Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 10-12, 14, 16, 19-21, 23, 25, 28, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou US 20190260456 in view of Shi US 20190261345.
Regarding claims 1, 10, 19, and 28, Zhou teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
a memory; and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to:
transmit, to a base station, a UE capability report including an indication of a minimum time interval between starting symbols of communications associated with different beam indications (fig. 10, receiving, from a second device, signaling indicating a latency associated with a beam switch at the second device, [0080], In some cases, these types of beam switch latencies may include, for example, 4 types of beam switch latencies associated with MAC-CE triggered PDCCH, PUCCH, semi-periodic-CSI-RS, or semi-periodic-SRS beam switch in downlink, [0089]: note second device = UE, first device = base station); and
receive, from the base station, a first beam indication associated with a first communication, wherein the first communication is scheduled such that a starting symbol
of the first communication 1s not within the minimum time interval of a starting symbol of a second communication associated with a second beam indication that is different
from the first beam indication (when the NB signals the UE to switch beams, it needs to give the UE at least that much time before it can process the CSI-RS, [0080]).
Zhou is silent on wherein the UE capability report includes an indication of a maximum number of communications, associated with different beam indications, with starting symbols in a time duration.
Shi teaches wherein the UE capability report includes an indication of a maximum number of communications, associated with different beam indications, with starting symbols in a time duration (claim 13).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Zhou by wherein the UE capability report includes an indication of a maximum number of communications, associated with different beam indications, with starting symbols in a time duration, as shown by Shi. This modification would benefit the system by the UE informing the base station of its capability.
Given Shi teaches the UE capability report includes an indication of a maximum number of communications, associated with different beam indications, with starting symbols in a time duration, the limitation receive, from the base station wherein the first communication is scheduled such that a total number of communications, associated with different beam indications, with
starting symbols in the time duration does not exceed the maximum number could be seen as the negotiation process between the base station and UE to agree on a total number of communications, associated with different beam indications, with
starting symbols in the time duration does not exceed the maximum number.
Regarding claims 2, 11, 20, to receive the first beam indication, are configured to:
receive the first beam indication in a radio resource control message that schedules the first communication or in a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) that schedules the first communication, wherein the first communication is at least one of a periodic downlink communication, a semi-persistent downlink communication, a periodic uplink communication, or a semi-persistent uplink communication (4 types of beam switch latencies associated with MAC-CE triggered PDCCH, PUCCH, semi-periodic-CSI-RS, or semi-periodic-SRS beam switch in downlink, [0089]).
Regarding claims 3, 12, 21, receive the first beam indication, are configured to:
receive the first beam indication in downlink control information that schedules the first communication (4 types of beam switch latencies associated with DCI triggered PDSCH, PUSCH, aperiodic-CSI-RS, or aperiodic-SRS beam switch in downlink or uplink, [0086]).
Regarding claims 5, 14, 23, the first communication is an uplink
communication, and the first beam indication is included in a sounding reference signal resource indicator field in the downlink control information (PUCCH, SRS, [0089]).
Regarding claims 7, 16, 25, 29, the second communication is one of:
a periodic or semi-persistent communication scheduled via a radio resource control (RRC) message or a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), wherein the second beam indication is included in the RRC message or the MAC-CE (MAC-CE, periodic, semi-persistent, [0089]);
a dynamically granted communication scheduled via downlink control information that includes the second beam indication; or
a downlink communication on a default beam associated with a control resource set configured for the UE.
Claim(s) 4, 13, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Zhou and Shi as applied to claims 3, 12, 21 above, and further in view of Zhang US 20190254120.
Although Zhou teaches DCI, the reference is silent on the first communication is a downlink communication, and the first beam indication is included in a transmission configuration indicator field in the downlink control information.
Zhang teaches the first communication is a downlink communication, and the first beam indication is included in a transmission configuration indicator field in the downlink control information (The DCI may include a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state field, with the beam indication provided in the TCI state field, [0010]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Zhou by the first communication is a downlink communication, and the first beam indication is included in a transmission configuration indicator field in the downlink control information, as shown by Zhang. This modification would benefit the system by since the DCI is a proven, reliable method for beam indication.
Claim(s) 6, 15, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Zhou and Shi as applied to claim 1, 10, 19 above, and further in view of Zhang US 20190140729.
The combination is silent on the first communication is a downlink communication, and the first beam indication corresponds to a default beam associated with a control resource set configured for the UE.
Zhang teaches the first communication is a downlink communication, and the first beam indication corresponds to a default beam associated with a control resource set configured for the UE (The PDCCH or its CORESET may be used for the default PDSCH beam indication, [0089]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination by the first communication is a downlink communication, and the first beam indication corresponds to a default beam associated with a control resource set configured for the UE, as shown by Zhang. This modification would benefit the system by the CORESET is a proven, reliable method for communicating control resource information.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 18, 27, and 31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/RONALD B ABELSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476