DETAILED ACTION
According to a preliminary amendment filed on Feb. 19, 2024, the applicants have canceled claims 15-18 and 23-24 and furthermore, have amended claims 8,10, 12-14 and 20-22.
Claims 1-14 and 19-22 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. There is no written description for treating cancer using every known LIF inhibitor in the art. The only written description is for treating cancer using compounds of formula (I) disclosed on page 5 of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Nair (WO 2016/0279145 A1).
Nair discloses tetracyclic compounds having LIF inhibitory activity for treating cancer. The compounds EC 357 and EC 362 disclosed on page 7 by Nair anticipate the instant claim when variable R3 represents an alkyl group in the instant compound.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1-4, 6, 10, 12-14 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nair (WO 2016/0279145 A1) in view of Sun (WO 2017/112904 A1, cited on applicant’s form 1449).
Nair discloses tetracyclic compounds having LIF inhibitory activity for treating cancer. The compounds of formula IV (see page 6) disclosed by Nair meet all the limitations of the instant claims except that the phenyl group is substituted at 3rd position (instant variable R3) with an alkyl, aryl, CN or heteroaryl group instead of instant 1st, 2nd, 4th or 5th position (instant variables R1, R2, R4 and R5) of the phenyl ring and furthermore, does not teach its combination with other chemotherapeutic agent for treating cancer. However, Sun also discloses similar tetracyclic compounds of formula (I) for treating cancer (see page 1) using either alone or in combination with other chemotherapeutic agents (see paragraph 0016 on pages 8-9) and teaches that variable R1 can be present at any position of phenyl ring of these tetracyclic compounds. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to prepare instant positional isomer compounds by modifying compounds disclosed by Nair without affecting their utility for treating cancer using alone or in combination with other chemotherapeutic agents with reasonable expectation of success. It is well known in the art to use combination drug treatment for synergistic effect as compared to using either drug alone.
Double Patenting
12. Claims 1-4, 6, 10 and 12-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 10,053,485 in view of Sun (WO 2017/112904 A1, cited on applicant’s form 1449). Claims 1-3 (compounds of formula IV) of Patent 10,053,485 meet all the limitations of instant claims except that the phenyl group is substituted at 3rd position (instant variable R3) with an alkyl, aryl, CN or heteroaryl group instead of instant 1st, 2nd, 4th or 5th position (instant variables R1, R2, R4 and R5) of the phenyl ring. However, Sun also discloses similar tetracyclic compounds of formula (I) for treating cancer (see page 1) and teaches that variable R1 can be present at any position of phenyl ring of these tetracyclic compounds. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to prepare instant positional isomer compounds by modifying compounds disclosed in Patent 10,053,485 without affecting their utility for treating cancer.
13. Claims 1-4,10 and 12-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 10,738,075 in view of Sun (WO 2017/112904 A1, cited on applicant’s form 1449). Claims 1-2 (compounds of formula IV) of Patent 10,738,075 meet all the limitations of instant claims except that the phenyl group is substituted at 3rd position (instant variable R3) with heteroaryl group instead of instant 1st, 2nd, 4th or 5th position (instant variables R1, R2, R4 and R5) of the phenyl ring. However, Sun also discloses similar tetracyclic compounds of formula (I) for treating cancer (see page 1) and teaches that variable R1 can be present at any position of phenyl ring of these tetracyclic compounds. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to prepare instant positional isomer compounds by modifying compounds disclosed in Patent 10,738,975 without affecting their utility for treating cancer.
Allowable Subject Matter
14. Claims 7-9 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/CHARANJIT AULAKH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1621