DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
The amendment filed on 5/29/2026 in response to the Non-Final Office action of 1/05/2026 is acknowledged and has been entered. Claims 1-12, 15-18, 21, 23 and 29-30 are currently pending and under consideration.
Specification
The substitute specification filed on 5/29/2026 has not been entered because it does not conform to 37 CFR 1.125(b) and (c) because: a marked up copy of the specification has not been supplied (in addition to the clean copy).
Rejections Withdrawn:
The rejection of Claims 1-12, 15-18, 21, 23 and 29-30 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention is withdrawn in view of Applicants amendments to delete “selective”.
The rejection of Claim 21 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends is withdrawn in view of Applicants amendments.
Rejections Maintained:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 18 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(2) as being anticipated by Meyers et al. (ACS Med. Chem. Lett. 2014, 5, 89-93) as evidenced by Nasamu et al. (Science 2017;358:518-522).
Meyers et al. discloses an evaluation of aminohydantoins as a novel class of antimalarial agents (Title). In particular, Meyers et al. teach an in vivo evaluation of compounds, in particular compound 8p at 100 mg/kg, in mice infected with Plasmodium chabaudi (page 92, Table 3). In addition to the in vivo efficacy against Plasmodium chabaudi, Meyers et al. teach that compound 8p is orally bioavailable in rats with a half-life of 2.9 h (page 93, 1st column, 3rd full paragraph). While Meyers et al. does not specifically teach that compound 8 is a plasmepsin X inhibitor, as evidenced by Nasamu et al. compound CWHM-117, which is compound 8 of Meyers et al., acts as an inhibitor of plasmepsin X (PMX) (Figure 4). Regarding the amounts, 100 mg/kg in mice equates to a dose of 2.5 mg to 4 mg considering the average weight of laboratory mice typically ranges from 25 to 40 grams. Note: Patient is defined in the specification to include mice or rats (see page 73).
In response to this rejection, Applicants contend that Plasmepsin inhibitors have thus far been used to achieve causal prophylaxis, which is when a drug blocks the initial stage of infection before disease. In contrast, Applicants contend that neither Meyers or Nasamu et al. teach or suggest an immunogenic effect resulting from use of the Plasmepsin inhibitors (chemovaccination).
These arguments have been carefully considered, but are not found persuasive.
In response to Applicants contention that the prior art does not teach or suggest an immunogenic effect resulting from the use of the Plasmepsin inhibitors, the Examiner recognizes that "[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). In the instant case, the examiner recognizes that the prior art teaches administration of the same compound to the same patient population. As such, such chemoprevention seems to flow logically from the teachings of the prior art. Applicants are reminded that the Patent Office does not have the facilities and resources to determine whether said property is necessarily present. The burden is on Applicants to determine whether such property does not occur from practicing the teachings of the prior art. See MPEP 2112.
Claim(s) 1-12, 15-18, 21, 23 and 29-30 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by McCauley et al. (US 12,338,219, 2025-06-24) .
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
McCauley et al. teach a method of treating a Plasmodium infection or treating malaria comprising administering to said subject a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of formula 1
alone or in combination with another anti-malarial agent (claims 15-16 of the Patent). With regards to the compounds of Formula 1, McCauley provides numerous examples including, but not limited to, compounds having the structures
,
,
and
which read on the instant compound of formula I, as well as, compounds claimed in claim 16 of the instant application (claim 13 of the US Patent). With regards to the therapeutically effective amount, the US Patent teaches that dosages range from about 1 mg to about 25 mg (column 64, lines 38-40). Moreover, the US Patent teaches that the present invention is useful in treating malaria in that the compounds inhibit the onset, growth or progression of the disease in a subject afflicted with or at risk of contracting the condition (column 63, lines 32-44).
Applicants arguments mirror those set forth above and have been considered. The arguments have not been found persuasive for the reasons set forth above and incorporated herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyers et al. (ACS Med. Chem. Lett. 2014, 5, 89-93) as evidenced by Nasamu et al. (Science 2017;358:518-522), as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, in view of N.J. White (Drug Resistance Updates 1998; 1: 3-9) referred to herein as White.
Meyers et al. discloses an evaluation of aminohydantoins as a novel class of antimalarial agents (Title). In particular, Meyers et al. teach an in vivo evaluation of compounds, in particular compound 8p at 100 mg/kg, in mice infected with Plasmodium chabaudi (page 92, Table 3). In addition to the in vivo efficacy against Plasmodium chabaudi, Meyers et al. teach that compound 8p is orally bioavailable in rats with a half-life of 2.9 h (page 93, 1st column, 3rd full paragraph).
Meyers et al. does not teach compound 8p in combination with another anti-malaria agent.
White teaches that the development of resistance to antimalarial drugs can be delayed or prevented by using drug combinations, wherein there are good arguments for combining, de novo, an artemisinin derivative with all newly introduced antimalarial drugs (abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to combine compound 8p as taught by Meyers et al. with another antimalarial drug in view of the teachings of White. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
- White teaches that the development of resistance to antimalarial drugs can be delayed or prevented by using drug combinations, wherein there are good arguments for combining, de novo, an artemisinin derivative with all newly introduced antimalarial drugs.
Moreover, "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted)
Applicants arguments mirror those set forth above and have been considered. The arguments have not been found persuasive for the reasons set forth above and incorporated herein.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 18 and 29 remain rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 43-52 of U.S. Patent No. 12,350,270B2 to McCauley et al. (2025-07-08). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the US Patent and instant application substantially overlap in scope wherein each claim a method of treating a Plasmodium infection and/or malaria comprising administering an inhibitor of plasmepsin IX and/or plasmepsin X to a patient in need thereof. Please note: Since the present application has not defined what the selectivity for plasmepsin X is, a dual inhibitor that inhibits plasmepsin IX and/or plasmepsin X would read on the instantly claimed invention.
Applicants arguments mirror those set forth above and have been considered. The arguments have not been found persuasive for the reasons set forth above and incorporated herein.
Claims 1-12, 15-18, 21, 23 and 29-30 remain rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,338,219. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the US Patent and instant application substantially overlap in scope wherein each claim a method of treating a Plasmodium infection and/or malaria comprising administering compound of formula 1
, wherein specific species of formula are claimed in each of the applications.
Applicants have not provided any arguments to the above rejection. As such, the rejection is maintained.
Claims 1, 18 and 29 remain rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12-18 and 21-22 of US Patent No. 12629374 (issued 5/19/2026, formally copending Application No. 17/795,349 (reference application)). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application and instant application substantially overlap in scope wherein each claim a method of treating a Plasmodium infection and/or malaria comprising administering an inhibitor of plasmepsin IX and/or plasmepsin X to a patient in need thereof. Please note: Since the present application has not defined what the selectivity for plasmepsin X is, a dual inhibitor that inhibits plasmepsin IX and/or plasmepsin X would read on the instantly claimed invention.
Applicants have not provided any arguments to the above rejection. As such, the rejection is maintained.
Claim 1, 18, 21 and 29 remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 34, 39 and 45 of copending Application No. 18/245,210 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application and instant application substantially overlap in scope wherein each claim a method of treating a Plasmodium infection and/or malaria comprising administering an inhibitor of plasmepsin IX and/or plasmepsin X to a patient in need thereof. Please note: Since the present application has not defined what the selectivity for plasmepsin X is, a dual inhibitor that inhibits plasmepsin IX and/or plasmepsin X would read on the instantly claimed invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Applicants have not provided any arguments to the above rejection. As such, the rejection is maintained.
Claim 1, 18 and 29 remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 25-26, 28, 35-36 of copending Application No. 18/716,280 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application and instant application substantially overlap in scope wherein each claim a method of treating a Plasmodium infection and/or malaria comprising administering an inhibitor of plasmepsin IX and/or plasmepsin X to a patient in need thereof. Please note: Since the present application has not defined what the selectivity for plasmepsin X is, a dual inhibitor that inhibits plasmepsin IX and/or plasmepsin X would read on the instantly claimed invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Applicants have not provided any arguments to the above rejection. As such, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Therefore, No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON J FETTEROLF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626