DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Amendment filed on 01/06/2026.
Claims 1-8, 12 and 14-24 are pending in this application. Claims 1 and 12 are independent claims. This Office Action is made Final.
Examiner Notes
The prior art rejections below cite particular paragraphs, columns, and/or line numbers in the references for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 12 and 14-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petschnigg et al. (“Petschnigg”, US Patent 8499251 B2) in view of Kim et al. (“Kim”, US PG-Pub. 2011/0050591 A1), and further in view of Tuzoff et al. (“Tuzoff”, US Patent 11389131 B2).
Re-claim 1,
Petschnigg teaches a page turning method, comprising:
displaying a first page comprising a display area in which document details are arranged on an electronic book for user interaction (Figs. 1, 3, 4, col. 3 lines [39-48]. Petschnigg describes the touchscreen device 10 displaying a virtual book 14 including a first page in a split screen view with a first touch display region 46 shown at page 246 and a second touch display region 50 shown at page 247 of the virtual book);
determining an animation effect applicable to the first page in response to an interaction motion detected on the first page (Figs. 3, 4, col. 4 lines [4-19]. Petschnigg describes a finger 54 is directing a page-turning gesture to an outer corner 56 of the virtual book page 247 and dragging the corner across the display);
applying the determined animation effect to the first page to switch pages of the electronic book (Figs. 3, 4, col. 4 lines [20-37]. Petschnigg describes a virtual page turning being display in response to the page-turning gesture. The virtual page turn curls a lifted portion of page 247, thus providing a visual simulation of a page turning in a conventional book); and
displaying a second page by switching from the first page to the second page comprising a display area in which document details different from those of the first page are arranged, according to the animation effect applied to the first page (Figs. 3, 4, col. 4 lines [51-62]. Petschnigg describes a second page is fully revealed and displayed in a split screen view with a first touch display region 46 shown at page 248 and a second touch display region 50 shown at page 249 of the virtual book).
Petschnigg fails to teach:
wherein the determining of the animation effect comprises:
determining a number of pages to which the animation effect is to be applied in proportion to an amount of time application of a pressure is detected after the interaction motion is detected; and
switching a plurality of pages corresponding to the determined number of pages at once at intervals of a predetermined time.
However, Kim teaches:
wherein the determining of the animation effect comprises:
determining a number of pages to which the animation effect is to be applied in proportion to an amount of time application of a pressure is detected after the interaction motion is detected (claim 17. Kim describes “…the page turn detector turns an increasing number of pages in proportion to increasing duration of the pressure applied to the touch-screen display …”);
switching a plurality of pages corresponding to the determined number of pages at once at intervals of a predetermined time (Fig. 7, [0052]. Kim describes “Gestures other than press-and-hold may generate page-turn commands. For example, swiping an object (e.g., finger, stylus, etc.) across the touch-screen 104 may generate a page-turn command…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the virtual page turn teachings of modified Petschnigg with the plurality of pages turn by duration of the pressure gesture teaching of Kim to improve the convenience of use in electronic book multiple pages turning operation for user.
Modified Petschnigg fails to teach:
medical treatment details are arranged according to a medical treatment history on an electronic chart.
However, Tuzoff teaches:
medical treatment details are arranged according to a medical treatment history on an electronic chart (Fig. 5, col. 12 lines [8-12]. Tuzoff describes the patient oral image displaying in image area 1106 showing the cavity detected in tooth number 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the virtual page turn teachings of modified Petschnigg with the medical treatment electronic chart display teaching of Tuzoff to improve the convenience of use of the medical treatment electronic chart for user.
Re-claim 2,
in addition to what Petschnigg-Kim-Tuzoff teaches in claim 1, Petschnigg also teach the method, wherein the displaying of the first page comprises: displaying the first page in which at least one display area is grouped in response to a split screen of the electronic chart to view the medical treatment details page (Figs. 1, 3, 4, col. 3 lines [39-48]. Petschnigg describes the touchscreen device 10 displaying a virtual book 14 including a first page in a split screen view with a first touch display region 46 shown at page 246 and a second touch display region 50 shown at page 247 of the virtual book).
Re-claim 3,
in addition to what Petschnigg-Kim-Tuzoff teaches in claim 1, Petschnigg also teach the method, wherein the determining of the animation effect comprises: detecting an interaction motion applied to an edge of the display area comprised in the first page, and determining an animation effect for switching the first page in a different direction according to a position of the edge (Figs. 3, 4, col. 4 lines [4-19]. Petschnigg describes a finger 54 is directing a page-turning gesture to an outer corner 56 of the virtual book page 247 and dragging the corner across the display).
Re-claim 4,
in addition to what Petschnigg-Kim-Tuzoff teaches in claim 2, Petschnigg also teach the method, wherein the determining of the animation effect comprises: determining an animation effect by which a screen switching range of a page displayed on the electronic chart is variably adjusted in response to the number of grouped display areas (Fig. 4, col. 4 lines [57-62]. Petschnigg describes the process of switching the first page including two display areas (i.e. 40 and 50 shown with pages 246 and 247 of the virtual book) to display the second page including also two display areas (i.e. 40 and 50 shown with pages 248 and 249 of the virtual book)).
Re-claim 5,
in addition to what Petschnigg-Kim-Tuzoff teaches in claim 1, Petschnigg also teach the method, wherein the determining of the animation effect comprises: determining an animation effect for switching the first page, in consideration of a moving direction of the interaction motion (Fig. 4, col. 4 lines [13-15]. Petschnigg describes “a page-turning gesture includes touching an outer corner of the page and dragging the corner across the display, similar to how a corner of a page in a conventional book can be pinched and moved from one side of a book to another in the corresponding direction motion of the turning page”).
Re-claim 6,
in addition to what Petschnigg-Kim-Tuzoff teaches in claim 1, Petschnigg also teach the method, wherein the determining of the animation effect comprises: determining a switching speed of the first page based on a separation distance between a first position at which the interaction motion is detected and a second position detected as moved on the first page based on the first position (Fig. 6, col. 5 line [63] - col. 6 line [3]. Petschnigg describes the concept of flicking gesture motion in short distance of the finger to determine the speed of the page turning, recited as “…page 84 advances towards completion of the virtual page turn although finger 80 only moves a short distance, albeit at a high speed” ).
Re-claim 7,
in addition to what Petschnigg-Kim-Tuzoff teaches in claim 1, Petschnigg also teach the method, wherein the display area is split into a plurality of areas for arranging the medical treatment details, wherein, to each of the plurality of areas, an identification number is assigned to distinguish the medical treatment details visualized on the electronic chart based on a total number of pages (Figs. 4-6, col. 3 lines [45-48]. Petschnigg describes the page number (as the identification number) is assigned to the each display areas of the electronic book with plurality number of pages (i.e. page 246 for the first display area 46 and page 247 for the second display area 50) ).
Re-claim 8,
in addition to what Petschnigg-Kim-Tuzoff teaches in claim 1, Petschnigg also teach the method, wherein the displaying of the second page comprises: displaying the second page by applying a folding effect of folding the first page according to the animation effect and by using a back side of the first page to which the folding effect is applied and another side connected to the back side (Fig. 4, col. 4 lines [57-62]. Petschnigg describes the lift portion of second page as folding effect of the first page revealing the back side of the first page connected to the second page including the virtual book page number 248 and 249).
Re-claim 12,
Petschnigg teaches a computing device comprising a processor and a non-transitory computer readable media containing machine-executable instructions (Fig. 1, col. 2 lines [34-44]. Petschnigg describes the logic subsystem 22 including a processor), wherein the processor is configured to perform a method having similar limitations in scope of claim 1 taught by Petschnigg in view of Kim and Tuzoff; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Re-claim 14,
in addition to what Petschnigg-Kim-Tuzoff teaches the device in claim 12, claim 14 is a device claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 2; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Re-claim 15,
in addition to what Petschnigg-Kim-Tuzoff teaches the device in claim 12, claim 15 is a device claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 3; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Re-claim 16,
in addition to what Petschnigg-Kim-Tuzoff teaches the device in claim 14, claim 16 is a device claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 4; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Re-claim 17,
in addition to what Petschnigg-Kim-Tuzoff teaches the device in claim 12, claim 17 is a device claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 5; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Re-claim 18,
in addition to what Petschnigg-Kim-Tuzoff teaches the device in claim 12, claim 18 is a device claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 6; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Re-claim 19,
in addition to what Petschnigg-Kim-Tuzoff teaches the device in claim 12, claim 19 is a device claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 7; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Re-claim 20,
in addition to what Petschnigg-Kim-Tuzoff teaches the device in claim 12, claim 20 is a device claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 8; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Re-claim 21,
Petschnigg-Kim-Tuzoff teaches the method in claim 1, but Petschnigg fails to teaches a method, wherein determining the number of pages includes increasing the number of pages in response to the amount of time increasing.
However, Kim teaches:
wherein determining the number of pages includes increasing the number of pages in response to the amount of time increasing (claim 17. Kim describes “…the page turn detector turns an increasing number of pages in proportion to increasing duration of the pressure applied to the touch-screen display …”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the virtual page turn teachings of modified Petschnigg with the plurality of pages turn by duration of the pressure gesture teaching of Kim to improve the convenience of use in electronic book multiple pages turning operation for user.
Re-claim 22,
in addition to what Petschnigg-Kim-Tuzoff teaches the device in claim 12, claim 22 is a device claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 21; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petschnigg) in view of Kim and Tuzoff, and further in view of Miyoshi (US PG-Pub. 2011/0169764 A1).
Re-claim 23,
Petschnigg-Kim-Tuzoff teaches the method in claim 1, but Petschnigg fails to teaches a method, wherein the determining of the animation effect further comprises stopping the switching in the middle of switching the plurality of pages when a touch on a specific area of the electronic chart is received again while the plurality of pages is being switched.
However, Miyoshi teaches:
wherein the determining of the animation effect further comprises stopping the switching in the middle of switching the plurality of pages when a touch on a specific area of the electronic chart is received again while the plurality of pages is being switched ([0028]. Miyoshi describes page turning is stopped when a finger touches the touch panel again).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the virtual page turn teachings of modified Petschnigg with the stop page turning command teaching of Miyoshi to improve the convenience of use in electronic book multiple pages turning operation for user.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petschnigg) in view of Kim and Tuzoff, and further in view of Matas et al. (“Matas”, US PG-Pub. 2013/0339907 A1).
Re-claim 24,
Petschnigg-Kim-Tuzoff teaches the method in claim 1, but Petschnigg fails to teaches a method, wherein: the determining of the animation effect further comprises: determining the animation effect that adjusts a size of the first page to allow full view or detailed view; and the applying of the determined animation effect further comprises: switching the first page to the detailed view or the full view while displaying the second page overlapping the first page, in the form of a background for the first page to which the animation effect that adjusts the size of the first page is applied.
However, Matas teaches:
wherein: the determining of the animation effect further comprises: determining the animation effect that adjusts a size of the first page to allow full view or detailed view; and the applying of the determined animation effect further comprises: switching the first page to the detailed view or the full view while displaying the second page overlapping the first page, in the form of a background for the first page to which the animation effect that adjusts the size of the first page is applied (Figs. 2, 5, [0048, 0053]. Matas describes the concept of editing UI object of different hierarchy level by adjusting the size of an object (i.e. 512) by pinching to get the detail view of the object which is overlapping the objects of lower hierarchy level of the UI displaying in the background).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the virtual page turn teachings of modified Petschnigg with the hierarchy level UI object editing teaching of Matas to enhance the UI page viewing in the electronic document environment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument filed on 01/06/2026 with respect to amended claims 1, 12 and new claims 21-24 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure including Kim et al. (US 20130268847 A1) and Lee et al. (US 20130232439 A1).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TUAN S NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179