Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 6, 7-10, 13, 16-19, 21, 23, 93-96, 99, and 101 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, 8-11, 14, 17-20, 22, 92-96, 98, and 100 of copending Application No. 18/263,383 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to coating compositions comprising a binder resin and a feather reducing agent wherein the coating composition is coated on a portion of substrate treated with a composition comprising a trivalent chromium compound. It is clear that all the elements of the application claims are found in the copending claims. The difference between the application claims and the copending claims lies in the fact that the copending claims includes more elements and is thus much more specific. Thus the invention of the copending application is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application. Since the application claims are anticipated by the claims in the copending application, they are not patentably distinct.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 claims wherein the composition is an aqueous coating composition. It is unclear if the limitation is referring to the pretreatment composition or the composition containing the binder.
Claim 7 claims wherein the composition is an aqueous coating composition. It is unclear if the limitation is referring to the pretreatment composition or the composition containing the binder.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, 7-10, 13, 16-19, 21, 23, 93-96, 99, and 101 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0140680 to Lewis et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0102076 to Konuma et al.
As to claims 1, 3, and 99, Lewis discloses coated substrates coated with a coating composition comprising a polymeric binder comprising reactive functional groups and a curing agent comprising functional groups that are reactive with the reactive functional groups including aminoplasts, polyisocyanates, polyepoxides, hydroxalkylamides, polyacids, polyamines, polyamides which are reactive with carboxylic acids (0053-0075 also function as crosslinking agents). Lewis discloses wherein the substrate is treated with a pretreatment composition including those comprising trivalent chromium (0146).
Lewis discloses pretreated substrates obtained from a pretreatment composition comprising a trivalent chromium as well as other types of pretreatment compositions.
Konuma discloses pretreatment compositions comprising trivalent chromium (0015, 0092-0095).
At the time of filing it would have been obvious to select the trivalent chromium pretreatment composition taught in Lewis to provide improved corrosion resistance as taught in Konuma (0002).
As to claims 6-7, Lewis discloses the curable film forming compositions may be solventborne or water (Abstract, 0093, 0149).
As to claims 8-10, 13, 16-18, and 23, Lewis discloses wherein the coating composition comprises a polyester resin derived from the reaction of polyhydric alcohols including ethylene glycol, hexylene glycol, or neopentyl glycol and polyacids such as sebacic, maleic or fumaric, and phthalic including anhydrides thereof, i.e. acrylic polyester resin (0035).
As to claim 19, Lewis discloses suitable acrylic monomers such as methacrylic acid, ethyl methacrylate, butyl methacrylate, etc. (0027, 0031).
As to claim 21, Lewis discloses wherein the amount of polymer binder in the composition ranges from 30 to 60% (0092).
As to claims 93-96 with regard to the claimed properties, the Office realizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference. However, the reference teaches all of the claimed ingredients within the claimed amounts. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties would implicitly be achieved by a composite with all the claimed ingredients. If it is the applicants’ position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicants’ position; and (2) it would the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
As to claim 101, Lewis discloses multiple substrates (0134-0140).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL L LEONARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763