DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the filing filed on June 22, 2026, Claims 1-20 have been examined in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 7/28/2023 has been acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
The Amendment filed June 22nd, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-13 remain pending in this application and claims 14-20 are new. Applicant’s arguments filed 6/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments that Egelin does not disclose a “dummy vehicle that has the external dimensions of a vehicle”, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The fire training prop disclosed in Column 19, lines 42-44 of Egelin reads on the claim language under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. The applicant defines a “dummy” to be “a physical object (mock-up) that has the external dimensions of this vehicle or vehicle component or other object” and defines a “vehicle” as “a real vehicle, which can catch fire”. The application of Egelin is to “to create simulated fire conditions to permit trainees to practice firefighting techniques” (see Col. 1, Lines 25-26). As a result, one of ordinary skill in the art would consider the car (vehicle) in Figure 7 of Egelin to have the “external dimensions of a vehicle”. In addition, the applicant’s own definition on Page 2 Lines 12-14 of the specification reads as “A "dummy" of a (real) vehicle or of a (real) vehicle component or of another object is defined as a physical object (mock-up) that has the external dimensions of this vehicle or vehicle component or other objec”. This definition includes “other object”, which significantly widens the scope for a “dummy”. The vehicle is used to simulate fires in various parts of the car (see Col. 19, Lines 42-54), which reads on the claim language as written. Furthermore, the applicant has not specified exact dimensions for which the “dummy vehicle” can or cannot be considered a “dummy vehicle”. This may be because there are a plurality of vehicles (e.g. planes, trains, cars, trucks, boats, helicopters, etc…), and they all have a wide range of “external dimensions”. Therefore, the vehicle disclosed in Figure 7 and Colum 19 Lines 42-54 of Egelin reads on the applicant’s claim language of “a dummy vehicle that has the external dimensions of a vehicle”.
In response to applicant’s arguments that Egelin does not disclose a “rechargeable battery dummy”, the examiner respectfully disagrees. As previously stated, “a dummy” needs to be a physical object that has the external dimensions of a vehicle, vehicle component, or other object (Page 2, Lines 12-14 of Applicant’s Specification). A “rechargeable battery dummy” is not limited to being a rechargeable battery. It needs to only have the dimensions of a “rechargeable battery”, which is very broad. In addition, the “rechargeable battery” is not limited to being a “rechargeable car battery”, as it was not specified within the applicant’s specification. There are many types of rechargeable batteries and therefore there can be many types of “rechargeable battery dummies.” Furthermore, “rechargeable battery dummy” is intended use of the “dummy” and does not limit the type of dummy that is used. A “rechargeable battery dummy” need only be a dummy that can be used to fill the role of a vehicle component that may catch on fire, and would not be structurally different than a “battery dummy” or other vehicle component dummy that would fill the role of that structure. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that both dummy structures serve the same purpose of simulating a vehicle component catching on fire. Lastly, as mentioned by the applicant, Egelin, Jr. et al. discloses in Column 19, lines 47-53, “an engine compartment 698, i.e., a compartment configured to house an engine.” The dummy placed in this compartment reads on the application of using a “rechargeable battery dummy” or even a “battery dummy”, as that’s where the battery would be located. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a “dummy” within the engine compartment having the dimensions of a battery or rechargeable battery is in fact a battery. Having a dummy in that area of the vehicle achieves the goal of simulating a fire in that compartment and therefore reads on the claims as written.
In response to the cited prior art references as a whole not teaching or suggesting a rechargeable battery dummy that comprises a fog generator and a flame generator, wherein fog and flames exit from the rechargeable battery dummy as claimed, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Column 20 Lines 55-56 of Egelin Jr. et al. discloses “The pilot and burner apparatus 900 can be installed in the burn prop 902”, meaning that flame generators can be inside the dummy or burn prop. In addition, Column 9 Lines 49-53 of Egelin Jr. et al. discloses “…produce fires that generate heat and smoke for training experience that models real life conditions.” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the fire and smoke generators inside the dummy compartments and their intended uses (e.g. vehicle, battery, etc…), and the motivation for doing so is clearly stated by Egelin Jr. et al., “…for training experience that models real life conditions.” Moving the flame and smoke generating components inside props to make the simulation more realistic is an obvious step for one of ordinary skill in the art. Which props/dummies a user chooses to put each of these elements in, is a design choice. As Egelin Jr. et al. discloses in Column 19 Lines 45-47 “The fire training prop 690 can be configured to resemble other structures, such as airplanes, helicopters, dumpsters, houses, kitchens, or the like,” providing a wide variety of examples of uses for the flame generator, which further clarifies the that incorporating the flame/smoke generator into a prop/dummy is a design choice. The applicant’s use of flame and fog (smoke) generating elements placed inside of dummies (props) intended to be used for different purposes does not make the application patentably distinct from what is being disclosed by Egelin Jr. et al.
In response to applicant’s arguments that Egelin, Jr. et al. does not disclose that the generated flames exit from the rechargeable battery dummy, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Column 19 Lines 41 discloses “configured to provide a flame at different regions of the training prop 680 to simulate the training structure being on fire.” This is functionally analogous to having generators at different locations of the training prop/dummy, as it achieves the same result of simulating a fire for that prop/dummy. Having many generators that can generate fires at different locations versus one generator that can generate fire at one location, does not make one patentably distinct over the other, as they both achieve the same result.
In response to the applicant’s arguments that Coulton is entirely unrelated to electric vehicle battery fire simulation and that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not use the teachings of Coulton to modify the training facility of Egelin, Jr. et al, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Coulton discloses an aircraft with wheel/tire structures including a leg burner pipe, which in other words, is a vehicle with tires that emit fire. This art is closely related to Egelin Jr. et al., because both references are in the field of firefighting training and both references have examples of simulating fires for vehicles. Coulton’s example is the aircraft as mentioned already, and Egelin Jr.’s example was previously mentioned in Column 19 Lines 45-47, which discloses “The fire training prop 690 can be configured to resemble other structures, such as airplanes, helicopters, dumpsters, houses, kitchens, or the like.” Egelin Jr. et al. already discloses airplanes and helicopters (aircraft), so modifying Egelin Jr.’s flame generator with Coulton’s leg burner on the wheel/tire structure, would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, especially in the field of firefighting training. Modifying the vehicle prop disclosed in Egelin Jr. to utilize wheel/tire flame generators would be obvious, because it creates a more realistic training simulation for firefighters, which provides better training for firefighters.
In response to the applicant’s arguments that Coulton is silent regarding a dummy vehicle having the external dimensions of a vehicle; a rechargeable battery dummy; positioning the rechargeable battery dummy at a possible location of a real rechargeable battery; a flame generator forming part of the rechargeable battery dummy; and a fog generator forming part of the rechargeable battery dummy, the examiner respectfully agrees. This is because the examiner is not relying upon Coulton to teach any of these features. The Examiner is utilizing Egelin Jr. et al to disclose these features, and is using the teachings of Coulton to modify Egelin Jr. to teach “wherein the tire dummy comprises a flame generator, and wherein the flame generator of the tire dummy is configured to generate flames such that the generated flames exit from the tire dummy.”
In response to the applicant’s arguments that neither Egelin, Jr. et al. alone nor the combination of Egelin, Jr. et al. and Coulton teaches or suggests the claimed fire training facility, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Page 1 Lines 13-14 notes that “the term ‘fire training facility’ denotes hereinafter a physical object and not a simulation program, which runs on a computer.” According to this definition, the vehicle disclosed by Egelin Jr. et al. as previously stated in the Office Action reads on a “fire training facility”, as it is a “physical object” used for firefighting training. Furthermore, “a facility” can be defined as, “a place, building, equipment, or service built or provided to serve a specific purpose.” Under that definition, the vehicle disclosed by Egelin Jr. et al. as previously stated in the Office action, reads on a “fire training facility.” The cited references disclose all claim limitations of the independent claim as discussed previously.
In response to the Applicant’s arguments that Egelin, Jr. et al. and Coulton as a whole do not teach or suggest a dummy vehicle that comprises a tank for a combustible fluid, the examiner respectfully disagrees. As previously stated by the Applicant, “Egelin, Jr. et al. merely discloses a pilot fuel valve 226 and/or a main fuel valve 216 that can include a solenoid that actuates a valve or similar device between an open and a closed position.” Actuating a fuel valve is functionally analogous to selectively opening and closing a tank. Therefore, the actuation of the fuel valve “between an open and a closed position” reads on the limitation of, “the closure is configured to selectively close or open the tank”.
In response to the applicant’s arguments that Blackburn et al. does not teach or suggest a control device as featured in the present invention, the examiner respectfully disagrees. As previously discussed above, Egelin, Jr. et al. and Coulton teach or suggest a rechargeable battery dummy that comprises a flame generator and a fog generator as claimed. The examiner agrees that Blackburn et al. also does not provide any teaching or suggestion as to a rechargeable battery dummy, wherein a control device is configured to actuate the rechargeable battery dummy such that the fog generator of the actuated rechargeable battery dummy starts to generate fog before the flame generator of the actuated rechargeable battery dummy starts to generate flames as claimed, but Blackburn et al. is not relied upon disclosing or teaching any of those limitations. As the applicant previously mentioned, Blackburn et al. discloses multiple possible simulation scenarios, including: flames beginning first, smoke beginning simultaneously, smoke increasing over time, or smoke beginning at a high level from the start. This indicates that either flame or smoke (fog) generation can occur at the start, and that one can occur and then the other can occur. Altering the order in which these occur does not make the claimed invention patentably distinct over the combination of Egelin Jr. et al. in view of Coulton, and in further view of Blackburn et al. In addition, Blackburn teaches that there are multiple simulation scenarios, which means they can be used for multiple scenarios, including generating smoke/fog first and then fire/flames.
In response to the applicant’s arguments that the rejection improperly combines isolated disclosures from unrelated systems while failing to identify where the claimed, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The cited prior art references as a whole teach and suggest a fog generator of a rechargeable battery dummy that comprises: a fog machine; and/or a smoke pot; and/or a fog pot; and/or a pyrotechnics component. As previously discussed above, Egelin, Jr. et al. and Coulton provide teachings or suggestions as to integrating a fog generator into a rechargeable battery dummy. Blackburn et al. discloses generalized fire-training effects, and Blackburn et al. discloses a fog generator in the context of a rechargeable battery dummy as featured in the present invention, because as stated previously, a “rechargeable battery dummy” is something that as the dimensions of a “rechargeable battery”, which is quite broad. Price teaches a pyrotechnics component as well as smoke generating effects. Both occur inside a cabinet (15), as stated on Page 6 Lines 18-29. The cabinet could be used as a “rechargeable battery dummy”, because all that is required by the applicant’s specification and claims is that the “rechargeable battery dummy” have the external dimensions of a “rechargeable battery.” Furthermore, claim 5 is written in the alternative meaning that only one of a “fog machine,” “fog generator,” or pyrotechnics component be taught. Price was introduced as supplementary art to teach the pyrotechnics component, but was not necessary to do so.
In response to applicant’s argument that Price et al. does not disclose a control device that is configured to activate the pyrotechnic devices before a combustible-fluid burner, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The cited prior art references as a whole teach and suggest a flame generator of a rechargeable battery dummy that comprises a pyrotechnics component and a burner for burning a combustible fluid, wherein a control device is configured to actuate the rechargeable battery dummy such that the pyrotechnics component is activated and starts to generate flames before the burner is activated and ignites a combustible fluid as claimed. Price discloses on Page 6 Lines 18-36 that the operator is cable of controlling the smoke generating device and the pyrotechnic devices, and as a result, this allows the operator to choose when to turn on and off each component. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Egelin Jr. et al. and Coulton with the teachings of Price to activate pyrotechnic devices before a combustible-fluid burner. Therefore, Price’s teachings in combination with Egelin Jr. et al. and Coulton reads on the claimed limitation(s) in claim 6.
In response to applicant’s arguments that Staley does not provide any teaching or suggestion that directs a person of ordinary skill in the art toward incorporating such vehicle charging technology into a fire-training facility for firefighter training, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The cited prior art references as a whole provides teachings or suggestions that direct a person of ordinary skill in the art toward a rechargeable battery dummy that comprises a plate made of a metallic material and a charging station dummy that comprises a cable dummy and wherein the cable dummy is configured to be connected to the dummy vehicle as featured in the present invention. Staley is not required to teach that the disclosed invention of Staley is capable of being integrated into a fire-training facility for firefighter training. Staley need only be possible to combine with other references in order to teach a fire-training facility for firefighter training. As stated by the applicant, Staley et al. discloses vehicle charging technology or charging connectors. Egelin Jr. et al. discloses an invention for firefighter training and discloses that fires can be simulated in vehicles. In addition, Paragraph [0002] of Staley states that “modern vehicles are configured to run the vehicle’s powertrain off of electrical power… electrical vehicles have become increasingly popular,” meaning that electrical vehicles are more common in modern times. Therefore, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Egelin Jr. et al. in view of Coulton with the teachings of Staley to achieve the predictable result of simulating fires at charging stations. Furthermore, Column 8 Lines 62-67 of Coulton discloses that the pilot and burner apparatuses can be used in conjunction various “fire training props” such as “gas lines/meters”, and Page 4 Lines 19-26 of Coulton discloses that “there is always a risk of accidental fuel spillage… mobile pumping station in between the underground fuel tanks and the aircraft to meter and filter the fuel.” When both references are combined, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to simulate fires for firefighter training at gas stations or vehicle fueling stations due to the risks of fuel spillage, which presents “significant opportunities for accidents to occur” especially with nearby “ignition sources” as mentioned by Coulton. Now combining that teaching with the modern charging station taught by Staley, it can be seen how it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to simulate fires at charging stations to help aid in firefighting training.
In response to applicant’s arguments that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be directed toward the teachings of Dawei and that Dawei is void of any teaching or suggestion as to a training facility for firefighters or for simulating a fire occurring, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Egelin, Jr. et al., Coulton, and Dawei as a whole direct a person of ordinary skill in the art toward a garage that is dimensioned to accommodate a dummy vehicle and to enclose the accommodated dummy vehicle as claimed. Dawei is not void of any teaching or suggestion as to a training facility for firefighters. The background of Dawei mentions a firefighting facility, although it is mentioned as a reason why parking spaces cannot be installed in many places. Nonetheless, Dawei discloses a moving device that comprises a garage, a parking platform, a moving mechanism and a control platform, as mentioned by the applicant. Dawei’s goal is to solve the problem of difficult parking, which can be applied to firefighting facilities. In addition, Coulton discloses firefighting facilities, vehicles, and props to help create different scenarios for firefighting training. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Coulton with the teachings of Dawei to create additional firefighting scenarios. There is disclosure in Dawei that directs a person of ordinary skill in the art toward a garage that is dimensioned to accommodate a dummy vehicle and to enclose the accommodated dummy vehicle as claimed. As such, the references together teach or suggest the combination of features claimed.
New claims 14-20 have been considered for examination in this application
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 14-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egelin Jr. et al. (US 10,573,195 B1) in view of Coulton (WO 01/93957 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Egelin discloses a fire training facility comprising a dummy vehicle, wherein the dummy vehicle has the external dimensions of a vehicle (Fig. 7 Element 690, Col. 19 Lines 42-44 FIG. 7 illustrates an isometric view of a fire training prop 690 configured to resemble a car (dummy vehicle)) and comprises:
a dummy of a rechargeable battery for the vehicle (Col. 19 Lines 47-53 The fire can be simulated, the respective pilot and burner apparatuses 600a-600d mounted in a trunk area 692 of the car, to appear in a wheel/brake area of the car 694, to appear in a passenger 50 area 696 of the car, and/or to appear in an engine compartment 698 of the car (rechargeable battery dummy)); and
a dummy of a tire of the vehicle (Fig. 7 Element(s) 701),
wherein the rechargeable battery dummy is positioned onboard the dummy vehicle at a possible position of a rechargeable battery onboard the vehicle and comprises a fog generator and a flame generator (Col. 6 Lines 11-13 The main burner pipe and the fuel pipe are configured to generate a flame at the targeted location in the training structure to simulate the training structure being on fire (flame generator), Col. 19 Lines 47-53 The fire can be simulated, the respective pilot and burner apparatuses 600a-600d mounted in a trunk area 692 of the car, to appear in a wheel/brake area of the car 694, to appear in a passenger 50 area 696 of the car, and/or to appear in an engine compartment 698 of the car (rechargeable battery dummy at a possible position of a rechargeable battery onboard the vehicle), Col. 20 Lines 4-5 For example, the cabinet 802 can include one or more smoke discharge systems 808a, 808b (fog generator)),
wherein the fog generator of the rechargeable battery dummy is configured to generate fog such that the generated fog exits from the rechargeable battery dummy (Col. 19 Line 55 - Col. 20 Lines 5 pilot and burner apparatus can be positioned within a cabinet 802 positioned in another room or another area away from the training structures (placement of fog generator is a design choice), For example, the cabinet 802 can include one or more smoke discharge systems 808a, 808b (fog generator)),
wherein the flame generator of the rechargeable battery dummy is configured to generate flames such that the generated flames exit from the rechargeable battery dummy (Col. 6 Lines 11-13 The main burner pipe and the fuel pipe are configured to generate a flame (flame generator) at the targeted location in the training structure to simulate the training structure being on fire, Col. 19 Line 55 - Col. 20 Lines 5 pilot and burner apparatus can be positioned within a cabinet 802 positioned in another room or another area away from the training structures (placement of flame generator is a design choice)),
wherein the tire dummy is positioned onboard the dummy vehicle at a possible position of a tire on the vehicle (Fig. 7 Element(s) 701).
However, Egelin is not relied upon disclosing wherein the tire dummy comprises a flame generator, and wherein the flame generator of the tire dummy is configured to generate flames such that the generated flames exit from the tire dummy.
Coulton discloses wherein the tire dummy comprises a flame generator, and wherein the flame generator of the tire dummy is configured to generate flames such that the generated flames exit from the tire dummy (Pg. 8 Lines 16-19).
Egelin and Coulton are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of firefighter training. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the fire training facility, as disclosed by Egelin, further including a tire dummy with a flame generator wherein the flames exit from the tire dummy as taught by Coulton for the purpose of simulating reality where a small brake fire grows to a tire fire (Coulton, Pg. 11 Lines 26-31 – Pg. 12 Lines 1-2).
Regarding Claim 2, Egelin discloses wherein the dummy vehicle further comprises a seat or a seat bench for at least one vehicle passenger (Fig. 7 Element 702), wherein the rechargeable battery dummy is arranged under the seat or under the seat bench (Col. 19 Lines 47-53 The fire can be simulated to appear in a passenger 50 area 696 of the car (placement under the seat or seat bench is a designer choice)).
Regarding Claim 3, Egelin discloses wherein the dummy vehicle further comprises (Fig. 7 Element 690, Col. 19 Lines 42-44 FIG . 7 illustrates an isometric view of a fire training prop 690 configured to resemble a car (dummy vehicle)):
a tank for a combustible fluid (Col. 11 Lines 1-7 The main fuel inlet 112 interconnects a fuel source (not shown) to the main fuel system 110. The fuel source includes but is not limited to tanks, cylinders, drums and combinations thereof containing an ignitable gas or liquid fuel such as ethane, propane, butane, pentane, hexane, gasoline, diesel, and combinations thereof); and
a closure, wherein the closure is configured to selectively close or open the tank (Col. 16 Lines 15-18 the main fuel valve 216 can include a solenoid that actuates a valve or similar device between an open position and a closed position).
Regarding Claim 7, Egelin discloses a signal-processing control device, wherein the control device is configured to actuate the tire dummy and afterwards the rechargeable battery dummy such that the flame generator of the actuated tire dummy starts to generate flames before the fog generator of the actuated rechargeable battery dummy starts to generate fog, and/or before the flame generator of the actuated rechargeable battery dummy starts to generate flames (Col. 14 Lines 47-51 In some embodiments, the flame control system 260 (signal processing control device) provides a human machine interface configured to provide training personnel or other operators the ability to control the generation (flame generator starts to generate flames), cessation, and/or characteristics of the training fires).
Regarding Claim 14, Egelin discloses a fire training facility comprising:
a dummy vehicle, wherein the dummy vehicle has the external dimensions of a vehicle (Fig. 7 Element 690, Col. 19 Lines 42-44 FIG. 7 illustrates an isometric view of a fire training prop 690 configured to resemble a car (dummy vehicle)), the dummy vehicle comprising:
a dummy of a rechargeable battery for the vehicle (Col. 19 Lines 47-53 The fire can be simulated, the respective pilot and burner apparatuses 600a-600d mounted in a trunk area 692 of the car, to appear in a wheel/brake area of the car 694, to appear in a passenger 50 area 696 of the car, and/or to appear in an engine compartment 698 of the car (rechargeable battery dummy)); and
a dummy of a tire of the vehicle (Fig. 7 Element(s) 701),
wherein the rechargeable battery dummy is positioned onboard the dummy vehicle and comprises a fog generator and a flame generator (Col. 6 Lines 11-13 The main burner pipe and the fuel pipe are configured to generate a flame at the targeted location in the training structure to simulate the training structure being on fire (flame generator), Col. 19 Lines 47-53 The fire can be simulated, the respective pilot and burner apparatuses 600a-600d mounted in a trunk area 692 of the car, to appear in a wheel/brake area of the car 694, to appear in a passenger 50 area 696 of the car, and/or to appear in an engine compartment 698 of the car (rechargeable battery dummy at a possible position of a rechargeable battery onboard the vehicle), Col. 20 Lines 4-5 For example, the cabinet 802 can include one or more smoke discharge systems 808a, 808b (fog generator)),
wherein the fog generator of the rechargeable battery dummy is configured to generate fog such that the generated fog exits from the rechargeable battery dummy (Col. 19 Line 55 - Col. 20 Lines 5 pilot and burner apparatus can be positioned within a cabinet 802 positioned in another room or another area away from the training structures (placement of fog generator is a design choice), For example, the cabinet 802 can include one or more smoke discharge systems 808a, 808b (fog generator)),
wherein the flame generator of the rechargeable battery dummy is configured to generate flames such that the generated flames exit from the rechargeable battery dummy (Col. 6 Lines 11-13 The main burner pipe and the fuel pipe are configured to generate a flame (flame generator) at the targeted location in the training structure to simulate the training structure being on fire, Col. 19 Line 55 - Col. 20 Lines 5 pilot and burner apparatus can be positioned within a cabinet 802 positioned in another room or another area away from the training structures (placement of flame generator is a design choice)),
wherein the fog generator and the flame generator are configured to be actuated independently of each other (Col. 9 Lines 1-11 In some embodiments, a plurality of apparatuses can be configured to deliver independently controlled burn zones, each of which has its own independent pilot and burner apparatus (flames can be actuated independently), Col. 14 Lines 24-46 In some implementations, the attributes (such as smoke/fog) of the fire produced by the pilot and burner apparatus 200 can be controlled independent of the flame control system 260 or in conjunction with the flame control system 260 using mechanical, electrical, and electromechanical devices such as fans, flaps, louvers, dampers, and the like incorporated into training, Col. 14 Lines 50-67 The pilot and burner apparatuses 200 can be included in systems configured to provide smoke distribution (fog generator)), and
wherein the tire dummy is positioned onboard the dummy vehicle at a position of a tire on the vehicle (Fig. 7 Element(s) 701).
However, Egelin is not relied upon disclosing wherein the tire dummy comprises a flame generator, and wherein the flame generator of the tire dummy is configured to generate flames such that the generated flames exit from the tire dummy.
Coulton discloses wherein the tire dummy comprises a flame generator, and wherein the flame generator of the tire dummy is configured to generate flames such that the generated flames exit from the tire dummy (Pg. 8 Lines 16-19).
Regarding Claim 15, Egelin discloses wherein the dummy vehicle further comprises a seat or a seat bench for at least one vehicle passenger (Fig. 7 Element 702), wherein the rechargeable battery dummy is arranged under the seat or under the seat bench (Col. 19 Lines 47-53 The fire can be simulated to appear in a passenger 50 area 696 of the car (placement under the seat or seat bench is a designer choice, because dummies or props can be placed wherever the user would like to simulate a fire)).
Regarding Claim 16, Egelin discloses wherein the dummy vehicle further comprises (Fig. 7 Element 690, Col. 19 Lines 42-44 FIG. 7 illustrates an isometric view of a fire training prop 690 configured to resemble a car (dummy vehicle)):
a tank for a combustible fluid (Col. 11 Lines 1-7 The main fuel inlet 112 interconnects a fuel source (not shown) to the main fuel system 110. The fuel source includes but is not limited to tanks, cylinders, drums and combinations thereof containing an ignitable gas or liquid fuel such as ethane, propane, butane, pentane, hexane, gasoline, diesel, and combinations thereof); and
a closure, wherein the closure is configured to selectively close or open the tank (Col. 16 Lines 15-18 the main fuel valve 216 can include a solenoid that actuates a valve or similar device between an open position and a closed position).
Regarding Claim 20, Egelin discloses a signal-processing control device, wherein the control device is configured to actuate the tire dummy and afterwards the rechargeable battery dummy such that the flame generator of the actuated tire dummy starts to generate flames before the fog generator of the actuated rechargeable battery dummy starts to generate fog, and/or before the flame generator of the actuated rechargeable battery dummy starts to generate flames (Col. 14 Lines 47-51 In some embodiments, the flame control system 260 (signal processing control device) provides a human machine interface configured to provide training personnel or other operators the ability to control the generation (flame generator starts to generate flames), cessation, and/or characteristics of the training fires).
Claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egelin Jr. et al. (US 10,573,195 B1) in view of Coulton (WO 01/93957 A1) and in further view of Blackburn et al. (US 2010/0304345 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Egelin discloses a signal-processing control device (Col. 16 Lines 30-37 effectuate a modification to a live or controlled live fire (signal-processing control device)), and the flame generator of the actuated rechargeable battery dummy starts to generate flames (Col. 14 Lines 47-67 – Col. 15 Lines 1-3).
However, Egelin is not relied upon disclosing wherein the control device is configured to actuate the rechargeable battery dummy such that the fog generator of the actuated rechargeable battery dummy starts to generate fog before the flame generator of the actuated rechargeable battery dummy starts to generate flames.
Blackburn discloses wherein the control device is configured to actuate the rechargeable battery dummy such that the fog generator of the actuated rechargeable battery dummy starts to generate fog before the flame generator of the actuated rechargeable battery dummy starts to generate flames ([0075] When smoke generating devices are used, the smoke generating devices may also be activated at the beginning of the training session (before flame generator). The smoke generation may be controlled, for example, producing a relatively low smoke output initially and then increasing the smoke output with time, for example, as the simulated flames increase or spread).
Egelin and Blackburn are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of firefighting methods and equipment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the fire training facility, as disclosed by Egelin, further including control device is configured to actuate the rechargeable battery dummy such that the fog generator of the actuated rechargeable battery dummy starts to generate fog before the flame generator of the actuated rechargeable battery dummy starts to generate flames as taught by Blackburn for the purpose of providing advantageous methods and apparatus for firefighting training (Blackburn, [0077]).
Regarding Claim 17, Egelin discloses a signal-processing control device (Col. 16 Lines 30-37 effectuate a modification to a live or controlled live fire (signal-processing control device)), and the flame generator of the actuated rechargeable battery dummy starts to generate flames (Col. 14 Lines 47-67 – Col. 15 Lines 1-3), wherein the control device is configured to actuate the rechargeable battery dummy such that the fog generator of the actuated rechargeable battery dummy starts to generate fog before the flame generator of the actuated rechargeable battery dummy starts to generate flames.
However, Egelin is not relied upon disclosing wherein the control device is configured to actuate the rechargeable battery dummy such that the fog generator of the actuated rechargeable battery dummy starts to generate fog before the flame generator of the actuated rechargeable battery dummy starts to generate flames.
Blackburn discloses wherein the control device is configured to actuate the rechargeable battery dummy such that the fog generator of the actuated rechargeable battery dummy starts to generate fog before the flame generator of the actuated rechargeable battery dummy starts to generate flames ([0075] When smoke generating devices are used, the smoke generating devices may also be activated at the beginning of the training session (before flame generator). The smoke generation may be controlled, for example, producing a relatively low smoke output initially and then increasing the smoke output with time, for example, as the simulated flames increase or spread).
Claims 5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egelin Jr. et al. (US 10,573,195 B1) in view of Coulton (WO 01/93957 A1) and in further view of Blackburn et al. (US 2010/0304345 A1) and Price et al. (GB 2363569 A).
Regarding Claim 5, Egelin discloses the fire training facility in accordance with claim 1.
However, Egelin is not relied upon disclosing wherein the fog generator of the rechargeable battery dummy comprises: fog machine; and/or smoke pot; and/or a pyrotechnics component.
Blackburn discloses wherein the fog generator of the rechargeable battery dummy comprises: fog machine; and/or smoke pot; and/or a pyrotechnics component ([0053] For example, as shown in FIG. 10, system 110 may include one or more smoke generating devices 150 (fog generator/machine). As shown in FIG. 10, an auxiliary device. Such as smoke generating device 150, may interface with)
However, Blackburn is not relied upon disclosing a pyrotechnics component.
Price discloses a pyrotechnics component (Pg. 6 Lines 18-29 Also included within the cabinet 15 are pyrotechnic devices (pyrotechnic devices) which can be triggered by the operator).
Egelin and Price are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of simulating firefighting. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the fire training facility, as disclosed by Egelin, further including dummy rechargeable battery comprising a pyrotechnics component as taught by Price for the purpose of to safely simulating the potentially lethal consequences of attacking an electrical fire with a water-based extinguisher. (Price, Pg. 6 Lines 25-29).
Examiner’s Note: Claim 5 is written in the alternative, so it is only necessary to teach a “fog machine,” “smoke pot,” or “a pyrotechnics component.” Price is primarily added as a supplementary teaching for a pyrotechnics component, but is not required in addition to Blackburn to reject the claim.
Regarding Claim 18, Egelin is not relied upon disclosing wherein the fog generator of the rechargeable battery dummy comprises: a fog machine; and/or a smoke pot; and/or a fog pot; and/or a pyrotechnics component.
Blackburn teaches wherein the fog generator of the rechargeable battery dummy comprises: a fog machine; and/or a smoke pot; and/or a fog pot ([0053] For example, as shown in FIG. 10, system 110 may include one or more smoke generating devices 150 (fog generator/machine). As shown in FIG. 10, an auxiliary device. Such as smoke generating device 150, may interface with).
However, Blackburn is not relied upon disclosing a pyrotechnics component.
Price discloses a pyrotechnics component (Pg. 6 Lines 18-29 Also included within the cabinet 15 are pyrotechnic devices (pyrotechnic devices) which can be triggered by the operator).
Examiner’s Note: Claim 5 is written in the alternative, so it is only necessary to teach a “fog machine,” “smoke pot,” or “a pyrotechnics component.” Price is primarily added as a supplementary teaching for “a pyrotechnics component”, but is not required in addition to Blackburn to reject the claim.
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egelin Jr. et al. (US 10,573,195 B1) in view of Coulton (WO 01/93957 A1) and in further view of Price et al. (GB 2363569 A).
Regarding Claim 6, Eglin discloses the fire training facility in accordance with claim 1.
However, Eglin is not relied upon disclosing wherein the flame generator of the rechargeable battery dummy comprises a pyrotechnics component and a burner for burning a combustible fluid, and the fire training facility further comprises a signal-processing control device, wherein the control device is configured to actuate the rechargeable battery dummy such that the pyrotechnics component is activated and starts to generate flames before, the burner is activated and ignites a combustible fluid.
Price discloses wherein the flame generator of the rechargeable battery dummy comprises a pyrotechnics component and a burner for burning a combustible fluid, and the fire training facility further comprises a signal-processing control device, wherein the control device is configured to actuate the rechargeable battery dummy such that the pyrotechnics component is activated and starts to generate flames before, the burner is activated and ignites a combustible fluid (Pg. 2 Lines 20-36 and Pg. 3 Lines 5-9 the fire simulator having an ignition mechanism for automatically igniting combustion gas (combustible fluid) issuing from the gas burners, Pg. 6 Lines 18-29 Also included within the cabinet 15 are pyrotechnic devices (pyrotechnic devices) which can be triggered by the operator (signal processing device triggers pyrotechnic device(s))).
Regarding Claim 19, Egelin is not relied upon disclosing wherein the flame generator of the rechargeable battery dummy comprises a pyrotechnics component and a burner for burning a combustible fluid, and the fire training facility further comprises a signal-processing control device, wherein the control device is configured to actuate the rechargeable battery dummy such that the pyrotechnics component is activated and starts to generate flames before the burner is activated and ignites a combustible fluid.
Price discloses wherein the flame generator of the rechargeable battery dummy comprises a pyrotechnics component and a burner for burning a combustible fluid, and the fire training facility further comprises a signal-processing control device, wherein the control device is configured to actuate the rechargeable battery dummy such that the pyrotechnics component is activated and starts to generate flames before the burner is activated and ignites a combustible fluid (Pg. 2 Lines 20-36 and Pg. 3 Lines 5-9 the fire simulator having an ignition mechanism for automatically igniting combustion gas (combustible fluid) issuing from the gas burners, Pg. 6 Lines 18-29 Also included within the cabinet 15 are pyrotechnic devices (pyrotechnic devices) which can be triggered by the operator (signal processing device triggers pyrotechnic device(s))).
Claims 8-10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egelin Jr. et al. (US 10,573,195 B1) in view of Coulton (WO 01/93957 A1) and in further view of Staley et al. (US 2014/0021915 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Egelin discloses the fire training facility in accordance with claim 1,
However, Egelin is not relied upon disclosing wherein the rechargeable battery dummy comprises a plate made of a metallic material, wherein the plate forms an area of an outer surface of the rechargeable battery dummy and is detachably fastened to another portion of the rechargeable battery dummy.
Staley discloses wherein the rechargeable battery dummy comprises a plate made of a metallic material, wherein the plate forms an area of an outer surface of the rechargeable battery dummy and is detachably fastened to another portion of the rechargeable battery dummy ([0027] Manual attachment and detachment is controlled through the release trigger 100, [0028] The plug 30 is shown detached from the vehicle connector 40. Connector 40 is embedded in the vehicle behind the outer sheet metal (metal plate)).
Egelin and Staley are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of electric vehicle support devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the fire training facility, as disclosed by Egelin, further including a metallic plate that forms an area of an outer surface of the rechargeable battery dummy and is detachably fastened to another portion of the rechargeable battery dummy as taught by Staley for the purpose of embedding the connector behind something that would shield or protect it (Staley, [0028]).
Regarding Claim 9, Egelin discloses the fire training facility in accordance with claim 1.
However, Egelin is not relied upon disclosing the fire training facility further comprising a charging station dummy, wherein the charging station dummy comprises a cable dummy and wherein the cable dummy is configured to be connected to the dummy vehicle.
Staley discloses the fire training facility further comprising a charging station dummy, wherein the charging station dummy comprises a cable dummy and wherein the cable dummy is configured to be connected to the dummy vehicle ([0025] The charging station includes a motorized reel assembly for a power cord (cable), [0026] In FIG. 2, a plug 30 is detached from a vehicle connector (or receptacle) 40 thus the prongs 50 or receptor of the connector is showing (plug configured to connect to vehicle)).
Regarding Claim 10, Egelin discloses the fire training facility in accordance with claim 9.
However, Egelin is not relied upon disclosing wherein the dummy vehicle further comprises a cable receptacle for the cable dummy, wherein the cable dummy is configured to be inserted into the cable receptacle.
Staley discloses wherein the dummy vehicle further comprises a cable receptacle for the cable dummy, wherein the cable dummy is configured to be inserted into the cable receptacle ([0026] In FIG. 2, a plug 30 is detached from a vehicle connector (or receptacle) 40 thus the prongs 50 or receptor of the connector is showing (plug configured to connect to vehicle)).
Regarding Claim 13, Egelin discloses the fire training facility in accordance with claim 10.
However, Egelin is not relied upon disclosing wherein the cable dummy is configured to be locked in the cable receptacle.
Staley discloses wherein the dummy cable is configured to be locked in the cable receptacle ([0028] Tab 220 includes a hook 240 onto which an actuable release lever 250 on the plug 30 can attach (used to lock plug into cable receptacle)).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egelin (US 10,573,195 B1) in view of Coulton (WO 01/93957 A1), and in further view of Dawei (CN 113006565 A).
Regarding Claim 11, Egelin discloses a garage (Col. 6 Lines 15-18 In some embodiments of the fourth aspect, the training structure comprises a wall, a ceiling, (garage like structure) and a flame outlet to direct the flame delivered from the main burner pipe along a ceiling of the training structure).
However, Egelin is not relied upon disclosing wherein the garage is dimensioned to accommodate the dummy vehicle and to enclose the accommodated dummy vehicle.
However, Dawei discloses a garage, wherein the garage is dimensioned to accommodate the dummy vehicle and to encircle the accommodated dummy vehicle ([0054] the parking board 24 is slidably installed in the sliding groove 112 to complete the parking of the car (garage is able to accommodate vehicle, so garage is dimensioned to accommodate the vehicle)).
Egelin and Dawei are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of mobile equipment and use methods. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the fire training facility, as disclosed by Egelin, further including wherein the garage is dimensioned to accommodate the dummy vehicle and to encose the accommodated dummy vehicle as taught by Dawei for the purpose of eliminating the need for manual parking by drivers, avoiding the difficulty of reversing for novice drivers, improving the overall parking efficiency, and optimizing the difficulty of parking (Dawei, [0058]).
Regarding Claim 12, Egelin discloses the fire training facility in accordance with claim 11.
However, Egelin is not relied upon disclosing wherein the dummy vehicle is configured to selectively be moved between inside the garage and outside the garage.
However, Dawei discloses wherein the dummy vehicle is configured to selectively be moved between inside the garage and outside the garage ([0022] The present invention uses the first sliding plate (configured to be selectively moved in/out of the garage), the second sliding rod and the moving mechanism to park the car to be parked in the idle parking bin of the garage, [0054] Step 4. Use the console 4 and control the moving mechanism 3 to move in the garage 1 and when it reaches the empty parking space in the first parking area 11).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bloemker (US 2020/0398094 A1) is in the field of firefighting training units (Abstract).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAMID TARIQ HAFIZ/
Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/KANG HU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715