DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the initial filing filed on July 28, 2023 Claims 1-13 havebeen examined in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 7/28/2023, has been acknowledged.
Response to Amendments
Amendment filed 7/28/2023 has been entered.
Claim 13 is new.
Claims 1-12 are amended.
Claims 1-13 are pending this application
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egelin (US 10,573,195 B1) in view of Coulton (WO 01/93957 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Egelin discloses a fire training facility comprising a dummy vehicle, wherein the dummy vehicle has the external dimensions of a vehicle (Fig. 7 Element 690, Col. 19 Lines 42-44 FIG. 7 illustrates an isometric view of a fire training prop 690 configured to resemble a car (dummy vehicle)) and comprises:
a dummy of a rechargeable battery for the vehicle (Col. 19 Lines 47-53 The fire can be simulated, the respective pilot and burner apparatuses 600a-600d mounted in a trunk area 692 of the car, to appear in a wheel/brake area of the car 694, to appear in a passenger 50 area 696 of the car, and/or to appear in an engine compartment 698 of the car (rechargeable battery dummy)); and
a dummy of a tire of the vehicle (Fig. 7 Element(s) 701),
wherein the rechargeable battery dummy is positioned onboard the dummy vehicle at a possible position of a rechargeable battery onboard the vehicle and comprises a fog generator and a flame generator (Col. 6 Lines 11-13 The main burner pipe and the fuel pipe are configured to generate a flame at the targeted location in the training structure to simulate the training structure being on fire (flame generator), Col. 19 Lines 47-53 The fire can be simulated, the respective pilot and burner apparatuses 600a-600d mounted in a trunk area 692 of the car, to appear in a wheel/brake area of the car 694, to appear in a passenger 50 area 696 of the car, and/or to appear in an engine compartment 698 of the car (rechargeable battery dummy at a possible position of a rechargeable battery onboard the vehicle), Col. 20 Lines 4-5 For example, the cabinet 802 can include one or more smoke discharge systems 808a, 808b (fog generator)),
wherein the fog generator of the rechargeable battery dummy is configured to generate fog such that the generated fog exits the rechargeable battery dummy (Col. 19 Line 55 - Col. 20 Lines 5 pilot and burner apparatus can be positioned within a cabinet 802 positioned in another room or another area away from the training structures (placement of fog generator is a design choice), For example, the cabinet 802 can include one or more smoke discharge systems 808a, 808b (fog generator)),
wherein the flame generator of the rechargeable battery dummy is configured to generate flames such that the generated flames exit from the rechargeable battery dummy (Col. 6 Lines 11-13 The main burner pipe and the fuel pipe are configured to generate a flame (flame generator) at the targeted location in the training structure to simulate the training structure being on fire, Col. 19 Line 55 - Col. 20 Lines 5 pilot and burner apparatus can be positioned within a cabinet 802 positioned in another room or another area away from the training structures (placement of flame generator is a design choice)),
wherein the tire dummy is positioned onboard the dummy vehicle at a possible position of a tire on the vehicle (Fig. 7 Element(s) 701).
However, Egelin is not relied upon disclosing wherein the tire dummy comprises a flame generator, and wherein the flame generator of the tire dummy is configured to generate flames such that the generated flames exit from the tire dummy.
Coulton discloses wherein the tire dummy comprises a flame generator, and wherein the flame generator of the tire dummy is configured to generate flames such that the generated flames exit from the tire dummy (Pg. 8 Lines 16-19).
Egelin and Coulton are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of firefighter training. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the fire training facility, as disclosed by Egelin, further including a tire dummy with a flame generator wherein the flames exit from the tire dummy as taught by Coulton for the purpose of simulating reality where a small brake fire grows to a tire fire (Coulton, Pg. 11 Lines 26-31 – Pg. 12 Lines 1-2).
Regarding Claim 2, Egelin discloses wherein the dummy vehicle further comprises a seat or a seat bench for at least one vehicle passenger (Fig. 7 Element 702), wherein the rechargeable battery dummy is arranged under the seat or under the seat bench (Col. 19 Lines 47-53 The fire can be simulated to appear in a passenger 50 area 696 of the car (placement under the seat or seat bench is a designer choice)).
Regarding Claim 3, Egelin discloses wherein the dummy vehicle further comprises (Fig. 7 Element 690, Col. 19 Lines 42-44 FIG . 7 illustrates an isometric view of a fire training prop 690 configured to resemble a car (dummy vehicle)):
a tank for a combustible fluid (Col. 11 Lines 1-7 The main fuel inlet 112 interconnects a fuel source (not shown) to the main fuel system 110. The fuel source includes but is not limited to tanks, cylinders, drums and combinations thereof containing an ignitable gas or liquid fuel such as ethane, propane, butane, pentane, hexane, gasoline, diesel, and combinations thereof); and
a closure, wherein the closure is configured to selectively close or release the tank (Col. 16 Lines 15-18 the main fuel valve 216 can include a solenoid that actuates a valve or similar device between an open position and a closed position).
Regarding Claim 7, Egelin discloses the fire training facility in accordance with claim 1, further comprising a signal-processing control device, wherein the control device is configured to actuate the tire dummy and afterwards the rechargeable battery dummy such that the flame generator of the actuated tire dummy starts to generate flames before, fog generator of the actuated rechargeable battery dummy starts to generate fog, and/or the flame generator of the actuated dummy rechargeable battery starts to generate flames (Col. 14 Lines 47-51 In some embodiments, the flame control system 260 (signal processing control device) provides a human machine interface configured to provide training personnel or other operators the ability to control the generation (flame generator starts to generate flames), cessation, and/or characteristics of the training fires).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egelin (US 10,573,195 B1) in view of Coulton (WO 01/93957 A1) and in further view of Blackburn (US 2010/0304345 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Egelin discloses The fire training facility in accordance with claim 1, further comprising a signal-processing control device (Col. 16 Lines 30-37 effectuate a modification to a live or controlled live fire (signal-processing control device)), and the flame generator of the actuated rechargeable battery dummy starts to generate flames (Col. 14 Lines 47-67 – Col. 15 Lines 1-3).
However, Egelin is not relied upon disclosing wherein the control device is configured to actuate the rechargeable battery dummy such that the fog generator of the actuated rechargeable battery dummy starts to generate fog before the flame generator of the actuated rechargeable battery dummy starts to generate flames.
Blackburn discloses wherein the control device is configured to actuate the rechargeable battery dummy such that the fog generator of the actuated rechargeable battery dummy starts to generate fog before the flame generator of the actuated rechargeable battery dummy starts to generate flames ([0075] When smoke generating devices are used, the smoke generating devices may also be activated at the beginning of the training session (before flame generator). The smoke generation may be controlled, for example, producing a relatively low smoke output initially and then increasing the smoke output with time, for example, as the simulated flames increase or spread).
Egelin and Blackburn are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of firefighting methods and equipment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the fire training facility, as disclosed by Egelin, further including control device is configured to actuate the rechargeable battery dummy such that the fog generator of the actuated rechargeable battery dummy starts to generate fog before the flame generator of the actuated rechargeable battery dummy starts to generate flames as taught by Blackburn for the purpose of providing advantageous methods and apparatus for firefighting training (Blackburn, [0077]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egelin (US 10,573,195 B1) in view of Coulton (WO 01/93957 A1) and in further view of Blackburn (US 2010/0304345 A1) and Price (GB 2363569 A).
Regarding Claim 5, Egelin discloses the fire training facility in accordance with claim 1.
However, Egelin is not relied upon disclosing wherein the fog generator of the dummy rechargeable battery comprises: fog machine; and/or fog generator; and/or
pyrotechnics component.
Blackburn discloses wherein the fog generator of the dummy rechargeable battery comprises: fog machine; and/or fog generator ([0053] For example, as shown in FIG. 10, system 110 may include one or more smoke generating devices 150 (fog generator/machine). As shown in FIG. 10, an auxiliary device. Such as smoke generating device 150, may interface with)
However, Blackburn is not relied upon disclosing a pyrotechnics component.
Price discloses a pyrotechnics component (Pg. 6 Lines 18-29 Also included within the cabinet 15 are pyrotechnic devices (pyrotechnic devices) which can be triggered by the operator).
Egelin and Price are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of simulating firefighting. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the fire training facility, as disclosed by Egelin, further including dummy rechargeable battery comprising a pyrotechnics component as taught by Price for the purpose of to safely simulating the potentially lethal consequences of attacking an electrical fire with a water-based extinguisher. (Price, Pg. 6 Lines 25-29).
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egelin (US 10,573,195 B1) in view of Coulton (WO 01/93957 A1) and in further view of Price (GB 2363569 A).
Regarding Claim 6, Eglin discloses the fire training facility in accordance with claim 1.
However, Eglin is not relied upon disclosing wherein the flame generator of the rechargeable battery dummy comprises a pyrotechnics component and a burner for burning a combustible fluid, and the fire training facility further comprises a signal-processing control device, wherein the control device is configured to actuate the rechargeable battery dummy such that the pyrotechnics component is activated and starts to generate flames before, the burner is activated and ignites a combustible fluid.
Price discloses wherein the flame generator of the rechargeable battery dummy comprises a pyrotechnics component and a burner for burning a combustible fluid, and the fire training facility further comprises a signal-processing control device, wherein the control device is configured to actuate the rechargeable battery dummy such that the pyrotechnics component is activated and starts to generate flames before, the burner is activated and ignites a combustible fluid (Pg. 2 Lines 20-36 and Pg. 3 Lines 5-9 the fire simulator having an ignition mechanism for automatically igniting combustion gas (combustible fluid) issuing from the gas burners, Pg. 6 Lines 18-29 Also included within the cabinet 15 are pyrotechnic devices (pyrotechnic devices) which can be triggered by the operator (signal processing device triggers pyrotechnic device(s))).
Claims 8-10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egelin (US 10,573,195 B1) in view of Coulton (WO 01/93957 A1) and in further view of Staley (US 2014/0021915 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Egelin discloses the fire training facility in accordance with claim 1,
However, Egelin is not relied upon disclosing wherein the rechargeable battery dummy comprises a plate made of a metallic material, wherein the plate forms an area of an outer surface of the rechargeable battery dummy and is detachably fastened to another portion of the rechargeable battery dummy.
Staley discloses wherein the rechargeable battery dummy comprises a plate made of a metallic material, wherein the plate forms an area of an outer surface of the rechargeable battery dummy and is detachably fastened to another portion of the rechargeable battery dummy ([0027] Manual attachment and detachment is controlled through the release trigger 100, [0028] The plug 30 is shown detached from the vehicle connector 40. Connector 40 is embedded in the vehicle behind the outer sheet metal (metal plate)).
Egelin and Staley are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of electric vehicle support devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the fire training facility, as disclosed by Egelin, further including a metallic plate that forms an area of an outer surface of the rechargeable battery dummy and is detachably fastened to another portion of the rechargeable battery dummy as taught by Staley for the purpose of embedding the connector behind something that would shield or protect it (Staley, [0028]).
Regarding Claim 9, Egelin discloses the fire training facility in accordance with claim 1.
However, Egelin is not relied upon disclosing the fire training facility further comprising a charging station dummy, wherein the charging station dummy comprises a cable dummy and wherein the cable dummy is configured to be connected to the dummy vehicle.
Staley discloses the fire training facility further comprising a charging station dummy, wherein the charging station dummy comprises a cable dummy and wherein the cable dummy is configured to be connected to the dummy vehicle ([0025] The charging station includes a motorized reel assembly for a power cord (cable), [0026] In FIG. 2, a plug 30 is detached from a vehicle connector (or receptacle) 40 thus the prongs 50 or receptor of the connector is showing (plug configured to connect to vehicle)).
Regarding Claim 10, Egelin discloses the fire training facility in accordance with claim 9.
However, Egelin is not relied upon disclosing wherein the dummy vehicle further comprises a cable receptacle for the cable dummy, wherein the cable dummy is configured to be inserted into the cable receptacle.
Staley discloses wherein the dummy vehicle further comprises a cable receptacle for the cable dummy, wherein the cable dummy is configured to be inserted into the cable receptacle ([0026] In FIG. 2, a plug 30 is detached from a vehicle connector (or receptacle) 40 thus the prongs 50 or receptor of the connector is showing (plug configured to connect to vehicle)).
Regarding Claim 13, Egelin discloses the fire training facility in accordance with claim 10.
However, Egelin is not relied upon disclosing wherein the dummy cable is configured to be locked in the cable receptacle.
Staley discloses wherein the dummy cable is configured to be locked in the cable receptacle ([0028] Tab 220 includes a hook 240 onto which an actuable release lever 250 on the plug 30 can attach (used to lock plug into cable receptacle)).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egelin (US 10,573,195 B1) in view of Coulton (WO 01/93957 A1), and in further view of Dawei (CN 113006565 A).
Regarding Claim 11, Egelin discloses the fire training facility in accordance with Claim 1, further comprising a garage (Col. 6 Lines 15-18 In some embodiments of the fourth aspect, the training structure comprises a wall, a ceiling, (garage like structure) and a flame outlet to direct the flame delivered from the main burner pipe along a ceiling of the training structure).
However, Egelin is not relied upon disclosing wherein the garage is dimensioned to accommodate the dummy vehicle and to encircle the accommodated dummy vehicle.
However, Dawei discloses a garage, wherein the garage is dimensioned to accommodate the dummy vehicle and to encircle the accommodated dummy vehicle ([0054] the parking board 24 is slidably installed in the sliding groove 112 to complete the parking of the car (garage is able to accommodate vehicle, so garage is dimensioned to accommodate the vehicle)).
Egelin and Dawei are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of mobile equipment and use methods. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the fire training facility, as disclosed by Egelin, further including wherein the garage is dimensioned to accommodate the dummy vehicle and to encircle the accommodated dummy vehicle as taught by Dawei for the purpose of eliminating the need for manual parking by drivers, avoiding the difficulty of reversing for novice drivers, improving the overall parking efficiency, and optimizing the difficulty of parking (Dawei, [0058]).
Regarding Claim 12, Egelin discloses the fire training facility in accordance with claim 11.
However, Egelin is not relied upon disclosing wherein the dummy vehicle is configured to selectively be moved between inside the garage and outside the garage.
However, Dawei discloses wherein the dummy vehicle is configured to selectively be moved between inside the garage and outside the garage ([0022] The present invention uses the first sliding plate (configured to be selectively moved in/out of the garage), the second sliding rod and the moving mechanism to park the car to be parked in the idle parking bin of the garage, [0054] Step 4. Use the console 4 and control the moving mechanism 3 to move in the garage 1 and when it reaches the empty parking space in the first parking area 11).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bloemker (US 2020/0398094 A1) teaches firefighting training units.
/HAMID TARIQ HAFIZ/
Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/KANG HU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715