DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s reply filed on December 9, 2025.
Restrictions/Elections.
Applicant’s election of Group I (Claims 1-22) in the reply filed on December 9, 2025, is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a).
Applicant election of the following species:
1-
as the compound of formula (I),
2- warm blooded animal as the species of animal infected, and
3- ectoparasitic as the species of parasitic infection,
Is also acknowledged.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-30 and 32 are currently pending and are the subject of this office action.
Claims 23-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 9, 2025.
Claims 9-10 and 17 are further withdrawn because they don’t encompass one or more of the elected species.
Claims 1-8, 11-16, 18-22 and 32 are presently under examination.
Priority
The present application is a 371 of PCT/EP2022/051674 filed on 01/26/2022 and claims priority to provisional application No. 63,292,561 filed on 12/22/2021
Objections
Claims 1-8, 11-16 and 18-22 are objected because they recite “A method” instead of “The method”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 11-14 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-8, 11-14 and 19-22 recite: “treatment or control of a parasitic infestation of an animal comprising…”. However, it is not clear which animals is the claim referring to. In order to overcome this rejection, it should read instead: “animals in need thereof”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 11-16 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a written description rejection.
Claims 1-8, 11-16 and 18-21 encompass compounds of general Formula (I):
wherein the R1, R2, R3, R4, R5, R6, R7, R8, R9, R10, R11, R12, R13 and R14 substituents encompass an enormous variety of substituent, despite the fact that most of the time these substituents are: H, F, Cl, Br, I, -CN, NH2, -CF2, -CF3, -OCF3, -CH3, -OCH3, -HNCOR and -CH=CH2.
M.P.E.P. #2163 states: “An applicant shows possession of the claimed invention by describing the claimed invention with all of its limitations using such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, and formulas that fully set forth the claimed invention….one must define a compound by ‘whatever characteristics sufficiently distinguish it’. A lack of adequate written description issue also arises if the knowledge and level of skill in the art would not permit one skilled in the art to immediately envisage the product claimed from the disclosed process”.
In Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1351 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc), the Federal Circuit stated that “the hallmark of written description is disclosure.” A specification adequately describes an invention when it “reasonably conveys to those skilled in the art that the inventor had possession of the claimed subject matter as of the filing date.” Id. at 1351. “A ‘mere wish or plan’ for obtaining the claimed invention is not adequate written description.” Centocor Ortho Biotech, Inc. v. Abbott Labs, 636 F.3d 1341, 1348 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
The description requirement of the patent statute requires a description of an actual invention, not merely an indication of a result that one might achieve if one made that invention. See, e.g., In re Wilder, 22 USPQ 369, 372-3 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (holding that a claim was not adequately described because the specification did ‘little more than outline goals appellants hope the claimed invention achieves and the problems the invention will hopefully ameliorate’). This matter is of particular importance in the evaluation of claims drawn to a chemical genus which identifies a core compound bearing variable substituents. It has been held that “a generic claim may define the boundaries of a vast genus of chemical compounds, and yet the question may still remain whether the specification...demonstrates that the applicant has invented species sufficient to support a claim to a genus” with such breadth. Ariad Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 94 USPQ2D 1161, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2010). An adequate written description requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name, physical properties, or other properties of species falling within the genus sufficient to distinguish the genus from other materials. Id., quoting Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 1568 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
However, merely drawing a fence around the outer limits of a purported genus is not an adequate substitute for describing a variety of materials constituting the genus and showing that one has invented a genus and not just a species. Ariad, 94 USPQ2D at 1171. 35 U.S. C. 112, first paragraph, requires a description of the invention that “clearly allow[s] persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that the inventor invented what is claimed.” Ariad at 1172, quoting Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555 (1562-63) (Fed. Cir. 1991) (emphasis added). A sufficient disclosure is one which reasonably conveys to one having ordinary skill in the art that the inventor had possession of the claimed subject matter as of the filing date of the application in question. Vas-Cath, 935 F.2d at 1563. The description must reasonably describe the invention, not simply indicate a result which one might achieve if one actually made the invention. Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568. To properly evaluate whether an applicant has complied with the written description requirement therefore requires an analysis of whether the skilled artisan would recognize, from the description provided, the applicants were in possession of sufficient compounds representing the full breadth of diversity of the genus claimed.
A description of a chemical genus will usually comprise a recitation of structural features common to the members of the genus, which features constitute a substantial portion of the members of the genus, which features constitute substantial portion of the genus. See Univ. of California vs. Eli Lilly, 43 USPQ 2d 1398, 1406 (Fed. Cir. 1997). This is analogous to enablement of a genus under section 112 first, by showing enablement of a representative number of species within the genus. A chemical genus can be adequately described if the disclosure presents a sufficient number of representative species that encompass the genus. If the genus has a substantial variance, the disclosure must describe a sufficient number of species to reflect the variation within that genus.
Here, applicants have claimed an extraordinarily large genus of chemical compounds encompassed by general Formula (I). The specification discloses a list of several compounds that are encompassed by the general Formula (I) of claim 1 (see structures 1 through 480), wherein the R1, R2, R3, R4, R5, R6, R7, R8, R9, R10, R11, R12, R13 and R14 substituents are most of the time H, F, Cl, Br, I, -CN, NH2, -CF2, -CF3, -OCF3, -CH3, -OCH3, -HNCOR and -CH=CH2, despite claiming an enormous variety of substituents.
The size of the genus thus described is phenomenal, against which the applicants have offered evidence of being in possession of about 480 compounds (see compounds 1 through 480). This small set of compounds cannot be viewed as being reasonably representative of the genus of compounds of Formula (I) in its claimed scope because no readily apparent combination of identifying characteristics is provided, other than the disclosure of those specific species as examples of the claimed genus, and in no way either represent the breadth of variable moieties which applicants have claimed, nor permit the skilled artisan to recognize that such claim breadth was actually in the applicants possession as of the time of filing the instant application.
Given the broad scope of the claimed subject matter, Applicant has not provided sufficient written description that would allow the skilled in the art to recognize that Applicant was in possession of most the compounds of the above general Formula (I) claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 11-16, 18-19, 22 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heemstra et. al. (US 2016/0304522).
For claims 1-8, 19-20 and 22, Heemstra teaches a method of treatment of parasitic infestation of an animal (see [2940], [2941] and [2942]) comprising administering to the animal compounds of formula I:
(See abstract), wherein the specific compound can be F309 (see page 142, paragraphs [1322]-[1323]):
(identical to the elected species).
For claim 11, Heemstra teaches that the parasitic infestation is an ectoparasite infestation (see [2940]).
For claim 12, Heemstra teaches that the parasitic infestation is an acaricide infestation (see [0002]).
For claims 13-14, Heemstra teaches that the parasitic infestation is tick, flea of fly infestation (see [2941]).
For claims 15 and 32, Heemstra teaches that the animal is a cat or dog (warm-blooded animals) (see [2941]).
For claim 16, Heemstra teaches that the animal is a horse (a livestock animal) (see [2941])
For claim 18, Heemstra teaches that the animal is a cat or dog (companion animals) (see [2941]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heemstra et. al. (US 2016/0304522).
Heemstra teaches all the limitations of claim 21 (see above 102(a)(1) above, except for the specific dose regimen. However, Heemstra teaches that the dosages and formulations that are suitable depend on the species being treated see [2941]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the dose regimen since the prior art teaches that dose regimen optimization is a routine practice in the pharmaceutical/veterinarian art, with the motivation of determining the optimal amount of compounds of formula I required for optimal therapy for a particular animal, thus resulting in the practice of claim 21 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Correspondence
/MARCOS L SZNAIDMAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628
December 18, 2025.