DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Applicant’s arguments, and amendments filed on January 07, 2026, in which claims 1, 12-20, 24-27, and 29-30 have been amended, claims 8-11, 23 and 28 have been canceled, and claims 31-36 have been added. Claims 1-7, 12-22, 24-27, and 29-36 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 12-15, 17, 27, 29, 30-34, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro (US 2023/0254745) in view of Shih et al. (US 2023/0037553).
Regarding claim 1, Fujishiro teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) ([0012]), comprising: receiving, from a base station, supported slice information (i.e., acquiring, by a user equipment, the slice information supported by the first base station apparatus [0012]); and performing, in connection with a determination that one or more intended slices for the UE include a high priority slice, at least one of cell selection or cell reselection based at least in part on the supported slice information (i.e., the higher layer 150 may select the supportable slice information from among one or more pieces of slice information notified in step S101 and notify the selected slice information… Example 2 is an example in which the higher layer 150 of the UE 100 notifies the AS layer 140 of the intended slice… When a plurality of intended slices exist, a priority of each intended slice may be further notified. The higher layer 150 may indicate, to the AS layer 140, search for the intended slice by using the cell reselection or the like [0080]-[0086]).
Fujishiro does not specifically teach performing inter-frequency cell reselection based at least in part on the supported slice information, wherein the supported slice information includes slice identifiers that identify supported slices in one or more neighbor cells and, one or more per-slice frequency priority values for each slice identifier.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Shih teaches if the UE receives the (Boolean) indicator from the camped/serving cell indicating that the UE camping on the camped/serving cell is allowed to perform the slice-based intra-frequency (or inter-frequency) cell reselection (e.g., the indicator is “1”, the indicator is “allowed” in ENUMERATED format), the UE may perform the slice-based intra-frequency (or inter-frequency) cell reselection… if the UE receives the information of the camped/serving cell’s supported slice(s) from the camped/serving cell, the UE may perform the slice-based intra-frequency or (inter-frequency) cell reselection. If the UE does not receive the information of the camped/serving cell's supported slice(s) from the camped/serving cell, the UE may not perform the slice-based intra-frequency (or inter-frequency) cell reselection ([0129]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Shih within the system of Fujishiro in order to perform a cell reselection procedure based on the slice information of the neighboring cells and the information of the intended slice.
Regarding claim 2, Fujishiro in view of Shih teaches all the limitations above. Fujishiro further teaches the high priority slice is associated with an urgent latency quality of service parameter, and wherein the high priority slice includes at least one ultra-reliable low-latency communication (uRLLC) slice (i.e., the UE 100 that intends (or desires) a URLLC slice may use a priority “7” for a frequency f2, a priority “3” for a frequency f1, and the like. For example, in the case of the cell priority, the UE 100 that intends (or desires) an eMBB slice may uses a priority of “7” for the cell #1, a priority of “3” for the cell #2, and the like. In these examples, the larger the number is, the higher the priority is, but a case that the smaller the number is, the higher the priority is may be possible [0080], [0113], [0136]-[0137]).
Regarding claim 3, Fujishiro in view of Shih teaches all the limitations above. Fujishiro further teaches receiving the supported slice information comprises: receiving, in a system information block (SIB), an indication relating to an urgent slice (i.e., broadcasting, by a base station, system information indicating a cell selection priority for each network slice; receiving, by a user equipment from a core network apparatus, slice information including information identifying a plurality of network slices and information indicating a priority of each of the plurality of network slices [claim 1]); and wherein performing at least one of cell selection or cell reselection comprises: performing, in connection with a determination that the one or more intended slices for the UE include an urgent slice, cell selection based at least in part on the indication (i.e., performing, by the user equipment, cell reselection by using the slice information and the cell reselection priority for each network slice [claim 1]).
Regarding claim 4, Fujishiro in view of Shih teaches all the limitations above. Fujishiro further teaches the SIB is a type 1 SIB (SIB 1), and the indication includes a one bit indication of whether a serving cell associated with the base station supports the urgent slice ([0075]-[0076], [0080]).
Regarding claim 5, Fujishiro in view of Shih teaches all the limitations above. Fujishiro further teaches the SIB is a type 1 SIB (SIB 1), and the indication includes a three bit indication of a slice/service type (SST) for the urgent slice supported by a serving cell associated with the base station ([0080], [0113]).
Regarding claim 12, Fujishiro in view of Shih teaches all the limitations above. Shih further teaches wherein the supported slice information includes a list of the slice identifiers, and, for each slice identifier in the list of slice identifiers, a list of frequencies associated with the slice identifier, a per-slice frequency priority value for each frequency in the list of frequencies, and a list of neighbor cells for each frequency in the list of frequencies ([0106]-[0107]-[0109]).
Regarding claim 13, Fujishiro in view of Shih teaches all the limitations above. Shih further teaches wherein the supported slice information includes a list of frequencies, and, for each frequency in the list of frequencies, a list of slice identifiers associated with the frequency, a per-slice frequency priority value for each slice identifier in the list of slice identifiers, and a list of neighbor cells for each slice identifier in the list of slice identifiers ([0106]-[0107]-[0109]).
Regarding claim 14, Fujishiro in view of Shih teaches all the limitations above. Fujishiro further teaches wherein the slice identifiers include at least one of single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), slice/service type (SST) indications, indexes mapped to corresponding S-NSSAI, or a slice group identifier associated with a group of slices ([0076]).
Regarding claim 15, Fujishiro in view of Shih further teaches all the limitations above. Shih further teaches receiving the supported slice information comprises: receiving the supported slice information including the slice identifiers and the one or more per-slice frequency priority values for each slice identifier in a system information block ([0106]-[0107]-[0109]).
Regarding claim 17, Fujishiro in view of Shih teaches all the limitation above. Shih further teaches receiving the supported slice information comprises: receiving the supported slice information including the slice identifiers and the one or more per-slice frequency priority values for each slice identifier in a RRC release message ([0015], [0106]-[0107]-[0109]).
Regarding claim 19, Fujishiro in view of Shih teaches all the limitation above. Fujishiro further teaches the supported slice information is exchanged among the one or more neighbor cells and a serving cell via an Xn interface during at least one of an Xn setup procedure or an Xn configuration update procedure ([0034], [0120]-[0121]).
Regarding claim 27, Fujishiro teaches user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory ([0012]), configured to: receive, from a base station, supported slice information (i.e., acquiring, by a user equipment, the slice information supported by the first base station apparatus [0012]); and perform, in connection with a determination that one or more intended slices for the UE include a high priority slice, at least one of cell selection or cell reselection based at least in part on the supported slice information (i.e., the higher layer 150 may select the supportable slice information from among one or more pieces of slice information notified in step S101 and notify the selected slice information… Example 2 is an example in which the higher layer 150 of the UE 100 notifies the AS layer 140 of the intended slice… When a plurality of intended slices exist, a priority of each intended slice may be further notified. The higher layer 150 may indicate, to the AS layer 140, search for the intended slice by using the cell reselection or the like [0080]-[0086]).
Fujishiro does not specifically teach performing inter-frequency cell reselection based at least in part on the supported slice information, wherein the supported slice information includes slice identifiers that identify supported slices in one or more neighbor cells and, one or more per-slice frequency priority values for each slice identifier.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Shih teaches if the UE receives the (Boolean) indicator from the camped/serving cell indicating that the UE camping on the camped/serving cell is allowed to perform the slice-based intra-frequency (or inter-frequency) cell reselection (e.g., the indicator is “1”, the indicator is “allowed” in ENUMERATED format), the UE may perform the slice-based intra-frequency (or inter-frequency) cell reselection… if the UE receives the information of the camped/serving cell’s supported slice(s) from the camped/serving cell, the UE may perform the slice-based intra-frequency or (inter-frequency) cell reselection. If the UE does not receive the information of the camped/serving cell's supported slice(s) from the camped/serving cell, the UE may not perform the slice-based intra-frequency (or inter-frequency) cell reselection ([0129]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Shih within the system of Fujishiro in order to perform a cell reselection procedure based on the slice information of the neighboring cells and the information of the intended slice.
Regarding claim 29, Fujishiro teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE) ([0012]), cause the UE to: receive, from a base station, supported slice information (i.e., acquiring, by a user equipment, the slice information supported by the first base station apparatus [0012]); and perform, in connection with a determination that one or more intended slices for the UE include a high priority slice, at least one of cell selection or cell reselection based at least in part on the supported slice information (i.e., the higher layer 150 may select the supportable slice information from among one or more pieces of slice information notified in step S101 and notify the selected slice information… Example 2 is an example in which the higher layer 150 of the UE 100 notifies the AS layer 140 of the intended slice… When a plurality of intended slices exist, a priority of each intended slice may be further notified. The higher layer 150 may indicate, to the AS layer 140, search for the intended slice by using the cell reselection or the like [0080]-[0086]).
Fujishiro does not specifically teach performing inter-frequency cell reselection based at least in part on the supported slice information, wherein the supported slice information includes slice identifiers that identify supported slices in one or more neighbor cells and, one or more per-slice frequency priority values for each slice identifier.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Shih teaches if the UE receives the (Boolean) indicator from the camped/serving cell indicating that the UE camping on the camped/serving cell is allowed to perform the slice-based intra-frequency (or inter-frequency) cell reselection (e.g., the indicator is “1”, the indicator is “allowed” in ENUMERATED format), the UE may perform the slice-based intra-frequency (or inter-frequency) cell reselection… if the UE receives the information of the camped/serving cell’s supported slice(s) from the camped/serving cell, the UE may perform the slice-based intra-frequency or (inter-frequency) cell reselection. If the UE does not receive the information of the camped/serving cell's supported slice(s) from the camped/serving cell, the UE may not perform the slice-based intra-frequency (or inter-frequency) cell reselection ([0129]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Shih within the system of Fujishiro in order to perform a cell reselection procedure based on the slice information of the neighboring cells and the information of the intended slice.
Regarding claim 30, Fujishiro teaches apparatus for wireless communication ([0012]), comprising: means for receive, from a base station, supported slice information (i.e., acquiring, by a user equipment, the slice information supported by the first base station apparatus [0012]); and means for performing, in connection with a determination that one or more intended slices for the UE include a high priority slice, at least one of cell selection or cell reselection based at least in part on the supported slice information (i.e., the higher layer 150 may select the supportable slice information from among one or more pieces of slice information notified in step S101 and notify the selected slice information… Example 2 is an example in which the higher layer 150 of the UE 100 notifies the AS layer 140 of the intended slice… When a plurality of intended slices exist, a priority of each intended slice may be further notified. The higher layer 150 may indicate, to the AS layer 140, search for the intended slice by using the cell reselection or the like [0080]-[0086]).
Fujishiro does not specifically teach performing inter-frequency cell reselection based at least in part on the supported slice information, wherein the supported slice information includes slice identifiers that identify supported slices in one or more neighbor cells and, one or more per-slice frequency priority values for each slice identifier.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Shih teaches if the UE receives the (Boolean) indicator from the camped/serving cell indicating that the UE camping on the camped/serving cell is allowed to perform the slice-based intra-frequency (or inter-frequency) cell reselection (e.g., the indicator is “1”, the indicator is “allowed” in ENUMERATED format), the UE may perform the slice-based intra-frequency (or inter-frequency) cell reselection… if the UE receives the information of the camped/serving cell’s supported slice(s) from the camped/serving cell, the UE may perform the slice-based intra-frequency or (inter-frequency) cell reselection. If the UE does not receive the information of the camped/serving cell's supported slice(s) from the camped/serving cell, the UE may not perform the slice-based intra-frequency (or inter-frequency) cell reselection ([0129]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Shih within the system of Fujishiro in order to perform a cell reselection procedure based on the slice information of the neighboring cells and the information of the intended slice.
Regarding claim 31, Fujishiro in view of Shih teaches all the limitation above. Fujishiro further teaches the supported slice information is received in a radio resource control release message (i.e., The gNB 200 may transmit the cell reselection priority for each slice to the UE 100 through dedicated signaling such as an RRC release (RRCRelease) message [0136]).
Regarding claim 32, Fujishiro in view of Shih teaches all the limitations above. Shih further teaches receiving the supported slice information further comprises receiving, for each slice identifier, a list of frequencies associated with the slice identifier and a per-slice frequency priority value for each frequency ([0106]-[0107]-[0109]).
Regarding claim 33, Fujishiro in view of Shih teaches all the limitations above. Shih further teaches wherein the supported slice information includes, for each slice identifier, a list of neighbor cells associated with the slice identifier ([0106]-[0107]-[0109]).
Regarding claim 34, Fujishiro in view of Shih teaches all the limitations above. Fujishiro further teaches wherein the supported slice information is received in a system information block (i.e., The slice information may be included in a system information block (SIB) and broadcast, or may be included in an RRC message and transmitted to the UE 100 [0076]).
Regarding claim 36, Fujishiro in view of Shih teaches all the limitations above. Fujishiro further teaches wherein the slice identifiers comprise at least one of a single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), a slice/service type (SST) indication, an index mapped to a corresponding S-NSSAI, or a slice group identifier associated with a group of slices ([0005], [0076]).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu et al. (2022/0346002) in view of Shih et al. (US 2023/0037553).
Regarding claim 1, Fu teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a base station, supported slice information (i.e., the terminal device may obtain slice information according to system information. During cell selection and reselection, when selecting a suitable cell, the terminal device needs to consider whether the cell is a cell corresponding to slicing that the terminal device supports… the base station broadcasts slice information 1 through system information [0126]-[0128], [0175], [0188], [0270]); and performing, in connection with a determination that one or more intended slices for the UE include a high priority slice, at least one of cell selection or cell reselection based at least in part on the supported slice information (i.e., the terminal device performs cell selection and/or retransmission based on the supported slice information, which ensures that the terminal device with a specific slice service access demand can select a suitable cell based on a more appropriate criterion to perform normal data transmission, and avoids the delay in terminal device access and business services [0199], [0266]).
Fu does not specifically teach performing inter-frequency cell reselection based at least in part on the supported slice information, wherein the supported slice information includes slice identifiers that identify supported slices in one or more neighbor cells and, one or more per-slice frequency priority values for each slice identifier.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Shih teaches if the UE receives the (Boolean) indicator from the camped/serving cell indicating that the UE camping on the camped/serving cell is allowed to perform the slice-based intra-frequency (or inter-frequency) cell reselection (e.g., the indicator is “1”, the indicator is “allowed” in ENUMERATED format), the UE may perform the slice-based intra-frequency (or inter-frequency) cell reselection… if the UE receives the information of the camped/serving cell’s supported slice(s) from the camped/serving cell, the UE may perform the slice-based intra-frequency or (inter-frequency) cell reselection. If the UE does not receive the information of the camped/serving cell's supported slice(s) from the camped/serving cell, the UE may not perform the slice-based intra-frequency (or inter-frequency) cell reselection ([0129]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Shih within the system of Fu in order to perform a cell reselection procedure based on the slice information of the neighboring cells and the information of the intended slice.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu et al. (2022/0346002) in view of Shih further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2023/0072951).
Regarding claim 2, Fu in view of Shih teaches all the limitations except the high priority slice is associated with an urgent latency quality of service parameter, and wherein the high priority slice includes at least one ultra-reliable low-latency communication (uRLLC) slice.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Zhang teaches the frequency priority is configured considering the slice type(s) supported by the UE; for example, UE supports Ultra Reliable & Low Latency Communication (URLLC) slice service, and the network sets a priority level of a frequency supporting the URLLC slice service higher, so that the UE preferentially camps on the frequency supporting the URLLC slice service ([0096], [0100], [0107], [0159], [0162], [0167]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Zhang within the system of Fu in view of Shih in order to use, by A UE supporting URLLC, the frequency priority sent through the dedicated signaling to perform cell reselection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 16, 18, 20-22, 24-26, and 35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that objected claim 11 has been incorporated in dependent claims. Therefore, amended independent claims and claims that depend therefrom are in condition for allowance. However, the Examiner disagrees with the preceding arguments and maintains the rejections as recited above because claim 11 has not been incorporated in independent claims. The rejections recited above are final.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEAN A GELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643