DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng et al. (US 20230180223 A1) in view of disclosed reference 3GPP Draft; R2-2101507 (3GPP'507 hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Tseng et al. teach a method comprising: receiving, by a user equipment (UE), configuration information related to a first radio bearer (RB) (Fig. 3A, [0151], the serving cell may instruct the UE to update the stored radio bearer/RLC bearer/logical channel configurations by configuring a new RRC configuration to the UE. After receiving the new RRC configuration, the UE may overwrite the stored radio bearer/RLC bearer/logical channel configuration by the new RRC configuration),
Tseng et al. teach wherein the first RB is allowed to perform a data transmission in a radio resource control (RRC) INACTIVE state (Figs. 3A, [0149], different radio bearer configurations (e.g., with one set of radio bearer configurations being configured for packet transmission during an RRC_INACTIVE state),
Tseng et al. teach performing, by the UE, the data transmission related to the first RB in the RRC INACTIVE state (Fig. 3A, [0137], the UE is implementing small data transmission during RRC_INACTIVE state),
Tseng et al. teach based on a data unit related to a second RB which is not allowed to perform the data transmission in the RRC INACTIVE state being generated during performing the data transmission related to the first RB in the RRC INACTIVE state (Fig. 3A, [0149], different radio bearer configurations (e.g., with one set of radio bearer configurations being configured for packet transmission during an RRC_INACTIVE state and another set of radio bearer configurations being configured for packet transmission during an RRC_CONNECTED state) may be configured to the UE. For example, the set of radio bearer configurations for the RRC_INACTIVE state may be configured via an RRC release message. (Note: the second set of RB are allowed for transmission only in an RRCCONNECTED state or in other words the second RB is not allowed to perform the data transmission in the RRC INACTIVE state),
Tseng et al. teach transmitting, by the UE, a RRC resume request message (Fig. 3A, [0163], the UE may resume the suspended UL configured grant configuration only through the dedicated control signaling from the serving cell (e.g., in the RRC Resume message or RRC Re-establishment message or RRC Reconfiguration message or other downlink dedicated RRC signaling),
Tseng et al. teach wherein a priority of a logical channel (LoCH) to which the data unit related to the second RB belongs is lower than a priority of a LoCH for the data transmission related to the first RB in the RRC INACTIVE state (Fig. 3A, [0148], in some implementations, the MAC entity may be configured with prioritization rules to prioritize the pending packets of a specific Signaling Radio Bearer (e.g., SRB #1, the Signaling Radio Bearer which conveys the RRC signaling) or a logical channel associated with the specific SRB. In addition, the MAC entity may further de-prioritize the pending packets from (at least) one Data Radio Bearer or the logical channel(s) associated with the DRB(s) while both the RRC signaling and (small) packet transmission are pending to be transmitted through a random access procedure),
Tseng et al. teach and based on transmitting the RRC resume request message, triggering, by the UE, a buffer status reporting (BSR) regardless of the priority of the LoCH to which the data unit related to the second RB belongs (Fig. 3A, [0075, 0155] after the “first” message with small data is received, the network may be able to inform the UE that it may move to an RRC_CONNECTED state, for example, via a DL RRC message (e.g., RRC Connection Resume message). The “first” message with small data may provide information to enable the network to apply overload control and prioritization, if needed. The UE may provide the network, in the “first” message with the initial uplink data transmission, all necessary information to enable the network to move the UE to the RRC_CONNECTED state, or to enable the network to let the UE remain in the RRC_INACTIVE state. For example, the information may include a Buffer Status Report (which may be a short (truncated) BSR or a long BSR. The UE may trigger a BSR/SR, and/or initiate an RA procedure if at least UL data for a logical channel becomes available).
Tseng et al. is teaching the condition under which buffer status report is being reported after acquiring of RRC connected state. Tseng et al., however, fail to expressly disclose of triggering, by the UE, a buffer status reporting (BSR) regardless of the priority. (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 1, 3GPP'507 teaches triggering, by the UE, a buffer status reporting (BSR) regardless of the priority of the LoCH to which the data unit related to the second RB belongs [page 2, proposal 2, proposal 4], UE triggers a new BSR if new data arrives for a resumed DRB on an empty buffer, or if new data of higher priority than what’s existing in the UE’s buffer arrives, per TS 38.321. If new data arrives of the same or less priority than the data exchanged during the subsequent SDT phase, no new BSR is triggered. If the UE does not have a UL-SCH resource available to transmit the BSR MAC CE. However, given the UE should transition into connected mode by triggering an RRC resume request procedure if it has buffered data form a non-SDT DRB, that should be sufficient and the UE should not resume non-SDT DRBs in INACTIVE state (e.g. upon initiating the resume procedure for SDT in a RA previously initiated for small data transmission while in INACTIVE state). The UE shouldn’t use an SDT resource to transmit data from non-SDT DRBs, and the UE should always transition to connected to transmit data from non-SDT bearers. Therefore, non-SDT DRBs should not be resumed in INACTIVE in general. This would settle the two FFSs, ensure that SDT resources are only used to transmit data from SDT DRBs (i.e. by having the UE trigger a new RRC Resume request), and also ensure that a BSR MAC CE triggered by data arrival from an SDT DRB only contains data reports from SDT LCHs).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tseng et al. by incorporating the features as taught by 3GPP'507 in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of triggering, by the UE, a buffer status reporting (BSR) regardless of the priority of the LoCH to which the data unit related to the second RB belongs. The motivation is to support an improved method to support small data transmission of flexible TB sizes (see [page 1, Discussion]).
Regarding claim 6, Tseng et al. teach a user equipment (UE) comprising: at least one processor; and at least one computer memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the UE to perform operation comprising (Fig. 5, [0195, 0199], node 500 may include transceiver 520, processor 526, memory 528, one or more presentation components 534, and at least one antenna 536. The memory 528 may store computer-readable, computer-executable instructions 532 (e.g., software codes) that are configured to, when executed, cause processor 526 to perform various functions described herein),
Tseng et al. teach receiving configuration information related to a first radio bearer (RB) (Fig. 3A, [0151], the serving cell may instruct the UE to update the stored radio bearer/RLC bearer/logical channel configurations by configuring a new RRC configuration to the UE. After receiving the new RRC configuration, the UE may overwrite the stored radio bearer/RLC bearer/logical channel configuration by the new RRC configuration),
Tseng et al. teach wherein the first RB is allowed to perform a data transmission in a radio resource control (RRC) INACTIVE state (Figs. 3A, [0149], different radio bearer configurations (e.g., with one set of radio bearer configurations being configured for packet transmission during an RRC_INACTIVE state),
Tseng et al. teach performing the data transmission related to the first in the RRC INACTIVE state (Fig. 3A, [0137], the UE is implementing small data transmission during RRC_INACTIVE state),
Tseng et al. teach based on a data unit related to a second RB which is not allowed to perform the data transmission in the RRC INACTIVE state being generated during the data transmission related to the first RB in the RRC INACTIVE state (Fig. 3A, [0149], different radio bearer configurations (e.g., with one set of radio bearer configurations being configured for packet transmission during an RRC_INACTIVE state and another set of radio bearer configurations being configured for packet transmission during an RRC_CONNECTED state) may be configured to the UE. For example, the set of radio bearer configurations for the RRC_INACTIVE state may be configured via an RRC release message. (Note: the second set of RB are allowed for transmission only in an RRCCONNECTED state or in other words the second RB is not allowed to perform the data transmission in the RRC INACTIVE state),
Tseng et al. teach transmitting a RRC resume request message (Fig. 3A, [0163], the UE may resume the suspended UL configured grant configuration only through the dedicated control signaling from the serving cell (e.g., in the RRC Resume message or RRC Re-establishment message or RRC Reconfiguration message or other downlink dedicated RRC signaling),
Tseng et al. teach wherein a priority of a logical channel (LoCH) to which the data unit related to the second RB belongs is lower than a priority of a LoCH for the data transmission related to the first RB in the RRC INACTIVE state (Fig. 3A, [0148], in some implementations, the MAC entity may be configured with prioritization rules to prioritize the pending packets of a specific Signaling Radio Bearer (e.g., SRB #1, the Signaling Radio Bearer which conveys the RRC signaling) or a logical channel associated with the specific SRB. In addition, the MAC entity may further de-prioritize the pending packets from (at least) one Data Radio Bearer or the logical channel(s) associated with the DRB(s) while both the RRC signaling and (small) packet transmission are pending to be transmitted through a random access procedure),
Tseng et al. teach and based on transmitting the RRC resume request message, triggering a buffer status reporting (BSR) regardless of the priority of the LoCH to which the data unit related to the second RB belongs (Fig. 3A, [0075, 0155] after the “first” message with small data is received, the network may be able to inform the UE that it may move to an RRC_CONNECTED state, for example, via a DL RRC message (e.g., RRC Connection Resume message). The “first” message with small data may provide information to enable the network to apply overload control and prioritization, if needed. The UE may provide the network, in the “first” message with the initial uplink data transmission, all necessary information to enable the network to move the UE to the RRC_CONNECTED state, or to enable the network to let the UE remain in the RRC_INACTIVE state. For example, the information may include a Buffer Status Report (which may be a short (truncated) BSR or a long BSR. The UE may trigger a BSR/SR, and/or initiate an RA procedure if at least UL data for a logical channel becomes available).
Tseng et al. is teaching the condition under which buffer status report is being reported after acquiring of RRC connected state. Tseng et al., however, fail to expressly disclose of triggering, by the UE, a buffer status reporting (BSR) regardless of the priority. (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 6, 3GPP'507 teaches triggering a buffer status reporting (BSR) regardless of the priority of the LoCH to which the data unit related to the second RB belongs [page 2, proposal 2, proposal 4], UE triggers a new BSR if new data arrives for a resumed DRB on an empty buffer, or if new data of higher priority than what’s existing in the UE’s buffer arrives, per TS 38.321. If new data arrives of the same or less priority than the data exchanged during the subsequent SDT phase, no new BSR is triggered. If the UE does not have a UL-SCH resource available to transmit the BSR MAC CE. However, given the UE should transition into connected mode by triggering an RRC resume request procedure if it has buffered data form a non-SDT DRB, that should be sufficient and the UE should not resume non-SDT DRBs in INACTIVE state (e.g. upon initiating the resume procedure for SDT in a RA previously initiated for small data transmission while in INACTIVE state). The UE shouldn’t use an SDT resource to transmit data from non-SDT DRBs, and the UE should always transition to connected to transmit data from non-SDT bearers. Therefore, non-SDT DRBs should not be resumed in INACTIVE in general. This would settle the two FFSs, ensure that SDT resources are only used to transmit data from SDT DRBs (i.e. by having the UE trigger a new RRC Resume request), and also ensure that a BSR MAC CE triggered by data arrival from an SDT DRB only contains data reports from SDT LCHs).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tseng et al. by incorporating the features as taught by 3GPP'507 in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of triggering, by the UE, a buffer status reporting (BSR) regardless of the priority of the LoCH to which the data unit related to the second RB belongs. The motivation is to support an improved method to support small data transmission of flexible TB sizes (see [page 1, Discussion]).
Regarding claim 11, Tseng et al. teach an apparatus of a user equipment (UE), the apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one computer memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the UE to perform operations comprising (Fig. 5, [0195, 0199], node 500 may include transceiver 520, processor 526, memory 528, one or more presentation components 534, and at least one antenna 536. The memory 528 may store computer-readable, computer-executable instructions 532 (e.g., software codes) that are configured to, when executed, cause processor 526 to perform various functions described herein),
Tseng et al. teach receiving configuration information related to a first radio bearer (RB) (Fig. 3A, [0151], the serving cell may instruct the UE to update the stored radio bearer/RLC bearer/logical channel configurations by configuring a new RRC configuration to the UE. After receiving the new RRC configuration, the UE may overwrite the stored radio bearer/RLC bearer/logical channel configuration by the new RRC configuration),
Tseng et al. teach wherein the first RB is allowed to perform a data transmission in a radio resource control (RRC) INACTIVE state (Figs. 3A, [0149], different radio bearer configurations (e.g., with one set of radio bearer configurations being configured for packet transmission during an RRC_INACTIVE state),
Tseng et al. teach performing the data transmission related to the first in the RRC INACTIVE state (Fig. 3A, [0137], the UE is implementing small data transmission during RRC_INACTIVE state),
Tseng et al. teach based on a data unit related to a second RB which is not allowed to perform the data transmission in the RRC INACTIVE state being generated during performing the data transmission related to the first RB in the RRC INACTIVE state (Fig. 3A, [0149], different radio bearer configurations (e.g., with one set of radio bearer configurations being configured for packet transmission during an RRC_INACTIVE state and another set of radio bearer configurations being configured for packet transmission during an RRC_CONNECTED state) may be configured to the UE. For example, the set of radio bearer configurations for the RRC_INACTIVE state may be configured via an RRC release message. (Note: the second set of RB are allowed for transmission only in an RRCCONNECTED state or in other words the second RB is not allowed to perform the data transmission in the RRC INACTIVE state),
Tseng et al. teach transmitting a RRC resume request message (Fig. 3A, [0163], the UE may resume the suspended UL configured grant configuration only through the dedicated control signaling from the serving cell (e.g., in the RRC Resume message or RRC Re-establishment message or RRC Reconfiguration message or other downlink dedicated RRC signaling),
Tseng et al. teach wherein a priority of a logical channel (LoCH) to which the data unit related to the second RB belongs is lower than a priority of a LoCH for the data transmission related to the first RB in the RRC INACTIVE state (Fig. 3A, [0148], in some implementations, the MAC entity may be configured with prioritization rules to prioritize the pending packets of a specific Signaling Radio Bearer (e.g., SRB #1, the Signaling Radio Bearer which conveys the RRC signaling) or a logical channel associated with the specific SRB. In addition, the MAC entity may further de-prioritize the pending packets from (at least) one Data Radio Bearer or the logical channel(s) associated with the DRB(s) while both the RRC signaling and (small) packet transmission are pending to be transmitted through a random access procedure),
Tseng et al. teach and based on transmitting the RRC resume request message, triggering a buffer status reporting (BSR) regardless of the priority of the LoCH to which the data unit related to the second RB belongs (Fig. 3A, [0075, 0155] after the “first” message with small data is received, the network may be able to inform the UE that it may move to an RRC_CONNECTED state, for example, via a DL RRC message (e.g., RRC Connection Resume message). The “first” message with small data may provide information to enable the network to apply overload control and prioritization, if needed. The UE may provide the network, in the “first” message with the initial uplink data transmission, all necessary information to enable the network to move the UE to the RRC_CONNECTED state, or to enable the network to let the UE remain in the RRC_INACTIVE state. For example, the information may include a Buffer Status Report (which may be a short (truncated) BSR or a long BSR. The UE may trigger a BSR/SR, and/or initiate an RA procedure if at least UL data for a logical channel becomes available).
Tseng et al. is teaching the condition under which buffer status report is being reported after acquiring of RRC connected state. Tseng et al., however, fail to expressly disclose of triggering, by the UE, a buffer status reporting (BSR) regardless of the priority. (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 11, 3GPP'507 teaches triggering a buffer status reporting (BSR) regardless of the priority of the LoCH to which the data unit related to the second RB belongs [page 2, proposal 2, proposal 4], UE triggers a new BSR if new data arrives for a resumed DRB on an empty buffer, or if new data of higher priority than what’s existing in the UE’s buffer arrives, per TS 38.321. If new data arrives of the same or less priority than the data exchanged during the subsequent SDT phase, no new BSR is triggered. If the UE does not have a UL-SCH resource available to transmit the BSR MAC CE. However, given the UE should transition into connected mode by triggering an RRC resume request procedure if it has buffered data form a non-SDT DRB, that should be sufficient and the UE should not resume non-SDT DRBs in INACTIVE state (e.g. upon initiating the resume procedure for SDT in a RA previously initiated for small data transmission while in INACTIVE state). The UE shouldn’t use an SDT resource to transmit data from non-SDT DRBs, and the UE should always transition to connected to transmit data from non-SDT bearers. Therefore, non-SDT DRBs should not be resumed in INACTIVE in general. This would settle the two FFSs, ensure that SDT resources are only used to transmit data from SDT DRBs (i.e. by having the UE trigger a new RRC Resume request), and also ensure that a BSR MAC CE triggered by data arrival from an SDT DRB only contains data reports from SDT LCHs).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tseng et al. by incorporating the features as taught by 3GPP'507 in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of triggering, by the UE, a buffer status reporting (BSR) regardless of the priority of the LoCH to which the data unit related to the second RB belongs. The motivation is to support an improved method to support small data transmission of flexible TB sizes (see [page 1, Discussion]).
Regarding claim 12, Tseng et al. teach a non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising program instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause a user equipment (UE) to perform operations comprising (Fig. 5, [0017 ], node 500 may include transceiver 520, processor 526, memory 528, one or more presentation components 534, and at least one antenna 536. The memory 528 may store computer-readable, computer-executable instructions 532 (e.g., software codes) that are configured to, when executed, cause processor 526 to perform various functions described herein),
Tseng et al. teach receiving configuration information related to a first radio bearer (RB) (Fig. 3A, [0151], the serving cell may instruct the UE to update the stored radio bearer/RLC bearer/logical channel configurations by configuring a new RRC configuration to the UE. After receiving the new RRC configuration, the UE may overwrite the stored radio bearer/RLC bearer/logical channel configuration by the new RRC configuration),
Tseng et al. teach wherein the first RB is allowed to perform a data transmission in a radio resource control (RRC) INACTIVE state (Figs. 3A, [0149], different radio bearer configurations (e.g., with one set of radio bearer configurations being configured for packet transmission during an RRC_INACTIVE state),
Tseng et al. teach performing the data transmission related to the first in the RRC INACTIVE state (Fig. 3A, [0137], the UE is implementing small data transmission during RRC_INACTIVE state),
Tseng et al. teach based on a data unit related to a second RB which is not allowed to perform the data transmission in the RRC INACTIVE state being generated during the data transmission related to the first RB in the RRC INACTIVE state (Fig. 3A, [0149], different radio bearer configurations (e.g., with one set of radio bearer configurations being configured for packet transmission during an RRC_INACTIVE state and another set of radio bearer configurations being configured for packet transmission during an RRC_CONNECTED state) may be configured to the UE. For example, the set of radio bearer configurations for the RRC_INACTIVE state may be configured via an RRC release message. (Note: the second set of RB are allowed for transmission only in an RRCCONNECTED state or in other words the second RB is not allowed to perform the data transmission in the RRC INACTIVE state),
Tseng et al. teach transmitting a RRC resume request message (Fig. 3A, [0163], the UE may resume the suspended UL configured grant configuration only through the dedicated control signaling from the serving cell (e.g., in the RRC Resume message or RRC Re-establishment message or RRC Reconfiguration message or other downlink dedicated RRC signaling),
Tseng et al. teach wherein a priority of a logical channel (LoCH) to which the data unit related to the second RB belongs is lower than a priority of a LoCH for the data transmission related to the first RB in the RRC INACTIVE state (Fig. 3A, [0148], in some implementations, the MAC entity may be configured with prioritization rules to prioritize the pending packets of a specific Signaling Radio Bearer (e.g., SRB #1, the Signaling Radio Bearer which conveys the RRC signaling) or a logical channel associated with the specific SRB. In addition, the MAC entity may further de-prioritize the pending packets from (at least) one Data Radio Bearer or the logical channel(s) associated with the DRB(s) while both the RRC signaling and (small) packet transmission are pending to be transmitted through a random access procedure),
Tseng et al. teach and based on transmitting the RRC resume request message, triggering a buffer status reporting (BSR) regardless of the priority of the LoCH to which the data unit related to the second RB belongs (Fig. 3A, [0075, 0155] after the “first” message with small data is received, the network may be able to inform the UE that it may move to an RRC_CONNECTED state, for example, via a DL RRC message (e.g., RRC Connection Resume message). The “first” message with small data may provide information to enable the network to apply overload control and prioritization, if needed. The UE may provide the network, in the “first” message with the initial uplink data transmission, all necessary information to enable the network to move the UE to the RRC_CONNECTED state, or to enable the network to let the UE remain in the RRC_INACTIVE state. For example, the information may include a Buffer Status Report (which may be a short (truncated) BSR or a long BSR. The UE may trigger a BSR/SR, and/or initiate an RA procedure if at least UL data for a logical channel becomes available).
Tseng et al. is teaching the condition under which buffer status report is being reported after acquiring of RRC connected state. Tseng et al., however, fail to expressly disclose of triggering, by the UE, a buffer status reporting (BSR) regardless of the priority. (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 12, 3GPP'507 teaches triggering a buffer status reporting (BSR) regardless of the priority of the LoCH to which the data unit related to the second RB belongs [page 2, proposal 2, proposal 4], UE triggers a new BSR if new data arrives for a resumed DRB on an empty buffer, or if new data of higher priority than what’s existing in the UE’s buffer arrives, per TS 38.321. If new data arrives of the same or less priority than the data exchanged during the subsequent SDT phase, no new BSR is triggered. If the UE does not have a UL-SCH resource available to transmit the BSR MAC CE. However, given the UE should transition into connected mode by triggering an RRC resume request procedure if it has buffered data form a non-SDT DRB, that should be sufficient and the UE should not resume non-SDT DRBs in INACTIVE state (e.g. upon initiating the resume procedure for SDT in a RA previously initiated for small data transmission while in INACTIVE state). The UE shouldn’t use an SDT resource to transmit data from non-SDT DRBs, and the UE should always transition to connected to transmit data from non-SDT bearers. Therefore, non-SDT DRBs should not be resumed in INACTIVE in general. This would settle the two FFSs, ensure that SDT resources are only used to transmit data from SDT DRBs (i.e. by having the UE trigger a new RRC Resume request), and also ensure that a BSR MAC CE triggered by data arrival from an SDT DRB only contains data reports from SDT LCHs).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tseng et al. by incorporating the features as taught by 3GPP'507 in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of triggering, by the UE, a buffer status reporting (BSR) regardless of the priority of the LoCH to which the data unit related to the second RB belongs. The motivation is to support an improved method to support small data transmission of flexible TB sizes (see [page 1, Discussion]).
Claim(s) 3, 5, 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng et al. (US 20230180223 A1) in view of disclosed reference 3GPP Draft; R2-2101507 (3GPP'507 hereinafter) as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0256634 A1).
Tseng et al. and 3GPP'507 disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 5 above.
Regarding claim 5, 3GPP’507 teaches further comprising: receiving, by the UE, information about whether the first RB and the second RB are allowed to perform the data transmission in the RRC INACTIVE state ([section 2: proposal 2 first paragraph, proposal 4 second paragraph line 7-9, section 2.1: second paragraph], summarized as “currently, UE triggers a new BSR if new data arrives for a resumed DRB on an empty buffer, or if new data of higher priority than what’s existing in the UE’s buffer arrives, per TS 38.321. If new data arrives of the same or less priority than the data exchanged during the subsequent SDT phase, no new BSR is triggered. If the UE does not have a UL-SCH resource available to transmit the BSR MAC CE, a new SR is triggered which in turn initiates a new RA procedure -given there are no valid SR resources in inactive state-. However, if the UE has an uplink resource, say a CG for subsequent SDT, no RACH is initiated and the BSR MAC CE is transmitted on the CG. The priority assigned to SRB1 is higher than SRB2. In some scenarios, it is possible for the positioning measurements reports to be sent in SRB1 so long as the UE has available resources after including data in SRB1, which includes RRC messages and other higher priority NAS messages. Since positioning measurement reports are typically assigned with low priority, they may not be carried in SRB1”).
Regarding claim 10, 3GPP’507 teaches wherein the operations further comprise: receiving information about whether the first RB and the second RB are allowed to perform the data transmission in the RRC INACTIVE state ([section 2: proposal 2 first paragraph, proposal 4 second paragraph line 7-9, section 2.1: second paragraph], summarized as “currently, UE triggers a new BSR if new data arrives for a resumed DRB on an empty buffer, or if new data of higher priority than what’s existing in the UE’s buffer arrives, per TS 38.321. If new data arrives of the same or less priority than the data exchanged during the subsequent SDT phase, no new BSR is triggered. If the UE does not have a UL-SCH resource available to transmit the BSR MAC CE, a new SR is triggered which in turn initiates a new RA procedure -given there are no valid SR resources in inactive state-. However, if the UE has an uplink resource, say a CG for subsequent SDT, no RACH is initiated and the BSR MAC CE is transmitted on the CG. The priority assigned to SRB1 is higher than SRB2. In some scenarios, it is possible for the positioning measurements reports to be sent in SRB1 so long as the UE has available resources after including data in SRB1, which includes RRC messages and other higher priority NAS messages. Since positioning measurement reports are typically assigned with low priority, they may not be carried in SRB1”).
Tseng et al. and 3GPP'507 do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 3, wherein the data transmission related to the first RB in the RRC INACTIVE state is performed using at least one of a random access procedure or a configured grant (CG); regarding claim 8, wherein the data transmission related to the first RB in the RRC INACTIVE state is performed using at least one of a random access procedure or a configured grant (CG).
Regarding claim 3, Kim et al. teach wherein the data transmission related to the first RB in the RRC INACTIVE state is performed using at least one of a random access procedure or a configured grant (CG) (Fig. 19, [0252] the UE may determine a PRACH preamble and PRACH resource corresponding to a desired SIB in SI request configuration received via SIB1. The UE may initiate a random access procedure using the PRACH preamble and PRACH resource. Upon receiving the PRACH preamble, the base station may broadcast the desired SIB on the DL-SCH and send an acknowledgement (Ack) for the SI request to the UE. Upon receiving the acknowledgement, the UE in RRC idle state or RRC inactive state may acquire the broadcasted SIB on the DL-SCH. For the 4 step SI request procedure, the UE may initiate transmission of an RRC system info request message. The RRC system info request message may comprise a list of one or more SIBs the UE desires to acquire. The UE may send the RRC system info request message after a random access procedure is successfully completed as shown in FIG. 19. Upon receiving the RRC system info request message, the base station may send the one or more SIBs and an acknowledgement (Ack) for the SI request to the UE. Upon receiving the acknowledgement, the UE in RRC idle state or RRC inactive state may acquire the requested SIB).
Regarding claim 8, Kim et al. teach wherein the data transmission related to the first RB in the RRC INACTIVE state is performed using at least one of a random access procedure or a configured grant (CG) (Fig. 19, [0252], the UE may determine a PRACH preamble and PRACH resource corresponding to a desired SIB in SI request configuration received via SIB1. The UE may initiate a random access procedure using the PRACH preamble and PRACH resource. Upon receiving the PRACH preamble, the base station may broadcast the desired SIB on the DL-SCH and send an acknowledgement (Ack) for the SI request to the UE. Upon receiving the acknowledgement, the UE in RRC idle state or RRC inactive state may acquire the broadcasted SIB on the DL-SCH. For the 4 step SI request procedure, the UE may initiate transmission of an RRC system info request message. The RRC system info request message may comprise a list of one or more SIBs the UE desires to acquire. The UE may send the RRC system info request message after a random access procedure is successfully completed as shown in FIG. 19. Upon receiving the RRC system info request message, the base station may send the one or more SIBs and an acknowledgement (Ack) for the SI request to the UE. Upon receiving the acknowledgement, the UE in RRC idle state or RRC inactive state may acquire the requested SIB”)
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tseng et al. with 3GPP'507 by incorporating the features as taught by Kim et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of transmitting data related to the first RB in the RRC INACTIVE state is performed using at least one of a random access procedure. The motivation is to support an improved method for specific settings in a device that effect the operational characteristics of the device (see [0045]).
Conclusion
/SYED M BOKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2473 5/22/2026
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473