DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 8-12, 14-16, 18-22, 24-26, 28, 29, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Akkarakaran et al. (US 2019/319823 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Akkarakaran et al. disclose a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to: receive a control message, wherein the control message includes, for a multi-panel transmission, a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI) with a first set of bits identifying one or more values for a first set of parameters and a second SRI with a second set of bits identifying one or more values for a second set of parameters (paragraph [0031]; DCI indicating that an uplink data signal is to be transmitted using two or more transmission beams during different transmission time intervals TTls and at least one sounding reference signal SRS resource indicator) (paragraph [0035]; the at least one SRS resource indicator may be two or more SRS resource indicators) (paragraph [0141]; Multi-beam operation over the PUSCH may follow the beams of the SRS resources indicated by the at least one SRS resource indicator. The SRS resource indicators may also index into lists of power control parameters such as downlink pathloss reference, PO e.g., a target received power, alpha e.g., a pathloss compensation factor, closed-loop index, and the like), wherein the second set of parameters is a subset of the first set of parameters (paragraph [0141]; beams of the SRS resources indicated by the at least one SRS resource indicator. The SRS resource indicators may also index into lists of power control parameters such as downlink pathloss reference, PO e.g., a target received power, alpha e.g., a pathloss compensation factor, closed-loop index, and the like. Two SRIs are associated with PUSCH, the power-control parameters of one SRI may be reused (overlapped or containing the same)); determine power control information for the multi-panel transmission, wherein the power control information includes first power control information, for a first transmission, that is based at least in part on the one or more values for the first set of parameters, and second power control information, for a second transmission, that is based at least in part on the one or more values for the second set of parameters and at least one value of the one or more values for the first set of parameters (paragraph [0141], "the SRS resource indicators may also index into lists of power control parameters such as downlink pathloss reference, PO e.g., a target received power, alpha e.g., a pathloss compensation factor, closed-loop index, and the like. In such cases, once two SRls are associated with PUSCH, the power control parameters of one SRI may be reused; thus the first and the second power control information will be based on the same sets of parameters); and transmit the first transmission and the second transmission, in accordance with the first power control information and the second power control information, respectively, using a set of panels (paragraph [0224]; UE communications manager that supports uplink multi-beam operation) (paragraph [0237]; Power control parameter selector may select a power control parameter for transmitting each of the plurality of repetitions of the uplink control signal).
Regarding claim 2, Akkarakaran et al. further suggest wherein the control message is a downlink control information (DCI) (paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 4, Akkarakaran et al. further suggest wherein the second power control information includes at least one of an open loop power parameter, a closed loop power parameter, a path loss reference signal power parameter, or a path loss compensation factor parameter (paragraph [0141]; The SRS resource indicators may also index into lists of power control parameters such as downlink pathloss reference, PO (e.g., a target received power), alpha (e.g., a pathloss compensation factor), closed-loop index) (paragraph [0152]; The power control parameters may include, e.g., a downlink pathloss reference, a closed-loop index, a PO index, or a combination thereof).
Regarding claim 5, Akkarakaran et al. further suggest wherein the control message is a radio resource control message (paragraph [0133]; the UE may determine power control parameters for a TTI based at least in part on the spatial relation IE) (paragraph [0152]; The spatial relation IEs may be transmitted in radio resource control (RRC) signaling).
Regarding claim 6, Akkarakaran et al. further suggest wherein the one or more processors, to determine the power control information, are configured to: determine the second power control information based at least in part on a value of an order parameter of the second set of parameters (paragraph [0141]; the SRS resource indicators may also index into lists (index into lists is interpreted as order) of power control parameters such as downlink pathloss reference, PO (e.g., a target received power), alpha (e.g., a pathloss compensation factor), closed-loop index, and the like).
Regarding claim 8, Akkarakaran et al. further suggest wherein the control message is a medium access control (MAC) control element (paragraph [0133]; the UE may determine power control parameters for a TTI based at least in part on the spatial relation IE) (paragraph [0130]; The base station may transmit a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) to the UE. The MAC-CE may associate a resource IE with spatial relation IE) (or paragraph [0161]; the UE may determine the power control parameters for a TTI based at least in part on the spatial relation IE associated with the TTI (e.g., in the MAC-CE)).
Regarding claim 9, Akkarakaran et al. further suggest determining a configuration for at least one path loss reference signal based at least in part on at least one parameter of the first set of parameters or the second set of parameters (paragraph [0141]; The SRS resource indicators may also index into lists of power control parameters such as downlink pathloss reference).
Regarding claim 10, Akkarakaran et al. further suggest wherein the configuration of the at least one path loss reference signal includes at least one of: a configuration for a pair of path loss reference signals, a configuration for a single path loss reference signal, or a configuration for the multi-panel transmission (paragraph [0152]; two PUCCH spatial relation information configuration for each PUCCH resource are associated, each beam may get its own power-control parameters. The spatial relation IEs may include power control parameters associated with the indicated transmission beam. The power control parameters may include, e.g., a downlink pathloss reference).
Regarding claim 11, Akkarakaran et al. disclose a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving a control message, wherein the control message includes, for a multi-panel transmission, a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI) with a first set of bits identifying one or more values for a first set of parameters and a second SRI with a second set of bits identifying one or more values for a second set of parameters (paragraph [0031]; DCI indicating that an uplink data signal is to be transmitted using two or more transmission beams during different transmission time intervals TTls and at least one sounding reference signal SRS resource indicator) (paragraph [0035]; the at least one SRS resource indicator may be two or more SRS resource indicators) (paragraph [0141]; Multi-beam operation over the PUSCH may follow the beams of the SRS resources indicated by the at least one SRS resource indicator. The SRS resource indicators may also index into lists of power control parameters such as downlink pathloss reference, PO e.g., a target received power, alpha e.g., a pathloss compensation factor, closed-loop index, and the like), wherein the second set of parameters is a subset of the first set of parameters (paragraph [0141]; beams of the SRS resources indicated by the at least one SRS resource indicator. The SRS resource indicators may also index into lists of power control parameters such as downlink pathloss reference, PO e.g., a target received power, alpha e.g., a pathloss compensation factor, closed-loop index, and the like. Two SRIs are associated with PUSCH, the power-control parameters of one SRI may be reused (overlapped or containing the same)); determining power control information for the multi-panel transmission, wherein the power control information includes first power control information, for a first transmission, that is based at least in part on the one or more values for the first set of parameters, and second power control information, for a second transmission, that is based at least in part on the one or more values for the second set of parameters and at least one value of the one or more values for the first set of parameters (paragraph [0141], "the SRS resource indicators may also index into lists of power control parameters such as downlink pathloss reference, PO e.g., a target received power, alpha e.g., a pathloss compensation factor, closed-loop index, and the like. In such cases, once two SRls are associated with PUSCH, the power control parameters of one SRI may be reused; thus the first and the second power control information will be based on the same sets of parameters); and transmitting the first transmission and the second transmission, in accordance with the first power control information and the second power control information, respectively, using a set of panels (paragraph [0224]; UE communications manager that supports uplink multi-beam operation) (paragraph [0237]; Power control parameter selector may select a power control parameter for transmitting each of the plurality of repetitions of the uplink control signal).
Regarding claim 12, Akkarakaran et al. further suggest wherein the control message is a downlink control information (DCI) (paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 14, Akkarakaran et al. further suggest wherein the second power control information includes at least one of an open loop power parameter, a closed loop power parameter, a path loss reference signal power parameter, or a path loss compensation factor parameter (paragraph [0141]; The SRS resource indicators may also index into lists of power control parameters such as downlink pathloss reference, PO (e.g., a target received power), alpha (e.g., a pathloss compensation factor), closed-loop index) (paragraph [0152]; The power control parameters may include, e.g., a downlink pathloss reference, a closed-loop index, a PO index, or a combination thereof).
Regarding claim 15, Akkarakaran et al. further suggest wherein the control message is a radio resource control message (paragraph [0133]; the UE may determine power control parameters for a TTI based at least in part on the spatial relation IE) (paragraph [0152]; The spatial relation IEs may be transmitted in radio resource control (RRC) signaling).
Regarding claim 16, Akkarakaran et al. further suggest wherein the one or more processors, to determine the power control information, are configured to: determine the second power control information based at least in part on a value of an order parameter of the second set of parameters (paragraph [0141]; the SRS resource indicators may also index into lists (index into lists is interpreted as order) of power control parameters such as downlink pathloss reference, PO (e.g., a target received power), alpha (e.g., a pathloss compensation factor), closed-loop index, and the like).
Regarding claim 18, Akkarakaran et al. further suggest wherein the control message is a medium access control (MAC) control element (paragraph [0133]; the UE may determine power control parameters for a TTI based at least in part on the spatial relation IE) (paragraph [0130]; The base station may transmit a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) to the UE. The MAC-CE may associate a resource IE with spatial relation IE) (or paragraph [0161]; the UE may determine the power control parameters for a TTI based at least in part on the spatial relation IE associated with the TTI (e.g., in the MAC-CE)).
Regarding claim 19, Akkarakaran et al. further suggest determining a configuration for at least one path loss reference signal based at least in part on at least one parameter of the first set of parameters or the second set of parameters (paragraph [0141]; The SRS resource indicators may also index into lists of power control parameters such as downlink pathloss reference).
Regarding claim 20, Akkarakaran et al. further suggest wherein the configuration of the at least one path loss reference signal includes at least one of: a configuration for a pair of path loss reference signals, a configuration for a single path loss reference signal, or a configuration for the multi-panel transmission (paragraph [0152]; two PUCCH spatial relation information configuration for each PUCCH resource are associated, each beam may get its own power-control parameters. The spatial relation IEs may include power control parameters associated with the indicated transmission beam. The power control parameters may include, e.g., a downlink pathloss reference).
Regarding claim 21, Akkarakaran et al. disclose a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE), cause the UE to: receive a control message, wherein the control message includes, for a multi-panel transmission, a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI) with a first set of bits identifying one or more values for a first set of parameters and a second SRI with a second set of bits identifying one or more values for a second set of parameters (paragraph [0031]; DCI indicating that an uplink data signal is to be transmitted using two or more transmission beams during different transmission time intervals TTls and at least one sounding reference signal SRS resource indicator) (paragraph [0035]; the at least one SRS resource indicator may be two or more SRS resource indicators) (paragraph [0141]; Multi-beam operation over the PUSCH may follow the beams of the SRS resources indicated by the at least one SRS resource indicator. The SRS resource indicators may also index into lists of power control parameters such as downlink pathloss reference, PO e.g., a target received power, alpha e.g., a pathloss compensation factor, closed-loop index, and the like), wherein the second set of parameters is a subset of the first set of parameters (paragraph [0141]; beams of the SRS resources indicated by the at least one SRS resource indicator. The SRS resource indicators may also index into lists of power control parameters such as downlink pathloss reference, PO e.g., a target received power, alpha e.g., a pathloss compensation factor, closed-loop index, and the like. Two SRIs are associated with PUSCH, the power-control parameters of one SRI may be reused (overlapped or containing the same)); determine power control information for the multi-panel transmission, wherein the power control information includes first power control information, for a first transmission, that is based at least in part on the one or more values for the first set of parameters, and second power control information, for a second transmission, that is based at least in part on the one or more values for the second set of parameters and at least one value of the one or more values for the first set of parameters (paragraph [0141], "the SRS resource indicators may also index into lists of power control parameters such as downlink pathloss reference, PO e.g., a target received power, alpha e.g., a pathloss compensation factor, closed-loop index, and the like. In such cases, once two SRls are associated with PUSCH, the power control parameters of one SRI may be reused; thus the first and the second power control information will be based on the same sets of parameters); and transmit the first transmission and the second transmission, in accordance with the first power control information and the second power control information, respectively, using a set of panels (paragraph [0224]; UE communications manager that supports uplink multi-beam operation) (paragraph [0237]; Power control parameter selector may select a power control parameter for transmitting each of the plurality of repetitions of the uplink control signal).
Regarding claim 22, Akkarakaran et al. further suggest wherein the control message is a downlink control information (DCI) (paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 24, Akkarakaran et al. further suggest wherein the second power control information includes at least one of an open loop power parameter, a closed loop power parameter, a path loss reference signal power parameter, or a path loss compensation factor parameter (paragraph [0141]; The SRS resource indicators may also index into lists of power control parameters such as downlink pathloss reference, PO (e.g., a target received power), alpha (e.g., a pathloss compensation factor), closed-loop index) (paragraph [0152]; The power control parameters may include, e.g., a downlink pathloss reference, a closed-loop index, a PO index, or a combination thereof).
Regarding claim 25, Akkarakaran et al. further suggest wherein the control message is a radio resource control message (paragraph [0133]; the UE may determine power control parameters for a TTI based at least in part on the spatial relation IE) (paragraph [0152]; The spatial relation IEs may be transmitted in radio resource control (RRC) signaling).
Regarding claim 26, Akkarakaran et al. further suggest wherein the one or more processors, to determine the power control information, are configured to: determine the second power control information based at least in part on a value of an order parameter of the second set of parameters (paragraph [0141]; the SRS resource indicators may also index into lists (index into lists is interpreted as order) of power control parameters such as downlink pathloss reference, PO (e.g., a target received power), alpha (e.g., a pathloss compensation factor), closed-loop index, and the like).
Regarding claim 28, Akkarakaran et al. further suggest wherein the control message is a medium access control (MAC) control element (paragraph [0133]; the UE may determine power control parameters for a TTI based at least in part on the spatial relation IE) (paragraph [0130]; The base station may transmit a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) to the UE. The MAC-CE may associate a resource IE with spatial relation IE) (or paragraph [0161]; the UE may determine the power control parameters for a TTI based at least in part on the spatial relation IE associated with the TTI (e.g., in the MAC-CE)).
Regarding claim 29, Akkarakaran et al. further suggest determining a configuration for at least one path loss reference signal based at least in part on at least one parameter of the first set of parameters or the second set of parameters (paragraph [0141]; The SRS resource indicators may also index into lists of power control parameters such as downlink pathloss reference).
Regarding claim 31, Akkarakaran et al. disclose an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: means for receiving a control message, wherein the control message includes, for a multi-panel transmission, a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI) with a first set of bits identifying one or more values for a first set of parameters and a second SRI with a second set of bits identifying one or more values for a second set of parameters (paragraph [0031]; DCI indicating that an uplink data signal is to be transmitted using two or more transmission beams during different transmission time intervals TTls and at least one sounding reference signal SRS resource indicator) (paragraph [0035]; the at least one SRS resource indicator may be two or more SRS resource indicators) (paragraph [0141]; Multi-beam operation over the PUSCH may follow the beams of the SRS resources indicated by the at least one SRS resource indicator. The SRS resource indicators may also index into lists of power control parameters such as downlink pathloss reference, PO e.g., a target received power, alpha e.g., a pathloss compensation factor, closed-loop index, and the like), wherein the second set of parameters is a subset of the first set of parameters (paragraph [0141]; beams of the SRS resources indicated by the at least one SRS resource indicator. The SRS resource indicators may also index into lists of power control parameters such as downlink pathloss reference, PO e.g., a target received power, alpha e.g., a pathloss compensation factor, closed-loop index, and the like. Two SRIs are associated with PUSCH, the power-control parameters of one SRI may be reused (overlapped or containing the same)); means for determining power control information for the multi-panel transmission, wherein the power control information includes first power control information, for a first transmission, that is based at least in part on the one or more values for the first set of parameters, and second power control information, for a second transmission, that is based at least in part on the one or more values for the second set of parameters and at least one value of the one or more values for the first set of parameters (paragraph [0141], "the SRS resource indicators may also index into lists of power control parameters such as downlink pathloss reference, PO e.g., a target received power, alpha e.g., a pathloss compensation factor, closed-loop index, and the like. In such cases, once two SRls are associated with PUSCH, the power control parameters of one SRI may be reused; thus the first and the second power control information will be based on the same sets of parameters); and means for transmitting the first transmission and the second transmission, in accordance with the first power control information and the second power control information, respectively, using a set of panels (paragraph [0224]; UE communications manager that supports uplink multi-beam operation) (paragraph [0237]; Power control parameter selector may select a power control parameter for transmitting each of the plurality of repetitions of the uplink control signal).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 13, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akkarakaran et al. (US 2019/319823 A1) in view of Park et al. (US 20200383060 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Akkarakaran et al. disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention as recited in claim 1 above without explicitly suggest determining a rank for the second power control information based at least in part on a value of a rank indicator of the first set of parameters. However, Park et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor suggest determining a rank for the second power control information based at least in part on a value of a rank indicator of the first set of parameters (paragraph [0348]; power control may be determined/employed for each SRS resource and number of ranks may be indicated for each indicated SRS resource and TPMI information according to the number of ranks/layers may be indicated for each SRS resource). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate in Akkarakaran et al.’s method/system the step of determining a rank for the second power control information based at least in part on a value of a rank indicator of the first set of parameters as suggested by Park et al. in determining power control for uplink transmission. The motivation would have been to increase and maximize cell throughput (paragraphs [0115] [0118]) and improve uplink channel transmission efficiency (paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 13, Akkarakaran et al. disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention as recited in claim 11 above without explicitly suggest determining a rank for the second power control information based at least in part on a value of a rank indicator of the first set of parameters. However, Park et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor suggest determining a rank for the second power control information based at least in part on a value of a rank indicator of the first set of parameters (paragraph [0348]; power control may be determined/employed for each SRS resource and number of ranks may be indicated for each indicated SRS resource and TPMI information according to the number of ranks/layers may be indicated for each SRS resource). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate in Akkarakaran et al.’s method/system the step of determining a rank for the second power control information based at least in part on a value of a rank indicator of the first set of parameters as suggested by Park et al. in determining power control for uplink transmission. The motivation would have been to increase and maximize cell throughput (paragraphs [0115] [0118]) and improve uplink channel transmission efficiency (paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 23, Akkarakaran et al. disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention as recited in claim 20 above without explicitly suggest determining a rank for the second power control information based at least in part on a value of a rank indicator of the first set of parameters. However, Park et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor suggest determining a rank for the second power control information based at least in part on a value of a rank indicator of the first set of parameters (paragraph [0348]; power control may be determined/employed for each SRS resource and number of ranks may be indicated for each indicated SRS resource and TPMI information according to the number of ranks/layers may be indicated for each SRS resource). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate in Akkarakaran et al.’s method/system the step of determining a rank for the second power control information based at least in part on a value of a rank indicator of the first set of parameters as suggested by Park et al. in determining power control for uplink transmission. The motivation would have been to increase and maximize cell throughput (paragraphs [0115] [0118]) and improve uplink channel transmission efficiency (paragraph [0023]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 17, and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
HOANG-CHUONG Q. VU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2476
/HOANG-CHUONG Q VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476