DETAILED ACTION
Rejections Repeated
1. The 35 U.S.C. 103(a) rejection of claims 1,5,7-15 unpatentable over Kashiwagi in view of Serizawa et al. has been repeated as previously made in office action 3/17/26.
2. The 35 U.S.C. 103(a) rejection of claims 6 unpatentable over Kashiwagi in view of Tian et al. has been repeated as previously made in office action 3/17/26.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 16,17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kashiwagi (US20080102370) in view of Zhang et al. (CN109167046).
Kashiwagi discloses the electrochemical cell described above. Kashiwagi fail to disclose wherein the silicon layer is formed of a film including a plurality of through-holes, and the second carbon material layer is located on the surface of the first current collector exposed through the plurality of through-holes.
Zhang et al. teaches wherein the silicon layer is formed of a film including a plurality of through-holes, and the second carbon material layer is located on the surface of the first current collector exposed through the plurality of through-holes for the purpose of providing a more stable binding of silicon to carbon (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to Kashiwagi with wherein the silicon layer is formed of a film including a plurality of through-holes, and the second carbon material layer is located on the surface of the first current collector exposed through the plurality of through-holes for the purpose of providing a more stable binding of silicon to carbon (abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/8/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art fails to disclose that the second portion of the first electrode active material is surrounded by the first portion as viewed in plan, Kashiwagi discloses in figure 4c that the second portion which is the carbon portion between then the two silicon island regions is surrounded by the first portion which is the silicon island region 12 and current collector 11 and carbon portion 14.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JANE J RHEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724