DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 05/11/2026. As directed by the amendment, claims 1, 15, 18 and 20 have been amended. As such, claims 1-20 are pending in the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pages 6-10 of Remarks filed 05/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues “…Conlon discloses numerous types of functions and results that may be achieved through any given nanofiber layer, including through the inclusion of a nanofiber layers on both surfaces of the second layer 36. However, Conlon does not disclose that, by way of including nanofiber coatings on both surfaces of the second layer 36, the second layer 36 would be adapted so as to provide higher percentage of particle removal than the first layer 33 or the third layer 39…” The examiner disagrees. Conlon teaches the ability of nanofibers to capture particles wherein, increasing capture capability may be obtained by increasing nanofiber surface area as seen in [0072]. As such, since second layer 36 is coated with a nanofiber layer on both the inner and outer surfaces of 37, 38 instead of the single surface of nanofiber layer on the first layer 33 and third layer 39, second layer 36 has a higher degree of particle capture capability due to the higher surface area).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10 and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Conlon (US 20160015098 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Conlon teaches a filtration element (face mask 10, see Fig. 3) comprising a proximal filtration layer (first layer 33, see Fig. 3), a distal filtration layer (third layer 39, see Fig. 3) and at least one filtration layer (second layer 36, see Fig. 3) placed between the proximal filtration layer and the distal filtration layer (see Fig. 3 and [0011]), each filtration layer comprising a non-woven (NW) fabric having a filtration degree (Conlon teaches first layer 33, third layer 39 and second layer 36 to be made out of nonwoven fiber as seen in [0078] and Claim 3. Conlon further teaches a nanofiber layer coated on the outer surface 35 of first layer 33, inner and outer surfaces 37, 38 of second layer 36, and inner surface 40 of third layer 39 as seen in [0079], wherein the nanofiber media will enable high filtration as seen in [0036]-[0037]);
wherein the proximal filtration layer and the distal filtration layer have, independently, a filtration degree that is lower than the filtration degree of the at least one filtration layer placed between the proximal filtration layer and the distal filtration layer, and wherein the filtration degree defines percentage particle removal by each layer (Conlon teaches increasing capture particle capability by increasing the nanofiber surface area as seen in [0072]. Conlon further teaches both the inner and outer surfaces 37, 38 of second layer 36 to be coated with a nanofiber layer whereas both the first layer 33 and third layer 39 is only coated on a single surface as seen in [0079]. As such, since second layer 36 is coated with a nanofiber layer on both the inner and outer surfaces of 37, 38 instead of the single surface of nanofiber layer on the first layer 33 and third layer 39, second layer 36 has a higher degree of particle capture capability).
Regarding claim 2, Conlon teaches the filtration element of claim 1, and further teaches comprising at least one layer that comprises a hydrophilic NW fabric (Conlon teaches the nanofiber layer to be hydrophilic as seen in [0080] and further teaches first, second and third layers 33, 36, 39 comprise material increasing in hydrophilicity as seen in [0082]).
Regarding claim 3, Conlon teaches the filtration element of claim 2, and further teaches wherein said the hydrophilic NW fabric forms part of the proximal filtration layer (Conlon teaches the nanofiber layer to be hydrophilic as seen in [0080] and further teaches a nanofiber layer coated on the outer surface 35 of first layer 33 as seen in [0079], as such a hydrophilic nanofiber forms part of first layer 33).
Regarding claim 4, Conlon teaches the filtration element of claim 2, and further teaches wherein the hydrophilic NW fabric forms part of the distal filtration layer (Conlon teaches the nanofiber layer to be hydrophilic as seen in [0080] and further teaches a nanofiber layer coated on the inner surface 40 of third layer 39 as seen in [0079], as such a hydrophilic nanofiber forms part of third layer 39).
Regarding claim 6, Conlon teaches the filtration element of claim 1, and further teaches comprising two or more filtration layers placed between the proximal filtration layer and the distal filtration layer, each having a same or different filtration degree (Conlon teaches a nanofiber layer coated on the inner and outer surfaces 37, 38 of second layer 36 between first layer 33 and third layer 39 as seen in Fig. 3 and [0079], wherein the nanofiber media will enable high filtration as seen in [0036]-[0037]).
Regarding claim 7, Conlon teaches the filtration element of claim 6, and further teaches
wherein at least one of the two or more filtration layers placed between the proximal filtration layer and the distal filtration layer comprises a hydrophilic NW fabric (Conlon teaches a nanofiber layer coated on the inner and outer surfaces 37, 38 of second layer 36 between first layer 33 and third layer 39 as seen in Fig. 3 and [0079] and further teaches the nanofiber layer to be hydrophilic as seen in [0080]).
Regarding claim 8, Conlon teaches the filtration element of claim 1, and further teaches comprising at least two hydrophilic NW fabrics, wherein at least one hydrophilic NW fabric forms or constitutes part of the proximal filtration layer and at least one other hydrophilic NW fabric forms or constitutes part of the filtration layer placed between the proximal filtration layer and the distal filtration layer (Conlon teaches the nanofiber layer to be hydrophilic as seen in [0080] and further teaches a nanofiber layer coated on the outer surface 35 of first layer 33 and inner and outer surfaces 37, 38 of second layer 36 as seen in Fig. 3 and [0079]).
Regarding claim 9, Conlon teaches the filtration element of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the proximal filtration layer, the distal filtration layer and a filtration layer placed between the proximal filtration layer and the distal filtration layer are superimposed on each other (Conlon teaches first layer 33, third layer 39 and second layer 36 placed between first layer 33 and third layer 39 are superimposed on each other as seen in Fig. 3 and [0105]).
Regarding claim 10, Conlon teaches the filtration element of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the proximal filtration layer, the distal filtration layer and a filtration layer placed between the proximal filtration layer and the distal filtration layer are fixedly attached one to another (Conlon teaches first layer 33, third layer 39 and second layer 36 placed between first layer 33 and third layer 39 wherein the layers are bound to adjacent layers as seen in Fig. 3 and [0105]).
Regarding claim 13, Conlon teaches the filtration element of claim 1, and further teaches in a form of face mask (face mask 10, see Fig. 3 and [0078]).
Regarding claim 14, Conlon teaches the filtration element of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the proximal filtration layer is configured for being in contact with a subject's skin, when worn by the subject (“…the medical facemask has a first discrete nonwoven fiber layer 33 (inner layer) disposed adjacent a wearer's face.” See [0078] and Fig. 3).
Regrading claim 15, Conlon teaches a personal protective equipment (face mask 10, see Fig. 3) comprising the filtration element (face mask 10, see Fig. 3), comprising:
a proximal filtration layer (first layer 33, see Fig. 3),
a distal filtration layer (third layer 39, see Fig. 3) and
at least one filtration layer (second layer 36, see Fig. 3) placed between the proximal filtration layer and the distal filtration layer (see Fig. 3 and [0011]), each filtration layer comprising a non-woven (NW) fabric having a filtration degree (Conlon teaches first layer 33, third layer 39 and second layer 36 to be made out of nonwoven fiber as seen in [0078] and Claim 3. Conlon further teaches a nanofiber layer coated on the outer surface 35 of first layer 33, inner and outer surfaces 37, 38 of second layer 36, and inner surface 40 of third layer 39 as seen in [0079], wherein the nanofiber media will enable high filtration as seen in [0036]-[0037]); and
wherein the proximal filtration layer and the distal filtration layer have, independently, a filtration degree that is lower than the filtration degree of the at least one filtration layer placed between the proximal filtration layer and the distal filtration layer, and wherein the filtration degree defines percentage particle removal by each layer (Conlon teaches increasing capture particle capability by increasing the nanofiber surface area as seen in [0072]. Conlon further teaches both the inner and outer surfaces 37, 38 of second layer 36 to be coated with a nanofiber layer whereas both the first layer 33 and third layer 39 is only coated on a single surface as seen in [0079]. As such, since second layer 36 is coated with a nanofiber layer on both the inner and outer surfaces of 37, 38 instead of the single surface of nanofiber layer on the first layer 33 and third layer 39, second layer 36 has a higher degree of particle capture capability).
Regarding claim 16, Conlon teaches the personal protective equipment of claim 15, and further teaches being in a form of a respirator configured to be worn on a subject's face (Conlon teaches a facemask 10 which is shown as a N95 respirator worn on a user’s face as seen in Fig. 1 and 3 and [0038]).
Regarding claim 17, Conlon teaches the personal protective equipment of claim 15, and further teaches being in a form of an outfit configured to be worn on a subject's body (Figs. 3 and 4 show the facemask 10 being worn on a user’s face as an outfit (similar to the mask in applicant’s Fig. 8)).
Regarding claim 18, Conlon teaches a method for protecting a subject body (Conlon teaches a facemask that can help the user properly wear the mask and to provide potential risk of contamination to the wearer and others as seen in Fig. 3 and [0007]), the method comprising applying onto the subject's body or part thereof a filtration element (Conlon teaches using ear loops 28 and 30 attached to facemask 10 to secure the facemask to the user’s head as seen in Fig. 1 and [0047] and [0064]-[0064]) comprising a proximal filtration layer (first layer 33, see Fig. 3), a distal filtration layer (third layer 39, see Fig. 3) and at least one filtration layer (second layer 36, see Fig. 3) placed between the proximal filtration layer and the distal filtration layer (see Fig. 3 and [0011]), each filtration layer comprising a non- woven (NW) fabric having a filtration degree (Conlon teaches first layer 33, third layer 39 and second layer 36 to be made out of nonwoven fiber as seen in [0078] and Claim 3. Conlon further teaches a nanofiber layer coated on the outer surface 35 of first layer 33, inner and outer surfaces 37, 38 of second layer 36, and inner surface 40 of third layer 39 as seen in [0079], wherein the nanofiber media will enable high filtration as seen in [0036]-[0037]), and wherein the filtration degree defines percentage particle removal by each layer (Conlon teaches increasing capture particle capability by increasing the nanofiber surface area as seen in [0072]);
wherein the proximal filtration layer and the distal filtration layer have, independently, a filtration degree that is lower than the filtration degree of the at least one filtration layer placed between the proximal filtration layer and the distal filtration layer (Conlon teaches increasing capture particle capability by increasing the nanofiber surface area as seen in [0072]. Conlon further teaches both the inner and outer surfaces 37, 38 of second layer 36 to be coated with a nanofiber layer whereas both the first layer 33 and third layer 39 is only coated on a single surface as seen in [0079]. As such, since second layer 36 is coated with a nanofiber layer on both the inner and outer surfaces of 37, 38 instead of the single surface of nanofiber layer on the first layer 33 and third layer 39, second layer 36 has a higher degree of particle capture capability).
Regarding claim 19, Conlon teaches the method of claim 18, and further teaches comprising securing the filtration element to the subject's body (Conlon teaches using ear loops 28 and 30 attached to facemask 10 to secure the facemask to the user’s head as seen in Fig. 1 and [0047] and [0064]-[0064]).
Regarding claim 20, Conlon teaches a method of producing a personal protective equipment (Conlon teaches a method of making a facemask 10 as seen in [0014]), the method comprises superimposing a proximal filtration layer (first layer 33, see Fig. 3), a distal filtration layer (third layer 39, see Fig. 3) and at least one additional filtration layer (second layer 36, see Fig. 3), placed between the proximal filtration layer and the distal filtration layer (see Fig. 3 and [0011]), each filtration layer comprising a non-woven (NW) fabric having a filtration degree (Conlon teaches first layer 33, third layer 39 and second layer 36 to be made out of nonwoven fiber as seen in [0078] and Claim 3. Conlon further teaches a nanofiber layer coated on the outer surface 35 of first layer 33, inner and outer surfaces 37, 38 of second layer 36, and inner surface 40 of third layer 39 as seen in [0079], wherein the nanofiber media will enable high filtration as seen in [0036]-[0037]), and wherein the filtration degree defines percentage particle removal by each layer (Conlon teaches increasing capture particle capability by increasing the nanofiber surface area as seen in [0072]);
wherein the proximal filtration layer and the distal filtration layer have, independently, a filtration degree that is lower than the filtration degree of the at least one filtration layer placed therebetween (Conlon teaches increasing capture particle capability by increasing the nanofiber surface area as seen in [0072]. Conlon further teaches both the inner and outer surfaces 37, 38 of second layer 36 to be coated with a nanofiber layer whereas both the first layer 33 and third layer 39 is only coated on a single surface as seen in [0079]. As such, since second layer 36 is coated with a nanofiber layer on both the inner and outer surfaces of 37, 38 instead of the single surface of nanofiber layer on the first layer 33 and third layer 39, second layer 36 has a higher degree of particle capture capability).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conlon (US 20160015098 A1) in view of Elsberg (US 6644314 B1).
Regarding claim 5, Conlon teaches the filtration element of claim 1, but does not teach comprising a single filtration layer placed between the proximal filtration layer and the distal filtration layer.
However, Elsburg teaches “filtration composite may be a composite of multiple layers or a composite of multiple materials in a single layer (see 18).”
Conlon teaches the filtration material can be a single or multiple layer design as seen in [0040]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the filtration element taught by Conlon to have the filtration layer be a composite of multiple materials in a single layer as taught by Elsburg as a design choice to have a single filtration layer. Furthermore, Conlon teaches the nanofiber in the mask to create a gradient of multi-component material as seen in [0076]. Therefore, Conlon in view of Elsburg teaches using a single filtration layer made of multiple materials.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conlon (US 20160015098 A1) in view of Bergman (US 20190166929 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Conlon teaches the filtration element of claim 10, and further teaches first layer 33, third layer 39 and second layer 36 placed between first layer 33 and third layer 39 wherein the layers are bound to adjacent layers by methods including but not limited to adhesive bonding, thermal bonding or ultrasonic bonding as seen in Fig. 3 and [0105].
But does not teach wherein the proximal filtration layer, the distal filtration layer and the filtration layer placed between the proximal filtration layer and the distal filtration layer are fixedly attached one to another by heat welding and/or sewing.
However, Bergman teaches the proximal filtration layer (inner fabric layer 110, see Fig. 2), the distal filtration layer (outer fabric layer 120, see Fig. 2) and the filtration layer (first filter layer 1310) placed between the proximal filtration layer and the distal filtration layer (see Fig. 2) are fixedly attached one to another by heat welding and/or sewing (Bergman teaches the inner fabric layer 110, outer fabric layer 120 and first filter layer 1310 to be stacked and aligned for sewing as seen in [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the layers of the filtration element taught by Conlon to be fixedly attached by sewing as taught by Bergman as a known alternative method of bounding adjacent layers of a mask.
Regarding claim 12, Conlon in view of Bergman teaches the filtration element of claim 11, and Bergman further teaches wherein the heat welding and/or sewing is at periphery sections of the layers (Bergman teaches using an elastic material 1210 over the edge of the layers and sewn along the edge/periphery of the layers as seen in Fig. 12B and [0054]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TINA ZHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRANDY S LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785