DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11, 24, 25, and 27-29 are canceled.
Claims 12-23, 26, and 30-34 are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 26 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 5, Applicants write, “a processor configured to executable the executable instructions.” It is thought that Applicants meant to write, “a processor configured to execute the executable instructions.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the step of" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the step of" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the corresponding receiving-end devices" in lines 2-3. The phrase “a corresponding receiving-end device” appears in claim 14, which claim 16 does not depend upon and is singular not plural. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the plurality of" in lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the plurality of" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the plurality of" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12, 13, 16, 17, 19, 20, 22, 26, 30, 33, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (U.S. 2015/0312953).
With respect to claim 12, Wang teaches a file sharing method (Wang, page 2, paragraphs 45-48) performed by a transmitting-end device (sender – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9) for sharing files with (MAC data frames may be transmitted to a peer – see Wang, page 5, paragraph 76, lines 4-5) receiving-end devices (distributor, receiver, and helper – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9; and page 9, paragraph 111, line 2-4 and paragraph 115, lines 6 and 9-10), the method comprising: receiving a selection operation performed on identifiers of (Wang, page 7, paragraph 96) the receiving-end devices (distributor, receiver, and helper – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9; and page 9, paragraph 111, line 2-4 and paragraph 115, lines 6 and 9-10), wherein the selection operation triggers (Wang, page 7, paragraph 96) the transmitting-end device (sender – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9) to send a to-be-shared file (a MAC data frame may be transmitted to a peer – see Wang, page 5, paragraph 76, lines 4-5) to corresponding receiving-end devices (distributor, receiver, and helper – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9; and page 9, paragraph 111, line 2-4 and paragraph 115, lines 6 and 9-10) including a first device (distributor – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9), a second device (receiver – see Wang, page 9, paragraph 111, line 2-4), and a third device (helper – see Wang, page 9, paragraph 115, lines 6 and 9-10); sending the to-be-shared file (a MAC data frame may be transmitted to a peer – see Wang, page 5, paragraph 76, lines 4-5) to the first device (sender may transmit MAC frames to the distributor – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9); after sending the to-be-shared file (a MAC data frame may be transmitted to a peer – see Wang, page 5, paragraph 76, lines 4-5) to the first device (sender may transmit MAC frames to the distributor – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9), sending, by the transmitting-end device (sender – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9), the to-be-shared file (a MAC data frame may be transmitted to a peer – see Wang, page 5, paragraph 76, lines 4-5) to the third device (sender may transmit MAC frames to the helper, an intermediate peer (a helper may be a distributor) – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 9-10 and paragraph 89, lines 1-2); and indicating to (the distributor may forward the MAC frames to receiver – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 10-11) the first device (distributor – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9) to send (the distributor may forward the MAC frames – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 10-11) the to-be-shared file (a MAC data frame may be transmitted to a peer – see Wang, page 5, paragraph 76, lines 4-5) to the second device (the distributor may forward the MAC frames to receiver – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 10-11), or indicating to the second device to obtain the to-be-shared file from the first device.
With respect to claim 13, Wang teaches the invention described in claim 12, including the method wherein the step of sending the to-be-shared file to the first device comprises: receiving, from the first device (distributor – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9), a first indication message indicating that the first device successfully receives the to-be-shared file from (Wang, page 8, paragraph 110, lines 2-3) the transmitting-end device (sender – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9).
With respect to claim 16, Wang teaches the invention described in claim 12, including the method wherein the selection operation further triggers the transmitting-end device (sender – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9) to add the corresponding receiving-end devices (distributor, receiver, and helper – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9; and page 9, paragraph 111, line 2-4 and paragraph 115, lines 6 and 9-10) to a sharing group (Wang, page 6, paragraphs 87-90) that comprises the transmitting-end device (sender – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9), and the method further comprises: creating the sharing group (Wang, page 6, paragraphs 87-90) that comprises the transmitting-end device (sender – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9), generating a device list of (Wang, pages 3-4, paragraph 59) the sharing group (Wang, page 6, paragraphs 87-90), and sending a first request message to (Wang, pages 3-4, paragraph 59) the plurality of receiving-end devices (distributor, receiver, and helper – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9; and page 9, paragraph 111, line 2-4 and paragraph 115, lines 6 and 9-10), wherein the first request message requests (Wang, pages 3-4, paragraph 59) the receiving-end devices (distributor, receiver, and helper – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9; and page 9, paragraph 111, line 2-4 and paragraph 115, lines 6 and 9-10) to join (Wang, pages 3-4, paragraph 59) the sharing group (Wang, page 6, paragraphs 87-90), and the device list comprises a device identifier (Wang, pages 3-4, paragraph 59) of the transmitting-end device (sender – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9); and receiving a first response message from (Wang, pages 3-4, paragraph 59) the first device (distributor – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9), adding a device identifier of (Wang, pages 3-4, paragraph 59) the first device (distributor – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9) to the device list, and broadcasting the device list, wherein the first response message (Wang, pages 3-4, paragraph 59) indicates that (Wang, pages 3-4, paragraph 59) the first device (distributor – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9) agrees to join (Wang, pages 3-4, paragraph 59) the sharing group (Wang, page 6, paragraphs 87-90), and the first response message comprises the device identifier of (Wang, pages 3-4, paragraph 59) the first device (distributor – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9).
With respect to claim 17, Wang teaches the invention described in claim 16, including the method further comprising: when each receiving-end device (distributor, receiver, and helper – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9; and page 9, paragraph 111, line 2-4 and paragraph 115, lines 6 and 9-10) in the sharing group (Wang, page 6, paragraphs 87-90) successfully receives the to-be-shared file (Wang, page 8, paragraph 104, lines 9-11), deleting a device identifier of each receiving-end device from the device list (Wang, page 8, paragraph 104, lines 11-17).
With respect to claim 19, Wang teaches a file sharing method (Wang, page 2, paragraphs 45-48) performed by a receiving-end device (distributor, receiver, and helper – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9; and page 9, paragraph 111, line 2-4 and paragraph 115, lines 6 and 9-10) for receiving files (MAC data frames may be transmitted to a peer – see Wang, page 5, paragraph 76, lines 4-5), the method comprising: receiving a to-be-shared file (a MAC data frame may be transmitted to a peer – see Wang, page 5, paragraph 76, lines 4-5) sent by a transmitting-end device (sender may transmit MAC frames to the distributor – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9) or a receiving-end device that has the to-be-shared file; and after receiving the to-be-shared file (a MAC data frame may be transmitted to a peer – see Wang, page 5, paragraph 76, lines 4-5), sending (the distributor may forward the MAC frames to receiver(s) – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 10-11) the to-be-shared file (a MAC data frame may be transmitted to a peer – see Wang, page 5, paragraph 76, lines 4-5) to a second receiving-end device that does not have the to-be-shared file (receiver – see Wang, page 9, paragraph 111, line 2-4).
With respect to claim 20, Wang teaches the invention described in claim 19, including the method wherein after receiving the to-be-shared file from the transmitting-end device, the method further comprises: sending a first indication message to (Wang, page 8, paragraph 110, lines 2-3) the transmitting-end device (sender – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9) or the second receiving-end device, wherein the first indication message indicates that the receiving-end device successfully receives the to-be-shared file from (Wang, page 8, paragraph 110, lines 2-3) the transmitting-end device (sender – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9).
With respect to claim 22, Wang teaches the invention described in claim 19, including the method further comprising: receiving a first request message from (Wang, pages 3-4, paragraph 59) the transmitting-end device (sender – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9), wherein the first request message requests (Wang, pages 3-4, paragraph 59) the receiving-end device (distributor, receiver, and helper – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9; and page 9, paragraph 111, line 2-4 and paragraph 115, lines 6 and 9-10) to join (Wang, pages 3-4, paragraph 59) a sharing group (Wang, page 6, paragraphs 87-90); and sending a first response message to (Wang, pages 3-4, paragraph 59) the transmitting-end device (sender – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9), wherein the first response message (Wang, pages 3-4, paragraph 59) indicates that (Wang, pages 3-4, paragraph 59) the receiving-end device (distributor, receiver, and helper – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9; and page 9, paragraph 111, line 2-4 and paragraph 115, lines 6 and 9-10) agrees to join (Wang, pages 3-4, paragraph 59) the sharing group (Wang, page 6, paragraphs 87-90), and the first response message comprises a device identifier of (Wang, pages 3-4, paragraph 59) the receiving-end device (distributor, receiver, and helper – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9; and page 9, paragraph 111, line 2-4 and paragraph 115, lines 6 and 9-10).
With respect to claim 26, Wang teaches a transmitting-end device comprising: a memory storing executable instructions; a processor configured to executable the executable instructions to: receive a selection operation performed on identifiers of (Wang, page 7, paragraph 96) multiple receiving-end devices (distributor, receiver, and helper – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9; and page 9, paragraph 111, line 2-4 and paragraph 115, lines 6 and 9-10), wherein the selection operation triggers (Wang, page 7, paragraph 96) the transmitting-end device (sender – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9) to send a to-be-shared file (a MAC data frame may be transmitted to a peer – see Wang, page 5, paragraph 76, lines 4-5) to corresponding receiving-end devices (distributor, receiver, and helper – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9; and page 9, paragraph 111, line 2-4 and paragraph 115, lines 6 and 9-10) including a first device (distributor – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9), a second device (receiver – see Wang, page 9, paragraph 111, line 2-4), and a third device (helper – see Wang, page 9, paragraph 115, lines 6 and 9-10); send the to-be-shared file (a MAC data frame may be transmitted to a peer – see Wang, page 5, paragraph 76, lines 4-5) to the first device (sender may transmit MAC frames to the distributor – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9); after sending the to-be-shared file with (a MAC data frame may be transmitted to a peer – see Wang, page 5, paragraph 76, lines 4-5) the first device (sender may transmit MAC frames to the distributor – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9), send the to-be-shared file (a MAC data frame may be transmitted to a peer – see Wang, page 5, paragraph 76, lines 4-5) to the third device (sender may transmit MAC frames to the helper, an intermediate peer (a helper may be a distributor) – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 9-10 and paragraph 89, lines 1-2); and indicate to (the distributor may forward the MAC frames to receiver – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 10-11) the first device (distributor – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9) to send (the distributor may forward the MAC frames – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 10-11) the to-be-shared file (a MAC data frame may be transmitted to a peer – see Wang, page 5, paragraph 76, lines 4-5) to the second device (the distributor may forward the MAC frames to receiver – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 10-11), or indicate to the second device to obtain the to-be-shared file from the first device.
Claims 30, 33, and 34 do not teach or define any new limitations above claims 13, 16, and 17 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14, 15, 18, 23, 31, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and further in view of Atzmon et al. (U.S. 9,386,056).
With respect to claim 14, Wang teaches the invention described in claim 12, including the method, wherein after the step of receiving the selection operation performed on the identifiers of the receiving-end devices, the method further comprises: the to-be-shared file to (a MAC data frame may be transmitted to a peer – see Wang, page 5, paragraph 76, lines 4-5) the receiving-end devices (distributor, receiver, and helper – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9; and page 9, paragraph 111, line 2-4 and paragraph 115, lines 6 and 9-10); to the first device; of the first device (distributor – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9); and of the second device (receiver – see Wang, page 9, paragraph 111, line 2-4) and the third device (helper – see Wang, page 9, paragraph 115, lines 6 and 9-10).
Wang does not explicitly teach displaying transmission state information of transmitting; wherein the transmission state information of the receiving-end devices comprises first state information and second state information, the first state information indicates that the to-be-shared file is being sent to a corresponding receiving-end device, and the second state information indicates that the to-be-shared file is ready to be sent to the corresponding receiving-end device, wherein in sending the to-be-shared file, transmission state information is the first state information, and transmission state information is the second state information.
However, Atzmon teaches displaying transmission state information of transmitting (Atzmon, col. 12, lines 38-48); wherein the transmission state information of the receiving-end devices comprises first state information (Atzmon, Fig. 3, element 130; col. 11, lines 6-7) and second state information (Atzmon, Fig. 3, element 125; col. 11, lines 7-10), the first state information indicates that the to-be-shared file is being sent to a corresponding receiving-end device (Atzmon, Fig. 3, element 130; col. 11, lines 6-7), and the second state information indicates that the to-be-shared file is ready to be sent to the corresponding receiving-end device (Atzmon, Fig. 3, element 125; col. 11, lines 7-10), wherein in sending the to-be-shared file, transmission state information is the first state information (Atzmon, Fig. 3, element 130; col. 11, lines 6-7), and transmission state information is the second state information (Atzmon, Fig. 3, element 125; col. 11, lines 7-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang in view of Atzmon in order to enable displaying transmission state information of transmitting; wherein the transmission state information of the receiving-end devices comprises first state information and second state information, the first state information indicates that the to-be-shared file is being sent to a corresponding receiving-end device, and the second state information indicates that the to-be-shared file is ready to be sent to the corresponding receiving-end device, wherein in sending the to-be-shared file, transmission state information is the first state information, and transmission state information is the second state information. One would be motivated to do so in order to define the protocols and algorithms by which a file can be shared by the protocol participants which are referred to as peers (Atzmon, col. 1, lines 51-53).
With respect to claim 15, the combination of Wang and Atzmon teaches the invention described in claim 14, including the method further comprising: displaying transmission state information of (Atzmon, col. 12, lines 38-48) the third device (helper – see Wang, page 9, paragraph 115, lines 6 and 9-10) as the first state information (Atzmon, Fig. 3, element 130; col. 11, lines 6-7) in a process in which the transmitting-end device (sender – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9) sends the to-be-shared file to (a MAC data frame may be transmitted to a peer – see Wang, page 5, paragraph 76, lines 4-5) the third device (helper – see Wang, page 9, paragraph 115, lines 6 and 9-10); and displaying transmission state information of (Atzmon, col. 12, lines 38-48) the second device (receiver – see Wang, page 9, paragraph 111, line 2-4) as the first state information (Atzmon, Fig. 3, element 130; col. 11, lines 6-7) in a process in which the first device (distributor – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9) sends the to-be-shared file to (a MAC data frame may be transmitted to a peer – see Wang, page 5, paragraph 76, lines 4-5) the second device (receiver – see Wang, page 9, paragraph 111, line 2-4).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 14 above.
With respect to claim 18, the combination of Wang and Atzmon teaches the invention described in claim 12, including the method further comprising: generating a first ledger for recording sharing record information of (Atzmon, col. 2, lines 13-24) the to-be-shared file (a MAC data frame may be transmitted to a peer – see Wang, page 5, paragraph 76, lines 4-5) among the plurality of receiving-end devices (distributor, receiver, and helper – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9; and page 9, paragraph 111, line 2-4 and paragraph 115, lines 6 and 9-10); updating the first ledger based on transmission state information of (Atzmon, col. 2, lines 13-24) each receiving-end device (distributor, receiver, and helper – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9; and page 9, paragraph 111, line 2-4 and paragraph 115, lines 6 and 9-10); and synchronizing an updated first ledger to (Atzmon, col. 2, lines 13-24) the plurality of receiving-end devices (distributor, receiver, and helper – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9; and page 9, paragraph 111, line 2-4 and paragraph 115, lines 6 and 9-10).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 14 above.
With respect to claim 23, the combination of Wang and Atzmon teaches the invention described in claim 22, including the method further comprising: generating a second ledger (Atzmon, col. 8, lines 38-45) in response to joining (Wang, pages 3-4, paragraph 59) the sharing group (Wang, page 6, paragraphs 87-90), wherein the second ledger for recording sharing record information of (Atzmon, col. 8, lines 38-45 and col. 2, lines 13-24) the to-be-shared file (a MAC data frame may be transmitted to a peer – see Wang, page 5, paragraph 76, lines 4-5) among a plurality of receiving-end devices (distributor, receiver, and helper – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9; and page 9, paragraph 111, line 2-4 and paragraph 115, lines 6 and 9-10); and updating (Atzmon, col. 2, lines 13-24) the second ledger (Atzmon, col. 8, lines 38-45) based on a first ledger (Atzmon, col. 2, lines 13-24) updated by (Atzmon, col. 2, lines 13-24) the transmitting-end device (sender – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9), wherein the first ledger records sharing record information of (Atzmon, col. 2, lines 13-24) the to-be-shared file (a MAC data frame may be transmitted to a peer – see Wang, page 5, paragraph 76, lines 4-5) among the plurality of receiving-end devices (distributor, receiver, and helper – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9; and page 9, paragraph 111, line 2-4 and paragraph 115, lines 6 and 9-10).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 14 above.
Claims 31 and 32 do not teach or define any new limitations above claims 14 and 15 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and further in view of Zhang et al. (U.S. 9,674,271).
With respect to claim 21, Wang teaches the invention described in claim 19, including a file sharing method (Wang, page 2, paragraphs 45-48) performed by a receiving-end device (distributor, receiver, and helper – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9; and page 9, paragraph 111, line 2-4 and paragraph 115, lines 6 and 9-10) for receiving files (MAC data frames may be transmitted to a peer – see Wang, page 5, paragraph 76, lines 4-5), the method comprising: receiving a to-be-shared file (a MAC data frame may be transmitted to a peer – see Wang, page 5, paragraph 76, lines 4-5) sent by a transmitting-end device (sender may transmit MAC frames to the distributor – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9) or a receiving-end device that has the to-be-shared file; and after receiving the to-be-shared file (a MAC data frame may be transmitted to a peer – see Wang, page 5, paragraph 76, lines 4-5), sending (the distributor may forward the MAC frames to receiver(s) – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 10-11) the to-be-shared file (a MAC data frame may be transmitted to a peer – see Wang, page 5, paragraph 76, lines 4-5) to a second receiving-end device that does not have the to-be-shared file (receiver – see Wang, page 9, paragraph 111, line 2-4); the to-be-shared file (a MAC data frame may be transmitted to a peer – see Wang, page 5, paragraph 76, lines 4-5); the to-be-shared file (a MAC data frame may be transmitted to a peer – see Wang, page 5, paragraph 76, lines 4-5); and the transmitting-end device (sender – see Wang, page 6, paragraph 88, lines 7-9).
Wang does not explicitly teach the method further comprising: sending a first prompt message when receiving the file, wherein the first prompt message indicates progress of receiving the file from the server.
However, Zhang teaches the method further comprising: sending a first prompt message when receiving the file, wherein the first prompt message indicates progress of receiving the file from the server (Zhang, Fig. 6J, element 633; col. 12, lines 48-51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang in view of Zhang in order to enable the method further comprising: sending a first prompt message when receiving the file, wherein the first prompt message indicates progress of receiving the file from the server. One would be motivated to do so in order to provide an update on the terminal display, indicating that the video stream has been uploaded into the remove server (Zhang, col. 12, lines 9-11).
Conclusion
/Alicia Baturay/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2441
March 3, 2026