DETAILED ACTION
Claims 9-26 of R. Fabis, et al., US 18/263,637 (07/31/2023) are pending. Claims 10-17 are withdrawn as drawn to non-elected Groups IV-XI. Claims 9 and 18-26 under examination on merits. Claims 9, 18-21 and 23-24 are rejected, claims 9, 22-23 and 25-26 are objected to.
Election/Restrictions
Pursuant to the restriction requirement, Applicant elected Group III (claim 9), with traverse, in the reply filed on 02/10/2026. Claims 1-8 and 10-17 drawn to non-elected are withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b). Applicant cancelled claims 1-8, amended claim 9 and added new claims 18-26 falling within the scope of the amended claim 9, in the reply filed on 06/22/2026. The Restriction Requirement is maintained as Final.
Withdrawn Claim Rejections- 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
Rejection of claims 9 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as indefinite in view of claim amendment and/or applicant’s argument is persuasive.
Claim Objections
Claim 23 is objected to on the grounds of improper parenthetical. While Applicant may intend that the parenthetical phrase adds clarification, it is at best superfluous and better practice is to amend so as to remove the parentheticals to avoid confusion as to whether Applicant improperly intends preferences within the claim. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Correction of all such parenthetical throughout the claims is required.
Claims 22 and 25-26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9, 18-19 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by Cube Biotech GMBH, WO2017046625A1 (2017)(“Cube”).
Cube teaches a multimeric chelator, these chelators are polycarboxylates, such as EDTA, DTPA, and the like, and they are connected via linkers, forming chains, the chelator chains can be bound to a solid phase via an ester-, thioester- or amide group of one terminal chelator. Cube at Abstract.
Cue teaches examples of the multimeric chelator, such as Example 5 chelator of EDTA-EDA-EDTA which is prepared by a reaction of ethylene diamine (1.67 mmol) with EDTA dianhydride (3.33 mmol). Cue at page 12, Example 5, Synthesis of EDTA-EDA-EDTA. Thus, the EDTA-EDA-EDTA has a chemical structure as indicated below.
The multimeric chelator EDTA-EDA-EDTA maps the Formula IV in the instant claim 9 as:
R1 is EDTA that is a chelating carboxylic acid
and
R 3 is H;
Which meets each and every limitation of the structure requirement of the Formula IV in the instant claim 9 and 23. Regarding the solubility, the same compound would has the same properties including the solubility in the same solvent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in composition to a claimed composition, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established subject to Applicant’s rebuttal. MPEP § 2112.01(I) (citing In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) (holding that a prior art structure anticipated a claimed structure even though a claimed functional recitation was not specifically taught in the prior art reference because applicant had failed to show that the prior art did not possess the functional characteristics of the claims)).
Cue teaches to couple the synthesized multimeric chelator EDTA-EDA-EDTA on a solid phase that is amine agarose. Cue at page 13, paragraph 1-2, Example 5.
Per Example 12, Cue also teaches to use the solid phase bound multimeric chelator EDTA-EDA-EDTA to purify a His-tagged GFP (green fluorescent protein) and teaches that the solid phase bound multimeric chelator EDTA-EDA-EDTA has a protein binding capacity of 84 mg/ml. Cue at page 16, Example 12, Purification of 6xhis-GFP with aminopolycarboxylic acid resins. Thus, Cue teaches a modified multimeric chelator EDTA-EDA-EDTA that comprise a His-tag, which meet each and every limitation of claims 9 and 23, therefore, claims 9 and 23 are anticipated.
Claim 18 is anticipated because the R1 in the Cue modified multimeric chelator EDTA-EDA-EDTA that comprise a His-tag has the follows structure:
Which maps the formula II in claims 18 as n is 2.
Claim 19 is anticipated because the above mentioned Cue modified multimeric chelator EDTA-EDA-EDTA comprise a His-tag.
Applicant’s Argument
Applicant argues the on the ground that claim 9 structurally differs from Cube at least in that some nitrogen atoms are replaced by oxygen atoms and Cube the ligand is bound to a solid phase whereas according to the present invention a soluble ligand is defined. Response to claim rejection under section 102 at page 10 of the Remarks filed on 06/22/2026.
These arguments have been fully considered but not persuasive. As detail discussed in the 102 rejection above that the Cube multimeric chelator EDTA-EDA-EDTA meets each and every limitation of the Formula IV in the instant claim 9, there is no issue of replacing some nitrogen atoms by oxygen atoms as Applicant argues. Further, the instant claim 9 does not require the claimed tag modified chelator is soluble. Applicant argues something that is not be claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cube Biotech GMBH, WO2017046625A1(2017)(“Cube”) as applied above for the rejection of claim 9.
Cube Biotech GMBH, WO2017046625A1 (2017)(“Cube”).
Cube teaches a solid-phase bound multimeric chelator, where one aminopolycarboxylic acid is coupled to the solid phase via one carboxylic group and connected to other aminocarboxylic acids via di- or trifunctional linkers; and the chelator bound to the solid phase has the following formula:
Cube at page 5, line 10-14.
Cube also teaches that:
Examples for trifunctional linkers are trialkoxylated glycerol, triethanolamine, tris(3-aminopropyl)-amine, tris(2-aminoethyl)amine, diethylenetriamine.
Cube at page 7, the last second paragraph, emphasis added.
Thus, Cube teaches one ordinary skill in the art that triethanolamine and tris(2-aminoethyl)amine are alternative for trifunctional linkers in Cube solid-phase bound multimeric chelators.
Cube teaches that after coupling of the chelator chains with a solid phase, the reaction product can be charged with metal ions, which can bind the desired target proteins. As Ni, Cu, Co, Zn, Fe, Eu, Sc are suitable for reversible protein binding, nickel and cobalt are preferred for purification of his-tagged proteins, while iron and alumina are preferred for the isolation of phosphoproteins. Cube at page 8, paragraph 2, line 1-6, emphasis added.
Cube teaches examples of the multimeric chelator, such as Example 5 chelator of EDTA-EDA-EDTA that meets each and every limitation of the formula IV in the instant claim 9 and Cube also teaches one modified multimeric chelator EDTA-EDA-EDTA comprising one his-tag, which meets each and every limitation of claim 9 as discussed above.
In addition to solid-phase bound EDTA-EDA-EDTA in the Example 5, Cube also teaches other solid-phase bound multimeric chelator such as EDTA-EDA-EDTA-EDA-EDTA-agarose in the Example 7 and trimeric EDTA (EDTA-triethanolamine -EDTA) in Example 8, which are emphasized in claim 22. Cube Examples 7-8 at page 13-14 and Claim 22.
Difference between Cue and Claims 20-21, 24
The Cube modified multimeric chelator EDTA-EDA-EDTA comprising one His-tag differs from claim 20 in that it does not further comprise a positively charged metal-ion selected from the metals Ni, Co, Cu, Fe, Ca, Zn, Al, Eu, Ga, and Sc.
The Cube modified multimeric chelator EDTA-EDA-EDTA comprising one His-tag differs from claim 21 in that EDTA-EDA-EDTA does not comprise 8 or more of carboxy groups.
The Cube modified multimeric chelator EDTA-EDA-EDTA comprising one His-tag differs from claim 24 in that EDTA-EDA-EDTA does not have a structure of the Formula VI.
Obviousness Rationales of Claims 20-21 and 24
Claim 20 is obvious because one ordinary skill in the art seeking chelator having higher binding capacity for a His-tagged GFP is motivated to bind nickel and/or cobalt ion with the Cube example 5 solid-phase bound EDTA-EDA-EDTA, and then use the nickel and/or cobalt ion charged solid-phase bound EDTA-EDA-EDTA to purify the his-tagged GFP, thus arrive at a modified multimeric chelator meeting each and every limitation of claim 20, therefore, claim 20 is obvious. One ordinary skill has a motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because Cube teaches that his solid-phase bound chelator can be charged with metal ions such as nickel and cobalt, which are preferred for purification of his-tagged proteins. Cube at page 8, paragraph 2, line 1-6.
Claim 21 is obvious because one ordinary skill in the art seeking chelator having higher binding capacity for a His-tagged GFP is motivated to conduct the Cube Example 12 by replacing the solid-phase bound EDTA-EDA-EDTA (Example 5 product) with the solid-phase bound EDTA-EDA-EDTA-EDA-EDTA, thus arrive at a solid-phase bound EDTA-EDA-EDTA-EDA-EDTA comprising a His-tagged protein, which meets each and every limitation of claim 21 as EDTA-EDA-EDTA-EDA-EDTA comprise 8 carboxy groups. One ordinary skill has a motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because solid-phase bound EDTA-EDA-EDTA-EDA-EDTA has more chelator groups than those of the solid-phase bound EDTA-EDA-EDTA.
Regarding claim 24, one ordinary skill in the art seeking stable chelator having higher binding capacity is motivated to (i). replace the triethanolamine in the Example 8 EDTA-triethanolamine -EDTA with tris(2-aminoethyl)amine, (ii) bind the modified product with amino agarose, and (iii)use the agarose-bound product to conduct the Cube Example 12 for his-tagged GFP purification, thus arrive at a product meeting each and every limitation of claim 24, therefore, claim 24 is obvious.
One ordinary skill has a motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because:
(i). Cube teaches that triethanolamine and tris(2-aminoethyl)amine are alternative for trifunctional linkers in Cube solid-phase bound multimeric chelator;
(ii). replacing triethanolamine with tris(2-aminoethyl)amine can switch the three ester groups in the Example 8 EDTA-triethanolamine-EDTA into three amide group, thus increase stability of the solid-phase bound multimeric chelator as amides require much harsher conditions to hydrolyses than its ester homologue1; and
(iii). replacing the solid-phase bound EDTA-EDA-EDTA (Example 5 product) with the proposed solid-phase bound trimeric EDTA-tris(2-aminoethyl)amine-EDTA can increase binding capacity as it has 4 more chelator group than the solid-phase bound EDTA-EDA-EDTA.
Applicant’s Argument
Applicant argues on the ground that one ordinary skill is not motivated to modify the Cube chelator by replacing nitrogen atoms with oxygen:
First, by replacing nitrogen atoms with oxygen atoms, new compound classes are created, which can have totally different properties. It would not have been possible to predict which properties the new classes of compounds would have. That means, it cannot be concluded that replacing oxygen atoms with nitrogen atoms and vice versa that compounds having similar and comparable properties are provided. It is even not possible to predict, which properties the new compounds have at all.
That is, the skilled person has not the slightest motivation to replace one atom by a different atom, like in the present case oxygen by nitrogen or vice versa since there is no reasonable expectation of success in the sense of obtaining the required properties.
Paragraph 1-3 at page 11 of the Remarks filed on 06/22/2022.
This argument has been fully considered but not persuasive because as mentioned in the rejection above that Cube teaches that triethanolamine and tris(2-aminoethyl)amine are alternative for trifunctional linkers in Cube solid-phase bound multimeric chelator, therefore, there is a reasonable expectation of success by replacing triethanolamine with tris(2-aminoethyl)amine; further, the proposed replacement also can increase stability of the solid-phase bound chelator. Therefore, one ordinary skill in the art is motivated to do the proposed replacement.
Subject Matter Free of the Art
Claims 22 and 25-26 are free of the art recorded. The closest prior art of record Biotech GMBH, WO2017046625A1 (2017)(“Cube”).
Biotech GMBH, WO2017046625A1 (2017)(“Cube”)
As detail discussed in the 102 rejection above that Cube teaches a chelator meeting each and every limitation of claim 9.
Difference Between Cube and Claims 22 and 25-26
The Cube chelator differs from claim 22 in that EDTA-EDA-EDTA does not comprise 6 or more amino groups2.
The Cube chelator differs from claims 25-26 in that EDTA-EDA-EDTA does not comprise the claimed chemical structures.
Claims 22 and 25-26 are Not Obvious
Claims 22 and 25-26 are not obvious because neither Cube NOR Cube in view a second art to motive one ordinary skill in the art to modify the Cube chelator to arrive at the claimed chelator.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRANK S. HOU/Examiner, Art Unit 1692
/ALEXANDER R PAGANO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692
1 See the attached information disclosed on the web of Chemistry Stack Exchange-2020.
2 The specification defines amino group as -NH2. See specification at page 4, line 19-20.