DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 11/15/2025 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to at least independent claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection because the examiner changes citation of Ishii US 2022/0105710.
In addition, the currently amended claim 2 belongs to the nonelected Species B (figs.8 and 9), so that claim 2 should be withdrawn as claims 14-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7 and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ishii US 2022/0105710.
Regarding claim 1, Ishii discloses an apparatus having a multi-layer structure for providing a dimmable window operation, in at least figs.1-6F, 9-11 and 14-20 and wherein the apparatus comprises:
a first rigid substrate (11, or 50);
a second rigid substrate (12, or 12 with 14) coupled to the first rigid substrate at a perimeter region of the multi-layer structure, to maintain a separation between the first rigid substrate and the second rigid substrate (see at least figs.2 and 10); and
a liquid crystal (LC) film (23, or 20) positioned within the separation between the first rigid substrate and the second rigid substrate (see at least figs.2 and 10),
wherein the LC film is coupled to either the first rigid substrate or the second rigid substrate at an inner region of the multi-layer structure to define a gap (G) between the LC film and another one of the first rigid substrate and the second rigid substrate (see at least figs.2 and 10), and
wherein the gap filled with argon gas or an air mixture including nitrogen gas and oxygen gas, to provide thermal isolation (para.81 discloses the gap layer G made up of an air layer to improve heat insulation property of the apparatus, and it’s inherent that the air layer contain at least nitrogen gas and oxygen gas).
Regarding claim 4, Ishii discloses the gap is characterized by a separation distance ranges from 0.1 millimeter to 4 millimeters (para.81).
Regarding claim 7, Ishii discloses comprising a perimeter support member (17) positioned at the perimeter region of the multi-layer structure and configured to couple the first rigid substrate to the second rigid substrate (see at least figs.2 and 10); wherein the first rigid substrate, the second rigid substrate, and the perimeter support member are configured to maintain airtightness of the separation between the first rigid substrate and the second rigid substrate (see at least figs.2 and 10).
Regarding claim 10, Ishii discloses the first rigid substrate comprises a tempered glass layer (para.62 discloses it’s a glass layer with high heat resistance and high flaw resistance).
Regarding claim 11, Ishii discloses the second rigid substrate comprises a non-glass layer, wherein the non-glass layer comprises a polycarbonate (PC) material (para.62 disclose it can be made of a polycarbonate material).
Regarding claim 12, Ishii discloses the multi-layer structure is configured for installation in a vehicle (para.81), the first rigid substrate is configured to face an exterior environment of the vehicle, and the second rigid substrate is configured to face an interior environment of the vehicle (para.81 and fig.1).
Regarding claim 13, Ishii discloses the multi-layer structure is configured as a sunroof, a side window, a rear windshield, or a front windshield of the vehicle (see fig.1 and para.81).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii US 2022/0105710 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Du CN 107247360A (see document of 18263342_2025-12-02_CN_107247360_A_M.pdf).
Regarding claim 3, Ishii discloses the first rigid substrate defines a convex exterior surface of the multi-layer structure (see fig.1), and the second rigid substrate defines a concave interior surface of the multi-layer structure (see fig.1).
Ishii does not explicitly disclose a cladding is arranged on a top of the first rigid substrate at the perimeter region of the multi-layer structure to serve as an optical shield.
Du discloses an apparatus, in at least figs.2, 3 and 6, a cladding (41 and 42, fig.6) is arranged on a top of the first rigid substrate (20 or 20 with 30) at the perimeter region (non-display region) of the multi-layer structure (see fig.6) to serve as an optical shield for the purpose of shielding light and completely covering the non-display region (page 5, the bottom 2nd paragraph).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a cladding is arranged on a top of the first rigid substrate at the perimeter region of the multi-layer structure to serve as an optical shield as taught by Du in the apparatus of Ishii for the purpose of shielding light and completely covering the non-display region.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii US 2022/0105710 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li US 2023/0294605.
Regarding claim 3, Ishii discloses the first rigid substrate defines a convex exterior surface of the multi-layer structure (see fig.1), and the second rigid substrate defines a concave interior surface of the multi-layer structure (see fig.1).
Ishii does not explicitly disclose a cladding is arranged on a top of the first rigid substrate at the perimeter region of the multi-layer structure to serve as an optical shield.
Li discloses an apparatus, in at least fig.1, a cladding (15) is arranged on a top of the first rigid substrate (121 or 121 with 11) at the perimeter region (non-display region) of the multi-layer structure (see fig.1) to serve as an optical shield (para.37) for the purpose of shielding light and hiding the frame glue area (para.37).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a cladding is arranged on a top of the first rigid substrate at the perimeter region of the multi-layer structure to serve as an optical shield as taught by Li in the apparatus of Ishii for the purpose of shielding light and hiding the frame glue area.
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii US 2022/0105710 as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Kusudou US 2017/0361575.
Regarding claim 8, Ishii discloses the first rigid substrate (50) comprises a first glass layer (11), a second layer (33), and a laminate layer (13) between the first glass layer and the second layer.
Ishii does not explicitly disclose the second layer is a glass layer.
Kusudou discloses an analogous art, a rigid substrate (see fig.1) can be a laminate layer (1) between the first glass layer (2a) and the second layer (2b)(para.227) for the purpose of forming a laminated glass with capable of maintaining the sound insulating properties, weather resistance, and heat creep resistance at a high level (see abstract and para.227).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a rigid substrate can be a laminate layer between the first glass layer and the second layer as taught by Kusudou in the apparatus of Ishii in order to have the second layer is a glass layer for the purpose of forming a laminated glass with capable of maintaining the sound insulating properties, weather resistance, and heat creep resistance at a high level.
Regarding claim 9, Ishii discloses the laminate layer (13) comprises a polyvinyl butyral (PVB) material (para.63).
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii US 2022/0105710 as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Mario Arturo US 2020/0282705.
Regarding claim 8, Ishii discloses the first rigid substrate (50) comprises a first glass layer (11), a second layer (33), and a laminate layer (13) between the first glass layer and the second layer.
Ishii does not explicitly disclose the second layer is a glass layer.
Mario Arturo discloses apparatus, in at least figs.3-12, a rigid substrate (see figs.3A,5A,5B and 12) can be a laminate layer (4 or 9, para.93 and 105) between the first glass layer (2) and the second layer (2)(see figs.3A,5A,5B and 12) for the purpose of forming a laminated glass (para.93 and 105 and Abstract).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a rigid substrate can be a laminate layer between the first glass layer and the second layer as taught by Mario Arturo in the apparatus of Ishii in order to have the second layer is a glass layer for the purpose of forming a laminated glass.
Regarding claim 9, Ishii discloses the laminate layer (13) comprises a polyvinyl butyral (PVB) material (para.63).
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7 and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii US 2022/0105710 in view of Couillard US 2019/0270284.
Regarding claim 1, Ishii discloses an apparatus having a multi-layer structure for providing a dimmable window operation, in at least figs.1-6F, 9-11 and 14-20 and wherein the apparatus comprises:
a first rigid substrate (11, or 50);
a second rigid substrate (12, or 12 with 14) coupled to the first rigid substrate at a perimeter region of the multi-layer structure, to maintain a separation between the first rigid substrate and the second rigid substrate (see at least figs.2 and 10); and
a liquid crystal (LC) film (23, or 20) positioned within the separation between the first rigid substrate and the second rigid substrate (see at least figs.2 and 10),
wherein the LC film is coupled to either the first rigid substrate or the second rigid substrate at an inner region of the multi-layer structure to define a gap (G) between the LC film and another one of the first rigid substrate and the second rigid substrate (see at least figs.2 and 10), and
wherein the gap is filled with at least one gas (para.81, discloses the gap can be a gas layer of a gas, including nitrogen or the like), to provide thermal isolation (para.81 discloses the gap layer G is provided to improve heat insulation property of the apparatus).
Ishii does no explicitly disclose the at least one gas comprises argon gas.
Couillard discloses an apparatus, in at least fig.3, the at least one gas comprises argon gas (para.47) for the purpose of reducing the conduction of the heat through the cavity (para.47).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the at least one gas comprises argon gas as taught by Couillard in the apparatus of Ishii for the purpose of reducing the conduction of the heat through the cavity.
Regarding claim 4, Ishii discloses the gap is characterized by a separation distance ranges from 0.1 millimeter to 4 millimeters (para.81).
Regarding claim 7, Ishii discloses comprising a perimeter support member (17) positioned at the perimeter region of the multi-layer structure and configured to couple the first rigid substrate to the second rigid substrate (see at least figs.2 and 10); wherein the first rigid substrate, the second rigid substrate, and the perimeter support member are configured to maintain airtightness of the separation between the first rigid substrate and the second rigid substrate (see at least figs.2 and 10).
Regarding claim 10, Ishii discloses the first rigid substrate comprises a tempered glass layer (para.62 discloses it’s a glass layer with high heat resistance and high flaw resistance).
Regarding claim 11, Ishii discloses the second rigid substrate comprises a non-glass layer, wherein the non-glass layer comprises a polycarbonate (PC) material (para.62 disclose it can be made of a polycarbonate material).
Regarding claim 12, Ishii discloses the multi-layer structure is configured for installation in a vehicle (para.81), the first rigid substrate is configured to face an exterior environment of the vehicle, and the second rigid substrate is configured to face an interior environment of the vehicle (para.81 and fig.1).
Regarding claim 13, Ishii discloses the multi-layer structure is configured as a sunroof, a side window, a rear windshield, or a front windshield of the vehicle (see fig.1 and para.81).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii US 2022/0105710 in view of Couillard US 2019/0270284 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Du CN 107247360A (see document of 18263342_2025-12-02_CN_107247360_A_M.pdf).
Regarding claim 3, Ishii discloses the first rigid substrate defines a convex exterior surface of the multi-layer structure (see fig.1), and the second rigid substrate defines a concave interior surface of the multi-layer structure (see fig.1).
Ishii in view of Couillard does not explicitly disclose a cladding is arranged on a top of the first rigid substrate at the perimeter region of the multi-layer structure to serve as an optical shield.
Du discloses an apparatus, in at least figs.2, 3 and 6, a cladding (41 and 42, fig.6) is arranged on a top of the first rigid substrate (20 or 20 with 30) at the perimeter region (non-display region) of the multi-layer structure (see fig.6) to serve as an optical shield for the purpose of shielding light and completely covering the non-display region (page 5, the bottom 2nd paragraph).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a cladding is arranged on a top of the first rigid substrate at the perimeter region of the multi-layer structure to serve as an optical shield as taught by Du in the apparatus of Ishii in view of Couillard for the purpose of shielding light and completely covering the non-display region.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii US 2022/0105710 in view of Couillard US 2019/0270284 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li US 2023/0294605.
Regarding claim 3, Ishii discloses the first rigid substrate defines a convex exterior surface of the multi-layer structure (see fig.1), and the second rigid substrate defines a concave interior surface of the multi-layer structure (see fig.1).
Ishii in view of Couillard does not explicitly disclose a cladding is arranged on a top of the first rigid substrate at the perimeter region of the multi-layer structure to serve as an optical shield.
Li discloses an apparatus, in at least fig.1, a cladding (15) is arranged on a top of the first rigid substrate (121 or 121 with 11) at the perimeter region (non-display region) of the multi-layer structure (see fig.1) to serve as an optical shield (para.37) for the purpose of shielding light and hiding the frame glue area (para.37).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a cladding is arranged on a top of the first rigid substrate at the perimeter region of the multi-layer structure to serve as an optical shield as taught by Li in the apparatus of Ishii in view of Couillard for the purpose of shielding light and hiding the frame glue area.
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii US 2022/0105710 in view of Couillard US 2019/0270284 as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Kusudou US 2017/0361575.
Regarding claim 8, Ishii discloses the first rigid substrate (50) comprises a first glass layer (11), a second layer (33), and a laminate layer (13) between the first glass layer and the second layer.
Ishii in view of Couillard does not explicitly disclose the second layer is a glass layer.
Kusudou discloses an analogous art, a rigid substrate (see fig.1) can be a laminate layer (1) between the first glass layer (2a) and the second layer (2b)(para.227) for the purpose of forming a laminated glass with capable of maintaining the sound insulating properties, weather resistance, and heat creep resistance at a high level (see abstract and para.227).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a rigid substrate can be a laminate layer between the first glass layer and the second layer as taught by Kusudou in the apparatus of Ishii in view of Couillard in order to have the second layer is a glass layer for the purpose of forming a laminated glass with capable of maintaining the sound insulating properties, weather resistance, and heat creep resistance at a high level.
Regarding claim 9, Ishii discloses the laminate layer (13) comprises a polyvinyl butyral (PVB) material (para.63).
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii US 2022/0105710 in view of Couillard US 2019/0270284 as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Mario Arturo US 2020/0282705.
Regarding claim 8, Ishii discloses the first rigid substrate (50) comprises a first glass layer (11), a second layer (33), and a laminate layer (13) between the first glass layer and the second layer.
Ishii in view of Couillard does not explicitly disclose the second layer is a glass layer.
Mario Arturo discloses apparatus, in at least figs.3-12, a rigid substrate (see figs.3A,5A,5B and 12) can be a laminate layer (4 or 9, para.93 and 105) between the first glass layer (2) and the second layer (2)(see figs.3A,5A,5B and 12) for the purpose of forming a laminated glass (para.93 and 105 and Abstract).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a rigid substrate can be a laminate layer between the first glass layer and the second layer as taught by Mario Arturo in the apparatus of Ishii in view of Couillard in order to have the second layer is a glass layer for the purpose of forming a laminated glass.
Regarding claim 9, Ishii discloses the laminate layer (13) comprises a polyvinyl butyral (PVB) material (para.63).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIA X PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871