DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
The preliminary amendment filed on 7/31/2023 is acknowledged. Claims 1-12, 15-18, 21, 23 and 29-30 are currently pending and under consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 10/16/2023 and 11/18/2024 have been considered except where lined through.
Specification
There are multiple uses of trade names or marks within the specification. For example, the use of the term SUNFIRE ®, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 23 recites the limitation “…or patient is later exposed to a wild-type Plasmodium parasite.” In the instant case, it is unclear how to interpret later exposed. Is this 2 days, 1 month or 1 year? Since this does not appear to be an active step that occurs immediately, the examiner is interpreting this limitation to be a patient whom is at risk of exposure or at risk of malaria.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12, 15-18, 21, 23 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “selective” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “selective” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In the instant case, neither the specification or claims teach what the selectivity is relative to. For example, is it selective to plasmepsin X relative to plasmepsin I or V or IX? Moreover, at what percent is it selective 51% or 85%? If the prior art teaches a plasmepsin X inhibitor, the examiner will interpret that as being selective towards plasmepsin X.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 21 depends from claim 20 which has been canceled. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(2) as being anticipated by Meyers et al. (ACS Med. Chem. Lett. 2014, 5, 89-93) as evidenced by Nasamu et al. (Science 2017;358:518-522).
Meyers et al. discloses an evaluation of aminohydantoins as a novel class of antimalarial agents (Title). In particular, Meyers et al. teach an in vivo evaluation of compounds, in particular compound 8p at 100 mg/kg, in mice infected with Plasmodium chabaudi (page 92, Table 3). In addition to the in vivo efficacy against Plasmodium chabaudi, Meyers et al. teach that compound 8p is orally bioavailable in rats with a half-life of 2.9 h (page 93, 1st column, 3rd full paragraph). While Meyers et al. does not specifically teach that compound 8 is a plasmepsin X inhibitor, as evidenced by Nasamu et al. compound CWHM-117, which is compound 8 of Meyers et al., acts as an inhibitor of plasmepsin X (PMX) (Figure 4). Regarding the amounts, 100 mg/kg in mice equates to a dose of 2.5 mg to 4 mg considering the average weight of laboratory mice typically ranges from 25 to 40 grams. Note: Patient is defined in the specification to include mice or rats (see page 73).
Claim(s) 1-12, 15-18, 21, 23 and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by McCauley et al. (US 12,338,219, 2025-06-24) .
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
McCauley et al. teach a method of treating a Plasmodium infection or treating malaria comprising administering to said subject a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of formula 1
alone or in combination with another anti-malarial agent (claims 15-16 of the Patent). With regards to the compounds of Formula 1, McCauley provides numerous examples including, but not limited to, compounds having the structures
,
,
and
which read on the instant compound of formula I, as well as, compounds claimed in claim 16 of the instant application (claim 13 of the US Patent). With regards to the therapeutically effective amount, the US Patent teaches that dosages range from about 1 mg to about 25 mg (column 64, lines 38-40). Moreover, the US Patent teaches that the present invention is useful in treating malaria in that the compounds inhibit the onset, growth or progression of the disease in a subject afflicted with or at risk of contracting the condition (column 63, lines 32-44).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyers et al. (ACS Med. Chem. Lett. 2014, 5, 89-93) as evidenced by Nasamu et al. (Science 2017;358:518-522), as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, in view of N.J. White (Drug Resistance Updates 1998; 1: 3-9) referred to herein as White.
Meyers et al. discloses an evaluation of aminohydantoins as a novel class of antimalarial agents (Title). In particular, Meyers et al. teach an in vivo evaluation of compounds, in particular compound 8p at 100 mg/kg, in mice infected with Plasmodium chabaudi (page 92, Table 3). In addition to the in vivo efficacy against Plasmodium chabaudi, Meyers et al. teach that compound 8p is orally bioavailable in rats with a half-life of 2.9 h (page 93, 1st column, 3rd full paragraph).
Meyers et al. does not teach compound 8p in combination with another anti-malaria agent.
White teaches that the development of resistance to antimalarial drugs can be delayed or prevented by using drug combinations, wherein there are good arguments for combining, de novo, an artemisinin derivative with all newly introduced antimalarial drugs (abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to combine compound 8p as taught by Meyers et al. with another antimalarial drug in view of the teachings of White. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
- White teaches that the development of resistance to antimalarial drugs can be delayed or prevented by using drug combinations, wherein there are good arguments for combining, de novo, an artemisinin derivative with all newly introduced antimalarial drugs.
Moreover, "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted)
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 18 and 29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 43-52 of U.S. Patent No. 12,350,270B2 to McCauley et al. (2025-07-08). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the US Patent and instant application substantially overlap in scope wherein each claim a method of treating a Plasmodium infection and/or malaria comprising administering an inhibitor of plasmepsin IX and/or plasmepsin X to a patient in need thereof. Please note: Since the present application has not defined what the selectivity for plasmepsin X is, a dual inhibitor that inhibits plasmepsin IX and/or plasmepsin X would read on the instantly claimed invention.
Claims 1-12, 15-18, 21, 23 and 29-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,338,219. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the US Patent and instant application substantially overlap in scope wherein each claim a method of treating a Plasmodium infection and/or malaria comprising administering compound of formula 1
, wherein specific species of formula are claimed in each of the applications.
Claim 1, 18 and 29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17, 19, 21-22, 24, 27-28 of copending Application No. 17/795,349 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application and instant application substantially overlap in scope wherein each claim a method of treating a Plasmodium infection and/or malaria comprising administering an inhibitor of plasmepsin IX and/or plasmepsin X to a patient in need thereof. Please note: Since the present application has not defined what the selectivity for plasmepsin X is, a dual inhibitor that inhibits plasmepsin IX and/or plasmepsin X would read on the instantly claimed invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1, 18, 21 and 29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 34, 39 and 45 of copending Application No. 18/245,210 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application and instant application substantially overlap in scope wherein each claim a method of treating a Plasmodium infection and/or malaria comprising administering an inhibitor of plasmepsin IX and/or plasmepsin X to a patient in need thereof. Please note: Since the present application has not defined what the selectivity for plasmepsin X is, a dual inhibitor that inhibits plasmepsin IX and/or plasmepsin X would read on the instantly claimed invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1, 18 and 29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 25-26, 28, 35-36 of copending Application No. 18/716,280 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application and instant application substantially overlap in scope wherein each claim a method of treating a Plasmodium infection and/or malaria comprising administering an inhibitor of plasmepsin IX and/or plasmepsin X to a patient in need thereof. Please note: Since the present application has not defined what the selectivity for plasmepsin X is, a dual inhibitor that inhibits plasmepsin IX and/or plasmepsin X would read on the instantly claimed invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Therefore, No claim is allowed.
/BRANDON J FETTEROLF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626