DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09-04-2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 12, 14, 23-24, 26, 33, 36, 40, 43, 50, 52-53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2012/0224326 hereinafter Kohlberger in view U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2011/0020676 hereinafter Kurosawa.
Regarding Claim 1, Kohlberger teaches a modular system [100] comprising: energy storage modules [104], wherein each energy storage module comprises a plurality of battery cells; and a thermal management system (cooling fluid connection) [206, 412], wherein the thermal management system comprises a cooling duct, an inlet-side fluid connection, and an outlet-side fluid connection, wherein the inlet-side is in fluid communication with the outlet-side via the cooling duct, and wherein the cooling fluid connection structure provides a way for supplying and removing the cooling fluid conducted through the cooling plate (paragraphs 45-59, see figures 1-9).
Kohlberger teaches a cooling fluid connection structure that comprises a cooling duct (see figure 8) but does not specify that the cooling duct is a flexible and inflatable duct.
However, Kurosawa teaches a battery unit [10] that comprises a refrigerant pipe (cooling duct) constructed by using a flexible tube (paragraph 187). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a cooling duct made of flexible tube before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Kurosawa discloses that such configuration can effectively cool the battery cells (paragraph 187).
Regarding Claims 2-7, the combination teaches that the thermal management system (cooling fluid connection) comprises a plurality of distribution conduits attached to the cooling duct (see figures 1-9 of Kohlberger).
Regarding Claims 12 and 14, the combination teaches that the thermal management system (cooling fluid connection) comprises attachment means having a seal (see figures 1-8 of Kohlberger).
Regarding Claims 23-24 and 26, the combination teaches that the thermal management system (cooling fluid connection) comprises a cooling duct that is a flexible tube, and the energy storage modules has a spacer disposed therebetween (see figures 1-8 of Kohlberger and paragraph 187 of Kurosawa).
Regarding Claims 33 and 36, the combination teaches a modular system [100] that comprises a plurality of energy storage modules [104] arranged therein (see figures 1-3 of Kohlberger).
Regarding Claims 40 and 43, the combination teaches a modular system [100] that comprises a plurality of energy storage modules [104] and an electrical connection structure for providing electrical connections between the modules (paragraph 46, see figures 2-3 of Kohlberger).
Regarding Claims 50, 52, and 53, the combination a modular system [100] that comprises a plurality of energy storage modules [104] that are mechanically connected to one another via a support structure (see figures 1-9 of Kohlberger) and the fluid connection structure is provided between adjacent modules inlet-side fluid delivery means of each battery module is in fluid communication with the inlet-side fluid delivery means of at least one other battery module (see figure 9).
Conclusion
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752