DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 10/27/2023 has been fully considered. AN initialed copy of said IDS is enclosed herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et al (US 2016/0369401) in view of WO2007/086425 (herein referred to as “Mitsui” – using US 2010/0173168 as a translation).
With regards to claim 1, Kobayashi teaches a film comprising a resin composition (p) comprising:
(a) An isotactic polypropylene (A) (herein understood to read on the claimed “ propylene-based polymer (A) “). Said component (A) comprises 30-85wt% of the composition (abstract). The propylene-based polymer has a content of structural units derived from propylene in a range of 80 to 100 mol% and a content of structural units derived from ethylene and/or an α-olefin excluding propylene in a range of 20 mol% or less, (0036-0038) provided that a total amount of the content of structural units derived from propylene and the content of structural units derived from ethylene and/or an α-olefin excluding propylene is 100 mol% (00037), and has a density as measured in accordance with ASTM D1505 of 0.89 g/cm³ or more(0041);
(b) a propylene based copolymer (B) (herein understood to read on the claimed “soft propylene-based polymer (B)”). Said component (B) is included in amounts of 70-15wt% (abstract). The soft propylene-based polymer has a content of structural units derived from propylene in a range of 50 to 95 mol% and a content of structural units derived from ethylene and/or an α-olefin excluding propylene in a range of 5 to 50 mol%, provided that a total amount of the content of structural units derived from propylene and the content of structural units derived from an α-olefin excluding ethylene and/or propylene is 100 mol% (0048+), and has a density as measured in accordance with ASTM D1505 of less than 0.89 g/cm³ (0064);
(c) a part of propylene based copolymer (B) or isotactic polypropylene (A) is graft modified with a graft monomer (said polymer herein is understood to read on the claimed “propylene-based polymer (C) graft-modified with an ethylenically unsaturated”) monomer (abstract). The propylene-based polymer (C) graft-modified with an ethylenically unsaturated monomer has a content of structural units derived from propylene of 50 to 100 mol% and a content of structural units derived from ethylene and/or an α-olefin excluding propylene of 50 mol% or less, provided that a total amount of the content of structural units derived from ethylene and the content of structural units derived from ethylene and/or an α-olefin excluding propylene is 100 mol% (said limitation is met for the reasons noted above with regards to components (a) and (b) as Koybayashi teaches the polymer grafted comprises polymer (A) and/or (b) (0070-0071).
Kobayashi teaches the total amounts of (a), (b), and (c), in the composition is 100% by weight (0068).With regards to claimed polyethylene (D), the claim states D may be present in 0 wt% amounts.
Kobayashi does not teach that the composition may further comprise the claimed ethylene/α-olefin random copolymer (E) in a range of 1 to 30% by weight. However, Mitsui teaches a propylene composition comprising grafting 0.001-5 parts by weight of an unsaturated carboxylic acid and/or a derivative thereof onto 100 parts by weight of a composition comprising 5-95 parts by weight of (A) isotactic polypropylene, 95-5 parts by weight of (B) a propylene/ethylene random copolymer, and 0-40 parts by weight of (C) an ethylene/propylene random copolymer (abstract). The ethylene/propylene random copolymer (herein understood to read on the claimed “ethylene/a-olefin random copolymer (E)”) comprises a content of structural units derived from ethylene is in a range of 60 to 90 mol%
and a content of structural units derived from propylene is in a range of 10 to 40 mol%, with a total amount of the content of structural units derived from ethylene and the content of structural units derived from an α-olefin is 100 mol% (0023-0024), The examiner notes an ethylene/propylene random copolymer with 10-40% propylene will inherently have a density as measured in accordance with ASTM D1505 is less than 0.90 g/cm³ (As the density of a ethylene/propylene copolymer is known to be decrease as the amount of copolymer increases). Mitsui teaches the ethylene/propylene copolymer may be present in amounts of 0-40parts by weight of the composition (0025) in order to increase the adhesiveness of the composition. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add the ethylene/propylene random copolymer taught in Mitsui to the propylene composition disclosed in Kobayashi in amounts of 1-40pbw. The motivation for doing would have been to optimize the adhesiveness of the composition.
With regards to claim 2, Kobayashi taches at least part of the propylene-based polymer (C) is graft-modified with an unsaturated carboxylic acid or a derivative thereof (Claim 6).
With regards to claim 3, Mitsui teaches the ethylene/α- olefin random copolymer (E) is an ethylene/propylene copolymer.
With regards to claim 4, Kobayashi teaches the soft propylene-based polymer (B) is a propylene/ethylene copolymer (abstract).
With regards to claim 5, Kobayashi teaches the propylene-based polymer (C) graft-modified with an ethylenically unsaturated monomer, has structural units derived from the ethylenically unsaturated monomer in an amount of 0.01 to 5.0% by mass (0071).
With regards to claim 6, Kobayashi teaches the propylene-based polymer (C) graft-modified with an ethylenically unsaturated monomer, is graft-modified with maleic anhydride (0070).
With regards to claim 8, Kobayashi teaches the composition optionally contains tackifier. Thus, said reference is implicitly understood to also teach compositions “free of a tackifier” since said component is optionally present (0086).
With regards to claim 9, Kobayashi teaches the resin composition according to claim any one of claims 1 to 8, wherein the resin composition is for adhesives (0069).
With regards to claim 10, Kobayashi teaches the resin composition may be used as part of a multilayer body (abstract).
With regards to claim 11, Kobayashi teaches the resin composition is laminated on at least one surface of a polyolefin layer (abstract) herein understood to read on the claimed “substrate layer.”
With regards to claim 12, Kobayashi teaches the substrate layer may have an has an inorganic compound vapor deposition layer or a metal layer on the surface of the substrate layer on which the resin composition is laminated (abstract; 0016).
With regards to claim 13, Kobayashi teaches the inorganic compound layer may be aluminum vapor deposition layer (0016).
With regards to claim 14, Kobayashi teaches the inorganic compound layer may be aluminum vapor deposition layer (0016).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et al (US 2016/0369401) in view of WO2007/086425 (herein referred to as “Mitsui”), as applied to claims 1-6 and 8-14 above, and further in view of Blemberg (US 5,108,844).
Kobayashi in view of Mitsui is relied upon as above. Kobayashi further teaches the propylene composition may be applied to a LDPE substrate (0022). Said references do not teach the propylene composition may further comprise the claimed polyethylene (D) in a range of 1 to 20% by weight. However, Blemberg teaches adhesion between layer may be improved by blending 10-30wt% of the resin comprising a first adjacent layer into a second adjacent layer (col 2, lines 13+). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to blend 10-30wt% of LDPE into the propylene composition disclosed by Kobayashi in view of Mitsui. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the adhesion between the propylene composition layer and the LDPE substrate.
Conclusion
/KEVIN R KRUER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787