DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Examiner acknowledges receipt of Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed with the Office on February 2nd, 2026 in response to the Final Office Action mailed on October 2nd, 2025. Per Applicant's response, Claims 1-2, 9-12, & 14 have been amended, and Claims 4, 7, & 8 have been cancelled. All other claims have been left in their previously-presented form. Consequently, Claims 1-2, 5-6, 9-12, & 14-18 still remain pending in the instant application (Claims 15-18 remaining withdrawn). The Examiner has carefully considered each of Applicant’s amendments and/or arguments, and they will be addressed below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 5-6, & 9-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 8 should read “one or more pump connection ports for outputting”
Claim 9, line 5 should read “the first vacuum pump and the measured”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 4 has been cancelled, rendering this rejection moot.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed February 2nd, 2026, have been considered but are moot due to the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments (see updated rejections below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 9-12, & 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6,419,455 to Rousseau et al.
In regards to independent Claim 1, and with particular reference to Figures 2-6, Rousseau et al. (Rousseau) discloses:
1. A pump apparatus (Fig. 3; 4, 6, 7’, 8) comprising: a first vacuum pump (4); a first pressure sensor (7’) for measuring an inlet pressure of the first vacuum pump (Fig. 3; col. 5, lines 10-12); at least one controller (8): generating a first control signal (81) for controlling the first vacuum pump (col. 5, lines 13-15); and generating a second control signal (82) for controlling a second vacuum pump (5) (col. 5, lines 17-20); wherein the second vacuum pump is external to the pump apparatus (Fig. 3) and the pump apparatus comprises one or more pump connection port (6) for outputting the second control signal to the second vacuum pump (Fig. 3; col. 5, lines 6-10); and the at least one controller is configured to control the first vacuum pump and the second vacuum pump based on the measured inlet pressure of the first vacuum pump (col. 5, lines 6-25).
In regards to Claim 2, the at least one controller (8) comprises at least one electronic processor and a memory device (Rousseau’s disclosures that “the observer is programmed” (col. 3, line 38) and “observer 8 implements a first algorithm 81, e.g. a PID algorithm” (col. 5, lines 13-15) clearly indicate that the observer includes an electronic processor that executes algorithms stored within a memory device; see also Fig. 3), the at least one electronic processor having: at least one electrical input (“ERROR”; Fig. 3) for receiving an input signal (9, 9’, 10, 21; Fig. 3); and at least one electrical output (15) for outputting the first control signal to the first vacuum pump and/or the second control signal to the second vacuum pump (Fig. 3).
In regards to Claim 5, the at least one controller is configured to receive a pressure request signal (10; Fig. 3) indicating a target operating pressure for a process chamber (“a reference 10 for a final pressure state”; col. 5, lines 21-22).
In regards to Claim 9, the at least one controller comprises an input (“ERROR”; Fig. 3) for receiving an operating pressure signal (7) indicating an operating pressure in a process chamber (1; see Fig. 2); the at least one controller being is configured to receive a measured inlet pressure of the second vacuum pump (indicated by the pressure signal 7) and is configured to control operation of the first vacuum pump and/or and the second vacuum pump based on the measured inlet pressure of the first pump and the measured inlet pressure of the second vacuum pump in dependence on the operating pressure signal (col. 5, lines 6-25).
In regards to Claim 10, a first power supply (6 and the associated power line seen in Fig. 3) for supplying electric power to the first vacuum pump; and a second power supply (6 and the associated power line seen in Fig. 3) for supplying electric power to the second vacuum pump (“speed controller 6 which in turn powers separately and at variable frequency both the dry primary pump 4 and at least one secondary pump 5”; col. 5, lines 6-10).
In regards to Claim 11, Rousseau clearly discloses a power outlet for supplying electric power to the second vacuum pump (see Fig. 3; the power line/outlet extending from speed controller 6 and feeding power to the second vacuum pump 5).
In regards to Claim 12, the first vacuum pump (4) comprises a primary pump for a vacuum system (“dry primary pump 4”; col. 5, line 9; Fig. 3).
In regards to Claim 14, the second vacuum pump (5) is a secondary pump for a vacuum system (“secondary pump 5”; col. 5, line 10; Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rousseau (applied above) in view of US 2012/0282121 to Kieffer et al.
In regards to Claim 6, Rousseau discloses the invention of Claim 5, but does not further disclose at least one input device configured to generate the pressure request signal (10) in dependence on a user input, wherein the user input identifies one of a plurality of operating processes, the at least one controller being configured to generate the pressure request signal in dependence on the identified one of the plurality of operating processes, as claimed (in this case, Rousseau is silent as to the origin of his pressure request signal 10, and thus, cannot disclose it being supplied via user input).
However, as noted in the previous office action, Kieffer discloses another dual-pump apparatus (102) comprising a first pump (114), at least one controller (124): generating a first control signal (Fig. 1) for controlling the first pump (114); generating a second control signal (via 128) for controlling a second pump (120); wherein the second pump (120) is external to the pump apparatus (Fig. 1) and the pump apparatus (120) comprises one or more pump connection ports (128) for outputting the second control signal to the second pump (Fig. 1; "communication interface"; Abstract; see also paras. 4, 6, 25). Kieffer goes on to disclose at least one input device (130) configured to generate a pressure request signal (“A user desired ratio and/or pressure”; para. 27) in dependence on a user input (para. 27), wherein the user input identifies one of a plurality of operating processes (“selectable ratios”; para. 27; “different modes”; para. 29), the at least one controller being configured to generate the pressure request signal in dependence on the identified one of the plurality of operating processes (paras. 27-29). In other words, Kieffer clearly shows that it is well known in the art of multi-pump systems to allow a user to input one desired operating mode out of a plurality of possible operating modes (and thus, a specific pressure request signal) in order to achieve a desired operation for the pumps within system. Therefore, to one of ordinary skill desiring a multi-pump system with user-based adjustability, it would have been obvious to utilize the techniques disclosed in Kieffer in combination with those seen in Rousseau in order to obtain such a result. Consequently, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rousseau’s controller 8 with the user-based pressure input/adjustability taught in Kieffer in order to obtain predictable results; those results being a vacuum pump system that is more versatile in allowing a user to select which particular operating mode is most desired at a given time.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER B COMLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
ABC