Response to Arguments
The applicant has removed “for example” from Claim 2 and therefore the corresponding rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is hereby withdrawn.
The applicant has argued that the amendments made to independent Claim 1 are not disclosed by Tolstedt (US 2015/0025752). This argument is not persuasive as the amended limitations are disclosed by the stated reference as is demonstrated in the rejection section of this action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tolstedt (US 2015/0025752).
As per Claim 1:
Tolstedt discloses the following limitations:
“A method for the controlled seeding of a plot of agricultural land by a seeding vehicle or a machine combination with a seeder, having a plurality of single seeding elements each configured to produce a seeding row, the seeding vehicle or machine combination being configured so as to be able to selectively, interrupt at least one seeding row, by at least one of blocking and retracting at least one of the seeding elements in order to tramline said plot while avoiding crushing crops during planned passage of a known vehicle or machine combination intended to carry out a subsequent operation on the plot, said method comprising: providing, in advance, a virtual plan of all of the plot with current, generally straight portions of arrangements of seeding rows to be produced, in a main interior region of said plot; inferring, from the virtual plan all of the plot and trajectories of travel elements of the known vehicle or machine combination carrying out the subsequent operation trajectories of the seeding vehicle or machine combination, the trajectories of the seeding vehicle or machine combination including at least one straight portion and at least one curved portion delimiting the main interior region”
Tolstedt Figure 6A discloses a virtual plan of a plot, of which the scale is arbitrary and can encompass the whole plot, the system then infers the trajectory of the vehicles that will subsequently traverse the field based on the virtual tramlines entered by the operator (See Paragraphs [0068]-[0070]". The system can accommodate areas delimited by straight and/or curved lines (see Paragraph [0040]).
“and in controlling the seeding vehicle or machine combination to carry out controlled seeding with tramlining for the current portions, based on the inferred trajectories of the seeding vehicle or machine combination wherein when the seeding vehicle or machine combination is traveling on the at least one curved portion, at least one single seeding element of the plurality of single seeding elements of the seeding vehicle or machine combination is interrupted”
Tolstedt Figure 3 discloses controlling seeding elements during a variety of movements (including U-turns or existing between portions) such that the seeding elements that are over the tramlines are deactivated therefore ensuring that seeds aren’t wasted in tramlines. See Paragraphs [0037]-[0044].
With regards to Claim 2, Tolstedt discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses the following limitations:
“further comprising determining and taking into account the trajectories of the of the seeding vehicle or machine combination during maneuvers associated with avoiding objects or obstacles, with entering or leaving the plot, with operations to load or supply inputs or with specific foreseeable operations including at least one of a type of plant cultivated on the plot considered, characteristics of soil of the plot , and a type of the seeding vehicle or machine combination.”
Tolstedt Paragraph [0026] discloses an application that determines locations of tramlines based on specific fields which naturally pathways around any natural obstacles or field irregularities which will affect foreseeable operations. The examples providing in the "depending on" aspect of this claim limitation are not considered for the purposes of prior art as they represent exemplary language and can therefore provide no meaningful limitations of the claim.
With regards to Claim 5, Tolstedt discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses the following limitations:
“having a working width that is an integer submultiple of working widths of the known vehicle or machine combinations carrying out the subsequent operation”
Tolstedt Paragraphs [0035]-[0036] disclose working widths that are integer multiples of subsequent vehicles.
With regards to Claim 6, Tolstedt discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses the following limitations:
“a seeding vehicle or a machine combination with a seeder, that is autonomous or semi- autonomous, having a plurality of single seeding elements, each configured to produce a seeding row, the vehicle or machine combination being configured so as to be able to selectively interrupt at least one seeding row by at least one of blocking and retracting at least one of the seeding elements, wherein the vehicle or machine combination is equipped with a computer configured to use a virtual plan of the plot to be sown and to define and execute a protocol for the travel and operation of said vehicle or machine combination configured to carry out controlled seeding”
Tolstedt See Figure 3 which discloses a vehicle that selectively blocks elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tolstedt in view of Guyette (US 2016/0366815).
With regards to Claim 3, Tolstedt discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1 but does not disclose the following limitations that Guyette does disclose:
“comprising providing in advance models of the trajectories taking into account a possible error or shift factor determined by measurements during implementations under real conditions.”
Guyette Paragraph [0020] discloses predicting a path of an agricultural vehicle using an IMU and Paragraph [0023] discloses compensating for error in the IMU.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system disclosed by Tolstedt with the error shift consideration disclosed by Guyette. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to make the system more accurate by considering real-world error-drift.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tolstedt in view of Gresch (US 2018/0084711).
With regards to Claim 4, Tolstedt discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1 but does not disclose the following limitations that Gresch does disclose:
“wherein the virtual plan of the plot comprises a division of its surface into work areas in relation with seeding recommendations”
Gresch Paragraph [0039] discloses dividing a field into sections in which the density of the distributed seeds are different.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system disclosed by Tolstedt with the work area distinction disclosed by Gresch. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to make the system more accurate by considering field conditions for seeding.
Claim 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tolstedt in view of Gerrish (US 2017/0261986).
With regards to Claim 7, Tolstedt discloses all of the limitations of Claim 6 but does not disclose the following limitations that Gerrish does disclose:
“wherein the seeding vehicle or machine combination is robot-controlled or controlled remotely.”
Gerrish Paragraph [0021] discloses autonomous (i.e. robot controlled) agricultural vehicles used for seeding.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system disclosed by Tolstedt with the autonomous system disclosed by Gerrish. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to make the system more effective by automating the process.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach examiner by telephone are unsuccessful the examiner’s supervisor, Vivek Koppikar can be reached on (571) 272-5109. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/GODFREY ALEKSANDER MACIOROWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/JOAN T GOODBODY/Examiner, Art Unit 3667