DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/28/2023 and 03/19/2024 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-10, 12-13, 17-19, 21-22, 24 and 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardner et al. (US 20180368712 A1) herein referred to as “Gardner” in view of Vitale et al. (US 20240090814 A1) herein referred to as “Vitale”.
Regarding claim 1, Gardner disclose: An electrode device comprising:
a base layer comprising silicon carbide; ([0010];” the amorphous silicon carbide insulation can include a first amorphous silicon carbide layer”) an intermediate layer located over the base layer, ([0010]; “The thin film metal and the interface pad can lay on the first amorphous silicon carbide layer”)
the intermediate layer comprising an electrode; ([0010];” The thin film metal and the interface pad can lay on the first amorphous silicon carbide layer”, [Figure 13]; 145) and a capping layer located over the base layer and partially surrounding the electrode, the capping layer comprising silicon carbide. ([0010];” the second amorphous silicon carbide layer can cover the thin film metal and some or all of the first amorphous silicon carbide layer. The opening in the amorphous silicon carbide insulation can be through the second amorphous silicon carbide layer to thereby expose the interface pad to the ambient environment. “And [Figure 13]). Gardner does not disclose: the intermediate layer comprising a carbon-based electrode
However, Vitale disclose: the intermediate layer comprising a carbon-based electrode ([Figure 29]; 3208 and [0171]; “ As shown in the left panel, device can include a porous and/or fibrous sensing region 3204 that is infused with a conductive material, e.g., MXene material, graphene, and the like.” Wherein graphene and MXene are seen as carbon based)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrode device as disclosed by Gardner with the carbon-based electrode as disclosed by Vitale the motivation being to achieve high electrical conductivity and low interfacial impedance ([0049])
Regarding claim 2, Gardner in view of Vitale disclose: The electrode device of claim 1. Vitale further discloses: wherein the carbon-based electrode comprises graphene, graphene oxide, reduced graphene oxide, carbon nanotubes, or a pyrolyzed- photoresist-film. ([0171]; “FIG. 29 provides a cutaway view of exemplary devices according to the present disclosure. As shown in the left panel, device can include a porous and/or fibrous sensing region 3204 that is infused with a conductive material, e.g., MXene material, graphene, and the like.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrode device as disclosed by Gardner in view of Vitale with the carbon-based electrode as disclosed by Vitale the motivation being to achieve high electrical conductivity and low interfacial impedance ([0049])
Regarding claim 3, Gardner in view of Vitale disclose: The electrode device of claim 1, Gardner further discloses: wherein the electrode comprises a pyrolyzed-photoresist-film. ([0060]; “The etching of the second amorphous silicon carbide layer was limited to the interface pads and the electrical contact pads using a layer of photoresist” wherein the electrical contact pads are seen as electrodes) Gardner does not disclose: a carbon-based electrode
However, Vitale disclose: a carbon-based electrode ([Figure 29]; 3208 and [0171]; “ As shown in the left panel, device can include a porous and/or fibrous sensing region 3204 that is infused with a conductive material, e.g., MXene material, graphene, and the like.” Wherein graphene and MXene are seen as carbon based)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrode device as disclosed by Gardner in view of Vitale with the carbon-based electrode as disclosed by Vitale the motivation being to achieve high electrical conductivity and low interfacial impedance ([0049])
Regarding claim 4, Gardner in view of Vitale disclose: The electrode device of claim 1. Gardner further discloses: wherein the silicon carbide of both the base layer and the capping layer comprises amorphous silicon carbide. ([0010]; “For any such embodiments of the implantable microelectrode body the amorphous silicon carbide insulation can include a first amorphous silicon carbide layer and a second amorphous silicon carbide layer.”)
Regarding claim 8, Gardner in view Vitale disclose: The electrode device of claim 1. Gardner further discloses: wherein the base layer has a thickness in a range of from 0.5 um to 5 um, the capping layer has a thickness in a range of from 0.5 um to 5 um, ([0016]; “ In some such embodiments, each of the first and the second amorphous silicon carbide insulation layers can have a thickness in a range from about 0.1 to about 4 microns”) or the intermediate layer has a thickness in a range of from 0.1 um to 1 um.
Regarding claim 9, Gardner in view of Vitale disclose: 9. (currently amended) The electrode device of claim 1. Gardner further discloses: further comprising a metal contact pad ([0008]; “the interface pad can include titanium nitride, iridium oxide, porous platinum, or poly(ethylenedioxythiophene).”) electrically coupled to the electrode,([0030];” wherein an interface pad (115) is coated with an electrode material (145)” wherein the electrode material is seen as an electrode) the metal contact pad being exposed through an opening in the capping layer.([0010]; “The opening in the amorphous silicon carbide insulation can be through the second amorphous silicon carbide layer to thereby expose the interface pad to the ambient environment”) Gardner does not disclose: a carbon-based electrode.
However, Vitale disclose: a carbon-based electrode ([Figure 29]; 3208 and [0171]; “ As shown in the left panel, device can include a porous and/or fibrous sensing region 3204 that is infused with a conductive material, e.g., MXene material, graphene, and the like.” Wherein graphene and MXene are seen as carbon based)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrode device as disclosed by Gardner in view of Vitale with the carbon-based electrode as further disclosed by Vitale the motivation being to achieve high electrical conductivity and low interfacial impedance ([0049])
Regarding claim 10, Gardner discloses: A method of making an electrode device comprising: depositing a base layer onto an electronic wafer, the base layer comprising silicon carbide; ([0060]; “in a first step, a single crystal wafer of silicon (150) with a diameter of 100 mm, is coated with a thin film of polyimide (155) having a thickness of about 1 micron. The polyimide layer is applied to the wafer by spin coating a polyimide precursor solution onto the wafer and curing the precursor at 350° C. for one hour in a nitrogen atmosphere to form the polymerized polyimide coating. In a second step, a first layer of amorphous silicon carbide (160) having a thickness of about 2 microns is then deposited over the polyimide layer”) forming an intermediate layer on the base layer ([0060]; “In a third step, thin film metal traces (165) are formed on the first amorphous silicon layer” ), the intermediate layer comprising an electrode ([0028]; “wherein the interface pads are in contact with at least one fewer thin film metal traces (110)” and [0030]; “ invention wherein an interface pad (115) is coated with an electrode material (145)”); depositing a metal layer onto electrode traces ([0056]; “ A metal layer suitable for promoting adhesion may be disposed between the electrode material and the interface pad or between the electrode material and the amorphous silicon carbide insulation”), the metal layer comprising a metal contact pad ([0060]; “FIG. 15. The interface pads are an integral part of the thin film metal layer (110)”), the carbon traces being configured to electrically couple the metal contact pad to the carbon- based electrode ([0056]; “ A metal layer suitable… …between the electrode material and the amorphous silicon carbide insulation”); depositing a capping layer onto the intermediate layer, the capping layer comprising silicon carbide;([0060];” In a fourth step, a second layer of amorphous silicon carbide (170) having a thickness of about two microns is deposited over the metal traces “) and forming one or more openings in the capping layer to expose at least a portion of the electrode and at least a portion of the metal contact pad. ([0060]; “In a fifth step, openings (175) are formed in the second amorphous silicon carbide layer to expose the interface pads to the ambient and, on the connect body (120) of FIG. 15, to form openings for electrical contact pads (125) of FIG. 15. The interface pads are an integral part of the thin film metal layer (110)”) Gardner does not disclose: the electrode material being carbon based.
However, Vitale disclose: a carbon-based electrode ([Figure 29]; 3208 and [0171]; “ As shown in the left panel, device can include a porous and/or fibrous sensing region 3204 that is infused with a conductive material, e.g., MXene material, graphene, and the like.” Wherein graphene and MXene are seen as carbon based)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrode device as disclosed by Gardner with the carbon-based electrode as disclosed by Vitale the motivation being to achieve high electrical conductivity and low interfacial impedance ([0049])
Regarding claim 12, Gardner in view of Vitale disclose: The method of claim 10. Gardner further discloses: further comprising a step of releasing the electronic wafer from the base layer by subjecting the electronic wafer to an acid bath or a solvent bath. ([0060]; “In a seventh step, the coated silicon wafers are immersed in deionized water at 87° C. until the implantable microelectrode body (180) releases from the silicon wafer”)
Regarding claim 13, Gardner in view of Vitale: The method of claim 10. Vitale further disclose: wherein the carbon-based electrode comprises graphene, graphene oxide, reduced graphene oxide, or carbon nanotubes. ([Figure 29]; 3208 and [0171]; “As shown in the left panel, device can include a porous and/or fibrous sensing region 3204 that is infused with a conductive material, e.g., MXene material, graphene, and the like.” Wherein graphene and MXene are seen as carbon based)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrode device as disclosed by Gardner with the carbon-based electrode as disclosed by Vitale the motivation being to achieve high electrical conductivity and low interfacial impedance ([0049])
Regarding claim 17, Gardner in view of Vitale: The method of claim 10. Gardner further disclose: wherein the base layer has a thickness in a range of from 0.5 um to 5 um ([0060]; “In a second step, a first layer of amorphous silicon carbide (160) having a thickness of about 2 microns“ ), the capping layer has a thickness in a range of from 0.5 um to 5 um ([0060]; “In a fourth step, a second layer of amorphous silicon carbide (170) having a thickness of about two microns”), or and the intermediate layer has a thickness in a range of from 0.1 um to 1 um. ([0016]; “ In some such embodiments, the thin metal trace can have a thickness in a range from about 0.1 and about 2 microns”)
Regarding claim 18, Gardner in view of Vitale disclose: 18. (currently amended) The method of claim 10. Gardner further discloses: wherein the silicon carbide of both the base layer and the capping layer comprises amorphous silicon carbide. ([0016]; “each of the first and the second amorphous silicon carbide insulation layers”)
Regarding claim 19, Gardner in view of Vitale disclose: A method of using an implantable neural interface, the method comprising: providing an electrode device comprising: a base layer comprising silicon carbide; ([0060]; “in a first step, a single crystal wafer of silicon (150) with a diameter of 100 mm, is coated with a thin film of polyimide (155) having a thickness of about 1 micron. The polyimide layer is applied to the wafer by spin coating a polyimide precursor solution onto the wafer and curing the precursor at 350° C. for one hour in a nitrogen atmosphere to form the polymerized polyimide coating. In a second step, a first layer of amorphous silicon carbide (160) having a thickness of about 2 microns is then deposited over the polyimide layer”) an intermediate layer located over the base layer, ([0060]; “In a third step, thin film metal traces (165) are formed on the first amorphous silicon layer” ) the intermediate layer comprising an electrode; ([0028]; “wherein the interface pads are in contact with at least one fewer thin film metal traces (110)” and [0030]; “ invention wherein an interface pad (115) is coated with an electrode material (145)”) and a capping layer located over the base layer and partially surrounding the carbon- based electrode, the capping layer comprising silicon carbide; ([0060];” In a fourth step, a second layer of amorphous silicon carbide (170) having a thickness of about two microns is deposited over the metal traces “) electrically coupling the carbon-based electrode to neural tissue of a patient; ([0041]; “The interface pad has the property of being electronically conducting and provides an electrical connection to the neural tissue”) electrically coupling the carbon-based electrode to at least one of recording electronics and stimulating electronics, wherein the recording electronics are configured to electrically record neural signals from the neural tissue and the stimulating electronics are configured to electrically stimulate the neural tissue. ([0061]; “At the connection body, the metal trace is connected to an electrical contact pad (125). In the present Example, electrical contact pads are configured to match with an electrical connector (185) suitable for interfacing with electronic equiument suitable for neural recording and stimulation.”) Gardner does not disclose: a carbon-based electrode.
However, Vitale discloses: a carbon-based electrode. ([Figure 29]; 3208 and [0171]; “As shown in the left panel, device can include a porous and/or fibrous sensing region 3204 that is infused with a conductive material, e.g., MXene material, graphene, and the like.” Wherein graphene and MXene are seen as carbon based)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrode device as disclosed by Gardner with the carbon-based electrode as disclosed by Vitale the motivation being to achieve high electrical conductivity and low interfacial impedance ([0049])
Regarding claim 21, Gardner in view of Vitale disclose: 21. (currently amended) The method of claim 19. Gardner further discloses: further comprising electrically stimulating the neural tissue using the stimulating electronics. ([0041]; “The device comprises a neural interface probe (105) which is implanted into the neural tissue from which neural electrical activity is recorded or neural activity electrically stimulated”)
Regarding claim 22, Gardner in view of Vitale disclose: The method of claim 19. Vitale further discloses: wherein the carbon-based electrode comprises graphene, graphene oxide, reduced graphene oxide, carbon nanotubes, or a pyrolyzed-photoresist-film. ([Figure 29]; 3208 and [0171]; “As shown in the left panel, device can include a porous and/or fibrous sensing region 3204 that is infused with a conductive material, e.g., MXene material, graphene, and the like.” Wherein graphene and MXene are seen as carbon based)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrode device as disclosed by Gardner with the carbon-based electrode as disclosed by Vitale the motivation being to achieve high electrical conductivity and low interfacial impedance ([0049])
Regarding claim 24, Gardner in view of Vitale disclose: The method of claim 19. Gardner further disclose: wherein the silicon carbide of both the base layer and the capping layer comprises amorphous silicon carbide. ([0016]; “each of the first and the second amorphous silicon carbide insulation layers”)
Regarding claim 28, Gardner in view of Vitale disclose: The method of claim 19. Gardner further discloses: wherein the base layer has a thickness in a range of from 0.5 um to 5 um, ([0060]; “In a second step, a first layer of amorphous silicon carbide (160) having a thickness of about 2 microns “) the capping layer has a thickness in a range of from 0.5 um to 5 um, or and the intermediate layer has a thickness in a range of from 0.1 um to 1 um. ([0060]; “In a fourth step, a second layer of amorphous silicon carbide (170) having a thickness of about two microns”)
Regarding claim 29, Gardner in view of Vitale disclose: The method of claim 19. Gardner further discloses: wherein the silicon carbide of both the base layer and the capping layer comprises amorphous silicon carbide. ([0016]; “each of the first and the second amorphous silicon carbide insulation layers”)
Claim(s) 11, 23 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardner in view of Vitale further in view of Melosh et al. (US 20140353172 A1) herein referred to as “Melosh”.
Regarding claim 11, Gardner in view of Vitale disclose: The method of claim 10. Gardner further discloses: wherein the step of forming an intermediate layer on the base layer comprises: depositing a photoresist onto the base layer and patterning the photoresist to a desired shape ([0060]; “The etching of the second amorphous silicon carbide layer was limited to the interface pads and the electrical contact pads using a layer of photoresist patterned by exposure to ultraviolet light through a second photomask” wherein patterned is seen as conforming to desired shape); Gardner does not discloses: and pyrolyzing the photoresist so as to convert the photoresist to a pyrolyzed photoresist film.
However, Melosh discloses: and pyrolyzing the photoresist so as to convert the photoresist to a pyrolyzed photoresist film. ([0197]; “the electrochemical activity of the electrodes may be enhanced, for example by using the Pyrolyzed Photoresist Film method”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrode device as disclosed by Gardner in view of Vitale with the pyrolyzed photoresist film as disclosed by Melosh the motivation being to increase sensitivity ([0197])
Regarding claim 23, Gardner in view of Vitale disclose: The method of claim 19. Gardner does not disclose: wherein the carbon-based electrode comprises a pyrolyzed-photoresist-film.
However, Melosh discloses: wherein the electrode comprises a pyrolyzed-photoresist-film. ([0197]; “the electrochemical activity of the electrodes may be enhanced, for example by using the Pyrolyzed Photoresist Film method”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrode device as disclosed by Gardner in view of Vitale with the pyrolyzed photoresist film as disclosed by Melosh the motivation being to increase sensitivity ([0197])
Regarding claim 30, Gardner in view of Vitale disclose: The electrode device of claim 1. Gardner further discloses: further comprising a metal contact pad ([0008]; “the interface pad can include titanium nitride, iridium oxide, porous platinum, or poly(ethylenedioxythiophene).”) electrically coupled to the electrode, ([0030];” wherein an interface pad (115) is coated with an electrode material (145)” wherein the electrode material is seen as an electrode) the metal contact pad being exposed through an opening in the capping layer, ([0010]; “The opening in the amorphous silicon carbide insulation can be through the second amorphous silicon carbide layer to thereby expose the interface pad to the ambient environment”) wherein the silicon carbide of both the base layer and the capping layer comprises amorphous silicon carbide; ([0016]; “each of the first and the second amorphous silicon carbide insulation layers”) and wherein the base layer has a thickness in a range of from 0.5 um to 5 um, ([0060]; “In a second step, a first layer of amorphous silicon carbide (160) having a thickness of about 2 microns“ ) the capping layer has a thickness in a range of from 0.5 um to 5 um, ([0060]; “In a fourth step, a second layer of amorphous silicon carbide (170) having a thickness of about two microns”) and the intermediate layer has a thickness in a range of from 0.1 um to 1 um. ([0016]; “ In some such embodiments, the thin metal trace can have a thickness in a range from about 0.1 and about 2 microns”) Gardner does not disclose: a carbon-based electrode, wherein the carbon-based electrode comprises a pyrolyzed-photoresist-film
However, Vitale discloses: A carbon-based electrode ([Figure 29]; 3208 and [0171]; “As shown in the left panel, device can include a porous and/or fibrous sensing region 3204 that is infused with a conductive material, e.g., MXene material, graphene, and the like.” Wherein graphene and MXene are seen as carbon based)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrode device as disclosed by Gardner with the carbon-based electrode as disclosed by Vitale the motivation being to achieve high electrical conductivity and low interfacial impedance ([0049])
However, Melosh discloses: wherein the electrode comprises a pyrolyzed-photoresist-film ([0197]; “the electrochemical activity of the electrodes may be enhanced, for example by using the Pyrolyzed Photoresist Film method”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrode device as disclosed by Gardner in view of Vitale with the pyrolyzed photoresist film as disclosed by Melosh the motivation being to increase sensitivity ([0197])
Conclusion
/CASEY GEORGE CHA/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOANNE M RODDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794