DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “vacuum” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-8, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ralf (DE 102017103956) in view of Ralf (DE 102017102281).
Regarding claim 1, Ralf discloses an impact reactor (Fig. 1-10) for comminuting material to be comminuted (intended use), comprising a cylindrical casing (2); a bottom (3); and a cover (15), wherein the casing, the bottom, and the cover enclose an impact reactor chamber (4), wherein a rotor (7) is arranged in the impact reactor chamber, wherein the rotor is provided with impact elements (8), wherein at least one feed opening (5) is provided for feeding material to be comminuted into the impact reactor chamber, and wherein at least one removal opening (6, 16) is provided for removing comminuted material and/or gaseous comminuted products from the impact reactor chamber, and wherein the at least one feed opening and/or the at least one removal opening are closable (6 has the flap, 16 has the lid 15 to close).
Ralf is silent to wherein one or more devices that project into the impact reactor chamber are attached to the casing.
Ralf 281’ teaches a similar impact reactor (Fig. 1-3e) comprising one or more devices (15 “a plurality of segment-like guide elements”) that project into the impact reactor chamber are attached to a casing (2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to add to the impact reactor of Ralf with one or more devices that project into the impact reactor chamber as taught by Ralf 281’ in order to better guide the material within the impact reactor chamber.
Regarding claim 2, modified Ralf teaches the impact reactor according to claim 1, wherein a classifier (16 has separator/ classifier 19) is associated with the at least one removal opening.
Regarding claim 3, modified Ralf teaches the impact reactor according to claim 1, the impact reactor chamber is supplied with a vacuum (16 is a suction opening. Inherently, there is a device that sucks i.e. a vacuum) via the at least one removal opening.
Regarding claim 4, modified Ralf teaches the impact reactor according to claim 1, wherein a deflector wheel (19 is a classifier in the form of a “deflector”) is associated with at least one removal opening.
Regarding claim 5, modified Ralf teaches the impact reactor according to claim 1, wherein the at least one removal opening includes several removal openings (6, 16 and because there is two classifiers 19, the openings are three total).
Regarding claim 6, modified Ralf teaches the impact reactor according to claim 1, wherein a screen (19) and a removal flap (“flap”) are associated with at least one removal opening.
Regarding claim 7, modified Ralf teaches the impact reactor according to claim 1, wherein a screen, a classifier (19 is a classifier/deflector) and/or a deflector wheel is associated with a removal opening (16) of the at least one removal opening.
Regarding claim 8, modified Ralf teaches the impact reactor according to claim 1, wherein a first feed opening (5) of the at least one feed opening comprises an airlock (5 is closable meaning it is airlock).
Regarding claim 16, modified Ralf teaches the impact reactor according to claim 1, wherein a further feed opening (9) is provided for introduction of auxiliary substances (liquid nitrogen).
Regarding claim 17, modified Ralf teaches the impact reactor according to claim 1, wherein at least the casing is temperature-controllable (inside 4 is different temperature because liquid nitrogen is provided inside 4 by 10. Therefore, the casing is able to control temperature.).
Regarding claim 20, modified Ralf teaches the impact reactor according to claim 1, wherein the one or more devices (15, Ralf DE 281’) that project into the impact reactor chamber are located between impact elements of the rotor and interior surfaces of sidewalls of the casing. (see Fig. 3c-e)
Claim 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Ralf as applied to claims above, and further in view of Ralf (WO 2012107526).
Regarding claim 9, modified Ralf teaches the impact reactor according to claim 8,
Ralf teaches that the feed opening (5) is closable a.k.a. airlock.
However, Ralf fails to disclose wherein the airlock is designed as a rotary feeder.
Ralf WO 526’ teaches a similar impact reactor comprising a feed opening that is an airlock (5) which comprises a rotary feeder, slide, flaps, screw conveyor, and etc. (As can further be seen from the illustration in FIGS. 1 and 2, a lock 5 with a lock chamber 5a which can be closed by means of slides or flaps is arranged on the upper side of the cylindrical basic body 6, via which the pieces of wood 2 are inserted from above into the interior 8 of the impact reactor 4 can be introduced without creating a free access between the environment 34 and the interior 8 of the baffle reactor 4. The lock 5 is shown only as an example in the drawings and may also be a rotary valve with horizontally or vertically extending rotary axle that perform the roughly pre-shredded moisture-containing material from above into the interior 8 of the baffle reactor 4. In order to reduce the entry of ambient air together with the material as much as possible, an extraction of air can be provided immediately before the entry of the material 2 in the interior 8. For this purpose, in the case of the lock 5 shown, the lock chamber, and in the case of the rotary valve, not shown, preferably the lock chamber, in which the material is located directly in front of the entrance into the interior 8, hermetically sealed for a predetermined period of time and subjected to negative pressure. It is also possible to supply the moist material by means of a rotating screw conveyor, which opens directly into the otherwise closed interior 8, which is particularly advantageous in the case of a continuous feed. As shown in FIGS. 1 to 4, two ejection boxes 28 are preferably arranged on the outside of the cylindrical basic body 6, each of which has an ejection opening 26, which is partially closed by a sieve 24, with the interior 8 of the impingement reactor 4 are in communication.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the airlock of Ralf with the known airlocks for example a rotary feeder, slide, flaps, screw conveyor, and etc as taught by Ralf WO 526’ to provide sufficient structure that allows material into the impact reactor preventing material outflow through the feed opening.
Regarding claim 10, modified Ralf teaches the impact reactor according to claim 8,
Ralf teaches that the feed opening (5) is closable a.k.a. airlock.
However, Ralf fails to disclose wherein the airlock is a pinch valve assembly.
Ralf WO 526’ teaches a similar impact reactor comprising a feed opening that is an airlock (5) which comprises a rotary feeder, slide, flaps, screw conveyor, and etc. (As can further be seen from the illustration in FIGS. 1 and 2, a lock 5 with a lock chamber 5a which can be closed by means of slides or flaps is arranged on the upper side of the cylindrical basic body 6, via which the pieces of wood 2 are inserted from above into the interior 8 of the impact reactor 4 can be introduced without creating a free access between the environment 34 and the interior 8 of the baffle reactor 4. The lock 5 is shown only as an example in the drawings and may also be a rotary valve with horizontally or vertically extending rotary axle that perform the roughly pre-shredded moisture-containing material from above into the interior 8 of the baffle reactor 4. In order to reduce the entry of ambient air together with the material as much as possible, an extraction of air can be provided immediately before the entry of the material 2 in the interior 8. For this purpose, in the case of the lock 5 shown, the lock chamber, and in the case of the rotary valve, not shown, preferably the lock chamber, in which the material is located directly in front of the entrance into the interior 8, hermetically sealed for a predetermined period of time and subjected to negative pressure. It is also possible to supply the moist material by means of a rotating screw conveyor, which opens directly into the otherwise closed interior 8, which is particularly advantageous in the case of a continuous feed. As shown in FIGS. 1 to 4, two ejection boxes 28 are preferably arranged on the outside of the cylindrical basic body 6, each of which has an ejection opening 26, which is partially closed by a sieve 24, with the interior 8 of the impingement reactor 4 are in communication.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the airlock of Ralf with the known airlocks for example a rotary feeder, slide, flaps, screw conveyor, and etc as taught by Ralf WO 526’ to provide sufficient structure that allows material into the impact reactor preventing material outflow through the feed opening. Examiner notes that pinch valve is a well- known airlocks that would be used as an alternative to the above airlocks as taught by Ralf WO 526’ therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have used the pinch valve as claimed.
Regarding claim 11, see claim 9 rejection.
Regarding claim 12, modified Ralf teaches that the feed opening (5) is closable a.k.a. airlock.
However, modified Ralf fails to disclose wherein the airlock is a roller assembly.
Ralf WO 526’ teaches a similar impact reactor comprising a feed opening that is an airlock (5) which comprises a rotary feeder, slide, flaps, screw conveyor, and etc. (As can further be seen from the illustration in FIGS. 1 and 2, a lock 5 with a lock chamber 5a which can be closed by means of slides or flaps is arranged on the upper side of the cylindrical basic body 6, via which the pieces of wood 2 are inserted from above into the interior 8 of the impact reactor 4 can be introduced without creating a free access between the environment 34 and the interior 8 of the baffle reactor 4. The lock 5 is shown only as an example in the drawings and may also be a rotary valve with horizontally or vertically extending rotary axle that perform the roughly pre-shredded moisture-containing material from above into the interior 8 of the baffle reactor 4. In order to reduce the entry of ambient air together with the material as much as possible, an extraction of air can be provided immediately before the entry of the material 2 in the interior 8. For this purpose, in the case of the lock 5 shown, the lock chamber, and in the case of the rotary valve, not shown, preferably the lock chamber, in which the material is located directly in front of the entrance into the interior 8, hermetically sealed for a predetermined period of time and subjected to negative pressure. It is also possible to supply the moist material by means of a rotating screw conveyor, which opens directly into the otherwise closed interior 8, which is particularly advantageous in the case of a continuous feed. As shown in FIGS. 1 to 4, two ejection boxes 28 are preferably arranged on the outside of the cylindrical basic body 6, each of which has an ejection opening 26, which is partially closed by a sieve 24, with the interior 8 of the impingement reactor 4 are in communication.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the airlock of Ralf with the known airlocks for example a rotary feeder, slide, flaps, screw conveyor, and etc as taught by Ralf WO 526’ to provide sufficient structure that allows material into the impact reactor preventing material outflow through the feed opening. Examiner notes that a roller assembly is a well- known airlocks that would be used as an alternative to the above airlocks as taught by Ralf WO 526’ therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have used the roller assembly as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2018037053 teaches a similar impact reactor.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BOBBY YEONJIN KIM/ Examiner, Art Unit 3725