DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-4 in the reply filed on 3/12/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serious search burden. This is not found persuasive because search burden is not a requirement in 371 PCT restriction practice.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
Prior to presenting the art rejections below, the Office takes note of how the claims are interpreted. Claim 1 recites a composition comprising a copolymer of an aromatic vinyl unit and a conjugated diene unit. These are the positive recitations. The Office does not consider an aromatic vinyl unit patentably distinct from an aromatic vinyl compound because the instant specification does not provide special definitions for unit vs compound and the unit can be a compound and vice versa (via broadest reasonable interpretation). This is true for conjugated diene unit vs conjugated diene compound, as well. Further, the claim recites that the copolymer composition has a storage elastic modulus and loss tangent within certain ranges. Instant Table 1 discloses that the claimed ranges encompass the preferred materials of 1,3-butadiene and styrene. And something which is old does not become patentable upon the discovery of a new property (MPEP 2112 I). Therefore, the properties—and the manner in which they are measured—does not patentably distinguish the claimed composition from the same composition disclosed in the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sone (US 2013/0260241 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sone discloses a composition comprising: a copolymer comprising 1,3-butadiene (paragraph 60) and styrene (paragraph 62). Something which is old does not become patentable upon the discovery of a new property (MPEP 2112 I). The manner in which the properties are measured does not change the intrinsic properties.
Regarding claim 2, the instant specification states that α is the hydrogenation ratio (paragraph 90). Sone discloses a hydrogenation ratio of .65 (paragraph 199).
Regarding claim 3, Sone discloses that the styrene content is 0-50% (paragraph 62).
Regarding claim 4, Sone discloses a functional group containing a nitrogen atom, an oxygen atom, a silicon atom, a germanium atom, a tin atom or a combination thereof (paragraph 20).
Conclusion
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725