DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response and amendments received August 19, 2026 are acknowledged.
Claims 3-5, 13, 14, 16, 17, 21, 22, 27, 28, 30, and 31 have been canceled.
Claims 1, 2, 6-8, 10, 18-20, 23, and 29 have been amended
Claims 1, 2, 6-12, 15, 18-20, 23-26, and 29 are pending in the instant application.
Applicant’s response and claim amendments have overcome all prior grounds of objection rejection as set forth in the office action mailed May 21, 2026. However, upon reconsideration the following new grounds of rejection have been set forth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6-9, 12, 15, 18, 19, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ge et al. (WO 2021/223359) in view of Yang et al. (WO 2019/242339).
Ge et al. disclose bispecific CAR that bind CD7 and CD19 and the administration of cells expressing such CAR to treat disorders including graft versus host disease (see entire document, particularly the abstract, claims, and Figures 1-9). Notably, such constructs contained a conventional arrangement of a 4-1BB costimulatory domain followed by a CD3zeta domain (see most particularly Figures 1A and 1B and note the nomenclature “BBz” for 4-1BB-CD3zeta). Such receptors are disclosed as being transfected into various immune cells including T cell, NKT cells, NK cells, and iPSC cells (see particularly paragraph [0015] and [0126-0142]) and such cells are further disclosed as comprising inactivation of the endogenous TCR loci as well as CD7 and one or more HLA class I and class II molecules, all of which can reduce side effect of CAR administration (see particularly paragraphs [0016-0018] and [0143-0177]). Pharmaceutical compositions comprising such cells are also disclosed (see particularly paragraphs [0233-0238]). The cells of Ge et al. are further disclosed as expressing one or more enhancer moieties, such moieties including IL-2, PD-1, and PD-L1 (see for example paragraphs [0019] and [0217] and claim 45). Additionally, the CD7 binding CAR of Ge al. are based upon the 3A1F clone and comprise VL and VL sequences 100% identical to instantly recited SEQ ID NOs:7 and 8 (see enclosed sequence alignments) and that the CD19 binding portions can comprise biological sequences derived from the well-known FMC63 antibody clone (see particularly paragraph [0199]). Such claims differ from what is presently claimed in that the intracellular signaling domains of the CAR constructs of Ge et al. are not explicitly taught as additionally comprising a common gamma chain (“gc”).
Yang et al. disclose chimeric antigen receptors wherein the intracellular domains of such receptors comprise a from membrane proximal to membrane distal a 4-1BB costimulatory domain, followed by a CD3zeta domain followed by the IL2Rgamma chain, other called the “common gamma chain” (gc) in the art as this polypeptide is a part of many other interleukin receptors (see entire document, particularly the abstract and Figure 1 reproduced below).
Note that SEQ ID NO:7 on page 5 of Yang et al. is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO:65, and that such sequences are the gamma chain of the IL-2 receptor, i.e. “gc”. Antigen specificity of the CAR is disclosed as being provided by a scFv that binds the target antigen (see again Figure 1 most explicitly). Notably, it is disclosed that cells expressing constructs comprising the common gamma chain increased survival rate in a tumor challenge model as compared to CAR constructs comprising only the 4-1BB and CD3zeta intracellular domains as readily seen by Figure 15 (reproduced below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to ordinary artisans at the time of the invention to add the IL-2Rgamma/”gc” domain distally to the intracellular domains of the CAR of Ge et al. in order to gain the advantage of enhanced CAR activity when using such constructs as compared to those comprising only 4-1BB and CD3zeta intracellular domains as was taught by Yang et al.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ge et al. (US 2023/0113157) in view of Yang et al. (WO 2019/242339) as applied to claims 1, 2, 6-9, 12, 15, 18, 19, and 29 above, and further in view of Forman et al. (US 2020/0040096).
The inventions rendered obvious by the combined teachings of Ge at al. and Yang et al. have been discussed above, and differ from that which is presently claimed in that the anti-CD19 CAR is not disclosed as having the antibody biological sequences presently recited in the instant claims.
Forman et al. disclose anti-CD19 CAR that comprise biological sequences from the FMC63 antibody which are identical to instant recited SEQ ID NOs:56 and 57 in instant claim 11 (see entire document particularly the abstract, claims, example 1, paragraphs [0027] and [0086], and the enclosed sequence alignments). CARs comprising the antigen binding domains of the FMC63 antibody were shown to be active and have target binding specificity in vitro and in vivo (see particularly the working examples).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the antigen binding domain of the CD19 CAR of Forman et al. in the CD19 binding CAR rendered obvious by the combined teachings of Ge et al. and Yang et al. as both are disclosed as being based upon the FMC63 antibody and the constructs of Forman et al. were demonstrated to work both in vitro and in vivo as taught by Forman et al.
Claims 20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ge et al. (US 2023/0113157) in view of Yang et al. (WO 2019/242339) as applied to claims 1, 2, 6-9, 12, 15, 18, 19, and 29 above, and further in view of Bethune et al. (US 12,577,283).
The inventions rendered obvious by the combined teachings of Ge at al. and Yang et al. have been discussed above, and differ from that which is presently claimed in that the CAR transfected immune cells are not disclosed as also comprising a knockout of the RFX5 gene.
Bethune et al. disclose improvements to allogeneic cell therapies that provide increased persistence of the administered cells to mitigate rejection by the host or recipient (see entire document, particularly the abstract, claims and paragraphs [0007]-[0008]). They disclose that such improvements arise by silencing or suppressing one or more of TAP2, NLRC5, p2m, TRAC, CIITA, RFX5, RFXAP and RFXANK, with RAC/RFX5 double knockout T cells demonstrating enhanced survival and increased anti-tumor activity when transfected with a CD19 CAR both in vitro and in vivo (see particularly working examples 6, 7, 10, and 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to ordinary artisans to practice the methods rendered obvious by the combined teachings of Ge et al. and Yang et al. in the setting of RFX5 knockouts. This is because Ge et al. already disclose superior efficacy of their CAR constructs in knockout cell backgrounds and knocking out the RFX5 gene is reasonably expected to add additional therapeutic efficacy based upon the anti-CD19 CAR data of Bethune et al., obtained in just such a generic background.
Claims 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ge et al. (US 2023/0113157) in view of Yang et al. (WO 2019/242339) as applied to claims 1, 2, 6-9, 12, 15, 18, 19, and 29 above, and further in view of Liao et al (of record as reference U on the 5/21/2026 form 892).
The inventions rendered obvious by the combined teachings of Ge at al. and Yang et al. have been discussed above, and differ from that which is presently claimed in that the CAR transfected immune cells are not disclosed as also comprising an immunosuppressive molecule comprising a PD-1L binding domain ,a transmembrane domain, and an intracellular co-stimulatory domain.
Liao et al. disclose that on-target but off-tumor (i.e. binding of the CAR to a target that expresses the antigen but isn’t a tumor) cytotoxicity is a major impediment of CAR T cell therapy, and adding a “chimeric costimulatory receptor” ligand (CCRs) to CAR expressing cells can lessen off-tumor side effects as tumor cells will over-express the ligand for the CCR while normal tissue will have minimal to no expression of the ligand for the CCR (see entire document, particular the abstract and Figure 1). To that end, they disclose combining an anti-CD19 CAR with a CCR comprising a scFv that binds PD-L1, a transmembrane domain, and the intracellular signaling domain of CD28 (see particularly the paragraph bridging pages 2 and 3 as well as Figure 1A). Cells expressing such chimeric receptors demonstrated improved proliferation and improved killing of tumor targets as compared to cells expressing only the CAR construct (see particularly the Discussion and Conclusion sections).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to ordinary artisans at the time of the invention to add a CCR targeting PD-L1 to the CAR cells rendered obvious by the combined teachings of Ge et al. and Yang et al. in order to enhance the efficacy and safety of CAR cells as amply demonstrated by the teachings and data of Liao et al.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 6-9, 12, 15, 18-20, 23, 29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 and 13-20 of copending Application No. 18/034,177 in view of Yang et al. (WO 2019/242339).
The copending claims recite engineered immune cells expressing a CD7 chimeric antigen receptor in a genetic background wherein expression of endogenous CD7, TRAC and RFX5 have been silenced and the cell is T cell, NK cell or NKT cell (see al claims, particularly 1, 9, 10, 11, and 16). Notably the CD7 CAR of the copending claims is recited as comprising the same biological sequences as what is recited in the instant claims (compare copending claim 3 to instant claim 7) and such cells are also recited as expressing a CD19 CAR (see particularly copending claims 4 and 5) as well as an NK inhibitor molecule (see claim 1). Pharmaceutical compositions comprising such cells are also claimed (see copending claim 17). While the copending claims do not recite nucleic acids encoding CAR, given that CAR are not naturally occurring and are transmembrane proteins, the only reasonable way that can be made is via recombinant molecular biology using nucleic acids and thus nucleic acids encoding the constructs necessarily present in the copending claims are exceedingly obvious. The copending claims differ from the instant claimed inventions in that the CAR is not disclosed as comprising a gc domain membrane distal to 4-1BB and CD3zeta domains.
Yang et al. disclose chimeric antigen receptors wherein the intracellular domains of such receptors comprise a from membrane proximal to membrane distal a 4-1BB costimulatory domain, followed by a CD3zeta domain followed by the IL2Rgamma chain, other called the “common gamma chain” (gc) in the art as this polypeptide is a part of many other interleukin receptors (see entire document, particularly the abstract and Figure 1 reproduced below).
Note that SEQ ID NO:7 on page 5 of Yang et al. is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO:65, and that such sequences are the gamma chain of the IL-2 receptor, i.e. “gc”. Antigen specificity of the CAR is disclosed as being provided by a scFv that binds the target antigen (see again Figure 1 most explicitly). Notably, it is disclosed that cells expressing constructs comprising the common gamma chain increased survival rate in a tumor challenge model as compared to CAR constructs comprising only the 4-1BB and CD3zeta intracellular domains as readily seen by Figure 15 (reproduced below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to ordinary artisans at the time of the invention to add the IL-2Rgamma/”gc” domain distally to the intracellular domains of the CAR of the copending claims in order to gain the advantage of enhanced CAR activity when using such constructs as compared to those comprising only 4-1BB and CD3zeta intracellular domains as was taught by Yang et al.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Note that applicant has paid the issue fee in the ‘177 application but the application has not yet issued as a patent. When it does this rejection, and any based upon the ‘177 application will cease to be of a provisional nature.
Claims 10 and 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 and 13-20 of copending Application No. 18/034,177 in view of Yang et al. (WO 2019/242339) as applied to claims 1, 2, 6-9, 12, 15, 18-20, 23, 29 above, and further in view of Forman et al. (US 2020/0040096).
The inventions rendered obvious by the copending claims in view of Yang et al. have been discussed above and differ from what is presently claimed in that no sequences are recited regarding the antigen binding domain of the anti-CD19 CAR.
Forman et al. disclose anti-CD19 CAR that comprise biological sequences from the FMC63 antibody which are identical to instant recited SEQ ID NOs:56 and 57 in instant claim 11 (see entire document particularly the abstract, claims, example 1, paragraphs [0027] and [0086], and the enclosed sequence alignments). CARs comprising the antigen binding domains of the FMC63 antibody were shown to be active and have target binding specificity in vitro and in vivo (see particularly the working examples).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the antigen binding domain of the CD19 CAR of Forman et al. in the CD19 binding CAR rendered obvious by the combined teachings the copending claims and Yang et al. This is because the copending claim recite no specific sequence whatsoever and thus some sequence would be needed to be used in preparing the non-naturally occurring engineered immune cells. Thus artisans would be motivated to use CD19 CAR sequences already demonstrated in the prior art to be effective in vitro and in vivo, such as those disclose by Forman et al. rather than undertaking the time and effort to synthesize new reagents from scratch which require additional testing concerning efficacy.
Claims 24-26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 and 13-20 of copending Application No. 18/034,177 in view of Yang et al. (WO 2019/242339) as applied to claims 1, 2, 6-9, 12, 15, 18-20, 23, 29 above, and further in view of Liao et al (of record as reference U on the 5/21/2026 form 892).
The inventions rendered obvious by the combined teachings of the copending claims and Yang et al. have been discussed above, and differ from that which is presently claimed in that the CAR transfected immune cells are not disclosed as also comprising an immunosuppressive molecule comprising a PD-1L binding domain, a transmembrane domain, and an intracellular co-stimulatory domain.
Liao et al. disclose that on-target but off-tumor (i.e. binding of the CAR to a target that expresses the antigen but isn’t a tumor) cytotoxicity is a major impediment of CAR T cell therapy, and adding a “chimeric costimulatory receptor” ligand (CCRs) to CAR expressing cells can lessen off-tumor side effects as tumor cells will over-express the ligand for the CCR while normal tissue will have minimal to no expression of the ligand for the CCR (see entire document, particular the abstract and Figure 1). To that end, they disclose combining an anti-CD19 CAR with a CCR comprising a scFv that binds PD-L1, a transmembrane domain, and the intracellular signaling domain of CD28 (see particularly the paragraph bridging pages 2 and 3 as well as Figure 1A). Cells expressing such chimeric receptors demonstrated improved proliferation and improved killing of tumor targets as compared to cells expressing only the CAR construct (see particularly the Discussion and Conclusion sections).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to ordinary artisans at the time of the invention to add a CCR targeting PD-L1 to the CAR cells rendered obvious by the combined teachings of the copending claims and Yang et al. in order to enhance the efficacy and safety of CAR cells as amply demonstrated by the teachings and data of Liao et al.
Claims 1, 2, 6-9, 12, 15, 18-20, 23, and 29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4-17 of copending Application No. 18/861,000 in view of Ge et al. (WO 2021/223359) and in view of Yang et al. (WO 2019/242339).
The copending claims recite methods for making immune cells comprising a knocked out CD7 gene followed by transfection of a CAR that binds CD7, which such CAR having the same antigen binding sequences as what are recited in the instant claims (see all copending claims, particularly claims 4, 6, 9 and 11). Such cells are further recited as comprising knockouts to additional genes including TRAC and RFX5 (see particularly claims 16 and 17). The copending claims differ from the instant claimed inventions in that the CAR is not disclosed as comprising a gc domain membrane distal to 4-1BB and CD3zeta domains.
Ge et al. disclose bispecific CAR that bind CD7 and CD19 and the administration of cells expressing such CAR to treat disorders including graft versus host disease (see entire document, particularly the abstract, claims, and Figures 1-9). Notably, such constructs contained a conventional arrangement of a 4-1BB costimulatory domain followed by a CD3zeta domain (see most particularly Figures 1A and 1B and note the nomenclature “BBz” for 4-1BB-CD3zeta). Such receptors are disclosed as being transfected into various immune cells including T cell, NKT cells, NK cells, and iPSC cells (see particularly paragraph [0015] and [0126-0142]) and such cells are further disclosed as comprising inactivation of the endogenous TCR loci as well as CD7 and one or more HLA class I and class II molecules, all of which can reduce side effect of CAR administration (see particularly paragraphs [0016-0018] and [0143-0177]). Pharmaceutical compositions comprising such cells are also disclosed (see particularly paragraphs [0233-0238]). The cells of Ge et al. are further disclosed as expressing one or more enhancer moieties, such moieties including IL-2, PD-1, and PD-L1 (see for example paragraphs [0019] and [0217] and claim 45). Additionally, the CD7 binding CAR of Ge al. are based upon the 3A1F clone and comprise VL and VL sequences 100% identical to instantly recited SEQ ID NOs:7 and 8 (see enclosed sequence alignments) and that the CD19 binding portions can comprise biological sequences derived from the well-known FMC63 antibody clone (see particularly paragraph [0199]). Such claims differ from what is presently claimed in that the intracellular signaling domains of the CAR constructs of Ge et al. are not explicitly taught as additionally comprising a common gamma chain (“gc”).
Yang et al. disclose chimeric antigen receptors wherein the intracellular domains of such receptors comprise a from membrane proximal to membrane distal a 4-1BB costimulatory domain, followed by a CD3zeta domain followed by the IL2Rgamma chain, other called the “common gamma chain” (gc) in the art as this polypeptide is a part of many other interleukin receptors (see entire document, particularly the abstract and Figure 1 reproduced below).
Note that SEQ ID NO:7 on page 5 of Yang et al. is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO:65, and that such sequences are the gamma chain of the IL-2 receptor, i.e. “gc”. Antigen specificity of the CAR is disclosed as being provided by a scFv that binds the target antigen (see again Figure 1 most explicitly). Notably, it is disclosed that cells expressing constructs comprising the common gamma chain increased survival rate in a tumor challenge model as compared to CAR constructs comprising only the 4-1BB and CD3zeta intracellular domains as readily seen by Figure 15 (reproduced below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to ordinary artisans at the time of the invention to add the IL-2Rgamma/”gc” domain distally to the intracellular domains of the CAR of the copending claims in order to gain the advantage of enhanced CAR activity when using such constructs as compared to those comprising only 4-1BB and CD3zeta intracellular domains as was taught by Yang et al.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 10 and 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4-17 of copending Application No. 18/861,000 in view of Ge et al. (WO 2021/223359) and in view of Yang et al. (WO 2019/242339) as applied to claims 1, 2, 6-9, 12, 15, 18-20, 23, and 29 above, and further in view of Forman et al. (US 2020/0040096).
The inventions rendered obvious by the copending claims in view of Ge et al. and in view of Yang et al. have been discussed above and differ from what is presently claimed in that no sequences are recited regarding the antigen binding domain of the anti-CD19 CAR.
Forman et al. disclose anti-CD19 CAR that comprise biological sequences from the FMC63 antibody which are identical to instant recited SEQ ID NOs:56 and 57 in instant claim 11 (see entire document particularly the abstract, claims, example 1, paragraphs [0027] and [0086], and the enclosed sequence alignments). CARs comprising the antigen binding domains of the FMC63 antibody were shown to be active and have target binding specificity in vitro and in vivo (see particularly the working examples).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the antigen binding domain of the CD19 CAR of Forman et al. in the CD19 binding CAR rendered obvious by the combined teachings the copending claims, Ge et al. and Yang et al. This is because the copending claim recite no specific sequence whatsoever and thus some sequence would be needed to be used in preparing the non-naturally occurring engineered immune cells. Thus artisans would be motivated to use CD19 CAR sequences already demonstrated in the prior art to be effective in vitro and in vivo, such as those disclose by Forman et al. rather than undertaking the time and effort to synthesize new reagents from scratch which require additional testing concerning efficacy.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 24-26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 and 13-20 of copending Application No. 18/034,177 in view of Yang et al. (WO 2019/242339) as applied to claims 1, 2, 6-9, 12, 15, 18-20, 23, and 29 above, and further in view of Liao et al (of record as reference U on the 5/21/2026 form 892).
The inventions rendered obvious by the combined teachings of the copending claims Ge et al. and Yang et al. have been discussed above, and differ from that which is presently claimed in that the CAR transfected immune cells are not disclosed as also comprising an immunosuppressive molecule comprising a PD-1L binding domain, a transmembrane domain, and an intracellular co-stimulatory domain.
Liao et al. disclose that on-target but off-tumor (i.e. binding of the CAR to a target that expresses the antigen but isn’t a tumor) cytotoxicity is a major impediment of CAR T cell therapy, and adding a “chimeric costimulatory receptor” ligand (CCRs) to CAR expressing cells can lessen off-tumor side effects as tumor cells will over-express the ligand for the CCR while normal tissue will have minimal to no expression of the ligand for the CCR (see entire document, particular the abstract and Figure 1). To that end, they disclose combining an anti-CD19 CAR with a CCR comprising a scFv that binds PD-L1, a transmembrane domain, and the intracellular signaling domain of CD28 (see particularly the paragraph bridging pages 2 and 3 as well as Figure 1A). Cells expressing such chimeric receptors demonstrated improved proliferation and improved killing of tumor targets as compared to cells expressing only the CAR construct (see particularly the Discussion and Conclusion sections).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to ordinary artisans at the time of the invention to add a CCR targeting PD-L1 to the CAR cells rendered obvious by the combined teachings of the copending claims, Ge et al. and Yang et al. in order to enhance the efficacy and safety of CAR cells as amply demonstrated by the teachings and data of Liao et al.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
No claims are allowable.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Michael Szperka
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1641
/MICHAEL SZPERKA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641