Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 5/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 31-40 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/18/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 26 objected to because of the following informalities:
“Application No.: Herewith 3” needs to be deleted and a period needs to be added after the word axis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-23 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Whiting (US Patent No. 2,076,312 A – of Record).
Regarding claim 21, Whiting teaches a cone rolling machine (Fig. 1), comprising a pulling mechanism configured to pull paper from a paper source (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 15, 16; Page 2, Second Colum, Lines 18-26) where the paper passes through a tensioning mechanism (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 16) and a cutting mechanism (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 31-38). The tensioning mechanism is configured to maintain a constant tension in the paper (Page 2, First Colum, Lines 61-73) and the cutting mechanism is configured to cut a cone blank (Page 2, Second Column Lines 27-37). Whiting also teaches a transport mechanism (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 15, 16) configured to receive the cone blank and transport the cone blank, a gluing mechanism (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 11) configured to glue an edge of the cone (Page 2, First Column, Lines 61-73), and a rolling mechanism (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 53, 53’) configured to roll the cone blank in to a cone (Page 3, First Column, Lines 1-18).
Regarding claim 22, Whiting teaches a releasing mechanism that is configured to receive the cone from the rolling mechanism and release the cone into a collection bin (Page 4, First Column, Lines 54-75).
Regarding claim 23, Whiting teaches that the tensioning mechanism comprises a pulley system of at least four pulleys including three stationary pulleys (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 20, 21, 23) and a movable pulley (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 17).
Regarding claim 25, Whiting teaches that the transport mechanism uses a pneumatic system (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 77) for holding the cone blank.
Regarding claim 26, Whiting teaches that the transport mechanism uses a pneumatic system (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 77) for holding the cone blank and the pneumatic system would be capable of rotating the cone blank. Regarding claim 28, Whiting teaches that the gluing mechanism applies glue to both sides and faces (Page 2, First Column, Lines 61-73), which would include the lagging edge.
Regarding claim 29, Whiting teaches that the rolling mechanism is a mandrel (Col. 3, First Column, Lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 30, Whiting teaches the rolling mandrel uses a pneumatic system (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 77) to receive the cone blank.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whiting (US Patent No. 2,076,312 A) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of O’Malley (US 2017/0099869 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Whiting teaches a cutting mechanism (Page 2, Second Column Lines 27-37) including a cutter frame, but does not teach using a steel rule die.
In an analogous art, O’Malley teaches using die cutting with a steel rule die to cut cones (Para. [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Whiting with O’Malley to base the cutting mechanism on die cutting with a steel rule die. This modification will allow multiple stacks of paper to be cut in one pass (O’Malley; Para. [0046]).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whiting (US Patent No. 2,076,312 A) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Tobias et al. (US 2007/0017536 A1).
Regarding claim 27, Whiting does not teach that the gluing mechanism uses a piezo-based valve.
In an analogous art, Tobias teaches using a piezoelectric valve to control the amount of additives tobacco producing apparatus (Para. [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Whiting to use a piezoelectric valve to apply the glue. This modification will allow you to control the exact amount of glue being added (Tobias; Para. [0029]).
Conclusion
/N.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/KATELYN W SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749