DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The proposed reply filed on November 26th, 2025 has been entered. 1, 5-6 and 10-12 have been changed. Claims 2, 4, 7 and 9 have been canceled. Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8, and 10-12 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Amendments to the claim 12 filed on 11/26/2025 are found to be persuasive, thus, 35 USC § 101 rejection of claim 12 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mallick et al. (US 2018/0227962 A1) in view of Tsai et al. (US 2021/0243777 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mallick et al. teach method performed by a user equipment (UE) performing a data transmission related to a first radio bearer (RB) which is allowed to perform the data transmission in a radio resource control (RRC) INACTIVE state (Figs. 1 and 4, [0005, 0051, 0067], a method includes receiving configuration information for a radio bearer. In various embodiments, the method includes transitioning the radio bearer to an inactive state after receiving the configuration information. The fig. 1 depicts a wireless communication system 100 for transmitting and/or receiving configuration information for an inactive state. The wireless communication system 100 includes remote units 102 and base units 104. The remote unit 102 may be moved to an RRC inactive state from an RRC connected state, the remote unit 102 may make an initial/first data transfer in the inactive state),
Mallick et al. teach second RB which is not allowed to perform the data transmission in the RRC INACTIVE state being generated during performing the data transmission related to the first RB in the RRC INACTIVE state, transmitting a RRC resume request message (Figs. 1 and 4, [0057, 0067], the remote unit 102 may receive configuration information for a radio bearer from a base unit 104. In various embodiments, the remote unit 102 may transition the radio bearer to an inactive state after receiving the configuration information. In certain embodiments, the remote unit 102 configures the radio bearer based on the configuration information in response to transitioning the radio bearer to the inactive state. In some embodiments, the configuration information configures the radio bearer with a configuration selected from the group including: a first configuration that transmits data in the inactive state in response to a data property being less than a predetermined threshold; a second configuration that initiates transition from the inactive state to a connected state before transmitting data; a third configuration that transmits data in the inactive state and initiates transition from the inactive state to the connected state after at least a portion of the data is transmitted; and a fourth configuration that inhibits data transmission in the inactive state and inhibits initiating transition from the inactive state to the connected state. Accordingly, a remote unit 102 may be used for receiving configuration information for an inactive state. The base unit 104 may decide based on the new data indication whether the remote unit 102 should remain in the inactive state, be given larger grants (e.g., for a remote unit 102 in a good radio), and/or initiate transition of the remote unit 102 back to the connected state, and/or the remote unit 102 may operate based on the decision of the base unit 104 (e.g., by making a transition to the connected state),
Mallick et al. teach and based on transmitting the RRC resume request message, triggering a buffer status reporting (BSR) regardless of a priority of a logical channel (LoCH) to which the data unit related to the second RB belongs (Figs. 1 and 4, [0017, 0077], the data transmission is prioritized by assigning a highest priority to a second message used to initiate transition to the connected state, assigning a second highest priority to a buffer status report, and assigning a third highest priority to data to be transmitted. In the DL response message to the remote unit 102 (e.g., with or without a grant and/or TA), the base unit 104 may include an indication for the remote unit 102 to initiate transition to a connected state (or to resume the connected state). In various embodiments, during a logical channel prioritization (“LCP”), the remote unit 102 may prioritize transmission according to the following rules: an RRC message initiating transition/resume to the connected state has a highest priority; a buffer status report (BSR) has a next highest priority unless outstanding data to be transmitted can be completely accommodated in the grant (e.g., a portion of the grant remaining after the RRC message inclusion); and outstanding data to be transmitted has a lowest priority).
Mallick et al. is teaching the condition under which buffer status report is being reported after acquiring of RRC connected state. Mallick et al., however, fail to disclose expressly of UE to perform data transmission in RRC inactive state. (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 1, Tsai et al. teach performing a data transmission related to a first radio bearer (RB) which is allowed to perform the data transmission in a radio resource control (RRC) INACTIVE state (Figs. 5A and 15, [0061-0062, 0080], in new radio (NR), there may be a state transition from RRC in idle or inactive mode to RRC connected mode for example data transmissions. For conducting small data transmissions when a given UE is in an RRC idle or inactive state. which can be carried over SRB. In another example in which a given UE is in the inactive mode with the AS security context being stored, if there is small data for transmission, the UE may transmit small UL data without necessarily performing a state transition from the RRC inactive state to the RRC connected state (e.g., see FIG. 5A), or may transition first to the RRC connected state and transmit the data. For example, At 1502 (fig. 15), the UE 1501 attaches to the network and is in the inactive state. The network may determine a configured grant transmission when the UE 1501 is in the inactive state. If there is a configured grant radio resource, the UE 1501 may (at 1504) immediately transmit the small UL data within the configured grant resource in the RRC inactive state. At 1506, the gNB 1503 sends a reception response to the UE 1501).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Mallick et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Tsai et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of performing a data transmission related to a first radio bearer (RB) which is allowed to perform the data transmission in a radio resource control (RRC) INACTIVE state. The motivation is to support an improved method for small data transmission, by a UE in an inactive state (see [0008]).
Regarding claim 6, Mallick et al. teach a user equipment (UE) comprising: at least one processor; and at least one computer memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the UE to perform operation comprising (Fig. 2, [0058-0059], remote unit 102 may include a processor 202, a memory 204, an input device 206, a display 208, a transmitter 210, and a receiver 212. The processor 202 executes instructions stored in the memory 204 to perform the methods and routines described herein),
Mallick et al. teach performing a data transmission related to a first radio bearer (RB which is allowed to perform the data transmission in a radio resource control (RRC) INACTIVE state (Figs. 1 and 4, [0005, 0051, 0067], a method includes receiving configuration information for a radio bearer. In various embodiments, the method includes transitioning the radio bearer to an inactive state after receiving the configuration information. The fig. 1 depicts a wireless communication system 100 for transmitting and/or receiving configuration information for an inactive state. The wireless communication system 100 includes remote units 102 and base units 104. The remote unit 102 may be moved to an RRC inactive state from an RRC connected state, the remote unit 102 may make an initial/first data transfer in the inactive state),
Mallick et al. teach based on a data unit related to a second RB which is not allowed to perform the data transmission in the RRC INACTIVE state being generated during performing the data transmission related to the first RB in the RRC INACTIVE state, transmitting a RRC resume request message (Figs. 1 and 4, [0057, 0067], the remote unit 102 may receive configuration information for a radio bearer from a base unit 104. In various embodiments, the remote unit 102 may transition the radio bearer to an inactive state after receiving the configuration information. In certain embodiments, the remote unit 102 configures the radio bearer based on the configuration information in response to transitioning the radio bearer to the inactive state. In some embodiments, the configuration information configures the radio bearer with a configuration selected from the group including: a first configuration that transmits data in the inactive state in response to a data property being less than a predetermined threshold; a second configuration that initiates transition from the inactive state to a connected state before transmitting data; a third configuration that transmits data in the inactive state and initiates transition from the inactive state to the connected state after at least a portion of the data is transmitted; and a fourth configuration that inhibits data transmission in the inactive state and inhibits initiating transition from the inactive state to the connected state. Accordingly, a remote unit 102 may be used for receiving configuration information for an inactive state. The base unit 104 may decide based on the new data indication whether the remote unit 102 should remain in the inactive state, be given larger grants (e.g., for a remote unit 102 in a good radio), and/or initiate transition of the remote unit 102 back to the connected state, and/or the remote unit 102 may operate based on the decision of the base unit 104 (e.g., by making a transition to the connected state),
Mallick et al. teach and based on transmitting the RRC resume request message, triggering a buffer status reporting (BSR) regardless of a priority of a logical channel (LoCH) to which the data unit related to the second RB belong (Figs. 1 and 4, [0017, 0077], the data transmission is prioritized by assigning a highest priority to a second message used to initiate transition to the connected state, assigning a second highest priority to a buffer status report, and assigning a third highest priority to data to be transmitted. In the DL response message to the remote unit 102 (e.g., with or without a grant and/or TA), the base unit 104 may include an indication for the remote unit 102 to initiate transition to a connected state (or to resume the connected state). In various embodiments, during a logical channel prioritization (“LCP”), the remote unit 102 may prioritize transmission according to the following rules: an RRC message initiating transition/resume to the connected state has a highest priority; a buffer status report (BSR) has a next highest priority unless outstanding data to be transmitted can be completely accommodated in the grant (e.g., a portion of the grant remaining after the RRC message inclusion); and outstanding data to be transmitted has a lowest priority).
Mallick et al. is teaching the condition under which buffer status report is being reported after acquiring of RRC connected state. Mallick et al., however, fail to disclose expressly of UE to perform data transmission in RRC inactive state. (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 6, Tsai et al. teach performing a data transmission related to a first radio bearer (RB which is allowed to perform the data transmission in a radio resource control (RRC) INACTIVE state (Figs. 5A and 15, [0061-0062, 0080], in new radio (NR), there may be a state transition from RRC in idle or inactive mode to RRC connected mode for example data transmissions. For conducting small data transmissions when a given UE is in an RRC idle or inactive state. which can be carried over SRB. In another example in which a given UE is in the inactive mode with the AS security context being stored, if there is small data for transmission, the UE may transmit small UL data without necessarily performing a state transition from the RRC inactive state to the RRC connected state (e.g., see FIG. 5A), or may transition first to the RRC connected state and transmit the data. For example, At 1502 (fig. 15), the UE 1501 attaches to the network and is in the inactive state. The network may determine a configured grant transmission when the UE 1501 is in the inactive state. If there is a configured grant radio resource, the UE 1501 may (at 1504) immediately transmit the small UL data within the configured grant resource in the RRC inactive state. At 1506, the gNB 1503 sends a reception response to the UE 1501).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Mallick et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Tsai et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of performing a data transmission related to a first radio bearer (RB) which is allowed to perform the data transmission in a radio resource control (RRC) INACTIVE state. The motivation is to support an improved method for small data transmission, by a UE in an inactive state (see [0008]).
Regarding claim 11, Mallick et al. teach an apparatus of a user equipment (UE), the apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one computer memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the UE to perform operations comprising (Fig. 2, [0058-0059], remote unit 102 may include a processor 202, a memory 204, an input device 206, a display 208, a transmitter 210, and a receiver 212. The processor 202 executes instructions stored in the memory 204 to perform the methods and routines described herein),
Mallick et al. teach performing a data transmission related to a first radio bearer (RB) which is allowed to perform the data transmission in a radio resource control (RRC)INACTIVE state (Figs. 1 and 4, [0005, 0051, 0067], a method includes receiving configuration information for a radio bearer. In various embodiments, the method includes transitioning the radio bearer to an inactive state after receiving the configuration information. The fig. 1 depicts a wireless communication system 100 for transmitting and/or receiving configuration information for an inactive state. The wireless communication system 100 includes remote units 102 and base units 104. The remote unit 102 may be moved to an RRC inactive state from an RRC connected state, the remote unit 102 may make an initial/first data transfer in the inactive state),
Mallick et al. teach based on a data unit related to a second RB which is not allowed to perform the data transmission in the RRC INACTIVE state being generated during performing the data transmission related to the first RB in the RRC INACTIVE state, transmitting a RRC resume request message (Figs. 1 and 4, [0057, 0067], the remote unit 102 may receive configuration information for a radio bearer from a base unit 104. In various embodiments, the remote unit 102 may transition the radio bearer to an inactive state after receiving the configuration information. In certain embodiments, the remote unit 102 configures the radio bearer based on the configuration information in response to transitioning the radio bearer to the inactive state. In some embodiments, the configuration information configures the radio bearer with a configuration selected from the group including: a first configuration that transmits data in the inactive state in response to a data property being less than a predetermined threshold; a second configuration that initiates transition from the inactive state to a connected state before transmitting data; a third configuration that transmits data in the inactive state and initiates transition from the inactive state to the connected state after at least a portion of the data is transmitted; and a fourth configuration that inhibits data transmission in the inactive state and inhibits initiating transition from the inactive state to the connected state. Accordingly, a remote unit 102 may be used for receiving configuration information for an inactive state. The base unit 104 may decide based on the new data indication whether the remote unit 102 should remain in the inactive state, be given larger grants (e.g., for a remote unit 102 in a good radio), and/or initiate transition of the remote unit 102 back to the connected state, and/or the remote unit 102 may operate based on the decision of the base unit 104 (e.g., by making a transition to the connected state),
Mallick et al. teach and based on transmitting the RRC resume request message, triggering a buffer status reporting (BSR) regardless of a priority of a logical channel (LoCH) to which the data unit related to the second RB belongs (Figs. 1 and 4, [0017, 0077], the data transmission is prioritized by assigning a highest priority to a second message used to initiate transition to the connected state, assigning a second highest priority to a buffer status report, and assigning a third highest priority to data to be transmitted. In the DL response message to the remote unit 102 (e.g., with or without a grant and/or TA), the base unit 104 may include an indication for the remote unit 102 to initiate transition to a connected state (or to resume the connected state). In various embodiments, during a logical channel prioritization (“LCP”), the remote unit 102 may prioritize transmission according to the following rules: an RRC message initiating transition/resume to the connected state has a highest priority; a buffer status report (BSR) has a next highest priority unless outstanding data to be transmitted can be completely accommodated in the grant (e.g., a portion of the grant remaining after the RRC message inclusion); and outstanding data to be transmitted has a lowest priority).
Mallick et al. is teaching the condition under which buffer status report is being reported after acquiring of RRC connected state. Mallick et al., however, fail to disclose expressly of UE to perform data transmission in RRC inactive state. (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 11, Tsai et al. teach performing a data transmission related to a first radio bearer (RB) which is allowed to perform the data transmission in a radio resource control (RRC)INACTIVE state (Figs. 5A and 15, [0061-0062, 0080], in new radio (NR), there may be a state transition from RRC in idle or inactive mode to RRC connected mode for example data transmissions. For conducting small data transmissions when a given UE is in an RRC idle or inactive state. which can be carried over SRB. In another example in which a given UE is in the inactive mode with the AS security context being stored, if there is small data for transmission, the UE may transmit small UL data without necessarily performing a state transition from the RRC inactive state to the RRC connected state (e.g., see FIG. 5A), or may transition first to the RRC connected state and transmit the data. For example, At 1502 (fig. 15), the UE 1501 attaches to the network and is in the inactive state. The network may determine a configured grant transmission when the UE 1501 is in the inactive state. If there is a configured grant radio resource, the UE 1501 may (at 1504) immediately transmit the small UL data within the configured grant resource in the RRC inactive state. At 1506, the gNB 1503 sends a reception response to the UE 1501).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Mallick et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Tsai et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of performing a data transmission related to a first radio bearer (RB) which is allowed to perform the data transmission in a radio resource control (RRC) INACTIVE state. The motivation is to support an improved method for small data transmission, by a UE in an inactive state (see [0008]).
Regarding claim 12, Mallick et al. teach a non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising program instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause a user equipment (UE) to perform operations comprising (Fig. 2, [0035, 0058-0059], embodiments may take the form of a program product embodied in one or more computer readable storage devices storing machine readable code, computer readable code, and/or program code, referred hereafter as code. The storage devices may be tangible, non-transitory, and/or non-transmission. Remote unit 102 may include a processor 202, a memory 204, an input device 206, a display 208, a transmitter 210, and a receiver 212. The processor 202 executes instructions stored in the memory 204 to perform the methods and routines described herein),
Mallick et al. teach performing a data transmission related to a first radio bearer (RB) which is allowed to perform the data transmission in a radio resource control RRC) INACTIVE state (Figs. 1 and 4, [0005, 0051, 0067], a method includes receiving configuration information for a radio bearer. In various embodiments, the method includes transitioning the radio bearer to an inactive state after receiving the configuration information. The fig. 1 depicts a wireless communication system 100 for transmitting and/or receiving configuration information for an inactive state. The wireless communication system 100 includes remote units 102 and base units 104. The remote unit 102 may be moved to an RRC inactive state from an RRC connected state, the remote unit 102 may make an initial/first data transfer in the inactive state),
Mallick et al. teach based on a data unit related to a second RB which is not allowed to perform the data transmission in the RRC INACTIVE state being generated during performing the data transmission related to the first RB in the RRC INACTIVE state, transmitting a RRC resume request message (Figs. 1 and 4, [0057, 0067], the remote unit 102 may receive configuration information for a radio bearer from a base unit 104. In various embodiments, the remote unit 102 may transition the radio bearer to an inactive state after receiving the configuration information. In certain embodiments, the remote unit 102 configures the radio bearer based on the configuration information in response to transitioning the radio bearer to the inactive state. In some embodiments, the configuration information configures the radio bearer with a configuration selected from the group including: a first configuration that transmits data in the inactive state in response to a data property being less than a predetermined threshold; a second configuration that initiates transition from the inactive state to a connected state before transmitting data; a third configuration that transmits data in the inactive state and initiates transition from the inactive state to the connected state after at least a portion of the data is transmitted; and a fourth configuration that inhibits data transmission in the inactive state and inhibits initiating transition from the inactive state to the connected state. Accordingly, a remote unit 102 may be used for receiving configuration information for an inactive state. The base unit 104 may decide based on the new data indication whether the remote unit 102 should remain in the inactive state, be given larger grants (e.g., for a remote unit 102 in a good radio), and/or initiate transition of the remote unit 102 back to the connected state, and/or the remote unit 102 may operate based on the decision of the base unit 104 (e.g., by making a transition to the connected state),
Mallick et al. teach and based on transmitting the RRC resume request message, triggering a buffer status reporting (BSR) regardless of a priority of a logical channel (LoCH) to which the data unit related to the second RB belongs (Figs. 1 and 4, [0017, 0077], the data transmission is prioritized by assigning a highest priority to a second message used to initiate transition to the connected state, assigning a second highest priority to a buffer status report, and assigning a third highest priority to data to be transmitted. In the DL response message to the remote unit 102 (e.g., with or without a grant and/or TA), the base unit 104 may include an indication for the remote unit 102 to initiate transition to a connected state (or to resume the connected state). In various embodiments, during a logical channel prioritization (“LCP”), the remote unit 102 may prioritize transmission according to the following rules: an RRC message initiating transition/resume to the connected state has a highest priority; a buffer status report (BSR) has a next highest priority unless outstanding data to be transmitted can be completely accommodated in the grant (e.g., a portion of the grant remaining after the RRC message inclusion); and outstanding data to be transmitted has a lowest priority).
Mallick et al. is teaching the condition under which buffer status report is being reported after acquiring of RRC connected state. Mallick et al., however, fail to disclose expressly of UE to perform data transmission in RRC inactive state. (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 12, Tsai et al. teach performing a data transmission related to a first radio bearer (RB) which is allowed to perform the data transmission in a radio resource control RRC) INACTIVE state (Figs. 5A and 15, [0061-0062, 0080], in new radio (NR), there may be a state transition from RRC in idle or inactive mode to RRC connected mode for example data transmissions. For conducting small data transmissions when a given UE is in an RRC idle or inactive state. which can be carried over SRB. In another example in which a given UE is in the inactive mode with the AS security context being stored, if there is small data for transmission, the UE may transmit small UL data without necessarily performing a state transition from the RRC inactive state to the RRC connected state (e.g., see FIG. 5A), or may transition first to the RRC connected state and transmit the data. For example, At 1502 (fig. 15), the UE 1501 attaches to the network and is in the inactive state. The network may determine a configured grant transmission when the UE 1501 is in the inactive state. If there is a configured grant radio resource, the UE 1501 may (at 1504) immediately transmit the small UL data within the configured grant resource in the RRC inactive state. At 1506, the gNB 1503 sends a reception response to the UE 1501).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Mallick et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Tsai et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of performing a data transmission related to a first radio bearer (RB) which is allowed to perform the data transmission in a radio resource control (RRC) INACTIVE state. The motivation is to support an improved method for small data transmission, by a UE in an inactive state (see [0008]).
Claim(s) 3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mallick et al. (US 2018/0227962 A1) in view of Tsai et al. (US 2021/0243777 A1) in view of Tsai et al. (US 2021/0243777 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0256634 A1).
Mallick et al. and Tsai et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 5 above. Mallick et al. and Tsai et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 3, wherein the data transmission related to the first RB in the RRC INACTIVE state is performed using at least one of a random access procedure or a configured grant (CG); regarding claim 8, wherein the data transmission related to the first RB in the RRC INACTIVE state is performed using at least one of a random access procedure or a configured grant (CG).
Regarding claim 3, Kim et al. teach wherein the data transmission related to the first RB in the RRC INACTIVE state is performed using at least one of a random access procedure or a configured grant (CG) (Fig. 19, [0252] the UE may determine a PRACH preamble and PRACH resource corresponding to a desired SIB in SI request configuration received via SIB1. The UE may initiate a random access procedure using the PRACH preamble and PRACH resource. Upon receiving the PRACH preamble, the base station may broadcast the desired SIB on the DL-SCH and send an acknowledgement (Ack) for the SI request to the UE. Upon receiving the acknowledgement, the UE in RRC idle state or RRC inactive state may acquire the broadcasted SIB on the DL-SCH. For the 4 step SI request procedure, the UE may initiate transmission of an RRC system info request message. The RRC system info request message may comprise a list of one or more SIBs the UE desires to acquire. The UE may send the RRC system info request message after a random access procedure is successfully completed as shown in FIG. 19. Upon receiving the RRC system info request message, the base station may send the one or more SIBs and an acknowledgement (Ack) for the SI request to the UE. Upon receiving the acknowledgement, the UE in RRC idle state or RRC inactive state may acquire the requested SIB).
Regarding claim 8, Kim et al. teach wherein the data transmission related to the first RB in the RRC INACTIVE state is performed using at least one of a random access procedure or a configured grant (CG) (Fig. 19, [0252], the UE may determine a PRACH preamble and PRACH resource corresponding to a desired SIB in SI request configuration received via SIB1. The UE may initiate a random access procedure using the PRACH preamble and PRACH resource. Upon receiving the PRACH preamble, the base station may broadcast the desired SIB on the DL-SCH and send an acknowledgement (Ack) for the SI request to the UE. Upon receiving the acknowledgement, the UE in RRC idle state or RRC inactive state may acquire the broadcasted SIB on the DL-SCH. For the 4 step SI request procedure, the UE may initiate transmission of an RRC system info request message. The RRC system info request message may comprise a list of one or more SIBs the UE desires to acquire. The UE may send the RRC system info request message after a random access procedure is successfully completed as shown in FIG. 19. Upon receiving the RRC system info request message, the base station may send the one or more SIBs and an acknowledgement (Ack) for the SI request to the UE. Upon receiving the acknowledgement, the UE in RRC idle state or RRC inactive state may acquire the requested SIB”)
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of 3GPP’507 with Tsai et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Kim et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of transmitting data related to the first RB in the RRC INACTIVE state is performed using at least one of a random access procedure. The motivation is to support an improved method for specific settings in a device that effect the operational characteristics of the device (see [0045]).
Claim(s) 5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mallick et al. (US 2018/0227962 A1) in view of Tsai et al. (US 2021/0243777 A1) in view of Tsai et al. (US 2021/0243777 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of disclosed reference 3GPP Draft; R2-2101507 (Subsequent small data transmission) (3GPP’507 hereinafter).
Mallick et al. and Tsai et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 5 above. Mallick et al. and Tsai et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 5, further comprising: receiving information about whether the first RB and the second RB are allowed to perform the data transmission in the RRC INACTIVE state; regarding claim 10, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving information about whether the first RB and the second RB are allowed to perform the data transmission in the RRC INACTIVE state.
Regarding claim 5, 3GPP’507 teaches further comprising: receiving information about whether the first RB and the second RB are allowed to perform the data transmission in the RRC INACTIVE state ([section 2: proposal 2 first paragraph, proposal 4 second paragraph line 7-9, section 2.1: second paragraph], summarized as “currently, UE triggers a new BSR if new data arrives for a resumed DRB on an empty buffer, or if new data of higher priority than what’s existing in the UE’s buffer arrives, per TS 38.321. If new data arrives of the same or less priority than the data exchanged during the subsequent SDT phase, no new BSR is triggered. If the UE does not have a UL-SCH resource available to transmit the BSR MAC CE, a new SR is triggered which in turn initiates a new RA procedure -given there are no valid SR resources in inactive state-. However, if the UE has an uplink resource, say a CG for subsequent SDT, no RACH is initiated and the BSR MAC CE is transmitted on the CG. The priority assigned to SRB1 is higher than SRB2. In some scenarios, it is possible for the positioning measurements reports to be sent in SRB1 so long as the UE has available resources after including data in SRB1, which includes RRC messages and other higher priority NAS messages. Since positioning measurement reports are typically assigned with low priority, they may not be carried in SRB1”).
Regarding claim 10, 3GPP’507 teaches wherein the operations further comprise: receiving information about whether the first RB and the second RB are allowed to perform the data transmission in the RRC INACTIVE state ([section 2: proposal 2 first paragraph, proposal 4 second paragraph line 7-9, section 2.1: second paragraph], summarized as “currently, UE triggers a new BSR if new data arrives for a resumed DRB on an empty buffer, or if new data of higher priority than what’s existing in the UE’s buffer arrives, per TS 38.321. If new data arrives of the same or less priority than the data exchanged during the subsequent SDT phase, no new BSR is triggered. If the UE does not have a UL-SCH resource available to transmit the BSR MAC CE, a new SR is triggered which in turn initiates a new RA procedure -given there are no valid SR resources in inactive state-. However, if the UE has an uplink resource, say a CG for subsequent SDT, no RACH is initiated and the BSR MAC CE is transmitted on the CG. The priority assigned to SRB1 is higher than SRB2. In some scenarios, it is possible for the positioning measurements reports to be sent in SRB1 so long as the UE has available resources after including data in SRB1, which includes RRC messages and other higher priority NAS messages. Since positioning measurement reports are typically assigned with low priority, they may not be carried in SRB1”).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Mallick et al. with Tsai et al. by incorporating the features as taught by 3GPP’507 in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of receiving information about whether the first RB and the second RB are allowed to perform the data transmission in the RRC INACTIVE state. The motivation is to support an improved method for small data transmission in 5G and NR environment (see [section 2: proposal 2 first paragraph]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, 8, and 10-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYED M BOKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2473 2/6/2026
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473