DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following addresses Applicant’s remarks/amendments dated 02 July 2026.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-9, and 11-12 were amended; no new claims were added; no claims were cancelled; therefore, Claims 1-12 are pending in the current application and will be addressed below.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 8 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the specific combination of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buser (US 2022/0404476 A1) in view of Muralikrishnan ( Precision Engineering. Volume 40. 2015. Pages 139-150.)).
Regarding Claim 1, Buser teaches a 3D radar ([0002] In a laser scanner, a light beam generated by a laser periodically sweeps over a monitored zone with the help of a deflection unit. The light is remitted at objects in the monitored zone and is evaluated in the laser scanner. The location of an object in the monitored zone is detected in two-dimensional polar coordinates using the angular data and the distance data. The positions of objects can thus be determined or their contour can be determined. Examiner Note: Although this is two-dimensional polar coordinates, this system is still a 3D laser scanner, it’s scanning 3D objects and determining contours and 3D positions), comprising:
a vertical scanning unit comprising a mounting base ([0054] The laser scanner 10 is accommodated in a housing 36), a laser receiver ([0051] The corresponding received light 22 again arrives back at the laser scanner 10 and is detected by a light receiver 26 via the deflection unit 18 by means of an optical reception optics 24), a convex lens ([0051] The reception optics 24 is preferably a single converging lens Examiner Note: Fig. 1, reproduced below, depicts this lens having a convex shape), a laser transmitter ([0050] A light transmitter 12, for example having a laser light source), a reflector and a first motor ([0052] The deflection unit 18 is set into a continuous rotational movement having a scan frequency by a motor 28), wherein the laser receiver, the convex lens, the laser transmitter and the reflector are sequentially provided on the mounting base (Fig. 1, Examiner Note: Fig. 1, reproduced below, depicts the receiver, convex lens, transmitter, and reflector as being sequentially provided within the housing which would act as the mounting base for this combination), the laser receiver is provided at a focus position of the convex lens (Fig. 1, Examiner Note: Fig 1, reproduced below, shows receiver 26 at the focus position of the convex lens 24 (this is illustrated by the arrows showing the focus of the light towards the receiver 26), the laser transmitter is provided on a main optical axis of the convex lens (Fig. 1, Examiner Note: Fig. 1, reproduced below, shows the transmitter 12 on a main optical axis of the convex lex), the reflector is rotated by the first motor about an axis, the first axis coincides with the main optical axis of the convex lens (Fig. 1, Examiner Note: Fig. 1, reproduced below, shows the reflector 18 being rotated by a motor 28 about a first axis that coincides with the main optical axis of the convex lens).
Buser is not relied upon as teaching a horizontal rotating device having the vertical scanning unit provided thereon and comprising a second motor, wherein the second motor rotates the vertical scanning unit about a second axis that is perpendicular to the first axis, and that
the laser transmitter transmits a laser pulse signal to achieve surrounding environment scanning in a vertical plane through the rotation of the reflector about the first axis by the first motor while the vertical scanning unit is rotated about the second axis by the second motor and achieve 3D scanning.
However, Muralikrishnan teaches a horizontal rotating device having the vertical scanning unit provided thereon and comprising a second motor (Fig. 1 Examiner Note: Fig. 1, reproduced below shows a spinning platform that spins on the Z axis in a motion labeled Hm, achieving this motion by a second motor is well known routine and conventional), wherein the second motor rotates the vertical scanning unit about a second axis that is perpendicular to the first axis (Fig. 1 Examiner Note: the second motor rotates along the Z axis and the first motor rotates along the Y axis, these are depicted as orthogonal axes) , and that
the laser transmitter transmits a laser pulse signal to achieve surrounding environment scanning in a vertical plane through the rotation of the reflector about the first axis by the first motor while the vertical scanning unit is rotated about the second axis by the second motor and achieve 3D scanning Fig. 1 Examiner Note: Fig. 1, reproduced below, depicts the spinning mirror assembly rotating vertically about the horizontal axis (Vm) to sweep the laser beam vertically while the spinning platform simultaneously rotates about the vertical Z-axis (Hm), driving the vertical scanning plane in a 360 degree horizontal path to generate the 3D point trajectory (P)).
Buser and Muralikrishnan are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of optical laser scanning and 3D environment measurement systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scanner housing assembly of Buser by mounting it directly onto the horizontal rotating platform and second motor taught by Muralikrishnan with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to expand a single-plane 2D laser scanner into a full 3D panoramic environment scanner. By integrating Muralikrishnan’s teaching of a secondary rotational base operating along a perpendicular axis with Buser’s internal optical scanning mechanism, the combined system can simultaneously sweep in a vertical plane while rotating horizontally. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that combining Muralikrishnan’s dual-axis drive with Buser’s optics would yield the predictable result of achieving complete 3D spatial coverage.
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buser (US 2022/0404476 A1) in view of Muralikrishnan ( Precision Engineering. Volume 40. 2015. Pages 139-150.)), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Wei (CN 210487977 U).
Regarding Claim 2, Buser is not relied upon as teaching that the vertical scanning unit further comprises a first code disk, the first code disk is concentrically and fixedly connected with the reflector, and rotation information of the reflector is acquired through the first code disk.
However, Wei teaches that the vertical scanning unit further comprises a first code disk ([P. 2, l. 47] The scanning unit further comprises a code disc), the first code disk is concentrically and fixedly connected with the reflector ([P. 3, ll. 57-58] the code disc is installed on one surface… of a rotor of the hollow shaft motor… [P. 2, ll. 43-44] the 45-degree reflector is installed on the load, and the load is installed on the rotor through screws), and rotation information of the reflector is acquired through the first code disk ([P. 2, ll. 49-50] the photoelectric detection device is matched with the code disc to form an encoder which is mounted on the internal mounting support… scans and ranges at a fixed rotating speed through a rotating speed signal closed-loop control scanning unit fed back by the encoder (104)).
Buser (as previously modified by Muralikrishnan) and Wei are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the field of optical laser scanning and 3D environment measurement systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the reflector assembly of Buser (as previously modified by Muralikrishnan) to include the code disk concentrically connected with the reflector as taught by Wei with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to accurately track the rotational position and speed of the reflector to provide feedback for precise scanning control. By integrating Wei’s teaching of a concentrically mounted code disk and optical encoder into Buser’s reflector shaft assembly, the system can measure real-time rotational information and maintain a closed-loop speed control signal. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that adding Wei’s code disk feedback mechanism to Buser’s rotating reflector would yield the predictable result of providing reliable, real-time positional and speed feedback for accurate 3D spatial measurements.
Regarding Claims 4 and 11, Buser is not relied upon as teaching that the second motor of the horizontal rotating device comprises an upper casing rotor, a lower casing and a motor stator fixed in the lower casing, and the mounting base is fixed on the upper casing rotor and rotates with the upper casing rotor.
Wei discloses that the second motor of the horizontal rotating device comprises an upper casing rotor, a lower casing and a motor stator fixed in the lower casing ([P. 3, ll. 37] rotor (110) and stator (109) including the hollow shaft motor… and shell (111) Examiner Note: The rotor is within the upper casing and is a rotor that carries the rotating optical load, while the stator and the shell together constitute the lower casing assembly), and the mounting base is fixed on the upper casing rotor and rotates with the upper casing rotor ([P. 2, ll. 43-44] the 45-degree reflector is installed on the load, and the load is installed on the rotor through screws).
Buser (as previously modified by Muralikrishnan) and Wei are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the field of optical laser scanning and 3D environment measurement systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the horizontal rotating device drive structure of Buser (as modified by Muralikrishnan) to include the hollow shaft motor casing and rotor mounting arrangement taught by Wei with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to provide a stable, compact, and rigid structural housing for supporting and direct-driving a rotating optical payload. By integrating Wei’s teaching of an upper casing rotor fastened to the load and a lower casing enclosing the motor stator into Muralikrishnan’s spinning platform assembly, the system can securely support the mounting base while ensuring smooth rotational power transmission from the second motor. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that configuring the horizontal motor with Wei’s rotor/stator casing assembly would yield the predictable result of reliably supporting and rotating the vertical scanning unit for stable 3D scanning operation.
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buser (US 2022/0404476 A1), Muralikrishnan ( Precision Engineering. Volume 40. 2015. Pages 139-150.)), and Wei (CN 210487977 U), as applied to Claim 2 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2022/0206286 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Buser is not relied upon as teaching that an outer side of the mounting base is fixedly provided with a protective cover, the protective cover is fixedly connected with a lower casing, the mounting base is provided with a visible light transmitter, and visible light transmitted by the visible light transmitter is refracted by the convex lens and is reflected by the reflector to form a specific pattern on the protective cover, or penetrates through the protective cover to display or draw a pattern on a surrounding external environment under the help of the horizontal rotating device.
However, Wei teaches that an outer side of the mounting base is fixedly provided with a protective cover ([P. 3, ll. 38-41] filter cover (101), inner structure installed part (112) … shell (111) Examiner Note: Fig. 1, reproduced above, shows the filter cover (protective cover) being fixed and provided as a protective cover for the mounting base (inner structure installed part 112)), the protective cover is fixedly connected with a lower casing ([P. 3, ll. 38-41] filter cover (101), inner structure installed part (112) … shell (111) Examiner Note: Fig. 1, reproduced above, shows the filter cover 101 as fixedly connected to a lower casing (shell 111)), the mounting base is provided with a light transmitter ([P. 3, ll. 38-41] coaxial transmitting unit (105)… inner structure installed part (112) Examiner Note: Fig. 1, reproduced above, shows the coaxial transmitting unit (105) (light transmitter) provided with the inner structure installed part (112) (mounting base)), and light is reflected by the reflector to form a specific pattern on the protective cover, or penetrates through the protective cover ([P. 4, ll. 4-5] light emitted by the emitting unit passes through the center of the hollow shaft and is reflected by the 45-degree reflector and then passes through the filter cover to be emitted in parallel, the reflected light is changed into received light after being reflected by a measured object) to display or draw a pattern on a surrounding external environment under the help of the horizontal rotating device ([P. 4, ll. 7-8] he 45-degree reflector to rotate for a circle, and the transmitting unit and the receiving unit perform 360-degree scanning distance measurement on the periphery Examiner Note: Drawing a pattern is inherent to the 360 degree scan).
Buser (as previously modified by Muralikrishnan) and Wei are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the field of optical laser scanning and 3D environment measurement systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the housing and transmitter assembly of Buser (as previously modified by Muralikrishnan) to include the protective cover fixedly connected to a lower casing and light transmission configuration taught by Wei with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to protect internal optical components from environmental debris while allowing transmitted light signals to scan the surrounding area. By integrating Wei’s teaching of a protective cover fixed to a lower casing closing the light transmitter and mounting base into Buser’s scanner housing, the system can safeguard fragile optical assemblies without interfering with signal propagation. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that enclosing Buser’s scanner with Wei’s protective cover and housing assembly would yield the predictable result of projecting light beams into the surrounding environment while providing environmental protection for the scanning mechanism.
Wei is not relied upon as teaching that the transmitter is a visible light transmitter and that visible light transmitted by the visible light transmitter is refracted by the convex lens.
However, Lee teaches that the transmitter is a visible light transmitter ([0070] When used with a light source with low divergence, the reflected beam off a MEMS micro-mirror array moving in synchronization would then have a distinctly visible pattern showing the pattern of the reflective area of the MEMS micro-mirror array) and that visible light transmitted by the visible light transmitter is refracted by the convex lens ([0106] some systems may incorporate a beam expander ( e.g., convex lens systems) in the emitter block that can help reduce beam divergence and increase the beam diameter).
Buser (as previously modified by Muralikrishnan and Wei) and Lee are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the same field of optical laser scanning and projection systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the light transmitter assembly of Buser (as modified by Muralikrishnan and Wei) to include the visible light transmitter and convex beam expander lens taught by Lee with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to provide visual target tracing and reduce beam divergence for enhanced optical precision. By integrating Lee’s teaching of a visible light source paired with a beam expanding convex lens into Buser’s emitter assembly, the system can refract visible light to shape the output beam and project a distinct visual pattern onto surrounding targets. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that using Lee’s visible light transmitter and lens configuration in Buser’s scanner would yield the predictable result of projecting a visible, low-divergence light pattern into the surrounding environment.
Regarding Claim 12, Buser is not relied upon as teaching that the second motor of the horizontal rotating device comprises an upper casing rotor, a lower casing and a motor state fixed in the lower casing, and the mounting base is fixed on the upper casing rotor and rotates with the upper casing rotor.
However, Wei teaches that the horizontal rotating device comprises an upper casing rotor, a lower casing and a motor stator fixed in the lower casing([P. 3, ll. 37] rotor (110) and stator (109) including the hollow shaft motor… and shell (111) Examiner Note: The rotor is within the upper casing and is a rotor that carries the rotating optical load, while the stator and the shell together constitute the lower casing assembly), and the mounting base is fixed on the upper casing rotor and rotates with the upper casing rotor ([P. 2, ll. 43-44] the 45-degree reflector is installed on the load, and the load is installed on the rotor through screws).
Buser (as previously modified by Muralikrishnan, Wei, and Lee) and Wei are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the field of optical laser scanning and 3D environment measurement systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the horizontal rotating device drive structure of Buser (as modified by Muralikrishnan, Wei, and Lee) to include the hollow shaft motor casing and rotor mounting arrangement taught by Wei with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to provide a stable, compact, and rigid structural housing for supporting and direct-driving a rotating optical payload. By integrating Wei’s teaching of an upper casing rotor fastened to the load and a lower casing enclosing the motor stator into Muralikrishnan’s spinning platform assembly, the system can securely support the mounting base while ensuring smooth rotational power transmission from the second motor. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that configuring the horizontal motor with Wei’s rotor/stator casing assembly would yield the predictable result of reliably supporting and rotating the vertical scanning unit for stable 3D scanning operation.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buser (US 2022/0404476 A1), Muralikrishnan ( Precision Engineering. Volume 40. 2015. Pages 139-150.)), and Wei (CN 210487977 U), as applied to Claim 2 above, and further in view of Li (WO 2021189212 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Buser is not relied upon as teaching that a circumference of the upper casing rotor is uniformly provided with through holes along a same circle, and the through holes form a photoelectric code disk to acquire rotation information of the upper casing rotor to acquire horizontal rotation information of the vertical scanning unit.
However, Wei teaches an upper casing rotor is provided with a code disk to acquire rotation information of the upper casing rotor to acquire horizontal rotation information of the vertical scanning unit ([P. 3, l. 59]-[P. 4, l. 2] The encoder (104) is composed of a code disc and a photoelectric detection device… the code disc is installed on one surface… of a rotor of the hollow shaft motor… a rotating speed signal closed-loop control scanning unit fed back by the encoder (104)).
Buser (as previously modified by Muralikrishnan and Wei) and Wei are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the field of optical laser scanning systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the horizontal rotating assembly of Buser (as previously modified by Muralikrishnan and Wei) to include a code disk provided on the upper casing rotor to acquire horizontal rotation information as taught by Wei with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to accurately track horizontal angular movement and provide closed-loop control for the rotating unit. By integrating Wei’s teaching of a rotor-mounted code disk and encoder into Muralikrishnan’s spinning platform, the system can feedback precise rotational position and speed signals. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that adding Wei’s code disk to the rotor would yield the predictable result of enabling precise horizontal position feedback for 3D scanning.
However, Li teaches that a circumference of the rotor is uniformly provided with through holes along a same circle, and the holes form a photoelectric code disk ([P. 7, ll. 9-10] The code disc 7 includes a circular plate, and a plurality of rectangular holes are equally divided on the circular plate. The encoder disc 7 and the rotor 5 are arranged coaxially).
Buser (as previously modified by Muralikrishnan and Wei) and Li are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the field of optical encoders and laser scanning sensors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the code disk of Wei to include a circumference uniformly provided with through-holes along a circle as taught by Li with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to simplify manufacturing and create a highly reliable photoelectric code disk structure. By integrating Li’s teaching of equally spacing through-holes along a circular path into Wei’s code disk, the system can effectively interrupt light signals for accurate photoelectric rotation detection. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that forming Wei’s code disk with Li’s uniformly distributed through-holes would yield the predictable result of providing clear optical pulses to measure rotational movement.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buser (US 2022/0404476 A1), Muralikrishnan ( Precision Engineering. Volume 40. 2015. Pages 139-150.)), Wei (CN 210487977 U) and Li (WO 2021189212 A1), as applied to Claim 5 above, and further in view of Kano (US 2022/0404502 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Buser is not relied upon as teaching a wireless power transmission module which is hollow is concentrically provided between the upper casing rotor and the lower casing, and the wireless power transmission module supplies power to the laser receiver and the laser transmitter.
However, Kano teaches a wireless power transmission module which is hallow is concentrically provided between the upper casing rotor and the lower casing ([0048] The non-contact power feeding part 211 is installed around the hole 11a on the outer surface of the support base 11 along the circumferential direction about the rotation axis R10. The non-contact power feeding part 211 is composed of a coil capable of supplying power to and being supplied with power from a non-contact power feeding part 171 described later), and the wireless power transmission module supplies power to the laser receiver and the laser transmitter ([0076] The power supply circuit 102 is connected to the non-contact power feeding part 171, and the power is supplied from the non-contact power feeding part 171 to each component of the rotary part 60 via the power supply circuit 102 Examiner Note: Fig. 8, reproduced below, shows the laser light source and the photodetector as part of the rotary part being powered by the non-contact power feeding part).
Buser (as previously motivated by Muralikrishnan, Wei, and Li) and Kano are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of optical laser scanning and 3D environment measurement systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scanning assembly of Buser (as previously modified) to include the hollow, concentrically provided non-contact wireless power transmission module taught by Kano with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to continuously supply electrical power to components on the rotating scanner without mechanical wear or wire tangling. By integrating Kano’s teaching of a hollow non-contact power feeding coil arranged around the rotation axis between the upper rotor and lower casing into Buser’s rotating optical housing, power can be wirelessly transmitted to the laser transmitter and receiver. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that adding Kano’s wireless power module to Buser’s dual-axis scanner assembly would yield the predictable result of delivering reliable, continuous power to the rotating transmitter and receiver during unrestricted 360-degree rotation.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buser (US 2022/0404476 A1), Muralikrishnan ( Precision Engineering. Volume 40. 2015. Pages 139-150.)), Wei (CN 210487977 U) and Li (WO 2021189212 A1), as applied to Claim 5 above, and further in view of Bӧckem (US 2020/0200872 A1), Tian (CN 211958894U) and Wang (US 10,429,495 B1).
Regarding Claim 7, Buser is not relied upon as teaching a base circuit board is fixedly provided on the lower casing, a wireless signal transmission component is concentrically provided between the upper casing rotor and the lower casing, and the wireless signal transmission component achieves wireless communication through optical communication; the laser transmitter and the laser receiver achieve wireless communication with the base circuit board through the wireless signal transmission component;
a magnetic steel sheet is fixedly provided in the upper casing rotor, the axial width of the magnetic steel sheet is greater than the axial width of the motor stator, and an upper edge of the magnetic steel sheet is higher than an upper edge of the motor stator or a lower edge of the magnetic steel sheet is lower than a lower edge of the motor stator;
a heat dissipating fan is fixed coaxial with the first code disk on an output shaft of the first motor.
However, Kano teaches a base circuit board is fixedly provided on the lower casing ([0046] As shown in FIG. 4, the fixing part 10 includes a columnar support base 11, a top plate 12, the motor 13, a substrate 14, a non-contact power feeding part 211, and a non-contact communication part 212), a wireless signal transmission component is concentrically provided between the upper casing rotor and the lower casing ([0048] In addition, the non-contact communication part 212 is installed around the non-contact power feeding part 211 on the outer surface of the support base 11 along the circumferential direction about the rotation axis R10), and the laser transmitter and the laser receiver achieve wireless communication with the base circuit board through the wireless signal transmission component ([0078] The controller 201 drives each component of the fixing part 10 and transmits a drive instruction to the controller 101 via the non-contact communication parts 212 and 172. The controller 101 drives each component of the rotary part 60 in accordance with the drive instruction from the controller 201, and transmits a detection signal to the controller 201 via the non-contact communication parts 172 and 212.).
Buser (as previously modified by Muralikrishnan, Wei, and Li) and Kano are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of optical scanning and 3D measurement systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scanning unit of Buser (as previously modified) to include a base circuit board fixedly provided on the lower casing and a concentrically provided wireless signal transmission component as taught by Kano with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire toe enable reliable data communication between stationary control circuitry and rotating components without physical wire twisting. By integrating Kano’s teaching of a concentric non-contact communication component and base circuit board into Buser’s casing structure, signals can be transmitted seamlessly across the rotating interface. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that adding Kano’s wireless communication structure to Buser’s assembly would yield the predictable result of enabling wireless signal transfer between the base board and the rotating laser assembly.
Kano is not relied upon as teaching that the wireless signal transmission component achieves wireless communication through optical communication; a magnetic steel sheet is fixedly provided in the upper casing rotor, the axial width of the magnetic steel sheet is greater than the axial width of the motor stator, and an upper edge of the magnetic steel sheet is higher than an upper edge of the motor stator or a lower edge of the magnetic steel sheet is lower than a lower edge of the motor stator; a heat dissipating fan is fixed coaxial with the first code disk on an output shaft of the first motor.
However, Bӧckem teaches that the wireless signal transmission component achieves wireless communication through optical communication ([0032] a first optical communication device is arranged on the base and a second optical communication device is arranged on the support such that data can be transferred between the first and the second optical communication device in a unidirectional or bidirectional way by wireless optical communication).
Buser (as previously modified by Muralikrishnan, Wei, Li, and Kano) and Bӧckem are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of wireless optical communication in rotating scanners. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wireless signal transmission component of Kano (as applied to Buser) to achieve wireless communication specifically through optical communication as taught by Bӧckem with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to achieve high-bandwidth, noise-immune data transfer across the rotating boundary. By integrating Bӧckem’s teaching of optical communication devices arranged on relative rotating parts into Kano’s wireless signal transmission system, high-speed optical data can pass cleanly without electromagnetic interference. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that using Bӧckem’s optical communication mechanism in Kano’s wireless communication component would yield the predictable result of transmitting high speed scanning data optically between the transmitter/receiver and base circuit board.
Bӧckem is not relied upon as teaching a magnetic steel sheet is fixedly provided in the upper casing rotor, the axial width of the magnetic steel sheet is greater than the axial width of the motor stator, and an upper edge of the magnetic steel sheet is higher than an upper edge of the motor stator or a lower edge of the magnetic steel sheet is lower than a lower edge of the motor stator;
a heat dissipating fan is fixed coaxial with the first code disk on an output shaft of the first motor.
However, Tian teaches a magnetic steel sheet is fixedly provided in the upper casing rotor, the axial width of the magnetic steel sheet is greater than the axial width of the motor stator, and an upper edge of the magnetic steel sheet is higher than an upper edge of the motor stator or a lower edge of the magnetic steel sheet is lower than a lower edge of the motor stator ([P. 4, ll. 15-17] teaches the rotor 1 is provided with an integral circular ring structure, is fixed on the rotating bracket 2 and is sleeved outside the cylindrical part 21, the axis of the rotor 1 is superposed with the axis of the cylindrical part 21, and the medium of the rotor 1 is magnetizing magnetic steel; and a stator 3 having an annular structure, fitted inside or outside the rotor 1, Examiner Note: Fig 1, reproduced below, shows the upper edge of the magnetic steel sheet (the rotor itself (1)) is higher than the stator (3) and that the axial width of the magnetic steel sheet (the rotor itself (1)) is greater than the stator (3));
Buser (as previously modified by Muralikrishnan, Wei, Li, Kano, and Bӧckem) and Tian are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of electric motor drives for optical devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the casing rotor and motor stator assembly of Buser (as modified) to include a magnetic steel sheet fixedly provided in the upper casing rotor with an axial width and edge offset relative to the stator as taught by Tian with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to optimize magnetic flux linkage, enhance motor torque output, and ensure proper rotor-stator magnetic alignment. By integrating Tian’s teaching of dimensioning and positioning the rotor magnetic steel sheet relative to the stator into Buser’s rotor casing, drive performance and efficiency are improved. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that configuring the magnetic steel sheet with Tian’s specific dimensional relationship to the motor stator would yield the predictable result of providing efficient rotational drive for the upper casing rotor.
Tian is not relied upon as teaching a heat dissipating fan is fixed coaxial with the first code disk on an output shaft of the first motor.
However, Wang teaches a heat dissipating fan is fixed coaxial with the first code disk on an output shaft of the first motor ([Col. 20, ll. 23-27] The plurality of blades can be of any suitable form or shape to promote air flow in the chamber of the Lidar system. In some cases, the cooling feature may be affixed to the rotating shaft or the rotor of the Lidar system such that the cooling feature may turn or rotate about a rotational axis of rotor).
Buser (as previously modified by Muralikrishnan, Wei, Li, Kano, Bӧckem, and Tian) and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of thermal management in optical LiDAR and scanning systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the output shaft and code disk assembly of Buser (as modified) to include a heat dissipating fan fixed coaxial with the first code disk on the output shaft of the first motor as taught by Wang with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to promote airflow and dissipate operational heat generated within the scanner enclosure. By integrating Wang’s teaching of mounting cooling blades coaxially on the rotating motor output shaft alongside Buser’s code disk arrangement, airflow is automatically generated whenever the motor rotates. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that adding Wang’s coaxial fan to the motor shaft would yield the predictable result of actively cooling internal motor and optical components during scanning operations.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buser (US 2022/0404476 A1) in view of Girgel (US 2026/0086235 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Buser teaches a 3D laser radar ([0002] In a laser scanner, a light beam generated by a laser periodically sweeps over a monitored zone with the help of a deflection unit. The light is remitted at objects in the monitored zone and is evaluated in the laser scanner. The location of an object in the monitored zone is detected in two-dimensional polar coordinates using the angular data and the distance data. The positions of objects can thus be determined or their contour can be determined. Examiner Note: Although this is two-dimensional polar coordinates, this system is still a 3D laser scanner, it’s scanning 3D objects and determining contours and 3D positions), wherein
the 3D laser radar comprises a laser transmitter capable of transmitting a laser pulse signal in an optical axis ([0050] A light transmitter 12, for example having a laser light source, generates a transmitted light beam 16 with the aid of a transmission optics 14 Examiner Note: It would be obvious to have a laser pulse signal from a transmitter that emits a beam), a reflector having a reflective surface capable of reflecting light ([0017] An optical deflection element, in particular a mirror element, by which the received light is deflected is arranged in the optical path of the received light [0051] The transmitted light beam 16 is transmitted into a monitored zone 20 by means of a deflection unit 18), and a driving source capable of driving the reflector to rotate about a rotational axis ([0052] The deflection unit 18 is set into a continuous rotational movement having a scan frequency by a motor 28), the rotational axis being coaxial with the optical axis and intersecting with the reflective surface of the reflector at 45 degrees (Fig. 1 Examiner Note: Fig. 1, reproduced below, shows motor 28 and transmitter 12, The optical light leaves the transmission optics 14 and bounces off the 45 degree angle of mirror 18, the rotational axis of the mirror is shown as the location of the shaft coming off the motor which is coaxially located with the transmission optics);
the driving source is provided with a rotational shaft extending in the rotational axis and connected with the reflector (Fig. 1, Examiner Note: Fig. 1, reproduced below, shows the shaft extending from the motor 28 in the direction of the rotational axis (as shown by the arrow) and is the driving force for the mirror 18), and the rotational shaft drives the reflector to rotate to achieve multi-angle reflection of the laser pulse signal and complete surrounding environment scanning ([0052] The deflection unit 18 is set into a continuous rotational movement having a scan frequency by a motor 28. The transmitted light beam 16 thereby scans one plane during each scan period, that is on a complete revolution at the scanning frequency. An angle measurement unit 30 is arranged at the outer periphery of the detection unit 18 to detect the respective angular position of the detection unit 18).
Buser is not relied upon as teaching that the reflector rotates back and forth.
However, Girgel teaches that the rotation is a back and forth motion ([0144] the LIDAR system 100 may be rotated back and forth along a sector smaller than 360-degree of the LIDAR system 100. For example, the LIDAR system 100 may be mounted on a platform that wobbles back and forth about the axis without making a complete rotation).
Buser and Girgel are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of LIDAR/laser scanning systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the motor of Buser to include the back-and-forth rotational movement of Girgel with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to selectively scan a specific angular sector or field of view without requiring a full 360-degree rotation. By integrating Girgel’s teaching of back-and-forth sector rotation into Buser’s motor driving system, the system can focus scanning resolution on targeted sub-regions. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that driving the motor back and forth would yield the predictable result of oscillating the reflector to sweep a defined sector area.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buser (US 2022/0404476 A1) and Girgel (US 2026/0086235 A1), as applied to Claim 8 above, and further in view of Ishikawa (US 10,162,171 B2).
Regarding Claim 9, Buser teaches that the reflector is provided obliquely and adjacent to the laser transmitter, and the reflector and the laser transmitter are assembled at an interval (Fig. 1 Examiner Note: Fig. 1, reproduced above, shows that the deflection unit 18 is provided obliquely and adjacent to the transmitter 12 and that both are assembled at an interval);
the reflective surface of the reflector intersects with the laser pulse signal of the laser transmitter (Fig. 1, Examiner Note: Fig. 1, reproduced above, shows that the reflector intersects the laser pulse signal of the transmitter (this intersection is what causes the beam to change directions in the figure));
the driving source is a motor ([0052] The deflection unit 18 is set into a continuous rotational movement having a scan frequency by a motor 28).
Buser is not relied upon as teaching that the reflector is a surface polished metal device with reflective performance, glass with a metal plated reflective film, or a metal product with a metal plated reflective film.
However, Ishikawa teaches that the reflector is a surface polished metal device with reflective performance, glass with a metal plated reflective film, or a metal product with a metal plated reflective film ([Col. 10, ll. 21-25] Each of the first mirror surface M1 and the second mirror surface M2 is covered with a reflective film by depositing, coating, or planting, or a metal polishing mirror or a film mirror by pasting).
Buser (as previously modified by Girgel) and Ishikawa are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of LiDAR and optical laser scanning systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the reflector construction of Buser (as previously modified by Girgel) to include the polished metal or metal-plated reflective film reflector structure taught by Ishikawa with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to maximize optical reflectivity, enhance physical durability against laser degradation, and reduce overall manufacturing costs of the deflection unit. By integrating Ishikawa’s teaching of surface-polished or metal-plated reflective coatings into Buser (as previously modified by Girgel)’s oblique reflector assembly, the system can efficiently reflect the laser pulse signal while minimizing signal power loss. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that applying Ishikawa’s reflective surface construction to Buser (as previously modified by Girgel)’s oscillating reflector would yield the predictable result of providing high-efficiency beam deflection for accurate surrounding environment scanning.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buser (US 2022/0404476 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Ebrahimi Afrouzi (US 2024/0310851 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Buser is not relied upon as teaching a legged robot, wherein the legged robot uses the 3D laser radar to achieve real-time scanning of surrounding environment information.
However, Ebrahimi Afrouzi teaches a legged robot ([0240] the robot may be… legged), wherein the legged robot uses the 3D laser radar ([1003] the center of the rotating core of a LIDAR used to observe the environment may be different than the center of the robot) to achieve real-time scanning of surrounding environment information ([0006] capturing data indicative of movement of the robot… capturing, by a LIDAR disposed on the robot, LIDAR data as the robot moves within the workspace, wherein the LIDAR data is indicative of distances from a position of the LIDAR to objects and perimeters surrounding the robot).
Buser (as previously modified by Muralikrishnan) and Ebrahimi Afrouzi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the field of optical LiDAR scanning and robotic environmental mapping systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the 3D laser system of Buser (as modified) to be mounted on and utilized by a legged robot as taught by Ebrahimi Afrouzi with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to enable mobile, autonomous environmental mapping and navigation across complex or uneven terrain. By integrating Buser’s 3D optical scanner onto Ebrahimi Afrouzi’s legged robotic platform, the combined system can continuously capture real-time spatial and perimeter data as the robot navigates its workspace. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that mounting Buser’s scanner on Ebrahimi Afrouzi’s legged robot would yield the predictable result of providing real-time 3D spatial awareness to guide the robot’s movement through its surrounding environment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.H.H./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/JAMES R HULKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645