DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments, filed 3/17/2026, have been entered and made of record. Claim 27 has been amended. Claims 3-18, 23, 24, 29, 30 and 35 have been cancelled. Claims 1-2, 19-22, 25-28, 31-34 and 36 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In re pages 9-11, the applicant states “Applicant traverses the rejection of the claims under Sideman in view of Grosz. As acknowledged by the examiner on page 5 of the Office Action, Sideman does not disclose or suggest at least the following features of claim 1: wherein before recording the operation information as the draft, the method further comprises: deploying a first execution environment for forming the draft; wherein the first execution environment comprises a video processing component of the web front end and a draft framework of the web front end, the video processing component of the web front end is used to construct an operating environment for processing the to-be-processed video, and the draft framework of the web front end is used to construct an operating environment for forming the draft. Grosz fails to cure the deficiencies of Sideman. … Grosz does not teach or suggest whether editing tasks are implemented on a draft at a web front end or a backend. Therefore, Grosz fails to disclose any feature that can be equated to the "draft" of the present application.“.
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Sideman teaches a video synthesis method, applied to a world wide web (web) front end(“operates to provide to users an online audio video editor, operating at a Web server, with which the users can make shot by shot decisions to create custom videos for playback within a web environment” in Para.[0048], “a server side in a client/server based network, such as the Internet, and more specifically, the World Wide Web (the Web)” in Para.[0074]), wherein the method comprises:
receiving an operation of a user on a to-be-processed video and recording operation information as a draft(“When a user accesses the server system 2 from the client 1 over the internet 5 a control panel interface 3 is downloaded from an application server 20 to the client 1. The user interacts with the control panel 3 to select content from the content server 10, based on links and options provided by the database 30” in Para.[0075], Para.[0076]-[0080], “The application server 20 records all edit commands as an edit list in the database server 30, and interfaces with the database server 30 to execute any queries and return the results thereof to the control panel 3 for display“ in Para.[0081], “saving the completed video in the form of one or more edit decision lists” in Para.[0019], “allow the user to edit audio/video content on-line; and create an edit list of edits with the edit list stored on the server processor.” in Para.[0021], “transmit an edit control interface used for communicating with the server processor; and create the edit list and download edited content when requested by editing the content with the edit list; and a client processor coupled to the server processor, the client processor being adapted to receive the interface, and allow a user to on-line edit the content stored on the server processor using the interface and create the edit list” in Para.[0024], The edit decision list/edit list can be interpreted as a draft because it’s a to-be-processed video and recording operation information.); and
sending the draft to a server, wherein the draft is used to perform processing on the to-be-processed video and perform video synthesis after the processing(Para.[0019], “These operations produce edit commands and query requests that are sent to the application server” in Para.[0080], [0081], [0071], “composing and streaming audio and video content to the client in real time to allow the video to be played by the client in a manner optimal to the client's environment” in Abs, The edit decision list/edit list send to the application server.)
wherein before recording the operation information as the draft, the method further comprises: deploying a first execution environment for forming the draft(“the software application or applications comprising the editor are deployed in a Web server that employs a front end built with HTML, JavaScript, and Flash. The system preferably is implemented to allow a client operating on a user terminal to interface with the server without the need for browser plug-ins, aside preferably from a Macromedia Flash plug-in” in Para.[0073], “a server side in a client/server based network, such as the Internet, and more specifically, the World Wide Web (the Web). As described above, the server front end functionality presents the user with a graphical user interface (GUI) consisting of static HTML pages or Macromedia Flash pages” in Para.[0074], HTML, JavaScript and Flash can be interpreted as a first execution environment for forming edit decision list.); and
wherein the first executing environment comprises a video processing component of the web front end, the video processing component of the web front end is used to construct an operating environment for processing the to-be-processed video(Para.[0073], [0074]“The functionality and end user interaction of the video editor of the present invention will now be described with reference to several figures showing exemplary GUI pages that are encountered by an end user when interacting with the video editor. The general information structures associated with the user interface will then be described” in Para.[0110]).
Sideman is silent about wherein the first execution environment comprises a draft framework of the web front end and the draft framework of the web front end is used to construct an operating environment for forming the draft.
Grosz teaches wherein the first execution environment comprises a draft framework of the web front end and the draft framework of the web front end is used to construct an operating environment for forming the draft(“the system including a graphics user interface (GUI) residing on and executable from a digital medium, the GUI hosted by a Web site accessible by computer browser and a network-connected data repository containing creative assets not limited to stickers, shapes, backgrounds, layouts, and frames, an asset recommendation system implemented in software integrated with the GUI for presenting certain assets to users operating the GUI by hierarchical order of importance and/or by relativity to current assets being used.” in Abs, “the theme Spring under the category Seasons is selected. Page 700 includes a preview pane 702 adapted to show the theme layout suggested for the size and orientation of the project being created. A layout in the preview pane 702 includes a page 703 on the left and a page 704 on the right. On page 703 there are two photos 707 and one text box 705. On page 704 there are two photos 708 and a text Box 706” in Para.[0094], Fig. 7, The theme can be interpreted as a draft framework because it includes preview pane shows theme layout for project being created. A graphics user interface (GUI) by a Web site can be interpreted as the web front end. The selecting the theme can be used to construct an environment for generating the draft of media.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Sideman with the above teachings of Grosz in order to improve user experience significantly.
Therefore, the combination of Sideman and Grosz discloses wherein the first execution environment comprises a video processing component of the web front end and a draft framework of the web front end, the video processing component of the web front end is used to construct an operating environment for processing the to-be-processed video, and the draft framework of the web front end is used to construct an operating environment for forming the draft as independent claims.
In re page 11, the applicant states “Furthermore, claim 1 explicitly defines the "first execution environment" as one constructed for a specific purpose and comprising two sub-environments: 1. an operating environment for processing the to-be-processed video constructed by the "video processing component", and 2. an operating environment for forming the draft construct by the "draft framework." In contrast, in Grosz, user access is achieved through a one-time installation act of obtaining a compact editing package named the "Mixbook editor (MBE)." This "MBE editor" is a complete, functionally aggregated editing software package for the creation, editing, and saving of projects. Consequently, Grosz makes no mention whatsoever of any independent component analogous to a "draft framework" or a sub-environment specifically dedicated to "forming a draft." In addition, Grosz teaches an intelligent ranking and recommendation system for "creative assets" (such as stickers, backgrounds, layouts, etc.) within an online image and text editor. The preview pane 702 of Grosz is described as including pages showing photos and text boxes (see Para. [0094] of Grosz). In other words, the preview pane 702 of Grosz is a "static content preview", or a non-interactive rendering of content that shows what the final output will look like without executing the full application logic behind it. In contrast, Sideman describes a video editor program that allows a user to dynamically edit a video in real-time, streaming audio and video content to the client in real time to allow the video to be played by the client as it is being created (see claim 1 of Sideman). The graphical user interface consists not only of static HTML pages or Macromedia Flash pages, but also dynamic downloaded content within these pages (see Para. [0074] of Sideman).”.
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Sideman teaches an operating environment for processing the to-be-processed video constructed by the “video processing component” (e.g. See, Para.[0073], [0074], [0110]). Sideman is silent about an operating environment for forming the draft construct by the draft frame work. Grosz teaches an operating environment for forming the draft construct by the “draft frame work”. (e.g. See, Abs, Para.[0094], Fig. 7) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Sideman with the above teachings of Grosz in order to improve user experience significantly.
Therefore, the combination of Sideman and Grosz discloses an operating environment for processing the to-be-processed video constructed by the "video processing component", and an operating environment for forming the draft construct by the "draft framework." as independent claims.
In re pages 11 and 12, the applicant states “Applicant submits that one of ordinary skill in the art would lack any reasonable motivation to combine Grosz's "static content preview" functionality into Sideman's "dynamic video editing" system as suggested in the Office action at page 5, so that the GUI of the video editor program of Sideman is replaced with that of Grosz. If the GUI of Grosz were to be substituted for the GUI of Sideman, the dynamic downloaded content of Sideman would be removed, and the dynamic video editing experience would be lost in the process. In other words, the substitution of the GUI of Grosz for the GUI of Sideman would run contrary to the principle of operation of Sideman and would render Sideman inoperable for its intended purpose of facilitating dynamic video editing.”.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Sideman in view of Grosz
Claims 1-2,19-22,25-28,31-34 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sideman(USPubN 2002/0116716; hereinafter Sideman) in view of Grosz et al.(USPubN 2011/0016408; hereinafter Grosz).
As per claim 1, Sideman teaches a video synthesis method, applied to a world wide web (web) front end(“operates to provide to users an online audio video editor, operating at a Web server, with which the users can make shot by shot decisions to create custom videos for playback within a web environment” in Para.[0048], “a server side in a client/server based network, such as the Internet, and more specifically, the World Wide Web (the Web)” in Para.[0074]), wherein the method comprises:
receiving an operation of a user on a to-be-processed video and recording operation information as a draft(“When a user accesses the server system 2 from the client 1 over the internet 5 a control panel interface 3 is downloaded from an application server 20 to the client 1. The user interacts with the control panel 3 to select content from the content server 10, based on links and options provided by the database 30” in Para.[0075], Para.[0076]-[0081], “The application server 20 records all edit commands as an edit list in the database server 30, and interfaces with the database server 30 to execute any queries and return the results thereof to the control panel 3 for display“ in Para.[0081], “saving the completed video in the form of one or more edit decision lists” in Para.[0019], The edit decision list can be interpreted as a draft.); and
sending the draft to a server, wherein the draft is used to perform processing on the to-be-processed video and perform video synthesis after the processing(Para.[0019], [0080], [0081], [0071], “composing and streaming audio and video content to the client in real time to allow the video to be played by the client in a manner optimal to the client's environment” in Abs)
wherein before recording the operation information as the draft, the method further comprises: deploying a first execution environment for forming the draft(“the software application or applications comprising the editor are deployed in a Web server that employs a front end built with HTML, JavaScript, and Flash. The system preferably is implemented to allow a client operating on a user terminal to interface with the server without the need for browser plug-ins, aside preferably from a Macromedia Flash plug-in” in Para.[0073], “a server side in a client/server based network, such as the Internet, and more specifically, the World Wide Web (the Web). As described above, the server front end functionality presents the user with a graphical user interface (GUI) consisting of static HTML pages or Macromedia Flash pages” in Para.[0074], HTML, JavaScript and Flash can be interpreted as a first execution environment for forming edit decision list.); and
wherein the first executing environment comprises a video processing component of the web front end, the video processing component of the web front end is used to construct an operating environment for processing the to-be-processed video(Para.[0073], [0074]“The functionality and end user interaction of the video editor of the present invention will now be described with reference to several figures showing exemplary GUI pages that are encountered by an end user when interacting with the video editor. The general information structures associated with the user interface will then be described” in Para.[0110]).
Sideman is silent about wherein the first execution environment comprises a draft framework of the web front end and the draft framework of the web front end is used to construct an operating environment for forming the draft.
Grosz teaches wherein the first execution environment comprises a draft framework of the web front end and the draft framework of the web front end is used to construct an operating environment for forming the draft(“the theme Spring under the category Seasons is selected. Page 700 includes a preview pane 702 adapted to show the theme layout suggested for the size and orientation of the project being created. A layout in the preview pane 702 includes a page 703 on the left and a page 704 on the right. On page 703 there are two photos 707 and one text box 705. On page 704 there are two photos 708 and a text Box 706” in Para.[0094]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Sideman with the above teachings of Grosz in order to improve user experience significantly.
As per claim 2, Sideman and Grosz teach all of limitation of claim 1.
Sideman teaches wherein receiving the operation of the user on the to-be-processed video and recording the operation information as the draft comprises: acquiring the to-be-processed video, and performing edit processing on the to-be-processed video; and recording video acquisition information and video editing information as the draft(Para.[0075]-[0081]).
As per claim 19, Sideman and Grosz teach all of limitation of claim 1.
Sideman teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving a link address returned by the server, wherein the link address is an address of a video file obtained after the video synthesis is performed; and receiving a download request of a user for the link address, and downloading the video file according to the download request(Para.[0074], [0086], [0124], [0126], Claim 25).
As per claim 20, Sideman and Grosz teach all of limitation of claim 1.
Sideman teaches wherein the method further comprises: displaying an operation effect of performing the operation on the to-be-processed video(Para.[0074], [0086], [0124], [0126], Claim 25).
As per claim 21, Sideman teaches an electronic device, comprising: at least one processor, and a memory; wherein the memory stores computer execution instructions; and the at least one processor executes the computer execution instructions stored in the memory(Para.[0039]) and the other limitations in the claim 21 has been discussed in the rejection claim 1 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 22, the limitations in the claim 22 has been discussed in the rejection claim 2 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 25, the limitations in the claim 25 has been discussed in the rejection claim 19 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 26, the limitations in the claim 26 has been discussed in the rejection claim 20 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 27, Sideman teaches an electronic device, comprising: at least one processor, and a memory; wherein the memory stores computer execution instructions; and the at least one processor executes the computer execution instructions stored in the memory(Para.[0039]), so that the at least one processor performs the following steps:
receiving a draft sent by a world wide web (web) front end, wherein the draft records operation information of a user on a to-be-processed video(Para.[0019], [0021], [0024], [0075]-[0081]); and
performing processing on the to-be-processed video according to the draft, and performing video synthesis to obtain a video file(Para.[0019], [0071], [0080], [0081]);
wherein the at least one processor executes the computer execution instructions stored in the memory, so that the at least one processor performs the following step: deploying a second execution environment for executing the draft; and wherein the second execution environment comprises a video processing component of a server, the video processing component of the server is used to construct an operating environment for performing restoration processing on the to-be- processed video(Para.[0073], [0074], [0110]).
Sideman is silent about a draft framework of the server and the draft framework of the server is used to construct an operating environment applicable for the draft.
Grosz teaches a draft framework of the server and the draft framework of the server is used to construct an operating environment applicable for the draft (“the system including a graphics user interface (GUI) residing on and executable from a digital medium, the GUI hosted by a Web site accessible by computer browser and a network-connected data repository containing creative assets not limited to stickers, shapes, backgrounds, layouts, and frames, an asset recommendation system implemented in software integrated with the GUI for presenting certain assets to users operating the GUI by hierarchical order of importance and/or by relativity to current assets being used.” in Abs, “the theme Spring under the category Seasons is selected. Page 700 includes a preview pane 702 adapted to show the theme layout suggested for the size and orientation of the project being created. A layout in the preview pane 702 includes a page 703 on the left and a page 704 on the right. On page 703 there are two photos 707 and one text box 705. On page 704 there are two photos 708 and a text Box 706” in Para.[0094], Fig. 7, The theme can be interpreted as a draft framework because it includes preview pane shows theme layout for project being created. A graphics user interface (GUI) by a Web site can be interpreted as the web front end. The selecting the theme can be used to construct an environment for generating the draft of media.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Sideman with the above teachings of Grosz in order to improve user experience significantly.
As per claim 28, the limitations in the claim 28 has been discussed in the rejection claim 2 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 31, Sideman and Grosz teach all of limitation of claim 27.
Sideman teaches wherein the at least one processor executes the computer execution instructions stored in the memory, so that the at least one processor performs the following steps: generating a link address of the video file, and sending the link address to the web front end(Para.[0074], [0086], [0124], [0126], Claim 25).
As per claim 32, Sideman and Grosz teach all of limitation of claim 28.
Sideman teaches wherein the at least one processor executes the computer execution instructions stored in the memory, so that the at least one processor performs the following steps: generating a link address of the video file, and sending the link address to the web front end(Para.[0074], [0086], [0124], [0126], Claim 25).
As per claim 33, the limitations in the claim 33 has been discussed in the rejection claim 31 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 34, Sideman teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium has computer execution instructions stored thereon, and when the computer execution instructions are executed by a processor(Para.[0019], Claim 11) and the other limitations in the claim 34 has been discussed in the rejection claim 1 and rejected under the same rationale
As per claim 36, Sideman and Grosz teach all of limitation of claim 28.
Sideman teaches wherein the second execution environment comprises a video processing component of a server and a draft framework of the server, the video processing component of the server is used to construct an operating environment for performing restoration processing on the to-be-processed video, and the draft framework of the server is used to construct an operating environment applicable for the draft(Para.[0110], [0113]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUNGHYOUN PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2484