DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5 and 6, filed 12/15/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-10, 12 and 14-22 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a newly found prior art reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 12-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geva et al (US 2017/0079586) in view of Mao et al (US 2008/0319290).
Regarding claim 1, Geva discloses a system comprising:
a first module comprising a first sensor 106, capable of performing biometric sensing at a first location on a patient (see paragraph [0015]).
Earlobe attachment 106 is used for transmissive pulse oximetry, see paragraph [0062].
Mao teaches using at least two laser elements each configured to emit light at different frequencies with respect to each other for sensing pulse oximetry, see paragraphs [0339] and [0355].
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to combine the laser oximetry teaching of Mao with the earlobe oxygen saturation sensing in Geva to use at least two laser elements each configured to emit light at different frequencies with respect to each other because Geva suggests using a light source with two wavelengths of light through the earlobe to the photodetector for the same purpose as using the laser light in Mao, See paragraph [0065] and [0066] in Geva.
Geva discloses a second module comprising a second sensor, capable of performing biometric sensing at a second location on the patient, see paragraph [0102] and Fig. 13,
wherein the first module comprises a transmitter for transmitting first sensor data, the first sensor data comprising sensing information obtained by the first sensor (see paragraph [0102]).
Regarding claim 2, Geva discloses a third module comprising a receiver, the third module being configured to receive the first sensor data and to combine the first sensor data with other sensor data (see paragraph [0102]).
Regarding claim 3, Geva discloses the third module is the second module, and wherein the other sensor data comprises sensing information obtained by the second sensor, see paragraph [0102].
Regarding claim 4, Geva discloses the first module comprises a receiver for receiving a signal from the second module, see paragraph [0102].
Regarding claim 5, Geva discloses the third module is a mobile telephone, see paragraphs [0088], [0089] and [0102].
Regarding claim 6, Geva discloses the first module comprises a receiver for receiving a signal from the third module, see paragraph [0102].
Regarding claim 7, Geva discloses the other sensor data comprises sensing information obtained by the second sensor, see paragraph [0102].
Regarding claim 8, Geva discloses the transmitter is a wireless transmitter 508.
Regarding claim 9, Geva discloses the transmitter is a Bluetooth transmitter, see paragraph [0102].
Regarding claim 10, Geva discloses the transmitter is a WiFi transmitter, see paragraph [0056].
Regarding claim 12, Geva discloses the first sensor and/or the second sensor is capable of performing biometric sensing of a type SpO2, see paragraphs [0009], [0059], [0066], [0070] and [0071].
Regarding claim 13, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to not include a receiver in the first module because it is obvious to eliminate an element and its function if the element is not desired. See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 14, Geva discloses the first sensor and the second sensor are configured to perform redundant measurements, see paragraph [0071].
Regarding claim 15, Geva discloses the first and second modules are located within a wearable device, see paragraph [0071].
Regarding claim 16, Geva discloses the wearable device includes a wristband, and the first and second modules are located at different circumferential positions around the wristband, see paragraph [0128] and FIG. 14A.
Regarding claim 17, Geva discloses including an indicator module 200, configured to provide feedback to a user as to the position of the wearable medical device on the user.
Regarding claim 18, Geva discloses including a connection adjustment mechanism, see FIG. 14A to vary a dimension of the wearable medical device.
Regarding claim 19, Geva discloses the wearable medical device is a wristband, including, or being connectable to, a watch module configured to display the time, the wristband being arranged such that the watch module is or would be disposed on a dorsal portion of a wristband and the first and second modules are disposed on a radial or ulnar portion of the wristband, see paragraph [0117] and FIG. 12A, FIG. 14A, FIG. 15.
Regarding claim 20, Geva discloses the first sensor and the second sensor are configured to perform biometric sensing of a same type on different locations of the patient, see paragraphs [0059] and [0110].
Regarding claim 21, Geva discloses one or both of the first module and the second module is configured to derive a biomarker value from sensor data from both the first sensor and the second sensor, see paragraphs [0059] and [0110].
Regarding claim 22, Geva discloses one or both of the first module and the second module is configured to receive sensor data from both the first sensor and the second sensor, and to derive a biomarker value from the sensor data from only one first and second sensor, see paragraphs [0059] and [0110].
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geva et al (US 2017/0079586) in view of Mao et al (US 2008/0319290) as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Muuranto et al (US 2016/0183836).
Geva in view of Mao meet all of the claimed limitations except for the transmitter is a near-field communication transmitter.
Muuranto teaches a near-field communication transmitter is a function Bluetooth equivalent for plural sensor communications, see paragraph [0020].
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute the Bluetooth transmitter of Geva (see paragraph [0094]) with a near-field transmitter because they are functional equivalents as taught by Muuranto and because they are being implemented for a similar function of biometric sensing and reducing energy consumption.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The examiner can normally be reached on regular business days.
/George Manuel/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit: 3792
1/8/2026