Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 7/31/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-2, 10-12, 15-16, 24-26 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US. Pub. No. 2019/0260486 A1) in view of Fang et al. (US. Pub. No. 2023/0180128 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kang discloses a method of measuring a cross link interference (CLI) by a user equipment (UE) (See Abstract and Fig. 6; Wireless Device 110, of Kang for a reference to performing one or more measurements on each of a one or more sets of time and frequency resources. The measurement value indicative of cross-link interference at the UE). comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a resource configuration indicating a plurality of CLI measurement resources (See Par. [90]-[91] and Fig. 4; 404 of Kang for a reference to the UE obtains an indication of one or more sets of time and frequency resources to be measured by the UE);
measuring a plurality of receive strength signal indicator (RSSI) values on the plurality of CLI measurement resources. Respectively (See Par. [92]-[94] and Fig. 4; 408 of Kang for a reference to the UE performs one or more cross-link measurements on each of the one or more sets of time and frequency resources);
determining whether one or more RSSI values of the plurality of RSSI values exceed an RSSI threshold, the one or more RSSI values being respectively associated with one or more CLI measurement resources of the plurality of CLI measurement resources (See Par. [82]-[84] of Kang for a reference to wireless device 110 may perform a set of CLI-RSSI measurements over a set of slots. The wireless device 110 determines if the measured value exceeds a certain threshold);
Kang does not explicitly disclose measuring at least one reference signal received power (RSRP) value respectively on at least one CLI measurement resource of the one or more CLI measurement resources in response to determining that the one or more RSSI values exceed the RSSI threshold; and transmitting, to the base station. an RSRP measurement report. the RSRP measurement report including the at least one RSRP value respectively associated with the at least one CLI measurement resource and further including at least one resource index respectively indicating the at least one CLI measurement resource.
However, Fang discloses measuring at least one reference signal received power (RSRP) value respectively on at least one CLI measurement resource of the one or more CLI measurement resources in response to determining that the one or more RSSI values exceed the RSSI threshold (See Par. [28], [34], [69] of Fang for a reference to the UE is triggered to measure and report the CLI-RSRP in response to determining that the CLI-RSSI measurement value is higher than a threshold); and
transmitting, to the base station. an RSRP measurement report. the RSRP measurement report including the at least one RSRP value respectively associated with the at least one CLI measurement resource and further including at least one resource index respectively indicating the at least one CLI measurement resource (See Par. [28], [34], [69], [101] of Fang for a reference to the UE reports [Transmits] the CLI-RSRP measurement repost. The report includes reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement result per SRS resource and SRS resource index).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fang to Kang. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by providing greater throughput to allow more users connected at the same time, as well as efficient energy consumption, device cost, spectral efficiency, and latency. (Fang; Par. [23])
Regarding claim 2, Kang does not explicitly disclose refraining from measuring an RSRP value on any one of the plurality of CLI measurement resources in response to determining that none the plurality of RSSI values exceeds the RSSI threshold.
However, Fang discloses refraining from measuring an RSRP value on any one of the plurality of CLI measurement resources in response to determining that none the plurality of RSSI values exceeds the RSSI threshold (See Par. [28], [34], [69] of Fang for a reference to the CLI-RSRP is an event triggered based on the value of The CLI-RSSI measurement. If the CLI-RSSI measurement is NOT greater that a threshold, then RSRP measurement is not triggered); and
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fang to Kang. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by providing greater throughput to allow more users connected at the same time, as well as efficient energy consumption, device cost, spectral efficiency, and latency. (Fang; Par. [23])
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Kang and Fang, specifically Kang discloses transmitting; to the base station, a multi-stage CLI capability indicator indicating that the UE is capable of a multi-stage CLI measurement including an RSSI measurement and an RSRP measurement (See Par. [59], [70], [84], [98] of Kang for a reference to the wireless device 110 transmits a plurality of capability indicators to the network node, which includes the number of sub-bands, the number of OFDM symbols and number of slots for a single time-frequency measurement set, used for cross-link RSSI and RERP measurements), wherein the resource configuration indicating the plurality of CLI measurement resources is received in response to the multi-stage CLI capability indicator (See Par. [90]-[91], [93], [124] and Fig. 4; 404 of Kang for a reference to the UE obtains an indication of one or more sets of time and frequency resources to be measured by the UE in response to the multi-stage capability indicators).
Regarding claim 11, Kang does not explicitly disclose transmitting an RSSI measurement report including the one or more RSSI values exceeding the RSSI threshold and one or more CLI measurement resource indexes respectively indicating the one or more CLI measurement resources.
However, Fang discloses transmitting an RSSI measurement report including the one or more RSSI values exceeding the RSSI threshold and one or more CLI measurement resource indexes respectively indicating the one or more CLI measurement resources (See Par. [28], [34], [69], [101] of Fang for a reference to the UE reports [Transmits] the CLI-RSSI measurement repost. The report includes Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) measurement result per SRS resource and SRS resource index).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fang to Kang. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by providing greater throughput to allow more users connected at the same time, as well as efficient energy consumption, device cost, spectral efficiency, and latency. (Fang; Par. [23])
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Kang and Fang, specifically Kang discloses
receiving. from the base station in response to the RSSI measurement report an RSRP measurement request requesting to perform an RSRP measurement on the at least one CLI measurement resource of the one or more CLI measurement resources, a number of the at least one CLI measurement resource being smaller than or equal to a number of the one or more CLI measurement resources (See Par. [95]-[96] and Fig. 5; 504 of Kang for a reference to the network node configures/requests a first UE to perform one or more measurements on one or more sets of time and frequency resources. The measurements are associated with cross-link measurements including CLI-RSSI and CLI-RSRP); wherein measuring the at least one RSRP value on the at least one CLI measurement resource comprises measuring the at least one RSRP value in response to receiving the RSRP measurement request (See Par. [101]-[102] and Fig. 5; 504 of Kang for a reference to the network node receives a measurement value from the first UE for each of the one or more sets of time and frequency resources, the measurement value indicative of cross-link interference RSSI and/or RSRP).
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 1, including a user equipment (UE) for measuring a cross link interference (CLI) (See Kang; Fig. 6; Wireless Device 110); comprising: at least one processor (See Kang; Fig. 6; Processor 620); a transceiver communicatively coupled to the at [east one processor (See Kang; Fig. 6; Transceiver 610); and a memory communicatively coupled to the at least one processor (See Kang; Fig. 6; Memory 630).
Regarding claim 16, Kang discloses a method of identifying at least one aggressor UE causing a cross link interference (CLI) by a base station (See Par. [89] and Fig. 7; Network Node 115, of Kang for a reference to network node 115 identifies, from among the other wireless devices 110A, 110C, 110D, and 110E, which wireless devices 110 are aggressor wireless devices toward wireless device 110), comprising: transmitting, to a UE, a resource configuration indicating a plurality of CLI measurement resources (See Par. [90]-[91] and Fig. 4; 404 of Kang for a reference to the network node transmits, to the UE, an indication of one or more sets of time and frequency resources to be measured by the UE); and determining that at least one second UE of one or more second UEs that is associated with the at least one CLI measurement resource is an aggressor UE based on the RSRP measurement report (See Par. [32], [53], [89] Kang for a reference to the network node identifies, based on CLI measurement [Including RSSI and RSRP] from among the other wireless devices, which wireless devices are aggressor wireless devices toward wireless device 110).
Kang does not explicitly disclose receiving, from the UE, a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement report, the RSRP measurement report including at least one RSRP value respectively associated with at least one CLI measurement resource of the plurality of CLI measurement resources and further including at least one resource index respectively indicating the at least one CLI measurement resource, wherein the at least one RSRP value is measured on the at least one CLI measurement resource of one or more CLI measurement resources of the plurality of CLI measurement resources, and wherein the one or more CLI measurement resources are associated with one or more receive strength signal indicator (RSSI) values measured on the one or more CLI measurement resources and exceeding the RSSI threshold.
However, Fang discloses receiving, from the UE, a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement report, the RSRP measurement report including at least one RSRP value respectively associated with at least one CLI measurement resource of the plurality of CLI measurement resources and further including at least one resource index respectively indicating the at least one CLI measurement resource (See Par. [28], [34], [69], [101] of Fang for a reference to the UE reports [Transmits] the CLI-RSRP measurement repost. The report includes reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement result per SRS resource and SRS resource index), wherein the at least one RSRP value is measured on the at least one CLI measurement resource of one or more CLI measurement resources of the plurality of CLI measurement resources, and wherein the one or more CLI measurement resources are associated with one or more receive strength signal indicator (RSSI) values measured on the one or more CLI measurement resources and exceeding the RSSI threshold (See Par. [28], [34], [69] of Fang for a reference to the UE is triggered to measure and report the CLI-RSRP in response to determining that the CLI-RSSI measurement value is higher than a threshold).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fang to Kang. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by providing greater throughput to allow more users connected at the same time, as well as efficient energy consumption, device cost, spectral efficiency, and latency. (Fang; Par. [23])
Regarding claim 24, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 10.
Regarding claim 25, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 11.
Regarding claim 26, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 12.
Regarding claim 30, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 16, including apparatus for identifying at least one aggressor UE causing a cross link interference(CLI) (See Kang; Fig. 7; Network Node 115); comprising: at least one processor (See Kang; Fig. 7; Processor 720); a transceiver communicatively coupled to the at [east one processor (See Kang; Fig. 7; Transceiver 710); and a memory communicatively coupled to the at least one processor (See Kang; Fig. 7; Memory 730).
5. Claims 3-9, 17-23 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. in view of Fang et al. and further in view of Sedin et al. (US. Pub. No. 2023/0413088 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kang and Fang, specifically Kang discloses transmitting to the base station, RSSI measurement resource capability information indicating a first number of CLI measurement resources on which the UE is capable of performing an RSSI measurement and an RSRP measurement (See Par. [59], [70] of Kang for a reference to the wireless device 110 transmits capability information to the network node, which includes the number of sub-bands, the number of OFDM symbols and number of slots for a single time-frequency measurement set, used for cross-link RSSI and RERP measurements);
The combination of Kang and Fang does not explicitly disclose wherein a number of the plurality of CLI measurement resources is less than or eq to the first number of CLI measurement resources.
However, Sedin discloses wherein a number of the plurality of CLI measurement resources is less than or equal to the first number of CLI measurement resources (See Par. [13]-[15] of Sedin for a reference to the total number of CLI measurement resources does not exceed the UE capabilities [less than or equal the Maximum measurement resources]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sedin to the combination of Kang and Fang. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving the signaling overhead and reducing latency, which may provide faster internet access for users. (Sedin; Par. [467])
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kang and Fang, specifically Kang discloses wherein the RSSI measurement resource capability information further indicates at least one of a second number of resources on which there is capable of performing at least the RSSI measurement or a third number of RSSI resources on which the UE is capable of performing the RSSI measurement without the RSRP measurement (See Par. [59], [70], [103] of Kang for a reference to the wireless device 110 transmits UE capability signaling related to CLI measurements, which includes the number of sub-bands, the number of OFDM symbols and number of slots for a single time-frequency measurement set from a plurality of resource sets, used for cross-link RSSI measurements only, RERP measurements only or both).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kang and Fang, specifically Kang discloses wherein the number
the plurality of CLI measurement resources corresponds to the first number of CLI measurement resources when the first number of CLI measurement resources is less than or equal to the second number of resources (See Par. [59], [70], [78]-[82] of Kang for a reference to the wireless device 110 transmits capability information to the network node, which includes the number of sub-bands, the number of OFDM symbols and number of slots for a single time-frequency measurement set, used for cross-link RSSI and RERP measurements), and wherein the number of the plurality of CLI measurement resources corresponds to the second number of CLI measurement resources when the first number of CLI measurement resources is greater than the second number of resources (See Par. [70], [78]-[84] of Kang for a reference to the number of sub-bands, the number of OFDM symbols and number of slots for a single time-frequency measurement set from a plurality of resource sets, used for cross-link RSSI measurements only, RERP measurements only or both. RSSI measurement on configured time/frequency resource sets and threshold-triggered reporting).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kang and Fang, specifically Kang discloses wherein the second number of resources for the RSSI measurement on which the UE is capable of performing at least the RSSI measurement is greater than or equal to the third number (See Par. [70], [78]-[82], [93] of Kang for a reference to the wireless device 110 transmits capability information to the network node, which includes the number of sub-bands, the number of OFDM symbols and number of slots for a single time-frequency measurement set, used for cross-link RSSI and RERP measurements), and wherein the second number of resources for the RSSI measurement is less than or equal to a sum of the third number of RSSI resources and the first number of CLI measurement resources (See Par. [70], [78]-[84], [93] of Kang for a reference to the number of sub-bands, the number of OFDM symbols and number of slots for a single time-frequency measurement set from a plurality of resource sets, used for cross-link RSSI measurements only, RERP measurements only or both. RSSI measurement on configured time/frequency resource sets and threshold-triggered reporting).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kang and Fang, specifically Kang discloses transmitting to the base station an RSRP measurement resource capability information indicating a fourth number of RSRP resources for an RSRP measurement on which the UE is capable of performing the RSRP measurement (See Par. [59], [70] of Kang for a reference to the wireless device 110 transmits capability information to the network node, which includes the number of sub-bands, the number of OFDM symbols and number of slots for a single time-frequency measurement set, used for cross-link RSSI and RERP measurements).
The combination of Kang and Fang does not explicitly disclose wherein the fourth number of RSRP resources for the RSRP measurement is less than or equal to the first number of CLI measurement resources for the RSSI measurement.
However, Sedin discloses wherein the fourth number of RSRP resources for the RSRP measurement is less than or equal to the first number of CLI measurement resources for the RSSI measurement (See Par. [13]-[15] of Sedin for a reference to the total number of CLI measurement resources does not exceed the UE capabilities [less than or equal the Maximum measurement resources]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sedin to the combination of Kang and Fang. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving the signaling overhead and reducing latency, which may provide faster internet access for users. (Sedin; Par. [467])
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kang and Fang, specifically Kang discloses selecting the at least one CLI measurement resource from the one or more CLI measurement resources based on the fourth number of RSRP resources for the RSRP measurement (See Par. [59], [70], [103] of Kang for a reference to the wireless device 110 selects a set of CLI measurement resources from resources configured by the network node, which includes the number of sub-bands, the number of OFDM symbols and number of slots for a single time-frequency measurement set, used for cross-link RERP measurements).
The combination of Kang and Fang does not explicitly disclose wherein a number of the at least one CLI measurement resource is less than or equal to the fourth number of RSRP resources for the RSRP measurement.
However, Sedin discloses wherein a number of the at least one CLI measurement resource is less than or equal to the fourth number of RSRP resources for the RSRP measurement (See Par. [13]-[15] of Sedin for a reference to the total number of CLI measurement resources does not exceed the UE capabilities [less than or equal the Maximum measurement resources]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sedin to the combination of Kang and Fang. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving the signaling overhead and reducing latency, which may provide faster internet access for users. (Sedin; Par. [467])
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Kang and Fang, specifically Kang discloses wherein each of the at least one CLI measurement resource selected from the one or more CLI measurement resources is associated with an RSSI value greater than an RSSI value associated with each of a rest of the one or more CLI measurement resources different from the at least one CLI measurement resource (See Par. [78]-[84], [93] of Kang for a reference to associating CLI measurement resources with measured RSSI value that exceeds a certain threshold. RSSI measurement on configured time/frequency resource sets and threshold-triggered reporting).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Kang and Fang, specifically Kang discloses receiving, from the UE, RSSI measurement resource capability information indicating a first number of CLI measurement resources on which the UE is capable of performing an RSSI measurement and an RSRP measurement; and determining the plurality of CLI measurement resources based on the RSSI measurement resource capability (See Par. [59], [70] of Kang for a reference to the wireless device 110 transmits capability information to the network node, which includes the number of sub-bands, the number of OFDM symbols and number of slots for a single time-frequency measurement set, used for cross-link RSSI and RERP measurements).
The combination of Kang and Fang does not explicitly disclose wherein a number of the plurality of CLI measurement resources is less than or eq to the first number of CLI measurement resources.
However, Sedin discloses wherein a number of the plurality of CLI measurement resources is less than or equal to the first number of CLI measurement resources (See Par. [13]-[15] of Sedin for a reference to the total number of CLI measurement resources does not exceed the UE capabilities [less than or equal the Maximum measurement resources]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sedin to the combination of Kang and Fang. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving the signaling overhead and reducing latency, which may provide faster internet access for users. (Sedin; Par. [467])
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 4.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 5.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 6.
Regarding claim 21, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 7.
Regarding claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 8.
Regarding claim 23, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 9.
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Kang and Fang does not explicitly disclose transmitting, to the UE, the RSSI threshold.
However, Sedin discloses transmitting, to the UE, the RSSI threshold (See Par. [59], [75] of Sedin for a reference to transmitting the CLI-RSSI threshold, in an RRC configuration, to the UE).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sedin to the combination of Kang and Fang. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving the signaling overhead and reducing latency, which may provide faster internet access for users. (Sedin; Par. [467])
6. Claims 13-14 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. in view of Fang et al. and further in view of Yang et al. (US. Pub. No. 2018/00323916 A1).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Kang and Fang does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of CLI measurement resources are associated with one or more scrambling codes that are respectively associated with one or more second UEs.
However, Yang discloses wherein the plurality of CLI measurement resources are associated with one or more scrambling codes that are respectively associated with one or more second UEs (See Par. [35]-[37] of Yang for a reference to the pre-determined SRS resources may comprise at least one of a root sequence, a cyclic shift, a comb number or a frequency location of the SRS transmitted from other nodes (other UEs under TRPs). The UE may further be configured to report the SRS sequences and the RSRPs to its serving TRP).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang to the combination of Kang and Fang. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by reducing the power consumption through reducing the number of blind detections on the UEs. (Yang; Par. [37])
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Kang and Fang does not explicitly disclose receiving, from the base station, association information indicating the association of the plurality of CLI measurement resources with the one or more scrambling codes: and determining that at least one second UE of the one or more second UIs that is associated with the at least one CLI measurement resource is an aggressor UE based on the at least one RSRP value.
However, Yang discloses receiving, from the base station, association information indicating the association of the plurality of CLI measurement resources with the one or more scrambling codes (See Par. [35]-[37] of Yang for a reference to the pre-determined SRS resources may comprise at least one of a root sequence, a cyclic shift, a comb number or a frequency location of the SRS transmitted from other nodes (other UEs under TRPs). The UE may further be configured to report the SRS sequences and the RSRPs to its serving TRP), and determining that at least one second UE of the one or more second UIs that is associated with the at least one CLI measurement resource is an aggressor UE based on the at least one RSRP value (See Par. [43]-[44] of Yang for a reference to specifying CLI measurements [CLI-RSSI and/or CLI-RSRP] victim UE measure the RSRP of SRS transmitted by aggressor UE).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang to the combination of Kang and Fang. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by reducing the power consumption through reducing the number of blind detections on the UEs. (Yang; Par. [37])
Regarding claim 28, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 13.
Regarding claim 29, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 14.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jin et al. (US 2021/0144574 Al) teaches a method and apparatus for performing dynamic cross-link interference measurement and reporting in a mobile communication system.
Takano (U.S. 2020/0344614 Al) teaches a technology that enables measurement of interference between a downlink signal and an uplink signal transmitted in different cells in a more suitable manner.
Pao et al. (US 2019/0053085 A1) discloses a device and a method of handling a flexible duplexing.
/R.K.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413