DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 4-5, 7-9, 11, and 15-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 4 of claim 4, it is believed “a front side member” should be changed to --the front side member--.
In line 8 of claim 4, it is believed “a front side member” should be changed to --the front side member--.
In line 11 of claim 4, it is believed “a front side member” should be changed to --the front side member--.
In line 4 of claim 5, it is believed “a front side member” should be changed to --the front side member--.
In line 6 of claim 7, it is believed “an external” should be changed to --the external--.
In line 3 of claim 8, it is believed “an external” should be changed to --the external--.
In line 3 of claim 9, it is believed “a bypass device” should be changed to --the bypass device--.
In line 3 of claim 9, it is believed “an anchoring device” should be changed to --the anchoring device--.
In line 5 of claim 9, it is believed “an external” should be changed to --the external--.
In line 1 of claim 11, it is believed the word --at-- is missing before “least”.
In line 2 of claim 15, it is believed “a front side member” should be changed to --the front side member--.
In line 2 of claim 16, it is believed “a front side member” should be changed to --the front side member--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii et al. (US Pat 8,985,681) in view of Bauer et al. (US Pat 4,188,059).
Regarding claim 1, a first interpretation of Fujii et al. discloses a hybrid electric motor vehicle comprising a floor pan 11 with a central tunnel 13 (see Figures 2-3; Col. 6, lines 60-67), at least two longitudinal girders 12 arranged respectively at each lateral edge of the floor pan 11 (see Figures 1-3; Col. 6, lines 60-67), a cross member 18 extending above the floor pan 11 and transversally between the at least two girders 12 (see Figure 1; Col. 7, lines 2-8), at least two side members 54 extending under the floor pan 11 in the direction of said crossmember18, including at least two front side members 54 arranged on either side of the central tunnel 13 (see Figures 1-3; Col. 8, lines 10-22), wherein said vehicle further comprises one or more reinforcing devices 99, selected from at least one bypass device 101 and/or at least one anchoring device 103, in that wherein said one or more reinforcing devices 99 are elongate bodies having two ends defining a front end and a rear end, with one of said ends being attached to a side member 54, and in that wherein the one or more reinforcing devices 99 are attached under the floor pan 11 of the vehicle and are arranged to extend in a direction that forms an angle with the longitudinal direction of the vehicle (see Figure 1; Col. 10, lines 36-53).
Note: Applicant claims a hybrid electric vehicle; however, the recitation is found in the preamble and is treated as nominal. Vehicles meeting the structural recitations found in the body of the claim are used, regardless of their status as hybrid, electric, or gas-powered.
The first interpretation of Fujii et al. fails to disclose that the cross member is an underframe extending under the floor pan.
Bauer et al. disclose a vehicle structure having at least two girders 5, 6, a floor pan 7, and an underframe 8 extending under the floor pan 7 and transversely between the at least two girders 5, 6 (see Figures 1-2; Col. 2, lines 12-32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the cross member of the first interpretation of Fujii et al. as an underframe extending under the floor pan, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Bauer et al., to reinforce the floor pan without interfering with components positioned in the passenger compartment of the vehicle located above the floor pan.
Regarding claim 2, the first interpretation of Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al., discloses the vehicle according to claim 1, wherein at least one reinforcing device 99 is a hollow body (see Figure 9; Col. 10, lines 54-64). The bypass device 101 has a hat-like cross-sectional shape that is closed by the floor panel 14, making it a hollow body (see Figures 1 and 9-10).
Regarding claim 3, the first interpretation of Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al., discloses the vehicle according to claim 1, comprising at least one anchoring device 103 attached to a front side member 54 by its front end and to the underframe 18 by its rear end (see Figures 1 and 9-10; Col. 12, line 51-Col. 13, line 10). The anchoring device 103 is attached to the front side member 54 at the front end and the rear end is attached to the bypass device 101 at the rear end, indirectly attaching the rear end to the underframe 18 by the bypass device 101 (see Figures 1 and 9-10).
Regarding claim 7, the first interpretation of Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al., discloses the vehicle according to claim 1, further comprising at least one external sub-floor side member 102 extending parallel to a front side member 54 and arranged between said front side member 54 and one of the at least two girders 12, and at least one bypass device 101 attached to the external side member 102 by one of its ends (see Figures 1 and 10; Col. 10, lines 36-53).
Regarding claim 12, the first interpretation of Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al., discloses the vehicle according to claim 3, wherein at least two anchoring devices 101, 103 are attached to a single front side member 54 (see Figure 1; Col. 12, line 51-Col. 13, line 10).
Regarding claim 14, the first interpretation of Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al., discloses the vehicle according to claim 7, wherein said at least one bypass device 101 is attached to the external side member 102 by its front end (see Figure 1). The bypass device 101 is indirectly attached to the front end of the external side member 102 by the outrigger 17 (see Figure 1; Col. 12, lines 20-33).
Claims 1-3, 7, 9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a second embodiment of Fujii et al. in view of Bauer et al..
Regarding claim 1, a second embodiment of Fujii et al. discloses a hybrid electric motor vehicle comprising a floor pan 11 with a central tunnel 13 (see Figures 27-28; Col. 6, lines 60-67; Col. 19, lines 5-12), at least two longitudinal girders 12 arranged respectively at each lateral edge of the floor pan 11 (see Figures 27-28; Col. 6, lines 60-67; Col. 19, lines 5-12), a crossmember 18 extending above the floor pan 11 and transversally between the at least two girders 12 (see Figure 27; Col. 7, lines 2-8; Col. 19, lines 5-12), at least two side members 54 extending under the floor pan 11 in the direction of said crossmember 18, including at least two front side members 54 arranged on either side of the central tunnel 13 (see Figures 27-28; Col. 8, lines 10-22; Col. 19., lines 5-12), wherein said vehicle further comprises one or more reinforcing devices 199, selected from at least one bypass device and/or at least one anchoring device, in that wherein said one or more reinforcing devices 199 are elongate bodies having two ends defining a front end 207 and a rear end 206, with one of said ends being attached to a side member 54, and in that wherein the one or more reinforcing devices 199 are attached under the floor pan 11 of the vehicle and are arranged to extend in a direction that forms an angle with the longitudinal direction of the vehicle (see Figure 27; Col. 19, line 13-Col. 20, line 47).
Note: Applicant claims a hybrid electric vehicle; however, the recitation is found in the preamble and is treated as nominal. Vehicles meeting the structural recitations found in the body of the claim are used, regardless of their status as hybrid, electric, or gas-powered.
The second embodiment of Fujii et al. fails to disclose that the cross member is an underframe extending under the floor pan.
Bauer et al. disclose a vehicle structure having at least two girders 5, 6, a floor pan 7, and an underframe 8 extending under the floor pan 7 and transversely between the at least two girders 5, 6 (see Figures 1-2; Col. 2, lines 12-32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the crossmember of the second embodiment of Fujii et al. as an underframe extending under the floor pan, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Bauer et al., to reinforce the floor pan without interfering with components positioned in the passenger compartment of the vehicle located above the floor pan.
Regarding claim 2, the second embodiment of Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al., discloses the vehicle according to claim 1, wherein at least one reinforcing device 199 is a hollow body (see Figures 24 and 28; Col. 19, lines 18-59; Col. 20, lines 20-29). The reinforcing device 199 has a portion forming a hat-like cross-sectional shape that forms a closed cross section with the floor panel 14, forming an open space between the floor panel 14 and the reinforcing device 199, as shown in Figure 28, making it hollow.
Regarding claim 3, the second embodiment of Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al., discloses the vehicle according to claim 1, comprising at least one anchoring device 199 attached to a front side member 54 by its front end 208 and to the underframe 18 by its rear end 206 (see Figure 27; Col. 20, lines 58-64).
Regarding claim 7, the second embodiment of Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al., discloses the vehicle according to claim 1, further comprising at least one external sub-floor side member 230 extending parallel to the front side member 54 and arranged between said front side member 54 and one of the at least two girders 12 (see Figures 27-28), and at least one bypass device 199 attached to the external side member 230 by one of its ends 207 (see Figures 27-28; Col. 24, lines 38-67).
Regarding claim 9, the second embodiment of Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al., discloses the vehicle according to claim 7, comprising at least one mixed reinforcing device 199 comprising a bypass device 207 and an anchoring device 206 placed end-to- end so as to form a single part, the mixed one or more reinforcing devices 199 being attached to the external side member 230 by their front end 207 and to the underframe 18 by their rear end 206 (see Figure 27; Col. 19, lines 18-31; Col. 24, lines 38-67).
Regarding claim 14, the second embodiment of Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al., discloses the vehicle according to claim 7, wherein said at least one bypass device 207 is attached to the external side member 230 by its front end 218 (see Figure 27; Col. 24, lines 38-67).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the first interpretation of Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al., in view of Caillard et al. (DE 102014006718).
Regarding claim 5, the first interpretation of Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al., disclose the vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the one or more reinforcing devices 101, 103 are U-shaped profiles (see Figures 9-10; Col. 10, lines 54-64) and at least one of the ends of said profiles has an elbow 117 (see Figure 10b; Col. 11, lines 14-20). The reinforcing devices have hat-like cross-sections, meaning that a U-shape is formed when an opening of the cross-section is positioned upwardly.
The first interpretation of Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al., fail to disclose a rear seat crossmember arranged on the floor pan, one of said ends of the one or more reinforcing devices is attached to a front side member below the rear seat crossmember.
Caillard et al. disclose a hybrid electric motor vehicle comprising a floor pan 18 with a central tunnel 14 (see Figures 1-3; Page 17, Paragraph 4), at least two longitudinal girders 10, 12 arranged respectively at each lateral edge of the floor pan 18 (see Figures 1-3; Page 17, Paragraph 4), wherein said vehicle further comprises one or more reinforcing devices 36, 38, selected from at least one bypass device and/or at least one anchoring device, in that wherein said one or more reinforcing devices 36, 38 are elongate bodies having two ends defining a front end and a rear end, and in that wherein the one or more reinforcing devices 36, 38 are attached under the floor pan 11 of the vehicle and are arranged to extend in a direction that forms an angle with the longitudinal direction of the vehicle (see Figures 1 and 3; Page 18, Paragraphs 1-4). A rear seat crossmember 48 is arranged on the floor pan 11, one of said ends 44, 46 of the one or more reinforcing devices 36, 38 is attached to a front side member below the rear seat crossmember 48 (see Figure 3 and annotated Figure 3 below; Page 18, Paragraph 3).
NOTE: References to Caillard et al. are drawn from the provided reference and its respective English translation found in the file wrapper. The page numbers correspond to those in the file wrapper and not those on the English translation provided.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a rear seat crossmember on the floor pan of the first interpretation of Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al., and attached one end of the reinforcing devices to the front side member below the rear seat crossmember, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide an extra measure of stability to the floor pan in the event of a collision.
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the first interpretation of Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al., in view of Sotty et al. (WO 2021/044233).
Regarding claim 6, the first interpretation of Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al., disclose the vehicle according to claim 1.
The first interpretation of Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al., fail to disclose the one or more reinforcing devices are steel parts.
Sotty et al. disclose a front structure of an electric vehicle having a floor panel 4 and a central tunnel 15 made from steel to ensure the tunnel nose absorbs an important amount of energy when deforming during a collision (see Figures 1-2; Page 9, lines 20-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the one or more reinforcing devices of the first interpretation of Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al., from steel, with a reasonable expectation of success, to ensure the reinforcing devices absorb a significant amount of energy in the event of a collision, as taught by Sotty et al..
Regarding claim 13, the first interpretation of Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al. and Sotty et al., disclose the vehicle according to claim 6.
The first interpretation of Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al. and Sotty et al., fail to disclose the steel parts have a tensile strength of between 400 and 1200 MPa as determined by standard ISO 6892-1.
Sotty et al. disclose a front structure of an electric vehicle having a floor panel 4 and a central tunnel 15 made from steel to ensure the tunnel nose absorbs an important amount of energy when deforming during a collision (see Figures 1-2; Page 9, lines 20-30). The tunnel nose 15 has a tensile strength of at least 1000MPa to guarantee structural stability and a high energy absorption during a collision (see Page 9, lines 20-29). The tensile strength is measured according to ISO standard 6892-1, published in October 2009 (see Page 3, lines 6-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the steel parts of the first interpretation of Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al. and Sotty et al., having a tensile strength of at least 1000 MPa, falling within the range of 400-1200MPa, as determined by standard ISO 6892-1, with a reasonable expectation of success, to guarantee structural stability of the parts and a high energy absorption during a collision, as taught by Sotty et al..
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the first interpretation of Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al., in view of Kano et al. (US Pat 9,623,911).
Regarding claim 10, the first interpretation of Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al., disclose the vehicle according to claim 1, wherein at least two anchoring devices 101, 103 are attached to a single front side member 54 (see Figure 1; Col. 12, line 51-Col. 13, line 10).
The first interpretation of Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al., fail to disclose a battery housed behind the underframe.
Kano et al. disclose a vehicle structure having a pair of side sills 21, a rear seat crossmember 22, floor side members 24 and a battery 31 positioned in a rear portion of the vehicle, behind the rear seat crossmember 22 (see Figure 5; Col. 2, lines 32-36; Col. 4, lines 36-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to position a battery behind the underframe of the first interpretation of Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al., to safely position the battery in a way that it remains protected in the event of a collision while also providing space for an engine in a hybrid vehicle.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the first interpretation of Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al., in view of Kuwayama et al. (US Pat 9,205,870).
Regarding claim 11, the first interpretation of Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al., disclose the vehicle according to Claim 2.
The first interpretation of Fujii et al, as modified by Bauer et al., fail to disclose at least one reinforcing device has a height of less than 30 mm.
Kuwayama et al. disclose a vehicle frame member 1 having a hat-like cross section with a height 4 of 60mm (see Figure 1C; Col. 8, lines 19-29).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to construct reinforcing device of the first interpretation of Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al., with a consistent height, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Kuwayama et al., to ensure the reinforcing device has a low profile and sufficient strength along a lower portion of the vehicle.
However, section 2144.04 IV. A. of the MPEP sets forth the Federal Circuit case of In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), which held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to construct reinforcing device of the first interpretation of Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al. and Kuwayama et al., with a height of less than 30mm, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). In this instance, the reinforcing device of the first interpretation of Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al. and Kuwayama et al., would not perform differently by setting the height to be less than 30mm.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 8, and 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 4 recites a hybrid electric motor vehicle comprising a floor pan with a central tunnel, at least two longitudinal girders arranged respectively at each lateral edge of the floor pan, an underframe extending under the floor pan and transversally between the at least two girders, at least two side members extending under the floor pan in the direction of said underframe, including at least two front side members arranged on either side of the central tunnel, wherein said vehicle further comprises one or more reinforcing devices, selected from at least one bypass device and/or at least one anchoring device, wherein said one or more reinforcing devices are elongate bodies having two ends defining a front end and a rear end, with one of said ends being attached to a side member, and in that wherein the one or more reinforcing devices are attached under the floor pan of the vehicle and are arranged to extend in a direction that forms an angle with the longitudinal direction of the vehicle. The vehicle comprises: a) at least one anchoring device attached to a front side member by its front end and to the underframe by its rear end, the rear end being contiguous with one of the at least two girders a girder; and/or b) an internal sub-floor side member extending parallel to a front side member and arranged between said front side member and the central tunnel, further wherein the vehicle comprises at least one anchoring device attached to a front side member via its front end and to the underframe by its rear end, the rear end being contiguous with said internal side member. The interpretations of Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al., disclose a vehicle having a floor pan with a central tunnel; at least two longitudinal girders; an underframe, at least two side members; and one or more reinforcing devices; however, Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al., fail to disclose that a front end of an anchoring device is attached to the front side member and a rear end of the anchoring device is attached to the underframe. Ishizono et al. (US Pat 8,668,248) disclose a vehicle having a floor pan with a central tunnel; at least two longitudinal girders; two front side members; one or more reinforcing devices; and an internal sub-floor side member; Ishizono et al. fail to disclose that an anchoring device of the reinforcing device is attached to the underframe and that the internal sub-floor side member is parallel to the front side member. Natsume et al. (US Pat 9,616,939) disclose a vehicle having a floor pan with a central tunnel; at least two longitudinal girders; at least two side members; and one or more reinforcing devices; however, Natsume et al. fail to disclose an underframe to which an anchoring device of the reinforcing device is attached. Kim (US Pat 11,807,306) discloses a vehicle having a floor pan with a central tunnel; at least two longitudinal girders; an underframe extending between the at least two girders; at least two side members; and one or more reinforcing devices; however, Kim fails to disclose a reinforcing device is attached at one end to the side member and attached at another end to the underframe. Goedecke et al. (DE 102010039109) disclose a vehicle having a floor pan with a central tunnel; at least two longitudinal girders; at least two side members; an internal sub-floor side member; and one or more reinforcing devices; however, Goedecke et al. fail to disclose the reinforcing device is attached at one end to the underframe. Caillard et al. (DE 102014006718) disclose a vehicle having a floor pan with a central tunnel; at least two longitudinal girders; at least two side members; and one or more reinforcing devices; however, Caillard et al. fail to disclose an underframe to which the reinforcing device is attached. Ishijima et al. (JP 2013103635) disclose a vehicle having a floor pan; at least two longitudinal girders; an underframe; at least two side members; and one or more reinforcing devices; however, Ishijima et al fail to disclose a central tunnel or that the reinforcing member is attached to one of the side members. The prior art does not properly teach or suggest the recited configuration, making claim 4 allowable.
Claim 8 recites a hybrid electric motor vehicle comprising a floor pan with a central tunnel, at least two longitudinal girders arranged respectively at each lateral edge of the floor pan, an underframe extending under the floor pan and transversally between the at least two girders, at least two side members extending under the floor pan in the direction of said underframe, including at least two front side members arranged on either side of the central tunnel, wherein said vehicle further comprises one or more reinforcing devices, selected from at least one bypass device and/or at least one anchoring device, wherein said one or more reinforcing devices are elongate bodies having two ends defining a front end and a rear end, with one of said ends being attached to a side member, and in that wherein the one or more reinforcing devices are attached under the floor pan of the vehicle and are arranged to extend in a direction that forms an angle with the longitudinal direction of the vehicle. The vehicle further comprising at least one external sub-floor side member extending parallel to the front side member and arranged between said front side member and one of the at least two girders, and at least one bypass device is attached to the external side member by one of its ends. A battery is implanted under the floor pan, wherein at least one front side member or the external side member is an intersected side member; said intersected side member comprising two parts defining a front part and a rear part between which the battery is arranged, the rear part comprising a rear end attached to the underframe, and wherein at least one bypass device is attached to the rear part of an intersected side member. The interpretations of Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al., disclose a vehicle having a floor pan with a central tunnel; at least two longitudinal girders; an underframe, at least two side members; and one or more reinforcing devices; however, Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al., fail to disclose a battery and an intersected member having a front part and a rear part between which the battery is arranged. Ishizono et al. (US Pat 8,668,248) disclose a vehicle having a floor pan with a central tunnel; at least two longitudinal girders; two front side members; one or more reinforcing devices; and an internal sub-floor side member; Ishizono et al. fail to disclose an intersected member having a front part and a rear part between which a battery is arranged. Natsume et al. (US Pat 9,616,939) disclose a vehicle having a floor pan with a central tunnel; at least two longitudinal girders; at least two side members; and one or more reinforcing devices; however, Natsume et al. fail to disclose a battery and an intersected member having a front part and a rear part between which the battery is arranged. Kim (US Pat 11,807,306) discloses a vehicle having a floor pan with a central tunnel; at least two longitudinal girders; an underframe extending between the at least two girders; at least two side members; and one or more reinforcing devices; however, Kim fails to disclose an external side member and a reinforcing device attached to a rear part of an intersected member. Goedecke et al. (DE 102010039109) disclose a vehicle having a floor pan with a central tunnel; at least two longitudinal girders; at least two side members; an external sub-floor side member; and one or more reinforcing devices; however, Goedecke et al. fail to disclose an intersected member having a front part and a rear part between which a battery is arranged. Caillard et al. (DE 102014006718) disclose a vehicle having a floor pan with a central tunnel; at least two longitudinal girders; at least two side members; and one or more reinforcing devices; however, Caillard et al. fail to disclose an underframe to which the reinforcing device is attached. Ishijima et al. (JP 2013103635) disclose a vehicle having a floor pan; at least two longitudinal girders; an underframe; at least two side members; and one or more reinforcing devices; however, Ishijima et al fail to disclose a central tunnel or that the reinforcing member is attached to one of the side members. The prior art does not properly teach or suggest the recited configuration, making claim 8 allowable.
Claim 15 would be allowable because it is dependent on claim 8.
Claim 16 recites a hybrid electric motor vehicle comprising a floor pan with a central tunnel, at least two longitudinal girders arranged respectively at each lateral edge of the floor pan, an underframe extending under the floor pan and transversally between the at least two girders, at least two side members extending under the floor pan in the direction of said underframe, including at least two front side members arranged on either side of the central tunnel, wherein said vehicle further comprises one or more reinforcing devices, selected from at least one bypass device and/or at least one anchoring device, wherein said one or more reinforcing devices are elongate bodies having two ends defining a front end and a rear end, with one of said ends being attached to a side member, and in that wherein the one or more reinforcing devices are attached under the floor pan of the vehicle and are arranged to extend in a direction that forms an angle with the longitudinal direction of the vehicle. The vehicle further comprising at least one external sub-floor side member extending parallel to the front side member and arranged between said front side member and one of the at least two girders, and at least one bypass device is attached to the external side member by one of its ends. At least one mixed reinforcing device comprises a bypass device and an anchoring device placed end-to-end so as to form a single part, the mixed one or more reinforcing devices being attached to the external side member by their front end and to the underframe by their rear end and said at least one mixed reinforcing device is configured to straddle the front side member and to attach to said side front member. The interpretations of Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al., disclose a vehicle having a floor pan with a central tunnel; at least two longitudinal girders; an underframe, at least two side members; and one or more mixed reinforcing devices; however, Fujii et al., as modified by Bauer et al., fail to disclose the mixed reinforcing member straddles the front side member. Ishizono et al. (US Pat 8,668,248) disclose a vehicle having a floor pan with a central tunnel; at least two longitudinal girders; two front side members; one or more reinforcing devices; and an internal sub-floor side member; Ishizono et al. fail to disclose a mixed reinforcing member that straddles the front side member. Natsume et al. (US Pat 9,616,939) disclose a vehicle having a floor pan with a central tunnel; at least two longitudinal girders; at least two side members; and one or more reinforcing devices; however, Natsume et al. fail to disclose an underframe to which the reinforcing device is attached. Kim (US Pat 11,807,306) discloses a vehicle having a floor pan with a central tunnel; at least two longitudinal girders; an underframe extending between the at least two girders; at least two side members; and one or more reinforcing devices; however, Kim fails to disclose an external side member and a reinforcing device attached to the underframe. Goedecke et al. (DE 102010039109) disclose a vehicle having a floor pan with a central tunnel; at least two longitudinal girders; at least two side members; an external sub-floor side member; and one or more reinforcing devices; however, Goedecke et al. fail to disclose the reinforcing device straddles the front side member. Caillard et al. (DE 102014006718) disclose a vehicle having a floor pan with a central tunnel; at least two longitudinal girders; at least two side members; and one or more reinforcing devices; however, Caillard et al. fail to disclose an underframe to which the reinforcing device is attached. Ishijima et al. (JP 2013103635) disclose a vehicle having a floor pan; at least two longitudinal girders; an underframe; at least two side members; and one or more reinforcing devices; however, Ishijima et al fail to disclose a central tunnel or that the reinforcing member is attached to one of the side members. The prior art does not properly teach or suggest the recited configuration, making claim 16 allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kumagai (US Pat 9,914,481) discloses a reinforcing device for a floor pan of a vehicle. Izuhara et al. (US PG Pub 2019/0071134) disclose a reinforcing device for a vehicle having a battery.
/VERONICA M CONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612