DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (“Ahn”, US 2021/0111420 A1) in view of Kim et al. (“Kim”, US 2016/0240870 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ahn discloses a fuel cell humidifier including a humidification module including a housing and a plurality of hollow fiber membranes arranged in the housing, a first cap having an air discharge port for supplying the humidified air to the fuel cell stack and coupled to a first termination end of the humidification module, the air discharge port being spaced apart from the humidification module, and a bypass tube for transferring the condensate water generated from the humidified air to the interior space of the housing through with the off-gas flows, and a first end of the bypass tube is positioned in the air discharge port, and the bypass tube is in fluid communication with the interior space of the housing through a second end of the bypass tube ([0015]).
The fuel cell humidifier may further include a second cap having an air inlet port for receiving the air supplied form the outside and coupled to a second termination end of the humidification module at the opposite side of the first termination end ([0016]).
Ahn teaches an air outlet port, which would expand the humidified air and induce condensation.
Ahn does not expressly teach a condensation induction portion formed to extend from the air outlet port.
However, Kim is also directed to fuel cells ([0003]) and teaches the use of a diffuser ([0055]; see also Figs. 3-6) which causes sudden adiabatic expansion of the high-temperature and high-humidity fluid, thus lowering the temperature of the fluid based on the first law of thermodynamics ([0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the air outlet port of Ahn with the diffuser of Kim to uniformize pressure distribution of the fluid and overcome decrease of efficiency (Kim, [0057]).
As to claims 2 and 3, Kim teaches a diffuser (Figs. 3-6), which has a larger diameter and cross-sectional area than the air outlet port.
As to claim 4, Ahn depicts the air outlet port at an angle (see Fig. 3). Ahn modified by Kim, as discussed above, would read on the claimed limitation.
As to claim 5, Ahn teaches the first cap may have a rib configured to prevent the condensate water from being transferred to the fuel cell stack through the air discharge port, the reb being disposed in the air discharge port ([0023]).
As to claims 6 and 8, Ahn teaches the rib and screw thread are both formed on an inner surface of the air outlet port ([0024]). Since the diffuser of Kim is formed extending from the air outlet port, Ahn modified by Kim as discussed above would read on claims 6 and 8.
As to claim 7, Ahn teaches a screw thread for providing a spiral path to the condensate water may be formed on the inner surface of the air discharge port ([0024]).
As to claim 9, Ahn teaches the bypass tube may include a first tube fixed to the first cap and a second tube fixed to the humidification module, and the first and second tubes may be detachably coupled ([0026]).
Conclusion
DANIEL H. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/DANIEL H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746