots in a color converting layer is a result-effective variable for optimizing device properties such as color conversion ratio and transmittance.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the concentration of quantum dot materials, identified by Choe as a result-effective variable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at a concentration ranging from 10% to 35% in order to achieve a desired color conversion ratio and transmittance as disclosed in Choe in [0138] and [0140]-[0143]. See MPEP § 2144.05 (“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”) (quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (C.C.P.A. 1955)).
Claims 3, 12-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitazawa in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0013440 (filed May 22, 2020) (hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 3, while Kitazawa discloses that the red light-emitting element layer may be formed from a quantum dot material, Kitazawa does not specifically disclose wherein the red photoluminescence particles are selected from of CdSe-based quantum dot materials, CdZnSe-based quantum dot materials, InP-based quantum dot materials, and ZnSe-based quantum dot materials.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses a red light quantum dot material including CdSe ([0152]: “A quantum dot may control the color of emitted light according to the particle size thereof. Accordingly, the quantum dot may have various light emission colors such as blue, red, green, and/or the like. The smaller the particle size of a quantum dot, the shorter the wavelength region of light may be emitted. For example, the particle size of a quantum dot emitting green light may be smaller than the particle size of a quantum dot emitting red light. For example, the particle size of a quantum dot emitting blue light may be smaller than the particle size of a quantum dot emitting green light.”; [0152]-[0153]: “A core of a quantum dot may be selected from a Group II-VI compound, a Group III-V compound, a Group IV-VI compound, a Group IV element, a Group IV compound, and combinations thereof. The Group II-VI compound may be selected from a binary compound (selected from CdSe, CdTe, Cds, ZnS, ZnSe, ZnTe, ZnO, HgS, HgSe, HgTe, MgSe, MgS, and a mixture thereof), a ternary compound (selected from AgInS, CuInS, CdSeS, CdSeTe, CdSTe, ZnSeS, ZnSeTe, ZnSTe, HgSeS, HgSeTe, HgSTe, CdZnS, CdZnSe, CdZnTe, CdHgS, CdHgSe, CdHgTe, HgZnS, HgZnSe, HgZnTe, MgZnSe, MgZnS, and a mixture thereof), and a quaternary compound (selected from HgZnTeS, CdZnSeS, CdZnSeTe, CdZnSTe, CdHgSeS, CdHgSeTe, CdHgSTe, HgZnSeS, HgZnSeTe, HgZnSTe, and a mixture thereof).”).
Accordingly, before the effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to select a known quantum dot material such as one including CdSe, as shown by Kim in [0152]-[0153], since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.07 (citing In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197 (C.C.P.A. 1960)). One would be motivated to choose a quantum dot material including CdSe over other materials depending on manufacturing considerations such as cost of materials or time it takes to process the layer.
Regarding claim 12, while Kitazawa discloses wherein one of the red light-emitting layers 6R includes cathodes electrodes 8R, Kitazawa does not specifically disclose a material of the cathodes/anodes.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses a cathode formed from indium tin oxide ([0056]: “In some embodiments, the first electrode EL1 may be a metal monolayer including a metal such as Ag, Mg, Al, Pt, Pd, Au, Ni, Nd, Ir, Cr, and/or the like or a mixture thereof, or may have a multi-layered structure of a metal layer (including a metal such as Ag, Mg, Al, Pt, Pd, Au, Ni, Nd, Ir, Cr, and/or the like or a mixture thereof) and a transparent conductive oxide layer (including a transparent conductive oxide). The transparent conductive oxide may include, for example, indium tin oxide (ITO), indium zinc oxide (IZO), zinc oxide (ZnO), indium tin zinc oxide (ITZO), and/or the like.”).
Accordingly, before the effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to select a known cathode material such as one including ITO, as shown by Kim in [0056], since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.07 (citing In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197 (C.C.P.A. 1960)). One would be motivated to choose a cathode material including ITO over other materials depending on manufacturing considerations such as cost of materials or time it takes to process the layer.
Regarding claim 13, Kitazawa further discloses wherein the second light-emitting unit (FIG. 35, any one of the plurality of red light-emitting element layers 6R, green light-emitting element layers 6G, or blue light-emitting element layer 6B) comprises
a second hole transport layer (FIG. 35, hole transport layers 22R, 22B, 22G, [0105]-[0108]),
a second light-emitting layer (FIG. 35, light emitting layers 14, 16, 18, [0105]-[0108]), and
a second electron transport layer (FIG. 35, electron transport layers 20R, 20B, 20G, [0105]-[0108]) stacked sequentially (FIG. 35, depicting wherein the layers are stacked sequentially);
wherein the third light-emitting unit (FIG. 35, any one of the plurality of red light-emitting element layers 6R, green light-emitting element layers 6G, or blue light-emitting element layer 6B) comprises
a third hole transport layer (FIG. 35, hole transport layers 22R, 22B, 22G, [0105]-[0108]),
a third light-emitting layer (FIG. 35, light emitting layers 14, 16, 18, [0105]-[0108]), and
a third electron transport layer (FIG. 35, electron transport layers 20R, 20B, 20G, [0105]-[0108]) stacked sequentially (FIG. 35, depicting wherein the layers are stacked sequentially);
wherein the display panel further comprises a first transparent conductive layer disposed between the first light-emitting unit and the second light-emitting unit and/or a second transparent conductive layer disposed between the second light-emitting unit and the third light-emitting unit (FIG. 35, any one or more of cathode electrodes 8R, 8B, 8G or anode electrodes 10R, 10B, or 10G).
Kitazawa does not specifically disclose a second hole injection layer on a side of the second hole transport layer away from the second light-emitting layer, or a third hole injection layer on a side of the third hole transport layer away from the third light-emitting layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses a second hole injection layer (FIG. 3, hole injection layer HIL1, HIL2, or HIL3, [0074], [0075], [0093]) on a side of a second hole transport layer away from a second light-emitting layer (FIG. 3, depicting wherein each respective hole injection layer HIL1, HIL2, or HIL3 is on a side of a respective hole transport layer HTL1, HTL2, or HTL3 away from a respective light emitting layer EML1, EML2, or EML3) and a third hole injection layer (FIG. 3, hole injection layer HIL1, HIL2, or HIL3, [0074], [0075], [0093]) on a side of a third hole transport layer away from a third light-emitting layer (FIG. 3, depicting wherein each respective hole injection layer HIL1, HIL2, or HIL3 is on a side of a respective hole transport layer HTL1, HTL2, or HTL3 away from a respective light emitting layer EML1, EML2, or EML3). Regarding the hole injection layer configuration, in [0005], Kim states: “A tandem organic light emitting device has a structure including (e.g., consisting of) two or more stacks of a hole injection layer/a hole transport layer/a light emitting layer/an electron transport layer/an electron injection layer (in each stack) between an anode and a cathode, and a charge generation layer, which assists in the generation and movement of charges is present between each stack.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display of Kitazawa by adding the hole injection layer configuration of Kim in order to assist in the generation and movement of charges. See Kim [0005].
Regarding claim 14, while Kitazawa discloses that the light-emitting element layers may be formed from a quantum dot materials, Kitazawa does not specifically disclose wherein a material of each of the first light-emitting layer, the second light-emitting layer, and the third light-emitting layer is a core-shell structure, and a shell layer of the core-shell structure covers a core layer of the core-shell structure; wherein a material of the core layer comprises at least one of CdSe, CdZnSe, InP, and ZnSe, and a material of the shell layer comprises one or a combination of CdS and ZnS.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses wherein a material of each of a first light-emitting layer, a second light-emitting layer, and a third light-emitting layer (FIG. 3, light emitting layers EML1, EML2, and EML3) is a core-shell structure (FIG. 3, [0158]: “In some embodiments, a quantum dot may have a core-shell structure including a core having nano-crystals described above and a shell surrounding the core”), and a shell layer of the core-shell structure covers a core layer of the core-shell structure (FIG. 3, [0158]: “In some embodiments, a quantum dot may have a core-shell structure including a core having nano-crystals described above and a shell surrounding the core”); wherein a material of the core layer comprises at least one of CdSe, CdZnSe, InP, and ZnSe ([0152]-[0156]: “A core of a quantum dot may be selected from a Group II-VI compound, a Group III-V compound, a Group IV-VI compound, a Group IV element, a Group IV compound, and combinations thereof. The Group II-VI compound may be selected from a binary compound (selected from CdSe, CdTe, Cds, ZnS, ZnSe, ZnTe, ZnO, HgS, HgSe, HgTe, MgSe, MgS, and a mixture thereof), a ternary compound (selected from AgInS, CuInS, CdSeS, CdSeTe, CdSTe, ZnSeS, ZnSeTe, ZnSTe, HgSeS, HgSeTe, HgSTe, CdZnS, CdZnSe, CdZnTe, CdHgS, CdHgSe, CdHgTe, HgZnS, HgZnSe, HgZnTe, MgZnSe, MgZnS, and a mixture thereof), and a quaternary compound (selected from HgZnTeS, CdZnSeS, CdZnSeTe, CdZnSTe, CdHgSeS, CdHgSeTe, CdHgSTe, HgZnSeS, HgZnSeTe, HgZnSTe, and a mixture thereof). The Group III-V compound may be selected from a binary compound (selected from GaN, GaP, GaAs, GaSb, AlN, AlP, AlAs, AlSb, InN, InP, InAs, InSb, and a mixture thereof), a ternary compound (selected from GaNP, GaNAs, GaNSb, GaPAs, GaPSb, AlNP, AlNAs, AlNSb, AlPAs, AlPSb, InGaP, InAlP, InNP, InNAs, InNSb, InPAs, InPSb, and a mixture thereof), and a quaternary compound (selected from GaAlNP, GaAlNAs, GaAlNSb, GaAlPAs, GaAlPSb, GaInNP, GaInNAs, GaInNSb, GaInPAs, GaInPSb, InAlNP, InAlNAs, InAlNSb, InAlPAs, InAlPSb, and a mixture thereof). The Group IV-VI compound may be selected from a binary compound (selected from SnS, SnSe, SnTe, PbS, PbSe, PbTe, and a mixture thereof), a ternary compound (selected from SnSeS, SnSeTe, SnSTe, PbSeS, PbSeTe, PbSTe, SnPbS, SnPbSe, SnPbTe, and a mixture thereof), and a quaternary compound (selected from SnPbSSe, SnPbSeTe, SnPbSTe, and a mixture thereof). The Group IV element may be selected from Si, Ge, and a mixture thereof. The Group IV compound may be a binary compound selected from SiC, SiGe, and a mixture thereof.), and a material of the shell layer comprises one or a combination of CdS and ZnS ([0158]-[0160]: “Non-limiting examples of the shell of the quantum dot having a core-shell structure may include a metal oxide, a non-metal oxide, a semiconductor compound, and a combination thereof. For example, the metal oxide or the non-metal oxide may be a binary compound (such as SiO2, Al2O3, TiO2, ZnO, MnO, Mn2O3, Mn3O4, CuO, FeO, Fe2O3, Fe3O4, CoO, Co3O4, and/or NiO), and/or a ternary compound (such as MgAl2O4, CoFe2O4, NiFe2O4, and/or CoMn2O4). However, the embodiment of the present disclosure is not limited thereto. Also, the semiconductor compound may be, for example, CdS, CdSe, CdTe, ZnS, ZnSe, ZnTe, ZnSeS, ZnTeS, GaAs, GaP, GaSb, HgS, HgSe, HgTe, InAs, InP, InGaP, InSb, AlAs, AlP, AlSb, and/or the like. However, the embodiment of the present disclosure is not limited thereto.”). Regarding the core-shell material configuration, in [0158], Kim states: “The shell of the quantum dot having a core-shell structure may serve as a protection layer for preventing (or reducing) the chemical deformation of the core so as to maintain semiconductor properties, and/or as a charging layer for imparting electrophoresis properties to the quantum dot.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display of Kitazawa by substituting the core-shell material configuration of Kim in order to protect the core and impart electrophoresis properties. See Kim [0158].
Regarding claim 15, Kitazawa does not specifically disclose wherein the first transparent conductive layer (FIG. 35, any one or more of cathode electrodes 8R, 8B, 8G or anode electrodes 10R, 10B, or 10G) is selected from indium tin oxide, indium zinc oxide, zinc aluminum oxide, indium gallium zinc oxide, zinc oxide, and zinc manganese oxide; and the second transparent conductive layer is selected from indium tin oxide, indium zinc oxide, zinc aluminum oxide, indium gallium zinc oxide, zinc oxide, and zinc manganese oxide.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses a cathode formed from indium tin oxide ([0056]: “In some embodiments, the first electrode EL1 may be a metal monolayer including a metal such as Ag, Mg, Al, Pt, Pd, Au, Ni, Nd, Ir, Cr, and/or the like or a mixture thereof, or may have a multi-layered structure of a metal layer (including a metal such as Ag, Mg, Al, Pt, Pd, Au, Ni, Nd, Ir, Cr, and/or the like or a mixture thereof) and a transparent conductive oxide layer (including a transparent conductive oxide). The transparent conductive oxide may include, for example, indium tin oxide (ITO), indium zinc oxide (IZO), zinc oxide (ZnO), indium tin zinc oxide (ITZO), and/or the like.”).
Accordingly, before the effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to select a known cathode material such as one including ITO, as shown by Kim in [0056], since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.07 (citing In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197 (C.C.P.A. 1960)). One would be motivated to choose a cathode material including ITO over other materials depending on manufacturing considerations such as cost of materials or time it takes to process the layer.
Regarding claim 18, Kitazawa does not specifically disclose wherein a material of the second hole transport layer comprises one or more of poly(9,9-dioctylfluorene-co-N-(4-butylphenyl)diphenylamine), poly(N,N′-bis(4-butylphenyl)-N,N′-bis(phenyl)-benzidine), polyvinylcarbazole, 4,4′,4″-tris(carbazol-9-yl)triphenylamine, and 4,4′-bis(9-carbazol)biphenyl; and a material of the third hole transport layer includes one or more of poly(9,9-dioctylfluorene-co-N-(4-butylphenyl)diphenylamine), poly(N,N′-bis(4-butylphenyl)-N,N′-bis(phenyl)-benzidine), polyvinylcarbazole, 4,4′,4″-tris(carbazol-9-yl)triphenylamine, and 4,4′-bis(9-carbazol)biphenyl.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses a plurality of hole transport layers formed from polyvinylcarbazole (FIG. 3, [0078]: “The hole transport material may include a carbazole-based derivative (such as N-phenylcarbazole and/or polyvinylcarbazole), a fluorene-based derivative, a triphenylamine-based derivative (such as N,N′-bis(3-methylphenyl)-N,N′-diphenyl-[1,1-biphenyl]-4,4′-diamine (TPD) and/or 4,4′,4″-tris(N-carbazolyl)triphenylamine (TCTA)), N,N′-di(naphthalene-1-yl)-N,N′-diplienyl-benzidine (NPB), 4,4′-Cyclohexylidene bis[N,N-bis(4-methylphenyl)benzenamine] (TAPC), 4,4′-Bis[N,N′-(3-tolyl)amino]-3,3′-dimethylbiphenyl (HMTPD), 1,3-Bis(N-carbazolyl)benzene (mCP), 9-(4-tert-Butylphenyl)-3,6-bis(triphenylsilyl)-9H-carbazole (CzSi), and/or the like.”).
Accordingly, before the effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to select a known hole transport material such as one including polyvinylcarbazole, as shown by Kim in [0078], since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.07 (citing In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197 (C.C.P.A. 1960)). One would be motivated to choose a hole transport material including polyvinylcarbazole over other materials depending on manufacturing considerations such as cost of materials or time it takes to process the layer.
Regarding claim 19, Kitazawa does not specifically disclose wherein materials of the second hole injection layer and the third hole injection layer are independently selected from poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene): polystyrene sulfonate, polyaniline, and polythiophene.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses a plurality of hole injection layers formed from poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) polystyrene sulfonate (FIG. 3, [0077]: “The hole injection material may include . . . Poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene)/Poly(4-styrenesulfonate) (PEDOT/PSS) . . . .”).
Accordingly, before the effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to select a known hole injection material such as one including poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) polystyrene sulfonate, as shown by Kim in [0077], since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.07 (citing In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197 (C.C.P.A. 1960)). One would be motivated to choose a hole transport material including poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) polystyrene sulfonate over other materials depending on manufacturing considerations such as cost of materials or time it takes to process the layer.
Regarding claim 20, Kitazawa in view of Kim further discloses wherein the second hole injection layer and the third hole injection layer each have a thickness ranging from 15 nm to 50 nm (FIG. 3, [0079]: “The thickness of a hole injection layer HIL may be, for example, about 30 Å to about 1000 Å,”).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kitazawa in view of Kim, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0386238 (filed Aug. 11, 2017) (hereinafter “Yoon”).
Regarding claim 16, Kitazawa in view of Kim does not specifically disclose wherein the first transparent conductive layer and the second transparent electrode layer each have a thickness ranging from 50 nm to 1000 nm.
In the same field of endeavor, Yoon discloses in [0046]: “[T]he charge generation layer formed using the coating composition has a thickness of 1 nm to 1,000 nm. In a general organic electroluminescence device, the whole device thickness needs to be optimized due to a cavity effect, and when optimizing the thickness, the thickness needs to be changed from a few nm to 1 micrometer depending on the upper layer materials. Herein, when capable of varying the charge injection or transfer layer thickness without declining device properties, limits in the upper layer device structure and thickness changes decrease, which is advantageous in providing optimized device properties. The hole injection or transfer layer provided in the present disclosure provides a material and a device with no voltage increases by the thickness.” Thus, noted in Yoon, the thickness of a conductive charge generation layer is a result-effective variable for optimizing device properties such as optical properties and electrical properties such as voltage and resistance.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the thickness of the any one or more of cathode electrodes 8R, 8B, 8G or anode electrodes 10R, 10B, or 10G, identified by Yoon as a result-effective variable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at a thickness ranging from 50 nm to 1000 nm in order to achieve a desired optical and electrical device properties as disclosed in Yoon in [0046]. See MPEP § 2144.05 (“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”) (quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (C.C.P.A. 1955)).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kitazawa in view of Kim, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0147805 (filed April 20, 2021) (hereinafter “Wu”).
Regarding claim 17, Kitazawa in view of Kim does not specifically disclose wherein a material of each of the second electron transport layer and the third electron transport layer is selected from ZnO, ZnxMgyO, Znm1Alm2O, and Znn1Mgn2Lin3O, wherein x, y, m1, m2, n1, n2, and n3 are satisfied with: x+y=1, m1+m2=1, and n1+n2+n3=1.
In the same field of endeavor, in [0083], Wu discloses an electron transport layer formed from, for example, ZnO.
Accordingly, before the effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to select a known electron transport layer material such as ZnO, as shown by Wu in [0083], since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.07 (citing In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197 (C.C.P.A. 1960)). One would be motivated to choose ZnO over other materials depending on manufacturing considerations such as cost of materials or time it takes to process the layer.
Conclusion
/ADAM D WEILAND/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813