Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant's submission of amendment, dated on 11/03/2025. This communication is considered fully responsive and sets forth below:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claims 1-17 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Canonne-Velasquez et al US20240259053A1in view of HWANG et al US 2021/0083730 A1
Regarding claim 1, Canonne-Velasquez et al US20240259053A1 discloses A terminal ( fi.2 WTRU in 201 simultaneous DL/DL (S-DD)),comprising: a first reception unit that receives a beam for measurement of a reference signal; and a second reception unit that, with a same time of reception of the beam, receives a beam for reception of data or measurement of a reference signal [0061] multiple base stations (e.g., gNBs 180a, 180b, 180c)/TRPs are configured to communicate with a single WTRU, wherein WTRU has multiple antenna panels (i.e., a first reception unit and a second reception unit), which may enable multi-panel simultaneous transmission(s) and/or reception(s), where ( fig. 2: 201 simultaneous DL/DL (S-DD). And [0075] discloses in a S-DD mode, a WTRU with multiple panels simultaneously receives two PDSCHs or a PDSCH and a PDCCH, or two PDCCHs where each is transmitted from a different TRP. [0077] discloses A WTRU with multiple panels may simultaneously receive signals where each one is transmitted from a different TRP and [0091] discloses With S-DD mode, it may be possible for multiple RS to be sent simultaneously and the WTRU may monitor multiple RS simultaneously such as CSI-RS or SSB. A WTRU may use multiple panels for simultaneous reception where each panel may receive a RS. The WTRU may perform measurements on each RS, where [0103] a WTRU may measure beam reference signals from different panels or TRPs, wherein a measurement quality may be based on L1-RSRP or L1-SINR; a beam reference signal from a panel or TRP may be a reference signal configured with a panel identity or TRP identity.
Canonne-Velasquez does not disclose wherein each scheduling constraint is not applied when the simultaneous reception is performed.
HWANG et al US 2021/0083730 A1 discloses wherein each scheduling constraint is not applied when the simultaneous reception is performed [0192] discloses in an active DL BWP in CSI-RS based RRM measurement, scheduling restriction (i.e., scheduling constraint) is not necessary in a case in which the UE supports simultaneous reception for multiple numerologies, wherein [0151] discloses numerologies is define as simultaneous reception of signals based on different subcarrier spacings. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Canonne-Velasquez by including wherein each scheduling constraint is not applied when the simultaneous reception is performed, as taught by HWANG, in order to perform RRM measurement (see HWANG [0068]).
Regarding claim 7, Canonne-Velasquez et al US20240259053A1 discloses A radio communication method of a terminal simultaneously ( fi.2 WTRU in 201 simultaneous DL/DL (S-DD)), performing the steps of: receiving a beam for measurement of a reference signal; and receiving, with the same time of reception of the beam ,a beam for reception of data or measurement of a reference signal [0061] MTRPs is configured to communicate with a single WTRU, wherein WTRU has multiple antenna panels (i.e., a first reception unit and a second reception unit), which may enable multi-panel simultaneous transmission(s) and/or reception(s), where ( fig. 2: 201 simultaneous DL/DL (S-DD). And [0075] discloses in a S-DD mode, a WTRU with multiple panels simultaneously receives two PDSCHs or a PDSCH and a PDCCH, or two PDCCHs where each is transmitted from a different TRP. [0077] discloses A WTRU with multiple panels may simultaneously receive signals where each one is transmitted from a different TRP and [0091] discloses With S-DD mode, it may be possible for multiple RS to be sent simultaneously and the WTRU may monitor multiple RS simultaneously such as CSI-RS or SSB. A WTRU may use multiple panels for simultaneous reception where each panel may receive a RS. The WTRU may perform measurements on each RS. [0103] a WTRU may measure beam reference signals from different panels or TRPs , wherein a measurement quality may be based on L1-RSRP or L1-SINR; a beam reference signal from a panel or TRP may be a reference signal configured with a panel identity or TRP identity.
Canonne-Velasquez does not disclose wherein each scheduling constraint is not applied when the simultaneous reception is performed.
HWANG et al US 2021/0083730 A1 discloses wherein each scheduling constraint is not applied when the simultaneous reception is performed[0192]-[0193] discloses in an active DL BWP in CSI-RS based RRM measurement, scheduling restriction (i.e., scheduling constraint) is not necessary in a case in which the UE supports simultaneous reception for multiple numerologies, where the capability information about supporting of simultaneous reception of multiple numerologies may be defined as simultaneousRxDataCSIRS-DiffNumerology, for example. The UE may transmit the capability information about supporting of simultaneous reception of multiple numerologies to the serving cell. wherein [0151] discloses numerologies is define as simultaneous reception of signals based on different subcarrier spacings. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Canonne-Velasquez by including wherein each scheduling constraint is not applied when the simultaneous reception is performed, as taught by HWANG, in order to perform RRM measurement (see HWANG [0068]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Canonne-Velasquez and HWANG discloses all features with respect to claim 1. Canonne-Velasquez further discloses wherein the simultaneous reception is configured for each frequency band (fig. 2: 201 simultaneous DL/DL (S-DD). And [0075] discloses in a S-DD mode, a WTRU with multiple panels simultaneously receives two PDSCHs or a PDSCH and a PDCCH, or two PDCCHs where each is transmitted from a different TRP. [0077] discloses A WTRU with multiple panels may simultaneously receive signals where each one is transmitted from a different TRP and [0091] discloses With S-DD mode, it may be possible for multiple RS to be sent simultaneously and the WTRU may monitor multiple RS simultaneously such as CSI-RS or SSB. A WTRU may use multiple panels for simultaneous reception where each panel may receive a RS. The WTRU may perform measurements on each RS, where [0103] a WTRU may measure beam reference signals from different panels or TRPs, wherein a measurement quality may be based on L1-RSRP or L1-SINR; a beam reference signal from a panel or TRP may be a reference signal configured with a panel identity or TRP identity; wherein [0104] the number of active panels may be determined based on at least one of following: WTRU capability indication; and frequency range (e.g., FRI, FR2).
Regarding claims 3 and 8, the combination of Canonne-Velasquez and HWANG discloses all features with respect to claims 1, and 2, respectively. Canonne-Velasquez further discloses wherein simultaneously receivable beams are 3 or more, or simultaneously receivable receivers are 3 or more [0061] multiple base stations (e.g., gNBs 180a, 180b, 180c)/TRPs are configured to communicate with a single WTRU, wherein WTRU has multiple antenna panels, which may enable multi-panel simultaneous transmission(s) and/or reception(s), wherein [0077] discloses A WTRU with multiple panels may simultaneously receive signals where each one is transmitted from a different TRP and [0091] discloses With S-DD mode, it may be possible for multiple RS to be sent simultaneously and the WTRU may monitor multiple RS simultaneously such as CSI-RS or SSB. A WTRU may use multiple panels for simultaneous reception where each panel may receive a RS. The WTRU may perform measurements on each RS, for example, [0118] WTRU may be in communication with three TRPs (e.g., TRPl, TRP2, and TRP3), each having a CSI-RS (e.g., CSI-RSl, CSI-RS2, and CSIRS3);wherein [0103] a WTRU may measure beam reference signals from different panels or TRPs, wherein a measurement quality may be based on L1-RSRP or L1-SINR; a beam reference signal from a panel or TRP may be a reference signal configured with a panel identity or TRP identity. Regarding claims 4, 9 and 10, the combination of Canonne-Velasquez and HWANG discloses all features with respect to claims1,2, and 3, respectively. Canonne-Velasquez further discloses WTRU support the simultaneous reception and/or the simultaneous transmission in (fig. 2: 201 simultaneous DL/DL (S-DD). And [0075] discloses in a S-DD mode, a WTRU with multiple panels simultaneously receives two PDSCHs or a PDSCH and a PDCCH, or two PDCCHs where each is transmitted from a different TRP. [0077] discloses A WTRU with multiple panels may simultaneously receive signals where each one is transmitted from a different TRP and [0091] discloses With S-DD mode, it may be possible for multiple RS to be sent simultaneously and the WTRU may monitor multiple RS simultaneously such as CSI-RS or SSB. A WTRU may use multiple panels for simultaneous reception where each panel may receive a RS. The WTRU may perform measurements on each RS, wherein [0104] the number of active panels may be determined based on at least one of following: WTRU capability indication; and frequency range (e.g., FRI, FR2 ). Canonne-Velasquez does not explicitly disclose a transmitter that transmits capability information to a network indicating capability related to the simultaneous reception and/or the simultaneous transmission. HWANG et al US 2021/0083730 A1 discloses a transmitter that transmits capability information to a network indicating capability related to the simultaneous reception and/or the simultaneous transmission [0192]-[0193] discloses in an active DL BWP in CSI-RS based RRM measurement, scheduling restriction (i.e., scheduling constraint) is not necessary in a case in which the UE supports simultaneous reception for multiple numerologies, where the capability information about supporting of simultaneous reception of multiple numerologies may be defined as simultaneousRxDataCSIRS-DiffNumerology, for example. The UE may transmit the capability information about supporting of simultaneous reception of multiple numerologies to the serving cell. wherein [0151] discloses numerologies is define as simultaneous reception of signals based on different subcarrier spacings. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Canonne-Velasquez by including a transmitter that transmits capability information to a network indicating capability related to the simultaneous reception and/or the simultaneous transmission, as taught by HWANG, in order to perform RRM measurement (see HWANG [0068]).
Regarding claims 5,11,12 and 13, the combination of Canonne-Velasquez and HWANG discloses all features with respect to claims1, 2,3and4 , respectively. Canonne-Velasquez further discloses wherein it is assumed that the terminal also has other relevant capabilities other than the capability by the capability information [0035]the WTRU 102 may have multi-mode capabilities and ([0003] A wireless transmit receive unit (WTRU) may have multiple antenna panels which may be capable of different modes of operation, such as simultaneous DL/DL (S-DD), simultaneous UL/UL (S-UU) and simultaneous DL/UL (S-DU), such as ,in fig. 2 and [0075] 201 simultaneous DL/DL (S-DD); 202 simultaneous UL/UL (S-UU) and 203 simultaneous DL/UL (S-DU).
Regarding claims 6,14,15,16 and 17, the combination of Canonne-Velasquez and HWANG discloses all features with respect to claims1, 2,3,4and 5, respectively. Canonne-Velasquez further discloses wherein the measurement of the reference signal is at least one of a Radio Resource Management (RRM) measurement operation, a Radio Link Monitoring (RLM) operation, a Beam Failure Detection (BFD) operation, a Layer 1 Reference Signal Received Power/Signal to Interference Plus Noise (L1-RSRP/SINR) measurement operation (fig. 2: 201 simultaneous DL/DL (S-DD). And [0075] discloses in a S-DD mode, a WTRU with multiple panels simultaneously receives two PDSCHs or a PDSCH and a PDCCH, or two PDCCHs where each is transmitted from a different TRP; [0077] discloses A WTRU with multiple panels may simultaneously receive signals where each one is transmitted from a different TRP and [0091] discloses With S-DD mode, it may be possible for multiple RS to be sent simultaneously and the WTRU may monitor multiple RS simultaneously such as CSI-RS or SSB. A WTRU may use multiple panels for simultaneous reception where each panel may receive a RS. The WTRU may perform measurements on each RS, where [0103] a WTRU may measure beam reference signals from different panels or TRPs, wherein a measurement quality may be based on L1-RSRP or L1-SINR; a beam reference signal from a panel or TRP may be a reference signal configured with a panel identity or TRP identity, and a Positioning measurement operation.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s argument with respect to the pending claims have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive for at least the following reasons. Applicant’s amendment to claims necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Therefore, Applicant's arguments with respect to the amended claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABDELTIF AJID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478