LEAD MEMBER
DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/31/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 11, 13, 15, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 discloses a magnitude of an angle BAC. However, Fig. 10 discloses two different angles of BAC which can comprise B2A2C2 and B1A1C1. Which one is being claimed?
Claims 11, 13, 15, 17, and 19 are also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) for their dependence on claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Iizuka et al. (JP 2013-171738 A).
Regarding claim 1, Iizuka et al. teach a lead member (Abstract) comprising:
a lead conductor (Figs. 4a and 4b, element 18 discloses a lead member.) having a first main surface and a second main surface opposite to the first main surface (See annotated figure 4b below.); and
Figs 4 a and 4b of Iizuka
a resin portion that covers the first main surface, the second main surface, and two side surfaces that are between both ends of the lead conductor; while exposing the both ends of the lead conductor in a first direction (Figs. 4a and 4b disclose a sealing portion, element 23, which covers the first and second main surfaces (see annotated figure above) and the sides. Further, element 25 indicates exposed portions in opposite directions.)
wherein the lead conductor includes:
a metal substrate (Fig. 4b, element 21), and
a surface treatment layer formed on at least a portion of a surface of the metal substrate (Figs. 4a and 4b, element 22 disclose a corrosion resistant thin film coating layer.), the surface treatment layer including chromium, oxygen, and fluorine (Paragraph 0021 disclose the corrosion resistant thin film coating layer, element 22, is chemically treated with a trivalent chromium fluoride compound, CrF3.). However, Iizuka does not disclose wherein a moisture content of a portion of the surface treatment layer exposed from the resin portion, as measured by coulometric Karl Fischer titration at a vaporization temperature of 220°C, is 5.0 µg/cm2 or less.
MPEP 2112.01 Composition, Product, and Apparatus Claims
I. PRODUCT AND APPARATUS CLAIMS — WHEN THE STRUCTURE RECITED IN THE REFERENCE IS SUBSTANTIALLY IDENTICAL TO THAT OF THE CLAIMS, CLAIMED PROPERTIES OR FUNCTIONS ARE PRESUMED TO BE INHERENT
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See also Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 2, Iizuka et al. teach a lead member (Abstract) comprising:
a lead conductor (Figs. 4a and 4b, element 18 discloses a lead member.) having a first main surface and a second main surface opposite to the first main surface (See annotated figure 4b below.); and
Figs 4 a and 4b of Iizuka
a resin portion that covers the first main surface, the second main surface, and two side surfaces that are between both ends of the lead conductor; while exposing the both ends of the lead conductor in a first direction (Figs. 4a and 4b disclose a sealing portion, element 23, which covers the first and second main surfaces (see annotated figure above) and the sides. Further, element 25 indicates exposed portions in opposite directions.)
wherein the lead conductor includes:
a metal substrate (Fig. 4b, element 21), and
a surface treatment layer formed on at least a portion of a surface of the metal substrate (Figs. 4a and 4b, element 22 disclose a corrosion resistant thin film coating layer.), the surface treatment layer including chromium, oxygen, and fluorine (Paragraph 0021 disclose the corrosion resistant thin film coating layer, element 22, is chemically treated with a trivalent chromium fluoride compound, CrF3.). However, Iizuka does not disclose wherein, for a portion of the surface treatment layer exposed from the resin portion, a value of a parameter that is obtained by dividing, by a chromium content (µg/cm2) per unit area, an integrated value of peak intensity in a wave number range of greater than or equal to 2750 cm-1 and less than or equal to 3700 cm-1 in a reflection infrared spectrum is 10.0 or less.
MPEP 2112.01 Composition, Product, and Apparatus Claims
I. PRODUCT AND APPARATUS CLAIMS — WHEN THE STRUCTURE RECITED IN THE REFERENCE IS SUBSTANTIALLY IDENTICAL TO THAT OF THE CLAIMS, CLAIMED PROPERTIES OR FUNCTIONS ARE PRESUMED TO BE INHERENT
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See also Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 3, Iizuka et al. teach a lead member (Abstract) comprising:
a lead conductor (Figs. 4a and 4b, element 18 discloses a lead member.) having a first main surface and a second main surface opposite to the first main surface (See annotated figure 4b below.); and
Figs 4 a and 4b of Iizuka
a resin portion that covers the first main surface, the second main surface, and two side surfaces that are between both ends of the lead conductor; while exposing the both ends of the lead conductor in a first direction (Figs. 4a and 4b disclose a sealing portion, element 23, which covers the first and second main surfaces (see annotated figure above) and the sides. Further, element 25 indicates exposed portions in opposite directions.)
wherein the lead conductor includes:
a metal substrate (Fig. 4b, element 21), and
a surface treatment layer formed on at least a portion of a surface of the metal substrate (Figs. 4a and 4b, element 22 disclose a corrosion resistant thin film coating layer.), the surface treatment layer including chromium, oxygen, and fluorine (Paragraph 0021 disclose the corrosion resistant thin film coating layer, element 22, is chemically treated with a trivalent chromium fluoride compound, CrF3.). However, Iizuka does not disclose wherein, in an X-ray absorption spectrum for a portion of the surface treatment layer exposed from the resin portion, when one division on a horizontal axis indicates X-ray energy of 1 eV, and one division on a vertical axis indicates X-ray absorption of 0.1, a magnitude of an angle BAC is 17 degrees or less, where, for the X-ray absorption spectrum, a point A is a point at which the X-ray energy is 6008 eV, a point B is a point at which the X-ray energy is 6011 eV, and a point C is a point at which the X-ray energy is 6016 eV, and wherein a length of the one division on the horizontal axis is equal to a length of the one division on the vertical axis.
MPEP 2112.01 Composition, Product, and Apparatus Claims
I. PRODUCT AND APPARATUS CLAIMS — WHEN THE STRUCTURE RECITED IN THE REFERENCE IS SUBSTANTIALLY IDENTICAL TO THAT OF THE CLAIMS, CLAIMED PROPERTIES OR FUNCTIONS ARE PRESUMED TO BE INHERENT
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See also Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claims 4, 10, 11, Iizuka et al. teach the lead member according to claims 1-3, wherein the surface treatment layer is an inorganic layer (Paragraphs 0021 and 0025 discloses the corrosion resistant thin film coating layer comprises chromium (III) fluoride, which is inorganic due to chromium.).
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 13, Iizuka et al. teach the lead member according to claims 1-3, wherein the surface treatment layer is free of C (Paragraphs 0021 and 0025 disclose chromium (III) fluoride which is free of carbon.).
Regarding claims 6, 14, and 15, Iizuka et al. teach the lead member according to claims 1-3, wherein the surface treatment layer is provided at least between the metal substrate and the resin portion (Fig. 4b discloses the corrosion resistant thin film coating layer, element 22 is between the metal substrate, element 21, and the sealing layer, element 23.).
Regarding claims 7, 16, and 17, Iizuka et al. teach the lead member according to claims 1-3, wherein the surface treatment layer is provided on an entirety of the first main surface and the second main surface (Fig. 4b shows element 22 surrounding the first main surface and the second main surface. See annotated figure 4b below.).
Figs 4 a and 4b of Iizuka
Regarding claims 8, 18, and 19, Iizuka et al. teach the lead member according to claims 1-3, wherein the metal substrate is formed of aluminum, an aluminum alloy, nickel, a nickel alloy, copper, a copper alloy, nickel-plated aluminum, a nickel-plated aluminum alloy, nickel-plated copper, a nickel-plated copper alloy, nickel clad aluminum, a nickel clad aluminum alloy, nickel clad copper, or a nickel clad copper alloy (Paragraph 0224 discloses element 21 can comprise aluminum for the positive electrode and nickel plated copper for the negative electrode.).
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Iizuka et al. teach the lead member according to claims 1 and 2, wherein the resin portion includes polypropylene (Paragraphs 0029; 0033 discloses the sealing layer can comprise polypropylene.).
Conclusion
Daniel S. Gatewood, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1729
/DANIEL S GATEWOOD, Ph. D/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729 February 12th, 2026