DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07-23-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues paragraph [0187] of cited prior art [Kurosawa] as a mischaracterization, which nowhere states or suggests that constructing a refrigerant pipe as a flexible tube can effectively cool battery cells. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Paragraph [0187] specifically teaches that the refrigerant pipe is constructed by using a flexible tube and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that such construction would improve the cooling system for the battery unit as clearly shown in paragraphs [0187] and described in figure 18 (i.e., battery unit provided with a thermal management system).
Applicant further argues that the flexible tube of Kurosawa is not taught to be incorporated into the battery module but rather the flexible tube is for ease of maneuvering the module case 574 into duct 65 during assembly of the vehicle (i.e. by connecting module case 574 and battery device 512 by a flexible tube for allowing free and independent movement of the two). Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The refrigerant pipe is a thermal management duct and a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand such construction used in Kurosawa can be applied to the cooling system of the modular battery structure of Kohlberger. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Applicant’s arguments are still not persuasive for reasons made herein and of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 12, 14, 23-24, 26, 33, 36, 40, 43, 50, 52-53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2012/0224326 hereinafter Kohlberger in view U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2011/0020676 hereinafter Kurosawa.
Regarding Claim 1, Kohlberger teaches a modular system [100] comprising: energy storage modules [104], wherein each energy storage module comprises a plurality of battery cells; and a thermal management system (cooling fluid connection) [206, 412], wherein the thermal management system comprises a cooling duct, an inlet-side fluid connection, and an outlet-side fluid connection, wherein the inlet-side is in fluid communication with the outlet-side via the cooling duct, and wherein the cooling fluid connection structure provides a way for supplying and removing the cooling fluid conducted through the cooling plate (paragraphs 45-59, see figures 1-9).
Kohlberger teaches a cooling fluid connection structure that comprises a cooling duct (see figure 8) but does not specify that the cooling duct is a flexible and inflatable duct.
However, Kurosawa teaches a battery unit [10] that comprises a refrigerant pipe (cooling duct) constructed by using a flexible tube (paragraph 187). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a cooling duct made of flexible tube before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Kurosawa discloses that such configuration can effectively cool the battery cells (paragraph 187).
Regarding Claims 2-7, the combination teaches that the thermal management system (cooling fluid connection) comprises a plurality of distribution conduits attached to the cooling duct (see figures 1-9 of Kohlberger).
Regarding Claims 12 and 14, the combination teaches that the thermal management system (cooling fluid connection) comprises attachment means having a seal (see figures 1-8 of Kohlberger).
Regarding Claims 23-24 and 26, the combination teaches that the thermal management system (cooling fluid connection) comprises a cooling duct that is a flexible tube, and the energy storage modules has a spacer disposed therebetween (see figures 1-8 of Kohlberger and paragraph 187 of Kurosawa).
Regarding Claims 33 and 36, the combination teaches a modular system [100] that comprises a plurality of energy storage modules [104] arranged therein (see figures 1-3 of Kohlberger).
Regarding Claims 40 and 43, the combination teaches a modular system [100] that comprises a plurality of energy storage modules [104] and an electrical connection structure for providing electrical connections between the modules (paragraph 46, see figures 2-3 of Kohlberger).
Regarding Claims 50, 52, and 53, the combination a modular system [100] that comprises a plurality of energy storage modules [104] that are mechanically connected to one another via a support structure (see figures 1-9 of Kohlberger) and the fluid connection structure is provided between adjacent modules inlet-side fluid delivery means of each battery module is in fluid communication with the inlet-side fluid delivery means of at least one other battery module (see figure 9).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752