Response to Arguments
It is noted that applicant has highlighted portions of the prior art on pages 8-9 in relation to Senatro’s Figure 2 and Guariento’s Figure 4; however, the highlighting is difficult to see/observe since the highlighting may be too faint for the reader to notice. Thus, it is suggested that applicant include additional editorial notations to assist the reader with identifying the highlighted portions (for example, by using circles and/or arrows in addition to the highlighting).
The previous double patenting rejections have not yet been addressed and are thus maintained.
Applicant's arguments filed 2/17/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Guariento does not teach “the trailer skirt and rib cover of present application are arranged as claimed "so that the leading edge of the trailer skirt 14 is positioned inboard in the lateral direction 32 far enough to prevent air flow from entering under the trailer" (para. 23 of the present application as filed, emphasis added).”. This argument is not on point because the quotation above is not recited in the claims.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “so that the leading edge of the trailer skirt 14 is positioned inboard in the lateral direction 32 far enough to prevent air flow from entering under the trailer”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues that Guariento teaches a front part 1 and a rear part 3 that directs air towards the inside. This argument is not on point because the 1/13/26 office action does not rely on Guariento’s front part 1 and rear part 3 as a whole and instead only relies on Guariento’s rib cover as illustrated in the labeled Figures 1 and 4 and described on pages 7-10 of the 1/13/26 office action.
In response to applicant's argument that Guariento teaches a front part 1 and a rear part 3 that directs air towards the inside and that Guariento’s rib cover is not a standalone/isolated component, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Applicant argues that Whitney does not teach “the trailer skirt of present application is angled as claimed "so that the leading edge of the trailer skirt 14 is positioned inboard in the lateral direction 32 far enough to prevent air flow from entering under the trailer" (para. 23 of the present application, emphasis added).”. This argument is not on point because the quotation above is not recited in the claims.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “so that the leading edge of the trailer skirt 14 is positioned inboard in the lateral direction 32 far enough to prevent air flow from entering under the trailer”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues that Whitney teaches away from the claimed limitation by citing Whitney’s sides 18. This argument is not on point because the 1/13/26 office action does not rely on Whitney’s sides 18 as a whole and instead only relies on the angling of Whitney’s lateral airstream deflector 80 as described on page 10 of the 1/13/26 office action.
In response to applicant's argument that Whitney teaches away from the claimed limitation by citing Whitney’s sides 18, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Applicant argues that Whitney teaches an inwardly-directed angle instead of an outwardly-directed angle, this argument is not on point because Senatro discloses the outwardly-directed angle and the combination of Senatro and Whitney teaches the claimed angle range of 3-7 degrees.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant argues that the examiner relied on impermissible hindsight in combining Senatro with Guariento and Whitney. This argument is unpersuasive because rationales for combining Senatro with Guariento and Whitney were provided on page 10 of the 1/13/26 office action and applicant has not specifically disputed the propriety of the rationales of “for the purpose of shielding portions of the cross-members to provide better aerodynamic qualities by minimizing drag/turbulence” and “for the purpose of reducing drag and improving fuel economy (Whitney; abstract "to reduce drag, improve fuel economy")”
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
The arguments against independent claims 1 and 16 and their corresponding dependent claims are similarly unpersuasive for the reasonings described above.
Applicant does not appear to have provided remarks regarding the Information Disclosure Statement.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
For example:
[0032] “The top fairing 26 can be arranged in the same manner as disclosed in patent application number PCT/US 17/30297 filed on April 29, 2017 and entitled End of Trailer Fairing for Improved Aerodynamic Performance, the contents of which are incorporated by reference herein in their entirety for all purposes.”;
[0034] “The aerodynamic mud flap 22 can be arranged as shown in PCT/US2018/053761 filed October 1, 2018 and published as WO 2019/068089, the contents of which are incorporated by reference herein in their entirety for all purposes.”.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 8-9, and 11-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 7-8, 10, and 12-15 of copending Application No. 18263444 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘444 reference application discloses an apparatus for a trailer comprising a trailer skirt, a rib cover, cross-members, a bogie assembly, an aerodynamic mud flap, and a top fairing.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senatro et al. US11332203 in view of foreign patent document Guariento EP1870 322 and Whitney et al. US4486046.
Regarding independent claim 1, Senatro discloses, in Figures 1-3,
An apparatus (Senatro; Fig. 1-3 and 6) for a trailer (Senatro; Fig. 1; cargo trailer 104) that has a longitudinal direction, a lateral direction, and a height direction, comprising: a trailer skirt (Senatro; Fig. 2; front panel 134) configured for attachment to the trailer, wherein the trailer skirt has an outer surface that has an outer surface length, wherein a majority of the outer surface length is oriented at an angle from evidence that Fig. 1-2 show that the ratio is approximately 2 based on comparison of the skirt/panel 134 to the wheel diameter of rear wheel 120); wherein the trailer (Senatro; cargo trailer 104) has a trailer length in the longitudinal direction that is at least
Senatro is silent regarding wherein a majority of the outer surface length is oriented at an angle from 3 degrees to 7 degrees to the longitudinal direction such that the majority of the outer surface length extends inboard in the lateral direction upon extension forward in the longitudinal direction; wherein the trailer has a trailer length in the longitudinal direction that is at least 35 feet; a rib cover that is carried by the trailer, wherein the rib cover is located higher than a bottom edge of the trailer skirt in the height direction, wherein the rib cover is wedge shaped and located outboard from the trailer skirt in the lateral direction; wherein the rib cover covers increasingly larger portions of successive cross-members upon extension of the rib cover forward in the longitudinal direction.
Guariento teaches, in Figures 1 and 4, a rib cover (Guariento; see labeled Fig. 1 and 4 below) that is carried by the trailer, wherein the rib cover is located higher than a bottom edge of the trailer skirt (Guariento; side fairing 16) in the height direction, wherein the rib cover is wedge shaped and located outboard from the trailer skirt in the lateral direction; wherein the rib cover covers increasingly larger portions of the trailer undercarriage upon extension of the rib cover in the longitudinal direction.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the trailer and trailer skirt as taught by Senatro to include the rib cover as taught by Guariento for the purpose of shielding portions of the cross-members to provide better aerodynamic qualities by minimizing drag/turbulence.
Senatro is silent regarding wherein a majority of the outer surface length is oriented at an angle from 3 degrees to 7 degrees to the longitudinal direction such that the majority of the outer surface length extends inboard in the lateral direction upon extension forward in the longitudinal direction; wherein the trailer has a trailer length in the longitudinal direction that is at least 35 feet.
Whitney teaches, in Figures 2 and 5, wherein a majority of the outer surface length (Whitney; Fig. 2 and 5; lateral airstream deflector 80) is oriented at an angle from 3 degrees to 7 degrees (Whitney; abstract; “at angles of 4°-15° relative to the direction of movement of the vehicle”) to the longitudinal direction such that the majority of the outer surface length extends inboard in the lateral direction upon extension forward in the longitudinal direction; wherein the trailer has a trailer length in the longitudinal direction that is at least 35 feet (Whitney; col. 4:22-24 “trailer T of typical length, 60 feet being selected”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the selection of the angle of the trailer skirt and the selection of the trailer length as taught by Senatro to be an angle of 3 degrees to 7 degrees (specifically, 6-degrees) and length of at least 35 feet (specifically, 60-feet) as taught by Whitney for the purpose of reducing drag and improving fuel economy (Whitney; abstract “to reduce drag, improve fuel economy”) and for providing sufficient cargo capacity to transport cargo that is at least 35-feet in length.
Regarding claim 2, Modified Senatro teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The apparatus as set forth in claim 1, wherein the angle that the majority of the outer surface length is oriented to the longitudinal direction is from 5 degrees to 6 degrees (Whitney; abstract; “at angles of 4°-15° relative to the direction of movement of the vehicle”).
Regarding claim 3, Modified Senatro teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The apparatus as set forth in claim 1, wherein the trailer has a forward terminal end and a rearward terminal end and the trailer length extends in the longitudinal direction from the forward terminal end to the rearward terminal end, wherein a 30% point of the trailer is at a location that is distanced 30% of the trailer length from the forward terminal end in the longitudinal direction; wherein no portion of the trailer skirt is located forward of the 30% point in the longitudinal direction (Senatro; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Modified Senatro teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The apparatus as set forth in claim 1, wherein the trailer length is at least 48 feet (Whitney; col. 4:22-24 “trailer T of typical length, 60 feet being selected”).
Regarding claim 5, Modified Senatro teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The apparatus as set forth in claim 4, wherein the trailer length is 53 feet (Whitney; col. 4:22-24 “trailer T of typical length, 60 feet being selected”).
Regarding claim 6, Modified Senatro teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The apparatus as set forth in claim 1, wherein the rib cover is configured to engage a lower surface of the trailer (Guariento; see labeled Fig. 1 and 4 above).
Regarding claim 7, Modified Senatro teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The apparatus as set forth in claim 1, wherein the entire outer surface of the trailer skirt is flat (Senatro; Fig. 2; front panel 134), and wherein the entire outer surface of the trailer skirt is oriented at the angle from 3 degrees to 7 degrees to the longitudinal direction (Whitney; abstract; “at angles of 4°-15° relative to the direction of movement of the vehicle”).
Regarding claim 8, Modified Senatro teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The apparatus as set forth in claim 1, wherein the overall length/overall height ratio of the trailer skirt is 5 or less (Senatro; there is a preponderance of evidence that Fig. 1-2 show that the ratio is approximately 2 based on comparison of the skirt/panel 134 to the wheel diameter of rear wheel 120).
Regarding claim 9, Modified Senatro teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The apparatus as set forth in claim 1, wherein the trailer has a bogie assembly (Senatro; Fig. 1-2; bogie 108) that has a plurality of tires, and wherein the entire trailer skirt is configured for being located forward of all of the plurality of tires of the bogie assembly in the longitudinal direction (Senatro; Fig. 1-2), and wherein the entire rib cover (Guariento; see labeled Fig. 1 and 4 above) is configured for being located forward of all of the plurality of tires of the bogie assembly in the longitudinal direction.
Regarding claim 10, Modified Senatro teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The apparatus as set forth in claim 9, wherein the trailer has landing gear (Senatro; Fig. 1; front landing gear 118), and wherein the entire trailer skirt is configured for being located rearward of the landing gear in the longitudinal direction, and wherein the entire rib cover is configured for being located rearward of the landing gear in the longitudinal direction.
Regarding claim 12, Modified Senatro teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The apparatus as set forth in claim 1, further comprising a top fairing (Senatro; Fig. 2 and 6; exit skirt fairing) configured for being mounted to a top surface of the trailer, wherein the top fairing is configured to be located closer to the rearward terminal end of the trailer than to the forward terminal end of the trailer in the longitudinal direction.
Regarding claim 13, Modified Senatro teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The apparatus as set forth in claim 12, wherein the top fairing (Senatro; Fig. 2 and 6; exit skirt fairing) does not extend rearward of the rearward terminal end of the trailer in the longitudinal direction; and wherein the top fairing, the trailer skirt, and the rib cover do not have any moving parts during use of the trailer.
Regarding claim 14, Modified Senatro teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The apparatus as set forth in claim 1, wherein the overall length of the trailer skirt is 25% or less of the trailer length (Senatro; there is a preponderance of evidence that Fig. 1 shows that the length of the skirt is 25% or less of the trailer length).
Regarding claim 17, Modified Senatro teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The apparatus as set forth in claim 16, wherein the rib cover is shaped such that the rib cover is flush (Guariento; see labeled Fig. 1 and 4 above) with a side of the trailer when the trailer skirt is attached to the trailer at an angle relative to a longitudinal direction of the trailer (Senatro; Fig. 2; front panel 134).
Regarding claim 18, Modified Senatro teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The apparatus as set forth in claim 16, wherein the rib cover is wedge shaped (Guariento; see labeled Fig. 1 and 4 above).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senatro, Guariento, and Whitney as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Morgan et al. WO2019068089.
Regarding claim 11, Modified Senatro teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The apparatus as set forth in claim 1, further comprising
Modified Senatro is silent regarding an aerodynamic mud flap configured to be carried by the trailer, wherein the aerodynamic mud flap is located rearward of the trailer skirt in the longitudinal direction, wherein the aerodynamic mud flap has a barrier section that includes apertures therethrough that allow air and particles to flow through the barrier section during travel of the trailer.
Morgan teaches, in Figures 1-6, an aerodynamic mud flap (Morgan; Fig. 1-6; mud flap 10) configured to be carried by the trailer, wherein the aerodynamic mud flap is located rearward of the trailer skirt in the longitudinal direction, wherein the aerodynamic mud flap has a barrier section (Morgan; Fig. 1-6; barrier section 30) that includes apertures (Morgan; spacing S32) therethrough that allow air and particles to flow through the barrier section during travel of the trailer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the trailer as taught by Modified Senatro to include an aerodynamic mud flap as taught by Morgan for the purpose of providing improved aerodynamic performance while still blocking road debris (Morgan; [0024 “improve aerodynamic performance, such as by the reduction or minimization of aerodynamic drag, openings are formed in the mud flap to allow airflow to pass through the mud flap during vehicle movement while still preventing the passage of certain matter through mud flap”]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senatro, Guariento, and Whitney as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mihelic et al. US9308949.
Regarding claim 15, Modified Senatro teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The apparatus as set forth in claim 1, wherein, there are no further skirts configured for attachment to the trailer forward of the trailer skirt in the longitudinal direction that are on the same side of the trailer as the trailer skirt.
Modified Senatro does not teach wherein, there are no further skirts configured for attachment to the trailer forward of the trailer skirt in the longitudinal direction that are on the same side of the trailer as the trailer skirt.
Mihelic teaches wherein, there are no further skirts configured for attachment to the trailer forward of the trailer skirt in the longitudinal direction that are on the same side of the trailer as the trailer skirt (Mihelic; Fig. 1; left rear fairing 182 is the only skirt provided on the left-side of the trailer 22).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the trailer as taught by Modified Senatro to optionally remove the forward/front skirt fairings 112 so that there is only a single skirt on one-side of the trailer as taught by Mihelic for the purpose of avoiding the risk of the forward/front skirt making being damaged by contact with a hilly/bumpy/rough road in which the road has features/obstacles that could come into damaging contact with the skirt/fairing due to the relatively large distance/spacing between the front truck/cab wheels near the kingpin and the rear bogie wheels. An additional rationale is for the purpose of providing easier access to the underside/underbody of the trailer for inspection/maintenance.
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senatro et al. US11332203 in view of foreign patent document Guariento EP1870 322.
Regarding independent claim 16, Modified Senatro teaches the invention substantially the same as described above regarding independent claim 1 and the portion of the modification relating to Senatro in view of Guariento, and An apparatus (Senatro; Fig. 1-3 and 6) for attachment to a trailer (Senatro; Fig. 1; cargo trailer 104) having a plurality of cross-members (Senatro; Fig. 2; lateral cross-beams 110), comprising: a trailer skirt (Senatro; Fig. 2; front panel 134) having an outer surface that faces away from a center of the trailer when the trailer skirt is attached to the trailer (Senatro; Fig. 2; the outboard surface of front panel 134); and a rib cover (Guariento; see labeled Fig. 1 and 4 above) extending from the outer surface of the trailer skirt, the rib cover is located higher than a bottom edge of the trailer skirt in a height direction and is shaped to cover increasingly larger portions (Guariento; see labeled Fig. 1 and 4 above) of successive cross-members of the trailer when the trailer skirt is attached to the trailer (Senatro; Fig. 2; front panel 134).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN MALIKASIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645 3/18/26