DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 4/28/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPAP 2006/0234028 to Pardo in view of USPAP 2017/0297295 to Bhatnagar.
Claim 1, Pardo discloses a process for the production of a fiber-reinforced composite material, comprising the steps of: unwinding an aramid fabric on conveyor means including an upper conveyor belt and a lower conveyor belt and having a first hot section and a second cold section; dry distributing a powder of thermoplastic material on a surface of said aramid fabric; conveying said surface of said aramid fabric along said conveyor means into said first hot section and heating said powder to a melting temperature and compressing said powder on said surface of said fabric in said first hot section so as to form a composite material having an amorphous thermoplastic matrix inherently partially interpenetrated and adhered to said fabric as said fabric is unwound; and conveying said composite material along said conveyor means into said second cold section and cooling said composite material in said second cold section thereby to facilitate detachment of said composite material from said conveyor means (see entire document including Figures 1-2, [0001], [0015]-[0023], [0033], [0034], [0039]-[0049] and [0074]-[0078]).
Pardo does not appear to mention the specific size of the powder but Bhatnagar discloses that it is known in the art to use micrometric powder so that the particles remain localized in their original location (see entire document including [0008] and [0058]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to construct the fiber-reinforced composite material of Pardo with micrometric powder so that the particles remain localized in their original location.
Claim 2, said powder (2) is heated to a temperature from 100 to 250°C and is subsequently compressed at a pressure ranging from 0.1 N/cm2 to 200 N/cm2 ([0039]-[0043]).
Claim 3, said cooling of said composite material (10) is carried out below a melting or glass transition temperature of said thermoplastic matrix (12) ([0044]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant asserts that Pardo fails to teach or suggest a conveyor means including an upper conveyor belt and a lower conveyor belt. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Figure 2 of Pardo shows a conveyor means that includes two lower conveyor belts (21 and 35) and an upper conveyor belt (34). In response, the applicant asserts that only the press section includes two belts not the entire conveyor belt. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because the current claims do not require the entire length of the conveyor means to include an upper and lower conveyor belt. Plus, not even Figure 1 of the current application includes an upper and lower conveyor belt along the entire length of the conveyor means. Rather, Figure 1 of the current application shows a conveyor substantially identical to the conveyor of Pardo wherein a front area of the conveyor means includes only a lower conveyor belt and then the rear area of the conveyor means includes both a lower and upper conveyor belt. Plus, Pardo clearly teaches that a two belt conveyor is known (see press (33) of Pardo) and therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to construct the conveyor of Pardo with any desired conveyor belt configuration, such as claimed based on the conveying method desired.
The applicant also asserts that Pardo fails to teach or suggest a hot section wherein the powder is heated and compressed because the compression press rollers (40) of Pardo are after the heating zone (38). Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because the combination of the heating zone (38) and the press rollers (40) may be considered the claimed hot section. Plus, the selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. See Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) (Prior art reference disclosing a process of making a laminated sheet wherein a base sheet is first coated with a metallic film and thereafter impregnated with a thermosetting material was held to render prima facie obvious claims directed to a process of making a laminated sheet by reversing the order of the prior art process steps.). See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious.). MPEP 2144.04.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW T PIZIALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789