DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-5, 12-16, 19, 27, 29-30, 32-33, and 35-39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sunghoon et al. (WO2022177391 A1) in view of Fu et al. (2022/0346002).
Regarding claim 1, Sunghoon et al. (WO2022177391 A1) teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a base station, supported slice information, the supported slice information-including indicating slice identifiers that identify supported slices in one or more neighbor cells and one or more per-slice frequency priority values for each slice identifier in a radio resource control release message to overwrite ignore any frequency priority values for a corresponding slice identifier and frequency or frequencies received in a system information block (SIB) (i.e., a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system comprises: receiving, from a first cell, a first priority value for a frequency and a second priority value related to a slice supported by the frequency; receiving, from a second cell, priority control information informing whether to apply the second priority value to the frequency for a cell reselection ([0009]). In the case of system information, an NR frequency or inter-RAT frequency may be listed without providing a dedicated priority (i.e. the field cellReselectionPriority is absent for that frequency). If dedicated priorities (e.g., the field cellReselectionPriority and/or cellReselectionPriorities) are provided in dedicated signalling (e.g., RRCRelease message), the UE shall ignore all the priorities provided in system information ([0150] ). The UE may receive, from a network, slice information informing one or more slices supported by the frequency. The one or more slices may comprise the slice. The slice information may comprise a slice identifier (ID) of the slice ([0240]-[0241])).
Sunghoon is clear with respect to performing, in connection with a determination that one or more intended slices for the UE include a high priority slice, inter frequency cell reselection based at least in part on the supported slice information.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Fu teaches the terminal device performs cell selection and/or retransmission based on the supported slice information, which ensures that the terminal device with a specific slice service access demand can select a suitable cell based on a more appropriate criterion to perform normal data transmission, and avoids the delay in terminal device access and business services [0199], [0246], [0266]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Fu within the system of Sunghoon in order to connect terminal device only to a cell that can mathematically guarantee the exact performance characteristics—such as ultra-low latency or massive bandwidth—required by its active applications.
Regarding claim 2, Sunghoon et al. in view of Fu teaches all the limitations above. Sunghoon further teaches the high priority slice is associated with an urgent latency quality of service parameter, and wherein the high priority slice includes at least one ultra-reliable low-latency communication (uRLLC) slice ([0046], [0049]).
Regarding claim 3, Sunghoon et al. in view of Fu teaches all the limitations above. Fu further teaches receiving, in the SIB, an indication relating to an urgent slice (i.e., obtain a slicing-specific cell selection parameter via system information broadcast by a network device [0235]); and wherein performing at least one of cell selection or cell reselection comprises: performing, in connection with a determination that the one or more intended slices for the UE include an urgent slice, cell selection based at least in part on the indication (i.e., the terminal device performs cell selection and/or retransmission based on the supported slice information ([0199], [0235]-[0236], [0246]).
Regarding claim 4, Sunghoon et al. in view of Fu teaches all the limitations above. Fu further teaches wherein the SIB is a type 1 SIB (SIB1), and the indication includes a one bit indication of whether a serving cell associated with the base station supports the urgent slice (i.e., the slice information and/or the slicing-specific cell selection parameter are carried in at least one of a Master Information Block (MIB), System Information Block (SIB) 1, SIB 2, SIB 3, SIB 4, and SIB 5 in the system information [0205]-[0206], [0213], [0216], [0236]).
Regarding claim 5, Sunghoon et al. in view of Fu teaches all the limitations above. Fu further teaches wherein the SIB is a type 1 SIB (SIB1), and the indication includes a three bit indication of a slice/service type (SST) for the urgent slice supported by a serving cell associated with the base station (i.e., the terminal is configured to send information to the terminal, the information includes slice information, wherein the slice information includes at least one of: slice/service type [0282]-[0283]).
Regarding claim 12, Sunghoon et al. in view of Fu teaches all the limitations above. Sunghoon et al. further teaches wherein the supported slice information includes a list of the slice identifiers, and, for each slice identifier in the list of slice identifiers, a list of frequencies associated with the slice identifier, a per-slice frequency priority value for each frequency in the list of frequencies, and a list of neighbor cells for each frequency in the list of frequencies ([0241]-[0243]).
Regarding claim 13, Sunghoon et al. in view of Fu teaches all the limitations above. Sunghoon et al. further teaches wherein the supported slice information includes a list of frequencies, and, for each frequency in the list of frequencies, a list of slice identifiers associated with the frequency, a per-slice frequency priority value for each slice identifier in the list of slice identifiers, and a list of neighbor cells for each slice identifier in the list of slice identifiers ([0241]-[0243], [0247]-[0248]).
Regarding claim 14, Sunghoon et al. in view of Fu teaches all the limitations above. FU et al. further teaches wherein the slice identifiers include at least one of single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), slice/service type (SST) indications, indexes mapped to corresponding S-NSSAI, or a slice group identifier associated with a group of slices (i.e., send first information to a terminal device, wherein the first information includes slice information, and the slice information is used for the terminal device to perform cell selection or reselection, or the slice information is used for the terminal device to determine a target cell for the cell selection, wherein the slice information includes at least one of: a slice identity, Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI), a slice type or a service type, a cell identity, a cell identity range, and a Tracking Area (TA) identity [0282]-[0286]).
Regarding claim 15, Sunghoon et al. in view of Fu teaches all the limitations above. Sunghoon et al. further teaches receiving the supported slice information comprises: receiving the supported slice information including the slice identifiers and the one or more per-slice frequency priority values for each slice identifier in a system information block ([0009]-[0012]).
Regarding claim 16, Sunghoon et al. in view of Fu teaches all the limitations above. Sunghoon et al. further teaches wherein receiving the one or more per-slice frequency priority values for each slice identifier in the SIB ignores any per-cell frequency priority values received in the SIB (i.e., Absolute priorities of different NR frequencies or inter-RAT frequencies may be provided to the UE in the system information, in the RRCRelease message. In the case of system information, an NR frequency or inter-RAT frequency may be listed without providing a dedicated priority. If dedicated priorities are provided in dedicated signalling, the UE shall ignore all the priorities provided in system information ([0150]-[0151]). The slice information may comprise a slice identifier (ID) of the slice [0241]).
Regarding claim 19, Sunghoon et al. in view of Fu teaches all the limitations above. Sunghoon et al. further teaches the supported slice information is exchanged among the one or more neighbor cells and a serving cell via an Xn interface during at least one of an Xn setup procedure or an Xn configuration update procedure ([0082]]).
Regarding claim 27, Sunghoon et al. (WO2022177391 A1) teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (typical features of communication device), configured to: receive, from a base station, supported slice information, the supported slice information-including indicating slice identifiers that identify supported slices in one or more neighbor cells and one or more per-slice frequency priority values for each slice identifier in a radio resource control release message to ignore any frequency priority values for a corresponding slice identifier and frequency or frequencies received in a system information block (SIB) (i.e., a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system comprises: receiving, from a first cell, a first priority value for a frequency and a second priority value related to a slice supported by the frequency; receiving, from a second cell, priority control information informing whether to apply the second priority value to the frequency for a cell reselection ([0009]). In the case of system information, an NR frequency or inter-RAT frequency may be listed without providing a dedicated priority (i.e. the field cellReselectionPriority is absent for that frequency). If dedicated priorities (e.g., the field cellReselectionPriority and/or cellReselectionPriorities) are provided in dedicated signalling (e.g., RRCRelease message), the UE shall ignore all the priorities provided in system information ([0150] ). The UE may receive, from a network, slice information informing one or more slices supported by the frequency. The one or more slices may comprise the slice. The slice information may comprise a slice identifier (ID) of the slice ([0240]-[0241])).
Sunghoon is clear with respect to performing, in connection with a determination that one or more intended slices for the UE include a high priority slice, inter frequency cell reselection based at least in part on the supported slice information.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Fu teaches the terminal device performs cell selection and/or retransmission based on the supported slice information, which ensures that the terminal device with a specific slice service access demand can select a suitable cell based on a more appropriate criterion to perform normal data transmission, and avoids the delay in terminal device access and business services [0199], [0266]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Fu within the system of Sunghoon in order to move network intelligence directly to the edge of the connection, and eliminate the traditional "one-size-fits-all" connection approach.
Regarding claim 29, Sunghoon et al. (WO2022177391 A1) teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE) (typical features of communication device), cause the UE to: receive, from a base station, supported slice information, the supported slice information-including indicating slice identifiers that identify supported slices in one or more neighbor cells and one or more per-slice frequency priority values for each slice identifier in a radio resource control release message to overwrite ignore any frequency priority values for a corresponding slice identifier and frequency or frequencies received in a system information block (SIB) (i.e., a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system comprises: receiving, from a first cell, a first priority value for a frequency and a second priority value related to a slice supported by the frequency; receiving, from a second cell, priority control information informing whether to apply the second priority value to the frequency for a cell reselection ([0009]). In the case of system information, an NR frequency or inter-RAT frequency may be listed without providing a dedicated priority (i.e. the field cellReselectionPriority is absent for that frequency). If dedicated priorities (e.g., the field cellReselectionPriority and/or cellReselectionPriorities) are provided in dedicated signalling (e.g., RRCRelease message), the UE shall ignore all the priorities provided in system information ([0150] ). The UE may receive, from a network, slice information informing one or more slices supported by the frequency. The one or more slices may comprise the slice. The slice information may comprise a slice identifier (ID) of the slice ([0240]-[0241])).
Sunghoon is clear with respect to performing, in connection with a determination that one or more intended slices for the UE include a high priority slice, inter frequency cell reselection based at least in part on the supported slice information.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Fu teaches the terminal device performs cell selection and/or retransmission based on the supported slice information, which ensures that the terminal device with a specific slice service access demand can select a suitable cell based on a more appropriate criterion to perform normal data transmission, and avoids the delay in terminal device access and business services [0199], [0266]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Fu within the system of Sunghoon in order to move network intelligence directly to the edge of the connection, and eliminate the traditional "one-size-fits-all" connection approach.
Regarding claim 30, Sunghoon et al. (WO2022177391 A1) teaches apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: means for receiving, from a base station, supported slice information, the supported slice information-including indicating slice identifiers that identify supported slices in one or more neighbor cells and one or more per-slice frequency priority values for each slice identifier in a radio resource control release message to overwrite ignore any frequency priority values for a corresponding slice identifier and frequency or frequencies received in a system information block (SIB) (i.e., a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system comprises: receiving, from a first cell, a first priority value for a frequency and a second priority value related to a slice supported by the frequency; receiving, from a second cell, priority control information informing whether to apply the second priority value to the frequency for a cell reselection ([0009]). In the case of system information, an NR frequency or inter-RAT frequency may be listed without providing a dedicated priority (i.e. the field cellReselectionPriority is absent for that frequency). If dedicated priorities (e.g., the field cellReselectionPriority and/or cellReselectionPriorities) are provided in dedicated signalling (e.g., RRCRelease message), the UE shall ignore all the priorities provided in system information ([0150] ). The UE may receive, from a network, slice information informing one or more slices supported by the frequency. The one or more slices may comprise the slice. The slice information may comprise a slice identifier (ID) of the slice ([0240]-[0241])).
Sunghoon is clear with respect to performing, in connection with a determination that one or more intended slices for the UE include a high priority slice, inter frequency cell reselection based at least in part on the supported slice information.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Fu teaches the terminal device performs cell selection and/or retransmission based on the supported slice information, which ensures that the terminal device with a specific slice service access demand can select a suitable cell based on a more appropriate criterion to perform normal data transmission, and avoids the delay in terminal device access and business services [0199], [0266]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Fu within the system of Sunghoon in order to move network intelligence directly to the edge of the connection, and eliminate the traditional "one-size-fits-all" connection approach.
Regarding claim 32, Sunghoon et al. in view of Fu teaches all the limitations above. Sunghoon further teaches receiving the supported slice information further comprises receiving, for each slice identifier, a list of frequencies associated with the slice identifier and a per-slice frequency priority value for each frequency (i.e., the priority value to apply to the frequency may be determined as being highest among a list of frequencies configured by a network based on that the slice is preferred by the UE [0242]-[0243], [0247]-[0249]).
Regarding claim 33, Sunghoon et al. in view of Fu teaches all the limitations above. Sunghoon further teaches wherein the supported slice information includes, for each slice identifier, a list of neighbor cells associated with the slice identifier (i.e., the priority value to apply to the frequency may be determined as being highest among a list of frequencies configured by a network based on that the slice is preferred by the UE [0242]-[0247]).
Regarding claim 35, Sunghoon et al. in view of Fu teaches all the limitations above. Sunghoon further teaches wherein the supported slice information includes, for each slice identifier, a per-slice frequency priority value that, when received in the radio resource control release message, ignores a per-slice frequency priority value for the same slice identifier received in the SIB (i.e., Absolute priorities of different NR frequencies or inter-RAT frequencies may be provided to the UE in the system information, in the RRCRelease message. In the case of system information, an NR frequency or inter-RAT frequency may be listed without providing a dedicated priority. If dedicated priorities are provided in dedicated signalling, the UE shall ignore all the priorities provided in system information ([0151]). The slice information may comprise a slice identifier (ID) of the slice [0241]).
Regarding claim 36, Sunghoon et al. in view of Fu teaches all the limitations above. FU et al. further teaches wherein the slice identifiers include at least one of single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), slice/service type (SST) indications, indexes mapped to corresponding S-NSSAI, or a slice group identifier associated with a group of slices (i.e., send first information to a terminal device, wherein the first information includes slice information, and the slice information is used for the terminal device to perform cell selection or reselection, or the slice information is used for the terminal device to determine a target cell for the cell selection, wherein the slice information includes at least one of: a slice identity, Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI), a slice type or a service type, a cell identity, a cell identity range, and a Tracking Area (TA) identity [0282]-[0286]).
Regarding claim 37, Sunghoon et al. in view of Fu teaches all the limitations above. Fu further teaches receive, in the SIB, an indication relating to an urgent slice (i.e., obtain a slicing-specific cell selection parameter via system information broadcast by a network device [0235]); and wherein performing at least one of cell selection or cell reselection comprises: performing, in connection with a determination that the one or more intended slices for the UE include an urgent slice, cell selection based at least in part on the indication (i.e., the terminal device performs cell selection and/or retransmission based on the supported slice information ([0199], [0235]-[0236], [0246]).
Regarding claim 38, Sunghoon et al. in view of Fu teaches all the limitations above. Fu further teaches wherein the SIB is a type 1 SIB (SIB1), and the indication includes a one bit indication of whether a serving cell associated with the base station supports the urgent slice (i.e., the slice information and/or the slicing-specific cell selection parameter are carried in at least one of a Master Information Block (MIB), System Information Block (SIB) 1, SIB 2, SIB 3, SIB 4, and SIB 5 in the system information [0205]-[0206], [0213], [0216], [0236]).
Regarding claim 39, Sunghoon et al. in view of Fu teaches all the limitations above. Fu further teaches wherein the SIB is a type 1 SIB (SIB1), and the indication includes a three bit indication of a slice/service type (SST) for the urgent slice supported by a serving cell associated with the base station (i.e., the terminal is configured to send information to the terminal, the information includes slice information, wherein the slice information includes at least one of: slice/service type [0282]-[0283]).
wherein, to perform cell selection, the one or more processors are configured to: search for a number of strongest candidate cells in each of a plurality of frequencies; and select, as a serving cell, a candidate cell of the number of strongest candidate cells, based at least in part on a determination that the candidate cell supports the urgent slice included in the one or more intended slices for the UE.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 20-22, 24-26, and 40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that objected claim 11 has been incorporated in dependent claims. Therefore, amended independent claims and claims that depend therefrom are in condition for allowance. However, the Examiner disagrees with the preceding arguments and maintains the rejections as recited above because claim 11 has not been incorporated in independent claims. The rejections recited above are final.
Conclusion
/JEAN A GELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643